Skip to content
Raw raspberry swirl cheezecake

July 12, 2010

It’s Ani Phyo week! I’ll tell you in a few days exactly why that is, but in the meantime, here’s a sweet treat from Ani’s Raw Food Desserts. Inspired by the raw cheezecake I ate at Bliss Café in Dallas, I used the crust and base from Ani’s chocolate chip cheezecake recipe and added a raspberry swirl instead. The result is a creamy, fruity, frosty cake perfect for a hot summer day or night. Sorry for the dull-looking pictures—my flash was turned off, which should be a good thing, but my kitchen lighting isn’t the best! I made a mini cheezecake, but you can double the amounts below and make it with a full-size springform pan if you want.

For the crust:
1/2 cup almond meal
1/4 cup pitted dates
1/8 tsp sea salt

For the filling:
1 1/2 cups raw cashews, soaked for 2-4 hours
6 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup agave nectar

For the swirl:
Heaping 1/4 cup raspberries
2 Tbsp pitted dates
2 Tbsp agave nectar

To make the crust, combine the almond meal, dates, and salt in a food processor. (If you don’t have almond meal, pulse about 1/2 cup raw almonds in the food processor until you get fine crumbs.)

Pulse to create moist crumbs.

Press into the bottom and about an inch up the sides of a lightly greased 6-inch springform pan.

To make the filling, rinse and drain the cashews and combine with the lemon juice, coconut oil, and agave nectar in a blender or food processor.

Blend until completely smooth. (I transferred mine from the processor to the Vitamix to get it smoother.) Pour the filling into the crust.

To make the swirl, combine the raspberries (use frozen if you don’t have fresh), dates, and agave in the same blender (don’t bother to wash it). Blend until smooth, adding a splash of water if necessary. If you don’t like raspberry seeds, you can strain them out, but I like my filling seedy (…that’s what she said). Carefully pour the raspberry mixture on top of the cashew mixture in the crust.

Use a knife to gently swirl the two layers together. I didn’t do the best job, so mine ended up not-too-swirly, but it all tastes the same going down (…that’s also what she said. I’m on a roll today!).

Cover the cheezecake with plastic wrap and freeze for a few hours until firm. This will keep for weeks in the fridge, but take it out to thaw about 15-20 minutes before serving.

Not only is it adorable (if I do say so myself), it’s delicious! The chewy crust would be praiseworthy on its own, but the berrylicious filling also can’t be beat. Somehow rich and refreshing at the same time, it makes for an indulgent yet healthy dessert. Or snack. Or maybe even breakfast!

Yield: 8 servings.
Per serving: 323 calories, 22.3g fat (8g sat), 29.5g carbs, 3g fiber, 6.7g protein.

If you like this, you might also like…
Raw flaxseed pancakes
Loaded raw chilly chili
Raw pecan pie cookies

35 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 2:59 pm

    Looks delish!! I MUST make this soon!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 13, 2010 10:40 am

      You should! Then come back and let me know how you liked it :]

  2. Cheryl permalink
    July 12, 2010 8:26 pm

    This does look like a refreshing summertime dessert.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 13, 2010 10:45 am

      It is, and another great thing is that you can customize it to include your favorite summer berry or fruit in place of raspberry.

  3. July 12, 2010 11:42 pm

    Bookmarked! This actually looks doable for me, with my limited pantry and kitchen equipment, plus *thank you* for making a smaller version!! As I’m just cooking for me these days, I end up having to eat entire batches of cookies, desserts, etc in a matter of days (not that I’m really complaining :P)

    P.S. I’m absolutely mortified by the post I just put up, though, having read this one of yours!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 13, 2010 10:52 am

      Definitely! You need only minimal equipment (a food processor or blender, and one pan) and 8 different ingredients (some of which could even be substituted, such as maple syrup for agave or strawberries for raspberries).

      Oh, I feel you on the “Oh no, now I have to eat all these treats before they go bad, which is so great for my taste buds but so bad for my figure” (not that you have that last problem!). I’m glad I have a boyfriend who is more than happy to help me “get rid of” desserts and baked goods. Would you believe the last guy I dated “didn’t like sweets”?! The nerve! Hehe…let’s find you a treat-eating boytoy 😛

      PS—Peppermint SUCKS!!

      • July 13, 2010 9:07 pm

        Dear Amber,
        Can you please find me a sweets-eating boytoy? I am rather bereft of cuddles and snuggles. Canberra is like a wasteland for finding nice single men, and it makes me sad inside. Maybe the bloggie swap?
        Love,
        Hannah

        P.S. Let’s go egg peppermint’s house. It’ll be cathartic, fo’ shizzle!

  4. July 13, 2010 12:04 am

    /*begin overly flowery praise*/

    Taaaaaaast-Y! And, for the record, I hate(!!) regular cheesecake. But, Amber melted my armor; so, I tried it. Then the cheezecake melted my tummy. Yummy!

    /*end overly flowery praise*/

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 13, 2010 10:43 am

      And then, we melted each others’ hearts. Awwww ;P

  5. David permalink
    July 13, 2010 4:22 am

    that’s impressive, both the recipe and the write up

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 13, 2010 10:55 am

      Thanks, Dave :] If I didn’t hear so much about Chris’ excellent food offerings at game night, I’d send some treats with Matt to share!

  6. Nick S permalink
    July 13, 2010 6:23 am

    OHHHHH GOD!! You posted my weekness. CHEESECAKE!!!!! :P~(doing the whole Homer Simpson drooling sounds) I LOVE cheesecake.
    Mmmmmmm. cheesecake. :P~

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 13, 2010 10:56 am

      Nick, please, remain calm! Watch the drool spillage! 😛
      I’m glad to know I hit upon your food weakness though, Mr. I-Can’t-Eat-Chocolate!

  7. July 13, 2010 10:27 am

    hey amber, we were both winners of averies granola giveaway. just wanted to say congrats!! WOO WOO ❤

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 13, 2010 10:42 am

      Hey! I actually won her last giveaway (for the 18 Rabbits bars) but thanks and hello nonetheless! 😀

  8. Tracy permalink
    July 13, 2010 12:19 pm

    I Must try this MUST. Cheesecake is one of my most favorite foods in the world, you know.. next to PB :p

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 15, 2010 6:02 pm

      If you do, let me know how you like it!

  9. July 13, 2010 2:15 pm

    What a beauty! Though labor-intensive, raw cheesecakes always end up being so pretty… And that, paired with the taste, almost always makes the work worthwhile. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 15, 2010 6:03 pm

      I was actually surprised how labor-intensive this one wasn’t! Outside of soaking the nuts, it took me less than 10 minutes to assemble.

  10. Eric permalink
    July 14, 2010 1:10 pm

    Um.. yes please! 😀 cant wait to try this one out, it looks excellent.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 15, 2010 6:05 pm

      Awesome, lemme know what you think of it after you try it :]

  11. July 14, 2010 1:19 pm

    That does look delicious…and very do-able. I’m gonna have to try this myself one of these days. Right now I’m on a roadtrip with not a lot of healthy options around. But looking forward to getting back in the groove soon.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 15, 2010 6:07 pm

      I know how you feel! I was road-tripping the past three days and just got home. My dehydrator is already humming away!

  12. July 14, 2010 6:43 pm

    I need to try a raw “cheese”cake. I have always hated real cheesecake, but this sounds so much better!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 15, 2010 6:08 pm

      My boyfriend hates real cheesecake too, so he was skeptical of raw cheesecake, but now he loves it! I hope you try it and like it too :]

  13. July 15, 2010 12:15 am

    great job amber! wow that looks delish!
    i have also been on an ani-inspired week…i love that woman!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 15, 2010 6:07 pm

      Thanks! You’ll have to be sure to read my post tomorrow for some Ani excitement…

  14. July 15, 2010 9:38 am

    i looooove raw cheesecake–and love this raspberry filing! love the step-by-step pics!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 15, 2010 6:09 pm

      Hehe, thanks! I like to think of the step-by-step photos as my blog’s “signature” feature. I’m so glad you enjoy that aspect!

  15. Rachel permalink
    July 21, 2010 5:30 pm

    Haha, you and your cashews!! It looks delicious, but I am just not a fan of cashews. Can you taste the “cashew?” Otherwise, is there an alternative to cashews?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 21, 2010 6:29 pm

      There’s definitely zero cashew taste whatsoever—soaking and blending them turns them into a neutral-flavored, fluffy cream :] Somehow cashews + lemon juice creates something that tastes neither cashewy nor lemony!

  16. July 21, 2010 7:55 pm

    this looks amazing, i think i’m going to try it. thanks for the recipe 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 22, 2010 10:24 am

      You’re very welcome! If you do try it, be sure to come back and let me know how you liked it. :]

  17. October 20, 2011 1:00 pm

    I will try it out! Sure my family will love this delicious and healthy dessert!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2011 1:03 pm

      I hope your family loves it, Anastasia! 🙂

Leave a Comment

