Skip to content
He had so much to live for…

September 24, 2010

If you didn’t see my post on Facebook last night, I have some terrible news to report.
My trusty Sony camera, the one that’s been my faithful cooking companion, the one that came with me to Europe, has passed on.

It was a food blogger’s nightmare…

Bad: My dear camera leaps off my kitchen counter and breaks.
Worse: It’s not fixable—the screen cracked.
Even worse: I was mid-recipe.
Worst of all: That recipe was mini raw molten chocolate-hazelnut lava cakes! NOOO!!

I don’t know what made him jump like that. (He never had a name, but he was most definitely a “he.” I sense these things.) Did I push him too hard? Was he stressed, strained, overworked? Or did he feel that he wasn’t doing justice to my food, like his pictures were too often subpar? I admit I sometimes thought that myself. Oh, little guy, I’m so sorry!

What I discovered, though, when I frantically carried his lifeless body to my computer and made sure the memory card was ok (don’t judge me!), was downright eerie. Unbelievably and inexplicably enough, my camera snapped a suicide photo in midair as he fell! I’m not kidding! LOOK!

That’s a picture of my kitchen floor! I did not take that! As he angled downward and hurdled to his death, he mustered up the courage to take one last photo for me to remember him by! It’s like he left a suicide note!…albeit the most bizarre suicide “note” EVER.

Goodbye, my little camera! R.I.P.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 10:56 am

    Oh no! So sorry to hear about that! Do you have a phone camera you can use for the time being? So funny you have a last picture of him. Does look like a suicide! ;)Hope you are able to get another soon!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:00 am

      Sadly, I don’t even have a decent phone camera 😦 I feel so lost!

  2. September 24, 2010 11:20 am

    Oh, my gosh, that is craaaazy. Poor, poor camera. Food blogger’s nightmare indeed. May “he” go take pictures of whatever he wants in that electronic resting place in the sky.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:01 am

      Amen! 😛

  3. September 24, 2010 11:45 am

    I’m not laughing at your tragedy. I swear.

    Poor camera. Artists often find tragedy at the end. Maybe he was just a troubled soul…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:02 am

      Haha, yes…he must have been troubled indeed…but we’ll never know for sure!

  4. September 24, 2010 12:46 pm

    Your post just gave me a good smile…just what I need to get through the rest of the afternoon at work!

    And will you still be posting the molten lava cake recipe? It sounds like a recipe that needs to be shared 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:03 am

      Hehe, I’m glad you got a laugh out of it 🙂

      I hope to still post the lava cake recipe! It may be a few more weeks, but I definitely want to make it again…

  5. thymebombe permalink
    September 24, 2010 1:41 pm

    That is so dark. Didn’t he know he had molten lava cakes to live for?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:03 am

      Tell me about it! Dark, indeed. 😛

  6. September 24, 2010 5:37 pm

    That is just plain weird! I’m sorry about your camera!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:03 am

      I know, right?! Thanks for offering your condolences ::sniffle::

  7. September 24, 2010 7:27 pm

    I’m caught between laughing hysterically and being insanely creeped out. So instead, I shall say that I’m terribly sorry dear! And I can’t wait to hear about those molten cakes… 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:04 am

      Heh, I admit I was caught between those reactions as well.
      The lava cakes will eventually reappear here, down the line…but I have even bigger things brewing 😉

  8. Matt permalink
    September 24, 2010 8:52 pm

    “He” and I used to interact a bit and, I have to say, I never saw this coming. A senseless tragedy. If only I could have shown “him” the possibilities like “he” showed me the memories. 😦

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:05 am

      I didn’t see it coming either…none of us did. How could we have?! He was silent and stoic to the very end.

  9. September 24, 2010 9:56 pm

    Proudly, Dad and I were able to witness his birth. He was an adorable little guy with so much more to live for. Luckily, he did get to travel the world (11 countries in Europe as well as much of this country!). He got to see the Eiffel Tower, the Acropolis, the Familia Sagrada and so much more! He lived a full life indeed and certainly ate very well along the way. Too sad. 😮

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:06 am

      He did have an eventful, fun-filled life. For that I am happy. 🙂

  10. September 26, 2010 5:49 pm

    That is sad…so very sad 😦 But you have such a funny way of looking at it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:07 am

      Hehe…it’s healthy to find humor in tragedy, right? 😛

  11. September 27, 2010 8:50 am

    RIP Almost Vegan Camera. That does look like a suicide note! What does it mean? Emptiness? *a moment of silence for Mr. Camera*

    On a happier note – we’re finally taking a little Costco trip today to buy those famous chips and salsa! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 11:09 am

      *Moment of silence observed* I can’t say exactly what it means…my guess is that he was either more poetic than I ever knew, or just more of a drama queen 😛

      YAY for chips and salsa! At last! I’m jealous; Matt and I have been abstaining for the last couple weeks—so tough.

      By the way, I’m planning on blogging about your flourless chocolate cookies today, if that’s cool with you 😀

  12. Stephana Timmer permalink
    September 27, 2010 4:48 pm

    Just a quick note on the camera, it’s fixable if the only thing broken is the screen. I just bought a new screen for mine on ebay for $40 & replaced it myself!! Good luck or happy new camera hunting!!!

  13. October 4, 2010 10:28 am

    Oh no! It’s always like losing a friend when a camera goes to the great beyond… I love your new one though! Awesome! I too rock a new Nikon. We’re still getting to know each other; mostly because it is way smarter than I am… note to self: read the stinking manual!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2010 12:18 pm

      HAHA! I feel the EXACT same way about my camera right now—that it’s smarter than I am! Good way to put it: “We’re still getting to know each other” 😛 I’m excited, though, about what I’ll be able to do with this one once I learn it better!

Leave a Comment

