Skip to content
FüD: KC’s newest vegan eatery

August 12, 2010

I’m giving this meal its own post, because I think I speak for all Kansas City vegans (the whole handful of us!) when I say it was high time we got an all-vegan restaurant around these parts. Earlier this year, Heidi VanPelt-Belle fulfilled our wish by opening FüD in the Westside neighborhood (right next to Blue Bird Bistro). Though it took me a couple months to get there (mostly due to their currently-limited hours of operation), I finally made it in June.

It’s a teeny place, but it has a homey, DIY feel, with the menu written out on a chalkboard and a self-serve pitcher of water at the counter. Matt and I ordered and, feeling lucky we snagged a table, sat down to await our food.

We both ended up choosing the same thing, a wild rice tostada. I’d heard about Heidi’s wild-rice-based taco “meat,” and it was even better than I expected. I don’t know how she makes it, but I’d kill for that recipe, as well as the one for the salty goji cheddar (fascinating!) on top. Guacamole, pico de gallo, and vegan sour cream completed our tostadas.

The only problem? They were tiny—the plate in the pic above is only about 6 inches in diameter. Looking around at other diners’ larger platters of food, we couldn’t figure out why this one similarly-priced dish was so small. We ordered a plate of wild rice nachos (which had all the same ingredients as the tostada, just on baked chips instead of a grilled corn tortilla) to supplement. We devoured them as quickly and greedily as we had the tostadas; that wild rice meat is just awesome.

I was really excited for dessert, because I’d also heard much about their “Sweet Stack,” a brownie with raw cashew ice cream and various toppings. When I saw that they had a raw chocolate cake, though, I insisted we get that instead. We still got ice cream on the side.

Ho.Lee.Crap. The raw, agave-sweetened, cashew-based ice cream was impossibly smooth. The raw cacao and caramel drizzle on it were tooth-achingly sweet, in a GOOD way. The raw chocolate cake was soft, moist, and utterly decadent, with rich ganache and crushed cacao nibs on top. Add these to the list of recipes I need!

My overall verdict? I can’t wait to eat at FüD again. Score 1 for KC vegans!

DON’T FORGET! Today is the last day to enter my Cavewoman Bars giveaway, so if you haven’t thrown your name in yet, hop to it!

If you like this, you might also like…
Accidentally-almost-vegan party
Falafel night + V-Day dinner
Vegan Italian Valentine feast

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 11:39 am

    Wow, looks like a great place! You could always email the owner and ask about the wild rice concoction. 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:37 am

      I sense she may be protective of her recipes, but it’s worth a try! :]

  2. August 12, 2010 11:44 am

    Yes: ho. lee.crap.

    DC needs more places like this. This food looks amazing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:37 am

      EVERYWHERE needs more places like this! 😛

  3. August 12, 2010 1:24 pm

    There was actually a vegan meetup at FUD last night, but they were only able to fit 30 people. 😦 I love love love FUD though! My husband and I have been there three times now, and every time it was amazing. I have noticed also how small their plates are on several objects, but I think that maybe it’s a question of contents and calories. The less healthy/packed with nutrients the item is, the smaller? At least that’s what I figure. I’m not Heidi though, so I have no clue really.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:39 am

      Are you in the KC Veg*n meetup group? I tried going to a meetup once, but Café Seed wasn’t the best place for it, and I ended up kind of separated from the larger group…I’m not great with big groups, so I was kind of ok with it, but I definitely didn’t get a true taste of the “meetup” experience. Haven’t been since…think I should give it another go?

      • August 13, 2010 12:27 pm

        I’m pretty bad with big groups of people I don’t know also. Anytime we go to a meetup I end up talking only to Marshall and staring at the rest of the group longingly.

        I think I know what part of the problem is though: You’re in a group of fifty people and you find out that one person in that group likes *blank* the same as you. You instantly strike up a friendship and start talking. In a different scenario you’re surrounded by a group of people that are all like *blank* and suddenly you have nothing in common with any of them other than that one reason you’re there. That’s what seems to happen to me anyway.

        Cafe Seed is tiny, but their food is good too! A lot of places around here that have veg friendly food are kidn of small, or really freaking expensive. Bleh.

        I’m hoping to make one of the meetups soon, I just need to get over my awkwardness one of these times.

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          August 13, 2010 2:06 pm

          You make an excellent point about veg*ns not necessarily having anything [else] in common. And I’m right there with you on wishing I could get over the awkwardness =/

  4. August 12, 2010 1:25 pm

    Geez, I meant if it’s less healthy and/or if it’s more packed with nutrients and calories, the smaller it is. I can’t type at the light speed of my brain and make it legible.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:40 am

      Hehe, I gotcha.
      That may indeed be the reason; good point.

  5. August 12, 2010 2:39 pm

    So…everything looks delish, but that brownie…wow…now that looks AWESOME!!! If I’m ever in KC, I know where I’m heading! :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:41 am

      Ohh, the raw chocolate cake was divine! It would be worth stopping in KC just for that, if you’re ever in the Midwest :]

  6. August 12, 2010 8:50 pm

    I wonder why normal chocolate desserts/cakes don’t interest me, but through in the word ‘raw’ and all I want to do is cry because there’s nothing like it in Canberra? ‘Tis an enigma, for sure 🙂

    P.S. I LOVE wild rice, so I do hope you track down this recipe for me (I mean, yourself…) eventually 😛

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:42 am

      Aww! Methinks you would have enjoyed this particular cake; it was no average confection…

      If I do get my hands on that recipe, or any similar one, you will be the first person I share it with! 😀

  7. August 12, 2010 9:33 pm

    You have all of the great restaurants! I’m so jealous!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:44 am

      Hehe! If you’re ever near Missouri or eastern Kansas, I would insist you gimme a shout and let me take you on a KC Veg Dining Tour!

  8. August 13, 2010 1:34 am

    That chocolate cake looks absolutely to die for! I’m also intrigued about the rice taco “meat”–and I have to say it sounds a lot more appetizing than the nut taco “meat” that seems to be all the vegan rage.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:47 am

      Don’t knock the taco nut meat till you’ve tried it! I was skeptical at first too, honestly, but it’s better than you might think. I’ve since developed a recipe for sausage nut meat that has made a great pizza topping AND was delicious in a vegan breakfast gravy.

      I think you’d love the chocolate cake!

  9. August 13, 2010 6:52 am

    Will def have to put Fud on the agenda if we ever make it to KC. The entrees look amazing… but then the raw ice cream and cake. I dont even like dessert (too much) and that sounds amazing. Glad you all got a good all vegan restaurant as well.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2010 11:51 am

      Here’s what’s annoying: we have several vegetarian restaurants that would/could be vegan if they didn’t all seem to offer the choice between real cheese and vegan cheeze. I say ditch the dairy and just go vegan! But, Midwestern attitudes aren’t as in-tune with that idea as the coasts seem to be.

      Like I told Aimee, if you ARE ever in KC, give me a holler! I could show you and Lauren all the best spots. And WHEN I make it to Philly someday, be warned, I’ll be asking you for your top suggestions :]

  10. August 23, 2010 3:38 pm

    I’m glad it’s not just me who thinks FUD is awesome. I seriously love it. We have been spending most of our date nights there. I’m glad you tried the cashew cream. YUM! I still haven’t tried the raw chocolate cake, but I need to. I have gotten the wild chalupa, and I agree the wild rice meat is amazing, and I am dying for the goji cheese recipe. I am totally taking a class when she offers them in the fall. Can’t wait! I’ve found that while the portions are small there, I’m always super full. I ordered the taco special once, and they looked tiny, but I left a bite because they were so filling. The food is really rich, or at least it doesn’t feel low cal at all. I may have to go back this week!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 23, 2010 3:43 pm

      I didn’t even know she was planning on holding classes; I’m going to have to look into that onces she schedules them! I agree about the food being very filling—while the tostada wasn’t enough on its own, after sharing the nachos and dessert, we were stuffed! I wish I could eat there more often, but their hours + their location = not super convenient for me :[

      • August 23, 2010 5:34 pm

        There’s a sign up list there. I just noticed it the last time, and asked her about it. I’m sure you could call in, and put your name down 🙂 I hope she shares some of those recipes we’re dying for. That would be awesome! They did expand their hours. Every day lunch, except Sunday, and dinner on Thur and Fri. When I first went, it was only open Fri nights or something like that.

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          August 23, 2010 9:48 pm

          I wish they were open Saturdays; since I live and work in south OP it’s very hard for me to get there for a Thursday or Friday dinner (and lunches are out of the question, unfortunately). But WHEN I get in there next, I will definitely have to check out the class info! I hope she shares some of those recipes too!!

Leave a Comment

