Skip to content
Chocolate chip banana muffins

August 11, 2010

I almost can’t believe I haven’t shared this recipe with you yet. I made several batches of these muffins (from The Joy of Vegan Baking) in a row in March, then allowed them a sabbatical, then made more in June. Last night, when contemplating making them yet again, I realized I hadn’t yet blogged about these magnificently simple, yet addictively delicious, little gems.

You can get away with cutting out up to ¼ cup of the sugar if you let your bananas get reeeally ripe. I’m talking not just spotted, but totally blackened. The amount of banana need not be exact; if your bananas are very small, add a fifth one; if they’re gigantic, just use three. When I make these as mini muffins, I like to use mini chocolate chips, but mix and match muffin and chip sizes as you please. Also, I know the yield (16 regular-size muffins) is weird. Although the original recipe says it makes 12, I’ve consistently found that there’s way more batter than necessary for that. If you don’t want to dirty another pan just for a few more muffins, feel free to either make 12 jumbo muffins or just eat the extra batter right off the spatula (that gets my vote!).

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
4 very ripe bananas
¼ cup water
1 tsp vanilla
¾ cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease your muffin tin(s). In a medium bowl, combine the flours, baking soda, and salt. In a large bowl, mash the bananas with a fork or (my favorite nanner-mashing tool) a pastry blender.

Add the sugar and oil to the mashed bananas and whisk together thoroughly. Add the water and vanilla and mix well.

Add the flour mixture and the chocolate chips to the banana mixture, and fold together until just combined. You know the drill—don’t overmix!

Divide the batter between muffin cups, filling each about 2/3 full.

Bake 20 minutes for regular muffins, or 14 minutes for minis, until golden brown (a little less brown than mine look below; damn apartment oven) and a toothpick comes out clean.

With this batch, I made 12 regular-size muffins (for Matt) and 8 minis (for me—I need help with portion control when it comes to these babies!). Somehow, even without baking powder or tons of oil, this recipe produces the moistest, most magically fluffy banana muffins I’ve ever tasted. The chocolate chips are just a bonus!

Yield: 16 regular or 32 mini muffins.
Per muffin (16): 211 calories, 7.5g fat (1.5g sat), 36g carbs, 2g fiber, 2.2g protein.
Per muffin (32): 106 calories, 3.7g fat (1g sat), 18g carbs, 1g fiber, 1.1g protein.

If you like this, you might also like…
PB-banana “Elvis” cupcakes
Peanut butter banana bread
Banana wheat germ muffins

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 12:49 pm

    These look very moist. Ahem…something to make soon. I like these ingredients lots!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 9:37 am

      The ingredient list looks so basic, but somehow it turns into something wonderful!

  2. August 11, 2010 1:11 pm

    Yum…these sound great. Hmmm, I may need to make some of these up for my road trip coming up on Saturday. We’re going to be traveling from Jackson, TN. to Randolph, NJ…going to need lots of snacks! :o) Thanks for the recipe!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 9:39 am

      Ooh, these would make a great road trip snack! Let me know how you like them :] Have fun and be safe on the long drive!

  3. August 11, 2010 1:19 pm

    mmm those look so good. now craving chocolate chip muffins 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 9:40 am

      What’s even better is that I can almost guarantee you have everything necessary to make them ;] Just let a few bananas get brown…

  4. August 11, 2010 3:11 pm

    I like your oven… that shade of brown looks PERFECT to me!! Hahaha. Cute mini muffins! Tempting pictures as usual 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 9:41 am

      Hehe, it’s funny; with savory things I always prefer them a little overdone, but with sweet baked goods I like ‘em a little underdone. Gooey centers are my favorite!

  5. August 11, 2010 5:16 pm

    Yum! Those look so yummy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 9:41 am

      I can vouch for them that they are ;]

  6. August 11, 2010 11:48 pm

    I forgive you for not posting these sooner, because I’ve just done my new trick of buying bananas to let them get super-ripe for baking, and so this is perfect timing 😀 Or will be in a few days, the the bananas are superduper mushy… I might even splurge and use the last of my Sunspire Peanut Butter Chips in the batter instead of chocolate chips!

    Or maybe not, because then they’ll be gone. Oh, dilemmas…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 9:45 am

      Hehe, I thought of that yesterday when we discussed bananas and phallic desserts 😛 Perfect timing indeed! Mmm, PB chips would be fantabulous…

      I’m glad you forgive me for holding back on these, because you may not forgive so readily when I confess that I have also not yet shared the best ever peanut butter white chocolate blondies that I made I-don’t-know-how-many-times in November and December LAST YEAR =X But that’s on my to-post list, I swear!

      • August 12, 2010 7:35 pm

        You’re such a tease 😉 We really should get this bloggie swap going so I can send you that Australian vegan white chocolate!

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          August 13, 2010 11:32 am

          YES! I forgot all about that! Add that to the list ;]

  7. Nick S permalink
    August 12, 2010 6:23 am

    OMG!!!!! You SOOOOO need to make me some now!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 9:46 am

      Haha, I’d be happy to sometime. Like I told Brandon once, if you buy the necessary ingredients for a recipe, I’ll make it for you!

  8. August 12, 2010 6:46 am

    I want to make these for my little boy!

    Vegan recipes are fun because you can like the batter off the spoon without having to worry about raw egg! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 12, 2010 9:48 am

      Is your boy a banana lover? He’ll go crazy for these!

      And I absolutely positively couldn’t agree with you more on the batter. As I recently told someone, half the time I make cookies or cakes or muffins, it’s primarily so that I can eat some of the batter 😛

  9. August 15, 2010 5:26 pm

    Those look SOO good! I cannot wait to try them out!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 15, 2010 5:27 pm

      You’ll love them! :]

  10. Sarü permalink
    April 10, 2012 6:56 am

    Great recipe! 🙂
    But I only made two thirds of the batter (using 2.5 rather small bananas) and still got 24 mini and 4 normal sized cupcakes out of it. Strange.. 😉

  11. April 21, 2012 4:49 pm

    Is it okay for me to use 2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour? I don’t have any regular flour. Thanks in advance!

Leave a Comment

