Skip to content
Mocha chocolate chip muffins

September 7, 2010

As Matt’s and my one year anniversary approached, I had numerous ideas running through my head as to what celebratory baked good I could present to him. I was saddened, though, to learn that he had to leave town on business that very day! My visions of towering cakes and dreams of elaborate desserts were dashed, and my mind turned to simpler, more portable treats. I altered this recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance to my liking (and to include Tempt hemp milk, my new mini-obsession), and sent Matt off on his trip with a bunch of these muffins in his bag. They’re no mocha devastation cake, but they were tasty nonetheless.

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
½ cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup cocoa powder
2½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 cup hemp milk
¾ cup sugar
6 Tbsp canola oil
3 Tbsp soy or coconut milk yogurt
2 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
2 tsp instant coffee powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and grease a 12-cup muffin pan (or a 24-cup mini muffin pan). In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.

Living Harvest had sent me a coupon to try their new Tempt hemp products, so I’d picked up a container of their unsweetened original hemp milk. I enjoyed the taste on its own – smooth, full-bodied, and mild in flavor – and I was eager to try it in a recipe. These muffins were the perfect vehicle.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the hemp milk, sugar, oil, yogurt, applesauce, coffee powder, and vanilla. (You can certainly use soy or almond milk in place of the hemp milk!)

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Fill muffin cups 3/4 full. I made some mini muffins for me…

…and some regular-size muffins for Matt.

Bake for 18-22 minutes (or 14-18 minutes for minis), until a toothpick comes out clean.

The rich, creamy hemp milk worked beautifully in this recipe (though substitution possibilities abound). There’s only a whisper of coffee in these, with the mild chocolate flavor taking center stage, studded with melty little pockets of chocolate chips. They made a perfect anniversary airplane snack for my honey!

Yield: 12 muffins.
Per muffin: 209 calories, 9.6g fat (2g sat), 30.7g carbs, 3g fiber, 2.5g protein.

By the way, stop by Katie‘s blog and enter her Larabar giveaway!

If you like this, you might also like…
Raw mocha-chocolate mousse tart
V-Day mocha devastation cake
Chocolate brownie muffins

25 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 1:35 pm

    Looks very delicious! I have been all about chocolate lately!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:00 am

      Thank ya. I go through phases like that too 😛

  2. September 7, 2010 1:47 pm

    Okay these look and sound awesome. You are going to have to stop posting these delicious treats, or you are going to cause to to gain weight. 🙂 Just kidding, but I am going to have to try these out also. Chocolate and coffee…these have to be fantastic! I was just sitting here at work thinking that I needed to go home and make some more of those chocolate chip peanut butter banana muffins. I am so craving chocolate now. :o)
    I am sorry that Matt had to leave..that stinks.
    I bought that exact same hemp milk over the weekend myself…my first time to try it was this morning in a smoothie…I loved it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:06 am

      Haha, if my treats cause any weight gain I’ll be right there with ya! I did reduce the fat in these a good bit from the original recipe, but if you wanted to cut calories further you could reduce the amount of chocolate chips (sadness!) or use Splenda or powdered stevia for half the sugar called for. I hope you try these! And I still need to try your modification on the banana muffins…mmm!

      I wasn’t too upset that Matt had to be gone; we’d had difficulty pinpointing an exact 1-year anniversary anyway, and we made sure to celebrate the night before :]

      Glad to hear you liked the hemp milk! I’m a fan; it’s super-creamy.

      • September 8, 2010 1:09 pm

        I will be trying those delicious looking muffins out this weekend. I will be sure to let you know how they turn out.

        On your banana muffins, I used 1/4 cup of safflower oil instead of 1/3 cup of canola oil, 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup (I think you had mentioned that the sugar could be reduced), and then I added 1/4 cup peanut butter. I decided to cut the oil back a little since I was adding in the peanut butter. :o) You need to try it with the peanut butter sometime.

        Yeah, I’m a big fan of the hemp milk now myself!

  3. September 7, 2010 2:11 pm

    Hi Amber,

    It’s Jennifer from Living Harvest. Thanks for the great review– I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying Tempt!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:06 am

      Thanks again for the coupon, Jennifer! I’ll definitely be buying more Tempt hemp milk in the future.

  4. September 7, 2010 2:54 pm

    These look like brownies! As you know and as your readers have posted, I, too, am all about chocolate….sweets in general! Mmm

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:07 am

      They are sorta brownie-like…sure to satisfy a chocoholic’s sweet tooth 😀

  5. September 7, 2010 7:26 pm

    Looks yummy! Anything mocha is right up my alley…

    I tried the Tempt ice cream. It either didn’t agree with me, or I just didn’t like the one I got, but I wasn’t a fan. Maybe I need to give it another shot!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:15 am

      I haven’t tried the Tempt ice cream yet, though I’ve been meaning to. What flavor was it that you didn’t like?

  6. September 7, 2010 8:12 pm

    Yum! I’ve wanted to try those from that cookbook too, but haven’t made them yet! I’m definitely going to make them soon!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:17 am

      I did change some stuff in the recipe, but I’m certain the originals are just as good!

  7. September 7, 2010 9:21 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I do love, adore, love the combination of chocolate and coffee…. but where are the promised peanut butter blondies?! *sob*

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:30 am

      Why thank you, m’dear! Oh yes, um, the blondies, uhh…see, the thing is, I made them a couple weeks ago but forgot to take pictures…then I made them over the weekend but tried substituting an ingredient, and they didn’t out right…so now, poor me, I have to make them AGAIN, and Matt and I have to eat another entire pan of them, and then I’ll be posting them… >;D

  8. September 8, 2010 2:29 am

    happy anniv!

    those look awesome, sigh, gluten flour though. ok i can admire from afar 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:31 am

      Thanks! Aw, I’m sorry I’m not well-versed in GF baked goods. But I have been posting a lot of raw desserts, so that balances it out a little, right? 😀

  9. September 8, 2010 8:39 am

    Mmm, I made those muffins from VwaV ages ago, and they kicked butt! Thanks for reminding me about it… There are just too many good muffins out there to keep track of.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 10:32 am

      I know what you mean! The parade of recipes I feel I must make simply never ends. Case in point: um, EVERYTHING that I haven’t tried yet from My Sweet Vegan! :]

  10. September 8, 2010 5:55 pm

    Beautiful muffins! I love the step by step pictures. It’s a lot of work to try to focus on the baking *and* take pictures at the same time! Or maybe that’s just me because I’m so uncoordinated! 😛

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2010 9:03 pm

      Thank you!! Yes, the step-by-step pictures do require more time/thought/coordination (and my camera has a tendency to get floury or sticky!), but I like to think it’s kind of my “signature”…I love hearing that people enjoy it or it helps them out. 😀

  11. Matt permalink
    September 12, 2010 11:27 am

    I have the sweetest, most thoughtful girlfriend ever. These were scrumptious! Thank you, Shea Shea!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2010 11:34 am

      Aww, so glad you liked them :] You’re welcome, HB!

  12. September 13, 2010 1:31 pm

    Mmmm! Those look very tasty!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2010 1:36 pm

      Thanks! Perhaps they’d pair well with a mocha smoothie? 😛

Leave a Comment

