Skip to content
Restaurant July leftovers

August 10, 2010

Yesterday’s post contained my homemade leftovers for the month of July, so today will be all restaurant/outside-my-home eats! First up is a roasted red pepper hummus & pita plate I had at Grinders, where Matt and I met some friends after wandering local art galleries at First Friday.

Matt and I took the day before my birthday off work (it was a Friday) and spent the afternoon and evening in Lawrence, home of my alma mater, KU, and where I lived for three years during college. We sipped glasses of crisp white wine on the patio of The Bourgeois Pig, shopped around Mass Street, and stopped for dinner at Zen Zero, consistently voted Lawrence’s best veg-friendly restaurant. Matt ordered the Phad Kee Mow, a saucy, Thai-basilful flat-noodle stir fry, with tofu.

I got the Singapore Noodles—rice noodles stir-fried with onions, bell peppers, and snow peas in a ginger-garlic curry sauce, also with tofu. LOOOVED this!

Since we were closing in on my birthday, we had to have dessert. Oh, who am I kidding—birthday or not, we probably still would’ve ordered these chocolate-banana spring rolls.

These deep-fried rolls were stuffed with cashews, bananas, and chocolate, and served with vanilla bean ice cream and rum-caramel sauce. Resistance was futile.

The following week, one of my best buddies Emily and her fiancée Sarah traveled with me to St. Louis to see Hole. On the way, we stopped in Columbia, Missouri for a late lunch. I’d done some research ahead of time, and found that there’s one all-vegetarian restaurant there, Main Squeeze Café.

Sarah ordered the Tempeh Burrito, which was a sprouted wheat tortilla stuffed with grilled tempeh, brown rice, tomato, red onion, cucumber, spinach, local feta, olives, and lemon tahini. It came with a side of very garlicky kale-potato soup.

I noshed on the Lotus Plate—brown rice, tofu, and the vegetable of the day (yellow summer squash) with lemon tahini dressing on a bed of spinach. I’m actually not a fan of squash, but I liked it here.

Emily got the Big Sky Burrito, a whole wheat tortilla filled with brown rice, refried beans, Monterey Jack cheese, tomato, and red onion, with housemade salsa on the side. All three of us enjoyed our meals; I would definitely stop there again next time I pass through Columbia.

Another meal I ate with Emily was at Wai Wai, our favorite quick-Thai place. I always get the Thai cashew curry with tofu, and I know I’ve featured it several times in this blog already, but here it is again!

I’ve been wanting to try Blanc Burgers + Bottles, a “gourmet burger joint,” since it opened, and I finally went there with Matt. Since it was busy, and we could tell it would take awhile to get our meals, we started with fries—truffle fries for Matt and sweet potato fries for me, served in these cute (though entirely nonsensical) mini shopping carts.

I was excited to try their spiced lentil burger, which I ordered on brioche and with several special requests and substitutions. It was HUGE!

The curried-lentil-and-vegetable patty was was topped with roasted red peppers and thick slices of avocado. It was fabulous! I absolutely want to eat at Blanc again.

Finally, Matt and I attended Blissfest in Parkville, Missouri on the last day of July. It’s an annual “conscious lifestyle festival” with live music, vegetarian-vegan-raw food vendors, eco-health vendors, food demos, workshops, and guest speakers. We didn’t make it there till 5pm, though, and unfortunately (and unexpectedly) most of the booths seemed to be shutting down already. Luckily, we were still able to snag some food. We shared a bowl of hummus with grilled pita to start.

Matt had a bean & rice burrito, but was disappointed at how underseasoned it was.

Next year, I’ll make it a point to get to Blissfest earlier in the day, but I did end up quite content with my meal—Jamaican rice with curried tofu and fried plantains. Mmm!

If you like this, you might also like…
June leftovers
May leftovers
April leftovers

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Brett permalink
    August 10, 2010 1:52 pm

    Ok, a couple of things. I used to be a Zen Zero nay-sayer and refused to try it after I had a lack lustre experience. Recently I gave it another try and was amazed at how good it was. I had a spicy, brothy noodle dish as was great. Secondly, Blanc Burger is good, really good. Just reading this post makes me want to go there for dinner tonight.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 11, 2010 10:05 am

      I can’t believe I ate at Zen Zero so seldom when I lived in Lawrence. Sad! And Blanc totally blew my mind; I honestly didn’t expect to love it that much.

  2. August 10, 2010 1:58 pm

    Oh yum! Those little shopping carts are adorable! I’ll have to check out Blanc Burgers. I had never heard of it until it was catered into my work last week. Unfortunately I did not try anything because we had 4 meals catered that week and I was trying to be good ans stick with my yogurt. 😉 But your burger sounded amazing! And I would like to go with you to Blissfest next time if I can! I’m sorry I could not go this time. :/

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 11, 2010 10:07 am

      I’m quite certain that Blanc’s meaty burgers are a calorie nightmare, but this one was lentils & veggies—can’t go wrong! We should go there sometime after work, or maybe with the gang before Power Hour (there’s one in Westport too). And Blissfest—yes, next year; let’s plan on it :]

  3. August 10, 2010 2:22 pm

    Whoa, lots of good eats! I really want that lentil burger.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 11, 2010 10:09 am

      I want another one, myself!

  4. fitandfortysomething permalink
    August 10, 2010 9:19 pm

    ok well ALL the food looks to die for. i would eat any and all of it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 11, 2010 10:08 am

      Hehe, perhaps it’s sweet revenge for all the pics of your yummy breakfast food that always get my tummy rumbling! 😛

  5. August 10, 2010 9:33 pm

    You and your phallic desserts… I’d like to scoff, but in reality that looks SO GOOD. I really do think I’m coming around to this banana thing more and more 😉

    Your Jamaican rice/tofu/plantain dish looks divine, too. I’ve only ever had plantains as chips (in NYC) before… I’d love to try them like this! Silly Australia.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 11, 2010 10:15 am

      I hesitate somewhat to say this in a public forum, but what the hell…let’s just say that if all phalli had banana-cashew-chocolate filling, far fewer women would be so afraid of fellatio :X !

      Plaintain chips, like crunchy? Oh, you must find a way to try just-fried plantains. Crispy on the outside, soft and moist and sweet on the inside…when they’re done right, I think fried plantains rank among some of my favorite foods ever.

      • August 11, 2010 7:17 pm

        *giggle* It’s your blog and you can say what you want to! 😉 I think you make a mighty fine (and tasty) point…

        Yep, plaintain chips like crunchy potato chips. I’ve never seen fresh plantains in Canberra, but I think I should start looking harder. I trust your taste-judgement 😀

  6. August 11, 2010 1:22 pm

    wow amazing food! i love those french fries in shopping carts hehe. chocolate banana spring rolls??? *wants*

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 11, 2010 3:51 pm

      Hehe, the shopping carts WERE super-cute! And I’m not big on fried things, so regular spring rolls never interest me, but stuff them with chocolate and banana and you have yourself a deal :]

  7. August 12, 2010 10:33 am

    Im glad I am just about to eat lunch because all that food looked amazing.. especially that stir fry and spiced lentil burger… oh boy! Okay Im ready to eat lunch now, thanks!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 10:36 am

      Haha, glad I could help! ;]

  8. Noelle M permalink
    August 27, 2010 10:18 am

    Did you see my crap there?! 🙂 I mean, not my crap buuuut yanno.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 27, 2010 10:24 am

      I did! I saw your art on the flyers and ads beforehand, and at the festival itself. Next year I really want to make it there earlier in the day; I think I would enjoy it more.

      And hey, I mentioned it before but I’ll just say again, if you ever want to tackle the project of designing a foodie website, mine is ripe for the revamping :] Just let me know what’s you’d charge, and we could discuss design ideas sometime.

  9. April 10, 2012 3:37 pm

    I’m glad you also enjoyed Main Squeeze. Coincidentally, I also lived in Lawrence for a couple of years. Zen Zero is good, but Local Burger is my favorite restaurant over there. Mmmm…college town food…

    • April 10, 2012 3:45 pm

      I’ve heard so many good things about Local Burger! They weren’t open when I lived there in 2003-2006, but at some point I have GOT to go give them a try.
      You know what I REALLY miss? King Buffet. AAHHH so good.

      • April 10, 2012 7:59 pm

        Grrrl: Local Burger has the best veggie burger in the WORLD! Don’t miss it next time you’re out there. I never tried King Buffet; I’ll have to check it out. I liked La Parilla. Oh, and Wheatfields. Now I’m feeling hungry AND nostalgic! What’s funny is we just missed each other. I lived there 2006-2008.

      • April 10, 2012 8:10 pm

        I was actually in Lawrence at a concert just last night! I’ll be there again for one on Sunday – which is weird, because I haven’t been in like a year, and now suddenly I’m there twice in a week. Anyway, this autoimmune diet I’m on right now sucks, but as soon as I can, I will try a veggie burger at LB! Oh man, I loved Wheatfields and La Parilla too. And Aladdin Cafe, and Tryyaki, and India Palace, and…yep, big-time nostalgia going on here.

Leave a Comment

