Skip to content
An almost vegan wedding

September 22, 2010
tags:

Before you starting getting any ideas, no, I didn’t go off and get hitched. (When I do, you can bet there’ll be a lot of people in my town wondering “Who is doing all that shouting? And what is she doing up on that rooftop?!”) Rather, this past weekend I had the pleasure of attending my first-ever veg wedding!

My friends Laura and Ryan were married on Saturday in a super-swank steampunk affair that included stylish attire, a swing band, and oh yeah, a vegetarian buffet! In Kansas City, a wedding with anything other than barbecue is an anomaly, but this beautiful couple instead elected to serve an elegant spread of vegetarian (and many vegan) delights.


(Photo credit goes to John Iiams)

There was an assortment of bread…

…salads in which I did not partake…

…Moroccan rice pilaf with chickpeas (!)…

…an oven-roasted vegetable medley…

…vegetarian lasagna…

…and grilled tofu-and-vegetable skewers…

…with tomato chutney.

PHEW! Needless to say, I ate very well that night.

But that’s not all! Check out the crazy cupcake collection that crowned the cake table (from Sugarmama’s in downtown Overland Park).

Turns out I died and went to cupcake heaven. I don’t believe these were vegan, but who cares?! With flavors like cookies ‘n cream, red velvet, cherry vanilla, and (ohh yes) peanut butter cup, I happily gave Strict Veganism the night off.

I thoroughly enjoyed myself, and Matt and I both left with full tummies. The other happy couple:

Congratulations again to Laura and Ryan! Your wedding was chic and unique, just like the two of you. Best of luck as you embark on your new life together! ::clink::

Question: If you’re married, what food did you serve at your wedding? If you’re not, what would you serve?

At my wedding someday (knock on wood?), I’d love to have an international vegan buffet of sorts, with a dish from each of my favorite cuisines. Perhaps some Middle Eastern hummus and pita, Indian tofu tikka masala or dal makhani curry, Thai tofu-cashew stir fry or pad thai, Mexican seitan tacos or enchiladas, and maybe Italian pasta or pizza of some sort…but, yknow, I haven’t really thought much about it. Then there’s the cake! I’m envisioning a rich, heavy yellow cake, sandwiching thick layers of Nutella and enrobed in a sweet white chocolate peanut buttercream frosting. Ohh, baby…

Now, obviously the groom will have a full say in all of this 😉 I also have ideas and opinions on other wedding stuff besides the food (like how cool it would be to enlist some of my musician friends to play a live black metal rendition of “Here Comes the Bride” as I walk down the aisle…but I digress), though I’ll admit the dinner selection will be a particular joy for me. How about you? Tell me all about your weddings, or wedding ideas!

If you like this, you might also like…
Date night, Ethnic Fest, & crêpes!
Accidentally-almost-vegan party
Falafel night + V-Day dinner

46 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 11:55 am

    Ooh! You should have brought me as your date. 😉 Congrats to your friends! They had a mean spread!

    Last summer my two vegan friends were married and they had an all-vegan Indian buffet. It was AWESOME.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:01 am

      Hehe! Matt might not have been too happy about that…but then again, he’d get over it 😛

      A vegan Indian buffet sounds amazing! If I had to pick just one type of cuisine to serve, Indian would be a top contender.

  2. September 22, 2010 12:00 pm

    We made the food at our wedding…my mom, dad, brother, husband and me. It was really fun and felt great to do it as a family and serve it together, but I would have just died to have a spread like this! We did it ourselves because food like this wasn’t available in our area and I was only engaged for 2 months, so we didn’t have time to really comb the area for someone who could do it. We did have some meat and dairy options, but I made sure to offer plenty for the vegheads 🙂 The food turned out great (loved our stuffed peppadews and melon with slivers of prosciutto!) but I didn’t eat much (turns out I was prego and didn’t know it! Oops… 🙂

    Congrats to your friends! Gorgeous wedding!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:04 am

      Wow! That must have been a lot of work, but really rewarding in the end. A 2 month engagement is so short! Hehe, how funny you didn’t know yet that you were pregnant.

      Oh, and I already know about your cake…and I’m still envious! 😉

  3. September 22, 2010 12:10 pm

    That food looks fabulous! I love your giant plate of food… and is that a matching giant glass of wine? Love it!!

    We were married a little over a year ago and we had a ‘southwest’ food theme. Our chef, Chef Alex made vegan black bean enchiladas with a really great green salad and of course, chips and salsa!! (it was a really casual wedding :)) Oh, and we had little tropical sorbets for dessert 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:06 am

      That is most definitely a glass of Merlot beside my plate 😀

      I love the idea of a Southwestern theme! That’s one of my favorite types of food, and it’s usually so family-style and fuss-free to serve. And what a neat choice of dessert!

  4. September 22, 2010 2:03 pm

    Wow…what a spread! And those cup cakes, they look so yummy! Congratulations to you friends!
    Awww…you and Matt are such a cute couple!
    I wasn’t a vegan when I got married, so you probably wouldn’t want to know about all the BAD things that we had at our wedding! :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:07 am

      Aw, thank you! Matt didn’t like that picture, but I did, so up it went 😛

      Hehe, I’d still want to know you you had 🙂 It’s your wedding day, you’re allowed to be bad!

  5. September 22, 2010 2:15 pm

    um yum, that all sounds delicious!

    i think if i was to get married i would do an international vegan buffet type of thing too. you could have so many delicious options!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:08 am

      I know, right?! The possibilities are endless. And mouthwatering.

  6. September 22, 2010 3:23 pm

    what a gorgeous spread of food! so cool it was all vegetarian with vegan options.
    we had a quick and small wedding, so we had our dinner party at a banquet hall, as it was all like last minute hehe. but it was still nice. though more veggie options on their menu would have been nice, i don’t think there was a single one and i had to request something special *eye roll*

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:09 am

      A special request at your own wedding?! Haha, eye roll indeed. Hey, there’s always anniversary dinners!

  7. September 22, 2010 6:40 pm

    It was definitely a beautiful wedding and am so glad they stayed true to their tummies! Your pictures make me hungry for seconds.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:11 am

      Thank you Sandy! How neat to hear from someone else who was there 😀 I’m glad they stuck to their vegetarian guns too.

  8. September 22, 2010 7:39 pm

    This wedding buffet looks like pure heaven! So glad you enjoyed it…I definitely would have!

    Our wedding buffet was very vege-friendly, but also carnivore-friendly (since most of our family and friends are not vegetarians). We had focaccia bread sandwiches: roasted veggie & goat cheese; smoked salmon & caper; tuscan chicken & sun-dried tomato, several salads with various fruit, veggie, and grain combos, hummus and pita, and caramel apples. And cake, of course 🙂

    LOVE your idea for a wedding cake–Nutella in the middle!? Brilliant 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:14 am

      Wow, what a menu! Focaccia, hummus and pita, and caramel apples sound especially awesome!

      I actually have to credit Wendy for the Nutella filling idea—she told me her wedding cake had that! Jealous much? 🙂

  9. September 22, 2010 9:09 pm

    That food sounded so wonderful! Yum!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:14 am

      It sure was. I’ve never eaten so well at a wedding before in my life!

  10. September 23, 2010 12:36 am

    I’ve never, ever, ever in my life imagined a single thing about a wedding. I’ve never been able to believe anyone would ever want to marry me, so imagining has just felt like a cruel joke on myself.

    So I’ll make do with imagining attending yours… and stealing all the peanut frosting, because while I’ve never been interested in standard wedding cakes, *your* idea sounds like The Amazing.

    🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:19 am

      All I have to say to the first of that is 😡

      I think that if I do ever get married, I’m going to require your attendance. It may take a peanut butter bribe, but one way or another, we must get you out here 🙂

      • September 24, 2010 8:25 am

        Oh heavens, I’m sorry, that did come across as terribly self-pitying, didn’t it? Ugh. Sorry.

        But it seems I achieved a subconscious inner secret desire… and invitation to your wedding, whenever it happens. And, um, I hope you aren’t treating this as a flippant thing. Because flights to America tend to appear throughout the year for about $1200 return… and the wedding of one of my favourite gals would be more than enough justification 🙂

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          September 24, 2010 9:46 am

          Heh, it’s quite alright. We understand each other on those feelings. 🙂

          I’m being totally serious! I promise to let you know enough in advance to score a decent deal on airfare. It’s not like I’m the eloping type, so if/when I ever get engaged, you’ll have plenty of notice to arrange travel. I mean, the party of the century will take a little time to plan, you know!

  11. September 23, 2010 12:56 am

    What kind of uncouth weddings have you ben attending that serve BBQ?! I’ve never been to one with that….a few rehearsal dinners, yes, but never the actual *big day*.

    Everything looks so yummy! Naturally, I wouldn’t have a vegan/vegetarian buffet, but I adore the thought of an “Around the World” buffet. Given my wide variety of taste in cuisines, there would be plenty of veggie/vegan fare to go around. Like those tofu skewers…..oh my freakin’ heck is my mouth watering.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:22 am

      Seriously?! I’ve only been to a handful in my entire life (and my dad was a wedding videographer for 11ish years, so I’ve been to like a hundred) that DIDN’T have BBQ at the rehearsal and/or reception. Every once in awhile someone has Italian…but the majority of the time, it’s barbecue or some “Southern food” type of theme. Atrocious!

      Even a non-vegan int’l buffet would be awesome!

      Speaking of those tofu skewers, I was especially pleased to find that they marinated the tofu before grilling it, so it was some of the most well-seasoned tofu I’ve had in quite some time! And that “tomato chutney” sauce was almost like a Romesco…heavenly.

  12. Laura permalink
    September 23, 2010 6:22 am

    I LOVE your blog post! Thank you so much for the lovely review! I do enjoy your blog immensely.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:23 am

      Thank YOU for having me to your wedding, Laura! It was gorgeous, YOU were gorgeous, and I’m so happy for the both of you. 🙂

  13. September 23, 2010 7:35 am

    Looks like a delicious meal! We had my favorite – Spanish food! It was sangria (and other drinks), tapas and paella – I knew I married the right man when that was our wedding meal 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:25 am

      How did I not think of Spanish food?!? That is such a great idea! Oh man, now I’m dreaming of patatas bravas, veg paella…ooh, and sangria sounds so perfect, especially for a summer wedding! Speaking of the drinks…no, you know what, don’t get me started on that too 😛

      Sounds like you definitely found yourself a keeper! 😀

  14. Melissa permalink
    September 23, 2010 8:49 am

    Oh man, I dream of the days of going to a wedding and having more than just a salad and MAYBE some pasta.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:25 am

      Heh, I always felt that way too. Keep up hope! You’re bound to find yourself at a veg wedding some point. 🙂

  15. September 23, 2010 12:02 pm

    My husband and I got married at a local restaurant that served mostly fish dishes. His family doesn’t eat seafood and neither of our families eat anything other than southern comfort foods!
    They were really accommodating, even snuck in two vegetarian options that no one would even realize were veg. The real surprise though- we had a giant stack of Krispy Kreme donuts in lieu of a cake! That’s what I’ve always wanted, so it wasn’t weird to me.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 8:27 am

      That’s great that the restaurant you chose accommodated you. The Krispy Kreme donut tower is DEFINITELY a surprise! I bet the look on everyone’s faces was priceless! Good for you for having what you always dreamed of. 😀

  16. September 23, 2010 1:07 pm

    Dessert table and assortment of cupcakes look fabulous as does the other food. Nice spread.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 9:28 am

      Yes, the cupcakes were a fun surprise. Everything was classy and beautiful!

  17. September 23, 2010 1:32 pm

    We didn’t have a wedding, but we were convinced to have a reception. Marshall’s mother wanted the reception catered, so we let her know that we wanted Eden Alley or nothing. It was amazing! It wasn’t vegan, but we weren’t vegan at the time, and most of the people that went that had dietary restrictions were vegetarian. We decided to have our reception in the restaurant since it was more than large enough to hold my six guests and his huge family.

    All I want to say is that I’ve loved Eden Alley for years as a restaurant, but they also do an amazing job of catering.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 9:32 am

      WOW! Since I’ve never required catering for an event, I guess I don’t pay much mind to which restaurants cater. But what a fantastic choice for Eden Alley! And AT the restaurant, at that! Now you HAVE to tell me what was on your menu. And what was for dessert!

      • September 24, 2010 12:44 pm

        Well, they weren’t cheap, and since my M.I.L. insisted on meat she had to pay even more, but it was worth it in my opinion.

        Okay, I’m going to try to remember what we had.

        – Sour dough and nine grain bread with agave butter
        – Spinach dip
        – Baba ghanouj and hummusx2
        – Pesto cream pasta w/ and w/o free range organic chicken
        – Chef’s choice salad
        – Ultimate garlic grilled cheese
        – Veggies and cheeses and olives, etc.
        -Peppermint Lemonade, coffee, tea, champagne, white and red wine and beer of course. (Eden Alley can’t serve alcohol, but you can have it delivered)

        The cake was catered. It was a spice cake with lemon curd and lemon buttercream frosting. I can honestly say that I wanted to make my own cake, or have Eden Alley make it, but my M.I.L. wouldn’t hear of it. To make things worse, the cake was ugly. It was delicious though. It was a single layer with sugared flower petals on it. I hate fondant, and really, I don’t get the point of having ingredients on a cake that you aren’t supposed to eat. That’s just me though.

        If you go to Eden Alley’s website they have a whole page dedicated to catering. Also, if there is something on the regular menu that you really want, they’ll work with you to provide it. That’s what we did with the garlic grilled cheese. They didn’t make it ahead like the rest, and they served it on small slices of bread instead of the humongous ones they usually do so that it was more nibbling friendly.

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          September 26, 2010 10:59 am

          Wow, that sounds really, really good. Varied selection, finger foods, an unusual cake…I can imagine that they charged a pretty penny, but it sounds like they’re very accommodating as well.

          No offense intended, but I have to ask…what was up with your M.I.L. running the show?!

  18. September 23, 2010 5:19 pm

    Looks like a beautiful wedding, and the food sounded phenomenal! Many congrats to Laura and Ryan!

    We offered our guests an entire restaurant menu to choose from. I ordered the pork tenderloin myself, and then we served an all raw cake made by a local raw foods chef. So, I guess we went half veg? 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 9:41 am

      Haha! A pork dinner and a raw dessert…now that’s what I call balance! 😛

  19. September 23, 2010 5:44 pm

    What an awesome feast! I love that there are cupcakes instead of a big cake! Congratulations to Laura and Ryan! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 9:42 am

      Agreed! The cupcakes were really whimsical and fun, not to mention deeelicious.

  20. September 24, 2010 11:32 am

    Ohhh, I’m always so envious of veg weddings. Since I got married in ancient times (well, 13 years ago) when my husband was not yet a vegetarian, AND because I wasn’t as bold back then, I didn’t have a veg reception. The wedding cake was vegan, though, and I loved it. Looking back, I also wished I’d had a Middle Eastern theme (my husband – just a friend at the time – and I had taken part in trips to Egypt and Israel in college so we were really into all of that). I am still trying to talk him into renewing our vows – just so I can redo my reception (although I LOVED absolutely everything else about my wedding and reception). 🙂 I hope that when you get married (fingers crossed), you end up with the reception of your dreams.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 24, 2010 11:41 am

      Aw, thank you Jenny!

      How sweet that your husband “grew into” your veg*nism 😛 I think you should definitely renew your vows! Come on, 13 years? You’re solid 🙂 I think it’d be so cool to have a Middle Eastern theme that relates to your pre-dating days like that. It sounds to me like it would be very special indeed.

  21. Matt permalink
    September 24, 2010 9:12 pm

    Loved the Steampunk theme! Reminds me of a certain League

    Anywho, all of the food was pretty fantastic. Especially liked the lasagna, though I’ve been off of cheese recently. The cupcakes? Oh man. *sigh* Yum. But best of all, open bar! Woot!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 26, 2010 11:01 am

      Even I liked that lasagna, and I do not like cheesy anything!

      Yup yup, the cupcakes AND the open bar were both pretty awesome. 🙂

Leave a Comment

