Skip to content
Raw cashew-macadamia nut hummus

August 25, 2010

Thank you to everyone who’s commented on my Europe-trip recap! This week has been bittersweet, and your kind words mean a great deal to me. I hope some of you have read and enjoyed my travel posts.
Also, don’t forget to enter my Wholesome Chow giveaway if you haven’t already; it ends on Friday morning!

As promised, here is the follow-up recipe to my raw cumin-walnut crackers—a delectable raw hummus dip. It’s no secret that hummus is my favorite food in the world, and as I discovered at 105 Degrees, raw-nut-based hummus can be just as dreamy and creamy as its chickpea-purée counterpart. Though there’s no way around the expense of good raw nuts and tahini, I adapted this recipe from Matthew Kenney’s book Everyday Raw to be a smidge less pricey to make. Don’t stress out over the specifics—you can certainly use roasted tahini if that’s what you have, and you can make it with all cashews (which are a tad more wallet-friendly than macnuts) or all macadamias (ooh, you big spender, you!) if you prefer.

1 cup raw cashews, soaked 2-4 hours
½ cup raw macadamia nuts, soaked 2-4 hours
¼ cup raw tahini
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1½ Tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic
½ tsp sea salt
Up to ¾ cup water

Rinse and drain the soaked nuts and place in a high-speed blender or food processor. (Nothing will get it quite as smooth as a Vitamix will, but if you don’t mind, I don’t mind!) Add all remaining ingredients except the water. (Psst—see my pretty pink Himalayan sea salt from Dallas?)

Pulse to combine, then add ½ cup water. Blend until smooth and creamy, adding up to ¼ cup water as necessary to achieve desired consistency. (Remember that the hummus will thicken in when chilled, so you might want to add just a little more water than you think you need.)

Taste for seasoning, and add more salt if needed. Transfer to a container and refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.

I topped my hummus with chopped mixed olives, and (when my cumin-walnut crackers were gone) I ate it with Wasa crispbread. Feel free to add a drizzle of olive oil or a sprinkle of paprika for garnish instead, and eat it with whatever you wish! Bread or crackers (raw OR non-raw) and vegetable crudités are good choices; you can also use it in a sandwich or wrap. (For some truly ironic raw blasphemy, you could even dip French fries into it ::evil grin::) This hummus is unctuous and luxurious without being cloying or heavy, and is SO worth the caloric splurge—besides, it’s so filling and satisfying that it’s unlikely you’ll overdo it anyway.

Yield: 8 servings (about 2 cups).
Per serving (about 1/4 cup): 225 calories, 20.2g fat (3g sat), 8.9g carbs, 2g fiber, 5.3g protein.

What’s your favorite type of hummus? Have you ever eaten (or invented) any crazy or creative types of hummus? (Noelle’s recent hummus sounds awesome to me!) Have you ever tried raw hummus?

If you like this, you might also like…
Black olive tapenade
Indian spice hummus
Tuscan white bean dip

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 12:09 pm

    This recipe is definitely a most amazing version of the chickpea version. Go nuts! Thanks for the mention. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 25, 2010 2:55 pm

      Thank ya! Now that you have a Vitamix, you should really try making a raw hummus like this :]

  2. August 25, 2010 12:50 pm

    Love the texture! What I wouldn’t do for a Vitamix!!!

    I can’t think of a better combination than cashew/macadamia. I might have to hit up the bulk bins and give it a try…although I’m not sure my processor could handle it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 25, 2010 2:54 pm

      I hope you do get a Vitamix someday; there really is nothing like it!

      If you’re worried about taxing your food processor with this recipe, you might want to try soaking the nuts for much longer than called for, maybe 8-12 hours even. If you try it, let me know how it goes!

  3. August 25, 2010 2:47 pm

    Unlikely to over-do it on hummus? Oh, you silly, silly girl….! 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 25, 2010 2:52 pm

      Well, I’m addressing the general populace there, excluding bottomless-pit hummus-gobbling freaks of nature like ourselves. 😛

  4. August 25, 2010 2:57 pm

    Amber

    Your raw hummus looks so creamy, I would love a piece to try! I have never seen a raw version of hummus (although I have seen all kinds of interpretations of hummus); well, this one tops all the rest in innovativeness!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 25, 2010 3:00 pm

      It’s definitely different, isn’t it? But it really is delicious. I bet you could make a great raw hummus with pine nuts! Ooh, or how about pine nut-pistachio? Now my wheels are turning…

  5. August 25, 2010 3:38 pm

    I’ve only made hummus once, but plan on making some type this weekend. I have been seeing several recipes for nut hummus here lately and yours sounds delish. I think I will give yours a try but maybe with all cashews being that is what I have at home. :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 26, 2010 10:33 am

      Go for it! No matter what kind you make, you’ll have to let me know how it turns out :]

  6. August 25, 2010 7:02 pm

    Oooh, that looks heavenly, particularly with the olives! I’m trying to think about my tahini and I have no idea if it’s raw or not. I know it’s unhulled… I’ll have to check the label when I get home…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 26, 2010 10:36 am

      I bet it would also be good with the olives blended right in, ooh…
      And if your tahini is roasted, no worries. It may not be raw, but it’ll still be plenty tasty.

  7. Jerad permalink
    August 25, 2010 7:54 pm

    That sounds really good.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 26, 2010 10:36 am

      Thanks Jerad :]

  8. Jason permalink
    August 25, 2010 7:55 pm

    stop making me hungry!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 26, 2010 10:37 am

      No! I refuse! I will not rest my powers of hunger-creation until I can hear your belly rumble from the West Bottoms all the way to south OP! 😛

  9. August 25, 2010 9:05 pm

    omg that looks so delish!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 26, 2010 10:38 am

      Thank you Salah! :]

  10. August 26, 2010 11:40 am

    Wow, that looks delish! I love your recipes 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 26, 2010 12:21 pm

      Aw, thank you!! KC really needs an all-raw restaurant; would you agree? I wish I could be the one to open it!

  11. Marsha permalink
    January 2, 2011 4:33 pm

    Thusfar, my favorite hummus is Lemon Artichoke, mmmmm, yum!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 4, 2011 9:35 am

      Ooh, that’s a good one!

  12. August 28, 2011 10:26 am

    Love your blog and love your recipes! I can’t wait to save money and attend Matthew’s Academy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 29, 2011 9:26 pm

      Aw, thank you! 😀

Leave a Comment

