Skip to content
One-minute pizza sauce

July 26, 2010

Stop right there! I see you reaching for that can of prepared pizza sauce on the grocery store shelf. You’ve already got a ball of frozen dough and a block of vegan mozzarella in your cart, and that sauce would complete the trifecta. But don’t! For a mere minute of your time, you can have homemade pizza sauce that’s ten times better than the jarred kind, and for only pennies per serving. Just pick up a couple cans of tomato products instead, and raid your spice cabinet when you get home. Like my perfect marinara, this is a great quick-to-make sauce to have in your repertoire.

14.5-oz. can diced tomatoes
1/4 cup tomato paste
2 cloves garlic, peeled
2 tsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp fennel seed
1/2 tsp sea salt (or to taste)
1/8 tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp crushed red pepper (optional)

In a blender or food processor, combine all sauce ingredients.

Purée until smooth. That’s it!

Use immediately, or transfer to a small container and refrigerate for up to a week, or freeze for up to 2 months. I find that it’s more than enough for one large, generously sauced pizza. I made one for me and Matt using a 7-grain crust from Whole Foods and a bevy of fresh veggies—onions, bell peppers, garlic, and shredded zucchini on my portion (the bottom right quarter), and mushrooms and Boca grounds on the rest for Matt.

I’m not a fan of cheese, real or vegan, so I would have preferred to leave it cheeseless, but I added some rice mozzarella per Matt’s request. I regret that this picture of my piece turned out shadowy, but I think its deliciousness is still quite apparent. The sweet, herby sauce is what made this pizza!

Yield: 5 servings.
Per serving (heaping 1/3 cup): 40 calories, 1g fat (trace sat), 6.6g carbs, 1g fiber, 1.3g protein.

If you like this, you might also like…
Spaghetti & vegan meatballs
Perfect marinara sauce
Vegan pepperoni pizza

16 Comments leave one →
  1. fitandfortysomething permalink
    July 26, 2010 12:42 pm

    oh what a fabulous pizza and or spaghetti sauce amber! thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:42 am

      You’re right, I bet it’d be good on pasta too!

  2. July 26, 2010 1:39 pm

    The pizza sounds lovely along with that quick marinara. Great job!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:43 am

      Thanks Noelle :] Hey, lemme know when you get your coupon in the mail!

  3. July 26, 2010 2:13 pm

    Yum! It looks so good and super easy! I’ll have to try that next time we make our homemade pizza!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:43 am

      Let me know if you do! 😀

  4. Mike permalink
    July 26, 2010 5:56 pm

    This is what I want for my birthday (June 1st)… even if it’s almost vegan.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:44 am

      Haha, you got it, Mike. Just remind me again in about 10 months, k?

  5. July 26, 2010 10:11 pm

    Somehow, I think it was the gorgeous cook who *made* the pizza, in both senses of the word 😀

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:45 am

      Oh, you! ::blush::grin::

  6. July 27, 2010 9:17 am

    Looks almost exactly like the recipe in my Magic Bullet recipe book! Yum!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:47 am

      Ah, I almost had a Magic Bullet…but then I got my Vitamix! So I returned the Bullet to BB&B =/

  7. Sarah W permalink
    July 27, 2010 9:24 am

    I’m totally trying that one! I love home made pizza!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:47 am

      Thanks Sarah! Let me know what you think of it.

  8. Jason permalink
    July 27, 2010 3:48 pm

    looks so great!! i’m going to have to try it. i’m also going to have to read
    your blog more, since i’m trying to transfer to vegan, but failing miserably,
    lol.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 28, 2010 9:27 am

      YES! I want to veganize your life! We need to get together soon and discuss this 😀

Leave a Comment

