Skip to content

Book reviews: Vegan Desserts, Blissful Bites, Eat Vegan on $4 a Day

October 7, 2011
tags:

In addition to my chronological blogging backlog, I also have a whole pile of books here that I was sent to review over the last couple months. It’s time to get started on those!

We’ll begin with the latest book from one of my favorite bloggers, Hannah Kaminsky of Bittersweet. The über-talented Hannah – she of the infamous Mocha Devastation Cake – recently came out with another tome of sweet treats, entitled Vegan Desserts: Sumptuous Sweets for Every Season.

This isn’t your average vegan baking book. Every single recipe in here has some sort of creative twist on it, from Persimmon Blondies to Chocolate Chestnut Torte to Watermelon Bombe ice cream cake, plus you get to drool over Hannah’s gorgeous photography throughout the book. As busy as I’ve been the past few months with my own recipes, I did make this treat for Matt a few weeks ago: the Black Bleeding Hearts on page 171.

Even though I didn’t have the right heart-shaped pans for them, these dense, thirst-inducingly-chocolaty little spooncakes were devilishly dark and delicious; Matt and I both gobbled them up. I can’t recommend Hannah’s new book enough; if you don’t have it already, you’re missing out on some of the most creative vegan desserts you’ll ever see.

Next up is the first offering from my friend Christy Morgan of The Blissful Chef (read about some of our hanging-outage here and here). Christy is a vegan and macrobiotic chef extraordinaire, and also one of the organizers of the Texas State Veggie Fair, at which I’m doing a raw food demo in just two and a half weeks! Her new book, Blissful Bites: Vegan Meals That Nourish Mind, Body, and Planet, has been a fabulous addition to my cookbook shelf.

Christy’s book is a one-of-a-kind treasure. The design is soothing and pleasing to the eye, the recipes are unique and outrageously delicious, and the photography is utterly mouthwatering. There’s something for everyone in this excellent book, from garam-masala-spiked Taste of India Artichoke Dip (page 59)…

…to luscious Peanut Butter-Like Mousse or Heavenly Raw Chocolate Mousse (both page 220), or this combination of the two that I whipped up! Christy’s book is ideal for anyone interested in food for health and healing, and is also perfect for those who simply enjoy cooking with whole, natural foods.

Lastly, I received Ellen Jaffe Jones’ Eat Vegan on $4 a Day: A Game Plan for the Budget Conscious Cook. Ellen’s book is packed with useful tips and tricks for trimming and maximizing your vegan food expenditures. She offers a game plan for the budget-conscious cook for an economically viable diet, including tips on financial planning for food shopping, a basic review of plant-based nutrition and cooking, and a look at the hidden food-industry politics behind grocery store pricing and product placement. Having scoured the shelves of popular supermarkets and big-box stores, Ellen calculated how to eat three nutritious, delicious, satisfying meals for no more than $4 per person per day, and each recipe is accompanied by the cost per serving. The recipes in Ellen’s book, I will say, are on the simple side, but I think they’d be great for a new vegan or someone just getting into home cooking.

GIVEAWAY TIME! Want to win your own copy of Eat Vegan on $4 a Day? There are four ways to win (please leave a separate comment below for each entry):

1) Comment below with your answer to this question:
What’s your favorite money-saving tip when it comes to food shopping?
2) “Like” Almost Vegan on Facebook AND Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on Facebook and comment below confirming you did so.
3) Follow Almost Vegan on Twitter AND Ellen Jaffe Jones on Twitter and comment below confirming you did so.
4) Tweet the following message:
I entered to win a copy of @VegCoach ‘s Eat Vegan on $4 a Day from @AlmostVeganChef ! #Giveaway here: http://wp.me/pYLdq-Ti 
and comment below confirming you did so.

This giveaway is open to the U.S. and Canada only. I’ll announce a randomly-chosen winner at the end of next week. Good luck, and happy weekend!

THE CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED. THANK YOU TO ALL WHO ENTERED!

 

3 years ago…
Vegan restaurant meals
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in London
Almost Vegan in Paris
1 year ago…
“Hello Dolly” bars (raw)
Almost Vegan goes Almost Raw!

140 Comments
  1. Karen permalink
    October 7, 2011 2:41 pm

    Plan your meals so you know what to buy and only buy what’s on your grocery list.

  2. Karen permalink
    October 7, 2011 2:42 pm

    Already like Almost Vegan on Facebook and just liked Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on Facebook!

  3. October 7, 2011 2:50 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway! I’m with Karen – when I’m on my game, I do some meal-planning ahead of time and strategize about which ingredients I need more of for multiple recipes. :)

  4. October 7, 2011 2:52 pm

    Dried legumes! They are so cheap and freeze so well.

  5. October 7, 2011 2:54 pm

    i don’t do this every time but i have written down the price of each thing as i put it in the cart, and add it up as i go. it keeps me from picking up things that aren’t on my list.

  6. October 7, 2011 2:55 pm

    like you and the book on facebook :)

  7. October 7, 2011 2:59 pm

    Thanks for the thoughtful review, I’m so glad you like it thus far! :)

    My money-saving tip would be to buy in bulk whenever possible, and cooking as much as you can from scratch.

  8. October 7, 2011 3:05 pm

    One of the best things I ever did to save money on groceries was to start my own garden. I am a huge juicer, which can be a pretty expensive habit. Now I can just walk in back yard and grab my favorite fruits and veggies. Another thing that I do is to make a large vegan meal each week and freeze individual portion sizes so it lasts all week (or sometimes longer).

  9. October 7, 2011 3:07 pm

    I love buying in bulk to save some dough! This book looks great!

  10. October 7, 2011 3:07 pm

    I look for coupons and I also try to find Surplus or discount stores.

  11. October 7, 2011 3:07 pm

    I like you on FB!

  12. October 7, 2011 3:08 pm

    I follow you on twitter!

  13. October 7, 2011 3:09 pm

    I like both pages on FB :)

  14. October 7, 2011 3:22 pm

    Money Saving Tip: Buy foods that do double, triple duty. Foods that can be combined with different flavors and ingredients to make multiple meals.

  15. Meredith permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:26 pm

    It takes some extra time but I shop around and compare prices between different grocery stores and online stores

  16. Meredith permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:26 pm

    I liked Almost Vegan on facebook

  17. Meredith permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:27 pm

    I liked Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on Facebook

  18. Aubrey permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:28 pm

    I love buying from bulk bins! It’s amazing how much less expensive legumes, oats and dried fruits are when not purchased in a box. Re-use bags or containers when buying as it cuts down on waste.

  19. Aubrey permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:32 pm

    Liked Almost Vegan and Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on FB :)

  20. Aubrey permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:35 pm

    Now following AV and EJJ on Twitter!

  21. Aubrey permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:36 pm

    tweeted about giveaway!

  22. October 7, 2011 3:41 pm

    Ooooh I want this book! It is exactly what my daughter needs!

    My favorite money saving tip is to buy local and in-season produce. I know, I know, everyone says it, but it’s true. Using tomatoes, herbs, garlic, and onion from the farmer’s market in July, I can make the best pasta sauce EVER for about 12 cents a serving (yes, I added it up once).

  23. October 7, 2011 3:42 pm

    Naturally I already “like” you on FB; EVO$4 has also been “liked” by me.

  24. October 7, 2011 3:43 pm

    And I already follow your tweets; EJJ is now being followed by me.

  25. October 7, 2011 3:45 pm

    And now I have twit a tweet that you…..twat?
    (told you I wanted this book!)

  26. Beth permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:11 pm

    Tweeted!

  27. Jamie Derekson permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:12 pm

    I already liked your page a long time ago :) and just liked the book Eat vegan on $4 a Day.

  28. Beth permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:12 pm

    Following Almost Vegan on FB ^_^

  29. Beth permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:13 pm

    Following Eat Vegan for $4 a day on FB also!!

  30. Beth permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:14 pm

    My saving money tip at the stores: go for the local and in season produce! Buy bulk! Stop living off of processed food and try to avoid that freezer section! :) Don’t be lazy, get the dry beans, it’s not much harder than a can of beans ya bum lol

  31. Jamie Derekson permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:16 pm

    I try to buy bulk as much as posible to try to save money. These tips are great cuz I struggle with sticking to the budget. Btw, that mousse looks amazing!

  32. Celisa permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:21 pm

    To save money on groceries, I try to buy in bulk, buy local, and buy seasonally (seasonal harvest has a free app to keep me updated on what’s seasonal in my area)! Like/love you both already on FB.

  33. October 7, 2011 4:24 pm

    I’d love to win the cookbook! I find the best way to budget for food is to make a meal plan at the beginning of the week & remember to factor in leftovers to take for work lunches.

  34. angie permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:28 pm

    it’s been said several times, but buying in bulk really helps me save…especially spices and such. instead of having to get a whole jar i just buy a little bit for super cheap.

  35. Lori permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:39 pm

    Definitely buy items like nuts, flour and grains in bulk rather than individual packages.

  36. maddie permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:48 pm

    buying in bulk

  37. maddie permalink
    October 7, 2011 4:52 pm

    liked both pages on facebook

  38. October 7, 2011 4:54 pm

    As far as vegan eating is concerned, my favorite tip to save money on food is shopping at Walmart. Seems like a no-brainer, but for some reason, a lot of people I talk to think the only way to eat vegan is to shop at Whole Foods. I live in a small town where there are no Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s or any specialty health food stores. There are so many vegan staples you can get for dirt cheap at Walmart. Great Value brand is my best friend as a semi-vegan, health conscious college student. I’m talking rice, beans, frozen veggies, cereal and oatmeal, and produce (not the best you can find, but you’re still better off eating whole fruits and vegetables even if they’re not organic and all that jazz.) I make a grocery list and I hit Walmart first, then if there is something specific I need that Walmart doesn’t carry, I hit the natural food aisle at Smith’s.

  39. October 7, 2011 6:01 pm

    I buy all my grains in bulk and buy frozen veggies and fruit for stir fry and smoothies

  40. ammauceri permalink
    October 7, 2011 7:17 pm

    I cut coupons and buy things that are on sale! Thanks so much for the giveaway :)

  41. ammauceri permalink
    October 7, 2011 7:18 pm

    Like you and the book on FB :)

  42. ammauceri permalink
    October 7, 2011 7:19 pm

    I follow you both on twitter

  43. October 7, 2011 7:43 pm

    Buy fresh and local directly from the farms…you can often score great deals or have baskets delivered to your door for cheap!

  44. October 7, 2011 7:44 pm

    I already follow you on twitter @celinaelizt

  45. October 7, 2011 8:14 pm

    The only thing that works is to make a list, grab every coupon you can for what’s on it, then
    stick. to. the. list.
    …and in my case, go with my partner, who is unforgivably frugal and guilts me into being a good little grocery buyer. sigh.

  46. Rebecca permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:34 pm

    Only buy what you NEED and find the cheapest brand! Even though you may be tempted to buy a lot of unnecessary packaged foods!

  47. Rebecca permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:38 pm

    I liked Almost Vegan and $4 a day Vegan on facebook!

  48. Rebecca permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:39 pm

    I’m already following Almost Vegan on twitter!

  49. Rebecca permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:40 pm

    I just tweeted about this amazing giveaway!

  50. Jason McLane permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:52 pm

    I try to shop cheap places like Winco, eat before I go shopping and make a list before I get there so I don’t impulse buy.

  51. Jason McLane permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:53 pm

    I had already “liked” Eat Vegan on $4 a day and now I have also “liked” Almost Vegan : ) I would love to win that book!

  52. October 7, 2011 9:17 pm

    *sticks out tongue*

  53. October 7, 2011 9:42 pm

    I definitely buy whats local and in season!

  54. October 7, 2011 9:45 pm

    like on facebook!

  55. October 7, 2011 9:51 pm

    yay. my best money making tip is to go through my shopping list and write beside the item how much i am willing to spend on it, like
    grapes $4
    then figure my total before i go to the store. that way i know exactly how much i can spend and see how much i can save.

  56. October 7, 2011 9:53 pm

    liked you on fb

  57. Katie Meyer permalink
    October 7, 2011 11:33 pm

    i liked almost vegan and eat vegan for $4 a day on fb.

  58. Katie Meyer permalink
    October 7, 2011 11:36 pm

    For $ saving I shop sales and also what’s seasonal. I very rarely buy any sort of conveinence type food and make most things from scratch!

  59. October 7, 2011 11:39 pm

    For food shopping: buying in bulk! Saves on time and money.

  60. Xavier Talley permalink
    October 7, 2011 11:39 pm

    Favorite tip #1: Always shop around the perimeters of the grocery store! nutrient dense foods are usually their!!

    Favorite tip #2: You probably seen this comment a trillion times but is true!! BUY BULK!!! With bulk you can control how much you want for the price you want to pay!! this is essential to those on a strict budget! Every vegan has their GO-TO food item( By GO-TO I mean cheap, versatile, nutrient dense( protein dense), quickcooking)
    sidenote: My GO-TO bulk food item is Lentils( Dhal)!!! they are one of the cheapest source of plant protein price per ounce!!Youy can buy silos of the stuff and it won’t cost you an arm and a leg!!

    Favorite tip #3: I buy all my herbs and spices in bulk at a reputable grocery store( My HEB is has a health food section that is comparable to Whole Foods Market)!! I’m not talking about those low- quality spices and herbs prepackaged in big plastic containers that are even worth a cent!! I’m talking about high-quality organic sices and herbs that are in bins that you scoop as much you want to buy!! It is Spice Paradise to a culinary junkie like me!! the best thing is you avoid paying pre-set prices for prepackaged spices so you again get to control how much you want to pay by weight!

  61. October 8, 2011 1:14 am

    Fun! I like to always keep an eye open for special offers and also to buy in bulk through an organic co-op. Oh, and know which things are more ‘ok’ not organic. And of course the big one–eat seasonally!

  62. October 8, 2011 12:35 pm

    Following both on twitter!

  63. October 8, 2011 12:37 pm

    I love to buy local produce in bulk and split it with roommates or family friends

  64. October 8, 2011 12:42 pm

    My #1 tip is to plan your menu in advance so you get exactly what you need at the store. It also helps you to avoid too many impulse buys (that you’ll probably end up throwing out anyway because they’ll go bad before you have time to eat them).

  65. October 8, 2011 12:42 pm

    I tweeted the giveaway. Thanks!

  66. October 8, 2011 4:21 pm

    1) Comment below with your answer to this question:
    What’s your favorite money-saving tip when it comes to food shopping?

    I watch for good sales and puree & freeze my greens/fruit for future green smoothies. If frozen within 20 minutes of juicing/pureeing the enzymes remain good for up to six months.

  67. October 8, 2011 4:23 pm

    2) “Like” Almost Vegan on Facebook AND Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on Facebook and comment below confirming you did so.

    I love it when you ask me to do something that’s been done for months. :D

  68. October 8, 2011 4:24 pm

    3) Follow Almost Vegan on Twitter AND Ellen Jaffe Jones on Twitter and comment below confirming you did so.

    Done.

  69. October 8, 2011 4:24 pm

    4) Tweet the following message:
    I entered to win a copy of @VegCoach ‘s Eat Vegan on $4 a Day from @AlmostVeganChef ! #Giveaway here: http://wp.me/pYLdq-Ti
    and comment below confirming you did so

    I did so!

  70. October 8, 2011 7:16 pm

    My best money saving advice for eating a healthy vegan diet, is to buy local, in season and only what you can use to avoid waste. I have tweeted and facebook all links and sent out messages on twitter. Would love to win this book!

  71. michelle permalink
    October 8, 2011 9:09 pm

    Money saving tips plan shopping trips ahead with coupon match ups

    • michelle permalink
      October 8, 2011 9:11 pm

      Liked on facebook

  72. michelle permalink
    October 8, 2011 9:16 pm

    Followed in twitter

  73. michelle permalink
    October 8, 2011 9:19 pm

    Also retweeted

  74. October 9, 2011 12:40 am

    My favorite money-saving tip on food is never shop hungry!

  75. elyse permalink
    October 9, 2011 1:06 pm

    frozen vegetables

  76. elyse permalink
    October 9, 2011 1:07 pm

    liked both on facebook!

  77. elyse permalink
    October 9, 2011 1:07 pm

    folllowing on twitter too!

  78. October 9, 2011 1:32 pm

    I like you both on facebook!

  79. beckafly permalink
    October 9, 2011 2:23 pm

    My biggest money saver is planning out meals at the start of the week and making one big thing (like a stew, falafel, chickpea burgers etc.) to last out a few meals.

  80. beckafly permalink
    October 9, 2011 2:24 pm

    Liked Vegan meals $4 a day on facebook AND Almost vegan

  81. Holly permalink
    October 9, 2011 3:31 pm

    Go to a farmers market or small produce-only store to avoid buying junk food/anything that’s not on your list! This will leave you with only fresh fruits/veggies and maybe some breads. Then save your soy milk (and other large supermarket needs) for a different shopping trip.
    Also a good tip, shop with only a certain amount of cash in hand. No cards.

  82. October 9, 2011 3:58 pm

    my fav money saving trick is the farmers market!!!

  83. October 9, 2011 4:30 pm

    Buying in bulk, especially dried beans and legumes. They are SO much cheaper than buying them in cans.

  84. October 9, 2011 7:58 pm

    I buy in bulk, and usually only on sale. I liked Eat Vegan, and Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on Facebook, and I follow Almost Vegan and Ellen Jaffe Jones on Twitter.

  85. Heather Trupia permalink
    October 9, 2011 9:15 pm

    I liked your FB page and already have Vegan on $4 a Day on FB…. I really want her book… it is in my cart on Amazon… just waiting on the funds to buy this and another Vegan book! Soooo… my pocket book sure could use winning the book instead of buying it!!! I am dying to get it!!! Please let me win!!! I can’t wait to check out your site too! With my husband and I now cooking Vegan, many of our friends are giving it a try, so I’d love to share with them how to do it on $4 a day!!!

  86. Heather Trupia permalink
    October 9, 2011 9:17 pm

    oh.. and money saving tip… cook larger meals and freeze lunch size portions for the future!

  87. Nancy permalink
    October 9, 2011 9:22 pm

    I try to buy only what I know we will eat before it spoils and not everything that looks good to me.

  88. Nancy permalink
    October 9, 2011 9:23 pm

    I liked Almost Vegan on Facebook and Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on Facebook.

  89. October 10, 2011 7:30 am

    I love buying reduced bananas that are turning brown……I come home and peel and freeze them to use for ice creams or smoothies!!!

  90. October 10, 2011 7:31 am

    I like both on facebook!!!

  91. October 10, 2011 7:32 am

    follow you both on Twitter!!!

  92. October 10, 2011 7:34 am

    tweeted!!!!

  93. October 10, 2011 10:54 am

    I liked both on facebook!!!

  94. Christina permalink
    October 10, 2011 11:53 am

    My favorite money saving tip at the market is to buy only what I’m going to fix and eat in the next few days. Fruits and veggies don’t last as long as packaged foods so I had to adjust how often I shopped and how much I bought of perishables at a time.

  95. jose permalink
    October 10, 2011 12:31 pm

    shop bulk, and buy fresh food, saves tons of money when you avoid expensive processed foods :)

  96. jose permalink
    October 10, 2011 12:34 pm

    i like almost vegan on facebook! and eat vegan on 4 a day!

  97. October 10, 2011 12:34 pm

    I entered to win a copy of @VegCoach ‘s Eat Vegan on $4 a Day from @AlmostVeganChef ! #Giveaway here: http://wp.me/pYLdq-Ti

    Hope I win!!! Thanks so much for the contest!

  98. suzie permalink
    October 10, 2011 12:35 pm

    already a liker of both!!!

  99. October 10, 2011 12:36 pm

    BTW: My favorite money saving tip is to learn how to make things from scratch! That Quorn Chik’n stuff is good but its expensive!!! Learning how to main Saitan from Wheat Gluten saves so much and provides so muchmore food!! <3

  100. Kimberly permalink
    October 10, 2011 12:41 pm

    My favorite money saving tips are never shop on an empty stomach, and try to shop alone when the supermarket isn’t packed. If you bring your children with you and the store is hectic, not only will you give in to what they want justy to keep your sanity, you aren’t really able to concentrate on what you are buying and you can’t take the time to really comparison shop, comparing price per lb., ingredients etc. Oh and I grow some thing in my yard, I was just able to pick a head of broccoli!! Can’t wait for more :) I followed Almost Vegan and Eat Vegan for $4.00 per Day on both FB and Twitter. I also Tweeted :)

  101. Kristen permalink
    October 10, 2011 12:45 pm

    My #1 Money saving tip is make a list of meals for the week and make a shopping list. Stick to it at the store.

  102. Kristen permalink
    October 10, 2011 12:48 pm

    I “liked” Amost Vegan and Eat Vegan on $4 a day on Facebook.

  103. Kristen permalink
    October 10, 2011 12:49 pm

    I don’t Tweet so I guess I can’t do the last two. Hope I win though.

  104. Lacey permalink
    October 10, 2011 1:07 pm

    Set a budget, make a list and then stick to it! Also, avoid the crazy colorful processed food aisles – I’m a sucker for good packagin! ;-)

  105. Lacey permalink
    October 10, 2011 1:08 pm

    I like you on Facebook

  106. October 10, 2011 7:04 pm

    The best way I have found to save money is to buy stuff when it is on sale, use coupons when you can, or if you can’t do that, plan your meals.

  107. October 10, 2011 7:06 pm

    I “liked” Almost Vegan and Vegan on $4 A Day on Facebook

  108. October 10, 2011 7:10 pm

    I “Follow” @AlmostVeganChef and @VegCoach (Ellen Jaffe Jones) on Twitter

  109. October 10, 2011 7:11 pm

    and I just Tweeted the message you asked me to tweet…so close to winning!!!!

  110. October 10, 2011 10:15 pm

    I “Liked” both pages on Facebook

  111. October 11, 2011 7:27 am

    Money saving tips: I buy goods that keep for a long time in bulk when they are on sale. I also look for coupons and buy foods that are seasonal. :)

  112. October 11, 2011 7:29 am

    I Tweeted! (BeesandTeas)

  113. October 11, 2011 12:01 pm

    My best way to save money while food shopping is to go with a list. Don’t buy anything not on the list except if you forgot to put it there. If you’re making kale chips and you forgot to put the kale on the list, well, ok. But you can’t grab a bag of chocolate covered gogi berries. Well, you can. Maybe you should. But it’ll cost ya.

    Marty
    Marty’s Flying Vegan Review
    http://www.martysnycveggiereview.blogspot.com
    @veganpilotmarty

  114. October 11, 2011 12:05 pm

    I liked both of you on FB. Well, you I already like.(d)

    Marty
    Marty’s Flying Vegan Review
    http://www.martysnycveggiereview.blogspot.com
    @veganpilotmarty

  115. October 11, 2011 12:09 pm

    Following you both on twitter.

    Marty
    Marty’s Flying Vegan Review
    http://www.martysnycveggiereview.blogspot.com
    @veganpilotmarty

  116. October 11, 2011 12:11 pm

    tweeting out your tweet.

    Marty
    Marty’s Flying Vegan Review
    http://www.martysnycveggiereview.blogspot.com
    @veganpilotmarty

  117. October 11, 2011 1:02 pm

    I try not to buy anything in a box and make my meals myself, so much more cost effective and I know what I’m eating!

  118. October 11, 2011 1:02 pm

    I liked everyone on fb & twitter & tweeted too! :-)

    My favorite money saving tip is to shop in bulk at my local food co-op & to grow whatever I can myself, like greens, sprouts & herbs!

    Thanks for the fun post! :-)

  119. Chelsea Corbin permalink
    October 11, 2011 1:38 pm

    I liked Almost Vegan and Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on Facebook

    AND

    I started following Almost Vegan and Ellen Jaffe Jones on Twitter

  120. October 11, 2011 4:13 pm

    When it is economically possible purchase stock pantry items in bulk, cacao, lucuma, vanilla powder, these types of items. You will not only save money in the long run but your pantry will almost always be full.

  121. October 11, 2011 4:18 pm

    I already “Like” Almost Vegan on Facebook AND Eat Vegan on $4 a Day on Facebook and now I am confirming that I do. =)

  122. October 11, 2011 4:19 pm

    I tweeted the message on Twitter.

  123. October 11, 2011 4:37 pm

    I buy raw almonds at a Club store (much cheaper) AND then I can make my own almond milk, which is also cheaper than buying :) All of these books look awesome!

  124. October 11, 2011 4:38 pm

    I follow both of you on Twitter (@TanyaTheViolist)

  125. October 11, 2011 4:38 pm

    I tweeted!

  126. Angela permalink
    October 11, 2011 6:52 pm

    I would love to win Ellen’s cookbook. I am a 58 year old that is trying to change my poor eating habits into healthy habits so I can eliminate diabetes and other health issues. Thank you for your posts and the wonderful pictures.

  127. Jennifer permalink
    October 12, 2011 1:04 am

    Just TWEETED =)

  128. Hope Burtner permalink
    October 13, 2011 3:09 am

    I tweeted about the giveaway! :) Here is a link to the tweet (if needed) : http://twitter.com/#!/PorcelainDoll27/status/124396277105561601

  129. October 13, 2011 7:40 am

    my money saving tip is to shop the sales and only buy what is on your list – no impulse buys!

  130. October 13, 2011 1:39 pm

    I tweeted the message.
    According to Klout, I’m a top influencer on food, so there’s that :)

  131. October 13, 2011 1:44 pm

    The link above to follow Almost Vegan on Twitter actually links to FB, but I found AlmostVeganChef and am following.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 13, 2011 1:46 pm

      Good catch! I can’t believe no one told me about that yet. Fixed!

  132. October 13, 2011 1:46 pm

    Hi! I have been following you for a while but added my like to book’s FB page Ellen’s FB page. Also tweeted about the contest at @wannabevegan. Looking forward to being the winner! :)

    Just a note – the link for your Twitter account above goes to your Facebook page.

  133. October 13, 2011 1:56 pm

    Utilize the bulk bins at Whole Foods. Much cheaper!

  134. October 13, 2011 1:57 pm

    I liked both of you on FB!

  135. October 13, 2011 1:58 pm

    I follow both of you on Twitter!

  136. October 13, 2011 1:58 pm

    and I tweeted!

  137. Megan permalink
    October 13, 2011 6:23 pm

    Best tip: buy in bulk! Saves tons of money

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,110 other followers

