Skip to content
Deconstructed Lebanese hummus

July 6, 2010

I want to begin today by thanking all of you for bearing with me while I go back and update all the links embedded in my old entries. There are close to 200 of them, so it’s going to take me a couple more weeks to finish. In the meantime, you’ll be seeing all these old posts popping up in your readers as I edit, so you can either ignore them or read them (again or perhaps for the first time) and discover something new-old!

This is a deconstructed hummus based on Taste of Beirut’s recipe for hummos baleela. I took quite a few liberties here, some by choice (such as reducing the olive oil and thus fat content) and others by necessity (such as reducing the amount pine nuts, because 3 Tbsp is all I had!), but the spirit of the dish is the same.

1 cup dry garbanzo beans (or 2 cans)
3 Tbsp raw pine nuts
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
4 cloves garlic, mashed with 1/8 tsp salt
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp ground cumin
Salt to taste

If using dry beans (as I did), soak them in a large pot for 8 hours (or overnight) with plenty of water and a dash of baking soda. Drain and rinse the beans, return them to the pot, and cover with fresh water. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat to medium-low, and simmer for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, or until extremely tender and falling apart. (If using canned beans, rinse and drain the beans, add them to a large pot, cover with fresh water, bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer for 30 minutes.)

Meanwhile, add the pine nuts to a dry skillet and toast over low heat for just a couple minutes, until golden.

Add the olive oil and garlic and cook over low heat until fragrant, 2-3 minutes.

When the beans are done cooking, drain them (reserving some of the cooking water) and transfer them to a bowl or container. Pour the olive oil mixture on top.

Add the lemon juice, cumin, and as much of the cooking liquid as you wish (I’d suggest 1/4-1/3 cup to start). Season to taste with salt, and toss well to combine. Please feel free to add more olive oil if you want to make it thinner and more liquidy like the original, but I found it easier to scoop up in this chunkier form. I loved eating it warm, but if you refrigerate it for 12-24 hours, the flavors really come alive. For a hummus freak like myself, this + toasted pita bread = snacktime heaven.

Yield: 8 servings.
Per serving: 173 calories, 10g fat (1g sat), 16.5g carbs, 5g fiber, 5.8g protein.

If you like this, you might also like…
Roasted potato wraps w/black bean hummus
Indian spice hummus
Tuscan white bean dip

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 8:37 am

    First cake, and now pine nuts? What are you trying to do to my irrational food aversions? 😀 I do, however, suddenly have 1125 grams (um… 2.5pounds, I think?) more nuts today than I did yesterday, so I might just have to make this and smash in a few handfuls of mixed cashews/peanuts/almonds instead of the little pine fellows!

    P.S. Looking forward to rereading all your posts. Particularly the travel and peanut butter ones 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 8, 2010 12:35 pm

      Bwahaha, I love breaking down food barriers! Give me another one to work on! :] I will say, however, that if you choose to exclude the pine nuts, I wouldn’t replace them with any other nut. They lend absolutely no crunch or texture to the finished product; rather, they melt right into it, like [vegan] buttah. To me, something crunchy would negatively affect the texture. But even if you just leave them out, this would still be delicious!

      • July 8, 2010 6:43 pm

        Avocado! 🙂 And thanks for the tip!

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          July 12, 2010 12:16 pm

          I am downright embarrassed at how few avocado-containing recipes I have on this blog! Thank you for making me realize this grave shortcoming—I will think up something good for you! ;D

  2. fitandfortysomething permalink
    July 7, 2010 11:35 am

    i love hummus and lebanese food. this looks fabulous girl!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 8, 2010 12:36 pm

      Me too! We just got our first Lebanese restaurant in Kansas City; I actually still need to try it…

  3. Brett permalink
    July 7, 2010 12:30 pm

    It’s a burden that we, as your loyal readers, bear. But we gladly will. I’m looking forward to the European travels as well. The new site looks great, so keep it up.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 8, 2010 12:36 pm

      It makes me so happy that people may actually reread those posts as I edit them! They’re some of my favorites.

  4. July 7, 2010 8:19 pm

    I’ve made hummus just about every which way, but never like this! I’m digging that chunky texture, very different from the norm but just as appealing.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 8, 2010 12:38 pm

      It probably can’t “legally” be called hummus if it’s chunky like this, but oh well! 😛

  5. July 8, 2010 12:17 am

    yummy work on the hummus! and congrats to the you bar winners!

    xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 8, 2010 12:38 pm

      Thanks! I know you’re not into garlic (somehow!), but if you left it out, I bet you’d like this.

  6. July 8, 2010 2:01 pm

    Amber

    I have been meaning to visit but the internet (slower than a dying snail) and the electricity cut-offs have made this impossible until tonight; so glad you like the hummos baleela enough to make your own version which is great! My daughter told me she had it at a friends house last night with onions and garlic.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 12, 2010 12:14 pm

      Slower than a dying snail, haha!
      Thanks again for the recipe :] I loved it.

Trackbacks

  1. Ethiopian-style hummus « Almost Vegan

Leave a Comment

