Skip to content
Reviews: Naturally More, [me]&goji

July 8, 2010

I have a couple fun products to show you today, one that I was already familiar with and one that’s new to me. It’s no secret I’m a peanut butter freak (I adore nut butters of any kind, really), and have sampled just about every variety available in stores in my area. From the very first time I tried Naturally More, I was in love. I emailed the company to tell them so, and Tim Petro kindly sent me a jar of each of their products—peanut butter, organic peanut butter, and almond butter.

Naturally More is completely different from any nut butter I’ve ever tried. Besides the expected roasted nuts, the original PB and the almond butter each contain wheat germ for fiber, flax seed and oil for omega-3 fats, cane juice and honey for sweetness, and the non-vegan component of egg whites for protein (10g per 2 Tbsp serving!). The PB is also slightly lower in calories and fat than other brands, and the organic kind IS vegan, containing only peanuts, flaxseed, and cane juice.

None of that would matter, though, if the butters weren’t tasty. But they are—oh, how tasty they are. So nutty they’ll quickly make you reach for a glass of water, they also have a slight crunch from the delicious flaxseed, yet are looser and easier to stir than other nut butters. The almond butter (seen used before in my no-bake almond butter balls) has a strong, UNroasted flavor perfect for raw or baked sweet treats. I love, too, that they offer a fully-vegan organic variety of their peanut butter, which tastes just as wonderful. It’s not a stretch for me to call this my favorite brand of PB I’ve found so far. Please find and try this stuff! Thank you again to Naturally More for the awesome sample jars.

I’d wanted to try [me]&goji cereals for quite awhile. Similarly to YOUBAR, they allow you to create your own cereal from a plethora of healthy ingredients. Though I didn’t get to mix my own, Alexander at [me]&goji sent me a sample of their Adam’s Apple Mix.

I love the cool canister they package it in! It contains [me]&goji’s “flaxed & flaked” cereal (corn flakes, amaranth, flax, and sesame), along with dried apple bits, goji berries, golden raisins, dried cranberries, pumpkin seeds, and a hint of cinnamon.

This stuff is gooood. The cereal is light and crisp, and all the fruity-chewy elements go together exceedingly well. They’re not stingy with the add-ins, either; the cereal was packed with these jewel-like additions.

I would definitely eat this same mix again, but I also still want to design my own one of these days! Thanks again to [me]&goji for this great cereal.

No giveaway today, but I promise there’ll be one in my next review post. I’m so ready for my birthday weekend—I turn 25 on Saturday (July 10th), and I’ll be living it up with my friends and boyfriend that night. We’ll be cruising the town on a party bus, drinking, dancing, and carousing inside, and stopping every now and then for a bathroom (or more liquor). I can’t wait! I hope you all have lovely weekends as well :]

If you like this, you might also like…
Review: YOUBAR
Review: Sunland peanut butter
Raw flaxseed pancakes

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 11:34 pm

    Hey Lady, check my site, you got lucky 🙂 Send me your addy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 12, 2010 12:17 pm

      Thank you thank you! 😀 I’m excited to try the bars!

  2. fitandfortysomething permalink
    July 9, 2010 10:17 am

    love both of these products. so lucky you got to review them. hope you have a great weekend!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 12, 2010 12:18 pm

      I felt lucky to review them too, especially Naturally More, which I already loved! I can handle a speck of egg white here or there if it’s in a form as tasty as that. :]

  3. Tracy permalink
    July 9, 2010 1:09 pm

    Thats really funny that you’re doing a review on Naturally More. Me eversopatient husband and I went grocery shopping yesterday, and we got to the peanut butter, I had been buying Smuckers Natural. I hate trying to get that stuff out of the jar after it’s been in the fridge, it’s as hard as a rock.

    So i’m browsing, reading labels for like 10 minutes, looking for a natural PB that doesn’t have to go in the fridge. He’s like what about this one? I first read the ingredients and i’m like, it’s got egg whites 😦 It has to go in the fridge, he’s like NOOO look it says optional!!

    So long story short, we got Naturally More. I was happy to see the flax seed and other good stuff in it and that it doesn’t have to be kept cold. Hopefully it’s as awesome as you say! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 12, 2010 12:19 pm

      Thanks for reading, Tracy! I don’t refrigerate my Naturally More, and it’s never been a problem. Come back and let me know how you both like it!

      • Tracy permalink
        July 12, 2010 4:53 pm

        I LOVE love LOVE it!! I haven’t put it in the fridge and it’s still yummy and delicious!

        I, of course am the PB whore (can I say that here?), he wants nothing to do with it. More for me 😀

        I need to try the almond butter next!

  4. July 9, 2010 8:26 pm

    *whimper* I’ve seen these Naturally More butters on other blogs, but no one’s described them quite as evocatively as you. This hurts me, seeing these and not being able to get them myself. Please please eat enough of them for the both of us!

    And happy happy happy x a million birthday! xoxo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 12, 2010 12:22 pm

      ::cough::cough::bloggieswap?::cough:: You need to try these! I think you’d love ’em.

      Thank you for the birthday wishes, here and on Facebook! I got a kick out of your comment saying it was already my b-day in Australia. It gave me an excuse to get another glass of birthday-eve wine (as if I needed one!) 😛

      • July 12, 2010 10:31 pm

        I’m just scared of how much the package will weigh if you put in Naturally More… but oh dear heavens I’d love to try them! I start tutoring in two weeks, so I’m thinking as soon as I get my first paycheck, we should start actually making the bloggie swap a reality 🙂

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          July 13, 2010 6:21 am

          Yeah, the weight is the one issue…but perhaps, if you’re not against unsealed packaging, I could transfer a partial jar into a smaller container and send that?

          I’m ready whenever you are! But, of course, no rush :]

          • July 13, 2010 7:41 am

            I wouldn’t mind at all, but I think we’d be risking the [confiscating] wrath of customs 😦 Shall have to put my thinking cap on 😛

  5. July 10, 2010 12:02 pm

    That cereal looks scrumptious!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 12, 2010 12:23 pm

      It was better than I thought it would be, honestly! Not that I didn’t think it would be good, but I was slightly concerned the cinnamon would be overpowering. Not the case!

  6. *Andrea* permalink
    July 10, 2010 5:48 pm

    i love naturally more!!!! i’ve only triedc the peanut butter but i love the gritty taste and the spreadability

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 12, 2010 12:24 pm

      Me too, Andrea! “Gritty” is exactly the word I was looking for to describe it, and couldn’t come up with when I was writing this post. It’s gritty in the best way!

  7. Rachel permalink
    July 22, 2010 6:20 pm

    Mmmm…peanut butter.

    That cereal looks wonderful! I think I’m going to try it and make my own mix!

Leave a Comment

