Skip to content
Raw cumin-walnut flatbread/crackers

August 20, 2010

More raw goodies! This has been a rawesome week indeed—first raw s’mores and a spring roll sauce, then a raw mocha-chocolate mousse tart, and now this savory snack.

You probably know by now that Matthew Kenney is one of my favorite chefs and authors. (I still can’t believe I met him!) Cumin-lover that I am, I was drawn to the cumin flatbread recipe in his book Everyday Raw, but there were some ingredients – yellow squash, shallot, et al. – that I didn’t have at that moment. I did have some freshly soaked walnuts, though, so I used his recipe as a jumping point to make these tasty crackers. (Dehydrator-less friends, fear not! I also give some guidelines for regular-oven-baking below.)

2 zucchini, peeled if desired, chopped
1½ cups walnuts, soaked 6-8 hours
¼ yellow onion, chopped
¼ cup olive oil
2 Tbsp agave
1 Tbsp nutritional yeast
1 Tbsp dried basil
4 tsp ground cumin
1½ tsp sea salt
¼ tsp black pepper
1-2 cloves garlic
1 cup ground flaxseed
2 tsp cumin seed (optional)
Add’l sea salt, as desired

Combine all ingredients except flax and cumin seed in the bowl of a food processor.

Blend until smooth. I tasted it at this point (I can never resist), and call me crazy, but I think this would make a great dip if you kept it just like this!

Transfer the mixture to a large bowl with the ground flaxseed.

Mix thoroughly. Spread the mixture onto a Paraflexx-lined dehydrator tray (an offset spatula is helpful) to about 1/3-inch thickness. Sprinkle with the cumin seed (if you want) and extra sea salt (if desired).

Dehydrate for 6-8 hours, until the top is dry. Flip onto a mesh-lined dehydrator tray, peel off the Paraflexx sheet, and dehydrate for 10-14 more hours, or until the sheet of cracker has shrunk and is dry and firm.

“BUT WAIT!” I hear you say, followed by “But I don’t have a dehydrator!” or “But I’m not a fan of raw stuff!” or “20 hours till I get my crackers? Are you crazy?!” Don’t worry, I feel you. You can still make these! Just spread the mixture extra-thinly (<¼ -inch) onto a large greased pan, and bake in a preheated 300-degree oven for perhaps 45-60 minutes. Maybe longer? For all I know it could be an hour and a half—I’m totally guessing here on the time, since I haven’t made them this way myself. Just keep an eye on them and watch for them to look somewhat like this.

Now, here is why the title of this post says “flatbread/crackers”—at this point, you have options. If you cut the still-somewhat-soft-and-pliable sheet into 6 large pieces, then you have flatbread! You can eat it plain, or slather it with any type of dip or spread, or use it like sandwich bread, or anything else you can dream up.

Or…you can slide the sheet onto a cutting board and slice it (a pizza cutter works great here) into small squares or rectangles. Place these back on the mesh-lined dehyrator tray, and dehydrate for an additional 4-6 hours, or maybe even more, depending on how crispy you want them. (Or, of course, bake the cracker squares again at 300 degrees for, oh, 15-20 minutes? Give or take; like I said I haven’t tried it this way. Just watch them closely to ensure they don’t overbake.) And then! You’re done at last, and your delayed gratification receives its payoff.

I really loved these crackers. I dehydrated mine just until they were stiff, but not quite crunchy. Yes, the fat and calorie counts are high, but just look at all the nutrition you’re giving your body! Packed with healthy, easy-to-digest raw nuts and veggies, they’re really hearty and filling, and I adore the fragrant spices that permeate each one. The zesty, herby flavor can’t be beat!

Yield: 6 flatbreads or about 60 crackers.
Per serving (1 flatbread or 10 crackers): 421 calories, 37g fat (4g sat), 18.9g carbs, 9g fiber, 9.5g protein.

Question: How do you all feel about the fact that I include nutrition facts with every recipe? I’ve been wondering, especially considering all the high-fat, high-cal raw dishes I’ve been posting lately, if it’s a draw or a deterrant. Do you appreciate the nutritional info being available? Does it influence what or how much you eat? Does it encourage you to make, OR scare you away from making, a particular recipe? Do you wish it weren’t there, so ignorance could be bliss?! Or do you just take no notice of it in general? I’d value your feedback!

Oh, and lest you think I’d leave these crackers without a creamy companion, stay tuned for a delicious new raw dip recipe next week! Have a great weekend, everyone :]

If you like this, you might also like…
Dinner w/Ani Phyo at 105 Degrees
Raw revelry at 105 Degrees
Curry-lentil crackers w/spinach-avocado dip

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 12:18 pm

    I’m not a walnut fan, but I love cumin! Isn’t it fun to take a recipe and just run with it until it’s exactly what you like?

    I guess nutrition facts are valuable, but I worry more about the ingredients list.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 20, 2010 12:22 pm

      You could replace the walnuts in this recipe with just about any soaked nut, and I’m sure it would be great :] That’s one thing I love about raw food, and dehydration also—it’s all very flexible and forgiving!

      Thanks for your input re: nutrition facts. I agree that ingredient lists are important to look at, whether or not you’re concerned about the nutritional info!

  2. August 20, 2010 6:24 pm

    Just wondering is there anything you can use instead of flax? Flax and I are not friends!! hehe… but I love raw crackers!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 23, 2010 9:35 am

      Good question! Flax is so widely used in raw crackers and bread that I’m not sure I’ve seen any recipes that DON’T include it. Lately, though, chia seed has been touted as the new alternative to flax, so maybe that would work! I’m not sure it would be a 1-for-1 swap, but some experimenting could yield good results.

  3. August 20, 2010 7:40 pm

    I’m not fussed either way about the nutritional values – just keep the tastiness coming! 😉

    I think it’s a pretty good indication that you’re becoming a pro at this raw business once you’re starting to adapt the recipes to suit yourself, and they still work out. Bravo, my dear! You’ll be the next MK in no time! 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 23, 2010 9:37 am

      Hehe, if only! You’re right though, I suppose I should feel proud for spontaneously creating a tasty adaptation :]

  4. August 20, 2010 7:55 pm

    Mmm… I do love a good dip.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 23, 2010 9:37 am

      Oh man, me too. I bet you I could start a whole religion revolving around Hummus ;]

  5. August 21, 2010 11:40 am

    Personally, I never look at the nutritional information. There’s so much more to nutrition than calorie and fat content, that I find it pointless to take the numbers at face value.

    For instance, 10g of beef fat is not equivalent to 10g of avocado fat. 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 23, 2010 9:38 am

      SO true! Luckily, I think the vegan/raw community is pretty in tune with that concept.

  6. August 21, 2010 10:24 pm

    If left as flatbread, they look like they’d make great pizza or tartlet/quiche crusts. 😀 I’m not really familiar with the texture of dehydrated crackers though… just hazarding a guess!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 23, 2010 9:40 am

      Your guess is sound! The flatbread style is softish, but still firm and kind of chewy—almost like lavash, if you’ve had that. I might have to use this as a pizza crust soon; good idea!

  7. August 23, 2010 11:24 am

    wow! yummy… I will have to give these a try. ‘Raw’ intrigues me but I haven’t gone there much yet. I will with these! Also, Amber… you won my giveaway! Can you email me at lapuremama@gmail.com so I can get you the info? Thanks and congratulations!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 23, 2010 11:28 am

      Let me know if you try the crackers! And (as you can tell by my comment on your post) I’m SO excited about the giveaway win! Thank you so so much!! 😀

  8. August 25, 2010 8:25 am

    Need to get back into the dehydrator! Been lazy as of lately and these sounds great 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 25, 2010 9:31 am

      I know the feeling! Summer’s the best time for raw food though, so I’m trying to use my dehydrator as often as I can (since I’ll actually enjoy the heat of the oven in the wintertime).

Leave a Comment

