Skip to content
Homemade raw chocolate bar

July 28, 2010

This post was inspired by two Hannahs. Hannah K of Bittersweet wrote semi-recently about cookies made with homemade chocolate chunks. Hannah T of Wayfaring Chocolate is just, well, the undisputed Queen of Chocolate, so she too gets credit for my mind’s chocolatey wanderings as of late.

I knew that a simple chocolate bar would be the perfect first use for the cacao powder and butter I’d ordered online. I changed Hannah K’s recipe to include cacao butter, rendering the bar more solid at room temperature and giving it that nice snap that chocolate should have, but you can just replace it with more coconut oil if you want. And if you don’t give two whits about preserving the integrity of the raw enzymes and such (we all know I’m no purist), it’s quite alright to use regular cocoa powder and agave nectar instead.

1 cup raw cacao powder
1/4 cup raw cacao butter, melted
1/4 cup virgin coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup raw agave nectar
1 tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of sea salt

Cacao powder is very solid in its raw form, so allow some time to melt it slowly and gently. I put a chunk of it in a glass bowl and placed it in the dehydrator for about 30 minutes, but you can use a double boiler or the microwave method if you prefer (again, no raw puritanism here). The coconut oil won’t take nearly as long to melt, so do that after you take care of the cacao butter.

Place the cacao powder in a large bowl.

Add all remaining ingredients and whisk until smooth.

Ok, I HAD to turn my flash on. Just look how shiny! You could totally leave it like this and use it as a frosting or a dip for fruit.

Transfer the mixture to a lightly greased mold or pan. If you’re more serious about chocolate than I am, you might have an actual chocolate-making mold. If so, use it, but I found that a standard loaf pan worked just fine. It won’t make the prettiest bar of chocolate in the world, but the taste is all that matters, right?

Place it in the freezer until completely hardened, and store it in the fridge or freezer until ready to eat. Then have at it! Chop or break it into chunks for cookies or brownies, shave or grate it over ice cream or cheesecake, or just eat it as-is. And the taste? To my inexpert palate, it was great—as good as any storebought dark chocolate bar I’ve ever had! I may not be an artisan chocolatier, but I think that even Miss Chocolate herself, Hannah T, would find this handmade-with-love bar delectable.

Yield: 16 small servings.
Per serving: 87 calories, 7.5g fat (5g sat), 7g carbs, 2g fiber, 1.1g protein.

If you like this, you might also like…
Best-ever chocolate cake
Skinny bitchtastic brownies
Hazelnut cupcakes w/chocolate mousse filling

36 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 11:53 am

    Wow! That’s impressive! I do love a chocolate “snap” every so often.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 28, 2010 2:22 pm

      Thanks! Normally I’m not one for snacking on just chunks of chocolate, but something about making it yourself makes it feel more virtuous 😛

  2. July 28, 2010 12:12 pm

    Yum, yum, yum! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 28, 2010 2:23 pm

      That about sums (yums?) it up! ;]

  3. July 28, 2010 12:42 pm

    This is excellent! Thanks for posting this. It looks super easy and delicious to make.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 28, 2010 2:24 pm

      You are more than welcome :] Let me know if you try it yourself!

  4. July 28, 2010 2:15 pm

    Uh…yum! Where did you find cacao butter? I’ve looked for it locally without luck. Maybe I was just looking at the wrong spot in the store.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 28, 2010 2:26 pm

      I’ve never seen it in a store either, so I had to resort to online ordering. I got mine at NutsOnline.com. Be careful as you browse that site though, because you’ll want to buy everything!

  5. July 28, 2010 6:57 pm

    Thank you for brightening up my morning so exponentially! I may or may not have clapped at the screen. 😀 I’ve actually been meaning to make Hannah K’s raw chocolate myself, but have resisted buying the coconut oil until my first pay packet comes in. (Soon, my pretties, soon.)

    Can we please have a bar of this resting beside my mini cheezecake buffet when I come to KC?

    xoxo

    P.S. Now you must simply go against the rawness and add salted roasted peanuts…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 29, 2010 9:33 am

      I made you clap for joy? That makes ME want to clap for joy! You MUST get your hands on some coconut oil ASAP; it’s so very useful in so many things. If you can get cacao butter too, though, I highly recommend including it in this bar!

      I think I shall have the cheezecake buffet ready when you arrive, and then I’ll leave a bar of chocolate resting upon your pillow each night for when you retire to bed ;D

      PS—I was thinking pistachios, perhaps (!)…OR homemade praline pecans…

      • July 29, 2010 9:33 pm

        Sometimes it’s like you see right into my soul.

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          July 30, 2010 7:43 am

          Perhaps I do. Perhaps I have a special pair of 3D goggles for precisely that purpose. Perhaps.

          • July 30, 2010 7:44 am

            I think you’d need, like, totally, like, 7D goggles. Because I am DEEP AND MULTIFACETED LIKE THE OCEAN.

            • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
              July 30, 2010 7:46 am

              As long as you’re not like the Mariana Trench…I don’t know why, but that thing scares the shit out of me…

  6. July 29, 2010 12:18 am

    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/02/raw-vegan-coconut-oil-chocolate-mailbox.html

    Delete this comment if you despise link dropping 🙂

    Ok it’s interesting my recipe, is basically 3 Tbsp of Liquid (agave & oil) to 4 Tbsp cocoa power. And your recipe is 3/4 c liquid to 1 c cocoa. SAME RATIOS.

    I came upon my ratios thru trial and error and made alot of choco sauce in the process 🙂 but came upon that ratio that works, and it’s interesting, yours is the same, just larger quantity. Anyway, the science geek in me is musing…

    Never worked w/ cocoa butter, only oil. I know the only high raw vegan who hasnt. I love that it adds SNAP. I need to splurge$$ on some!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 29, 2010 9:40 am

      Hehe, I don’t mind link dropping when it’s relevant! That’s really interesting about the ratios…I’m glad you noticed! That tells me this recipe can work in any quantity. (I’ve always had a hard time understanding why some recipes don’t work if you halve or double them…)

      Definitely look into getting some cacao butter! I got mine at NutsOnline.com. Here’s something interesting—they offer a 250g (~1/2 lb.) block of specifically RAW cacao butter for $15. But they offer a FULL lb. of just “cacao butter” for the SAME price. I did some research, and from what I understand, cacao butter is inherently raw. So that difference in name could be earning them twice the profit on some of what they sell! Long story short, go with the non-raw-specified cacao butter :]

  7. July 29, 2010 7:09 am

    This recipe sounds ahh-mazing! I’m almost vegan, almost raw, and all over the board these days! 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 29, 2010 9:42 am

      That’s awesome! Welcome to the flexibility bandwagon, jump on board! 😀

  8. July 29, 2010 9:27 am

    Yumm! Makes me want to get chocolate molds! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 29, 2010 9:43 am

      It made me want some molds too! It would great to make mini-bars or pieces, wrap them up all pretty, and give them as gifts :]

  9. Jason permalink
    July 29, 2010 2:17 pm

    i’m obsessed with your recipes. i can’t wait to be able to afford the ingredients to make so much of your stuff. i also apparently need to get a juicer and food processor. i think they have them on special at aldi right now. wonder if they’re any good? hmmm… ANYHOW (back on subject), this reminded me of that cake you brought me for my birthday. SOOOOO AMAZING!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 29, 2010 2:19 pm

      Hehe! Oh, you mean this cake? 😛
      I’m loving your excitement!! You do definitely need a food processor (get a Cuisinart!), but a juicer isn’t so necessary. I don’t even have a juicer at all (though I might end up getting one, someday). You’re better off saving up for either a good dehyrator ($200) or a real-deal blender like a Vitamix ($450-650), depending on what kinds of food you make the most often. But don’t let that scare you off—you can survive indefinitely in the kitchen with nothing more than a good knife and food processor.

      • Jason permalink
        July 29, 2010 2:43 pm

        i love juices, and my blender doesn’t liquify enough. i had thought of one of those vitamix things, but there’s no way i’ll be able to afford one within the next… well quite some time. i had thought about getting the HealthMaster.

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          July 29, 2010 2:57 pm

          Ah, gotcha! In that case, a juicer might be a good investment :]

  10. fitandfortysomething permalink
    July 30, 2010 9:11 am

    such simple ingredients can create such a wonderful thing! love this…..have a great weekend amber 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 30, 2010 3:00 pm

      I know! It’s like tasty alchemy :] Enjoy your weekend too!

  11. August 3, 2010 6:16 am

    I am a chocoholic, and find this irresistible! I usually wind up opening up a bag of vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips and munching by the handful- this looks a lot better! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 4, 2010 2:21 pm

      Haha, I’ve snacked on chocolate chips as well! This is definitely a healthier alternative :]

  12. August 7, 2010 6:12 am

    Cool! I’ve always wanted to try making my own chocolate. Who knew it could be so easy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 8, 2010 1:33 pm

      I know, right?! 😛 As long as you have the ingredients on hand, it comes together in a snap.

  13. Matt permalink
    August 11, 2010 5:16 pm

    I was at work the other day and wanting chocolate. It made me think about this. Mmmmmm….

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 11, 2010 7:30 pm

      It’s almost as craveable as YOU 😀

  14. papaya permalink
    December 12, 2011 4:06 pm

    Anyone know if this chocolate recipe would melt in room temp? thanks!

    • December 12, 2011 6:49 pm

      Hey papaya! If you replace the coconut oil with additional cacao butter, the bar should stay very solid at room temp. The more coconut oil, the easier it’ll melt.

  15. Sorina permalink
    October 29, 2012 12:29 pm

    Hey this looks delicious!!!!!! And to think it’s healthy too! Woohoo! I just want to ask you something, how long would you think this would last, left outside, before it spoils (or melts for that matter 😀 )? Would it be good to eat after a month?

    • October 29, 2012 12:34 pm

      Hey Sorina! I would not leave this out for any length of time. If you do plan to keep it at room temperature, be sure to replace the coconut oil with additional cacao butter. In that instance, it would stay good at room temp for several days or longer. If you want to store it for as long as a month or more, wrap it in foil and keep it in the refrigerator or freezer. 🙂

Leave a Comment

