Skip to content
Flourless chocolate almond butter cookies

September 27, 2010

Hi, everyone! How was your weekend? I appreciate all your kind words on my camera’s untimely demise. I’m already lost without him—I made so many yummy things this weekend, but wasn’t able to photograph any of them! I’ve got to get myself a new one ASAP…in the meantime, my Pure Bar giveaway is jumpin’—keep those entries coming!

Today’s treat is my adaptation of Wing-It Vegan’s recipe for mutant flourless chocolate cookies. I subbed coconut flour for the ground dried coconut (making “flourless” a bit of a misnomer, but no matter) and added agave for extra sweetness and moisture. Since my almond butter was unsalted, I also upped the salt a tad. Lastly, I was going to make these mostly-raw with an overnight dehydration instead of baking…buuut, my desire for instant gratification got the best of me. Maybe next time!

1 Tbsp ground flaxseed
3 Tbsp cold water
½ cup creamy almond butter
½ cup brown sugar, coconut sugar, or Sucanat
4 Tbsp coconut or almond milk
2 Tbsp agave or coconut nectar
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ cup coconut flour
¼ cup cocoa powder
¼ tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
1/3 cup chocolate chips
¼ cup macadamia nuts, chopped

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl, whisk the flaxseed and water. Add the almond butter, sugar, nondairy milk, agave, and vanilla.

Whisk to combine. (As you can see in the pic above, this is not exactly how I did it, but it’s how I should have done it! So do as I say, not as I did, k?) Add the flour, cocoa, baking powder and soda, and salt. Beat with an electric mixer for about 30 seconds, until the mixture holds together.

(I ground up my chocolate chips along with my macnuts, to more evenly disperse them, but feel free to leave them whole.) Add the chocolate chips and macnuts to the dough.

Beat briefly to combine. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto the baking sheet. Use a moist fork or your hands to slightly flatten the cookies.

Bake for 12-14 minutes. Let cool on the baking sheet for a minute, then move to a wire rack to cool completely.

River suggests storing them in a paper bag to keep them from losing their crisp edges, but I actually think I liked them better after they sat overnight in a closed container. They’re not too sweet, but plenty chocolatey-almondy, and – bonus! – free of gluten. You may just want to make a double batch.

Yield: 1 dozen cookies.
Per cookie: 162 calories, 9.8g fat (2g sat), 18.1g carbs, 5g fiber, 4g protein.

If you like this, you might also like…
Crunchy salted cashew cookies
Nutty carob chip cookies
Chocolate peanut butter cookies

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 12:40 pm

    Those look really delicious. Nom nom….By the way, if my creation does not come out, I am making those blondie brownies 2nite!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 12:49 pm

      YES! Do it! I mean, not that I want your creation to fail…you know what I mean 🙂

  2. September 27, 2010 8:27 pm

    Amber! I am absolutely NOT kidding when I say that as I was walking to my office fifteen minutes ago, I was thinking about how I want to buy coconut flour but that I need to have some recipes up my sleeve to use it in otherwise it’ll end up in teh back of my pantry, forgotten. Psychic connection strikes again!! Awesome!

    P.S. I think you can still call these flourless, in the sense that that usually refers to gluten-free-ness 🙂

    P.P.S. I think I got confused by your google reader re-posts and commented on something I’d already commented on. Heh.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 27, 2010 8:33 pm

      Yes! Score one for transpacific psychic-ness, again! Plus, I love giving someone the last push they need to experiment with something new food-wise. 😀

      P.S. Agreed!
      P.P.S. Actually you commented on something verrry old, which made me smile, so it’s all good 🙂

  3. September 27, 2010 9:49 pm

    Instant gratification prevails! 😀

    YAY! They look absolutely perfect! I am *so* going to grind my chips and nuts for even distribution next time! Thank you for the shout-out! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 29, 2010 10:12 am

      Sometimes you just have to give in; am I right? 😛

      I’m glad you like the idea to grind the chips and nuts! And you are most welcome—thank YOU for the excellent recipe.

  4. September 28, 2010 6:05 am

    Oh man – these look delectable. I need to put these on my must-make-soon list. Dang, so many tasty things to make, so little stomach space!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 29, 2010 10:15 am

      Tell me about it! My “to-bake” list seems endless…

  5. September 28, 2010 7:15 am

    These look absolutely delicious! I’m an almond butter fanatic (well, nut butter of any kind), and I’ve yet to make a recipe of chocolate almond butter cookies. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Have a great day 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 29, 2010 10:16 am

      Yesss, nut butter fanatics unite! ::high five:: I’m right there with you. If you like almond butter, you’ll love these.

  6. September 28, 2010 7:37 am

    oh those cookies look amazing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 29, 2010 10:17 am

      Thank you!

  7. September 28, 2010 3:15 pm

    Yum…those cookies do look and sound so delish!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 29, 2010 10:17 am

      Thank you too!

  8. September 28, 2010 11:04 pm

    Now these definitely look delish! Funny, I just thought that, typed it then read the comment above and it’s almost the same! lol

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 29, 2010 10:18 am

      Hehe, and thank you third!

  9. October 8, 2010 9:31 am

    I love chocolate, and I love almond butter… so I think I’d love these cookies! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2010 10:18 am

      Definitely! Can’t go wrong with a combo like that 🙂

  10. Cathy permalink
    November 27, 2010 9:16 am

    I just tried baking with this recipe,
    oh my gosh, my kitchen smells like heaven! 😉
    and they’re so delicious.. i think i’m gonna bake another batch later!
    thank you for this wonderful recipe Amber:)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 27, 2010 7:22 pm

      I’m so glad to hear that, Cathy! I’ve done that two-separate-batches-in-the-same-day thing myself 😉 I’m happy you’re enjoying them!

Leave a Comment

