Skip to content
Almost Vegan goes Almost Raw!

October 7, 2010

Today, I have a different kind of recipe to share with you.

Take one (1) quirky, creative, determined vegan writer chick.

Check the label to make sure she has a colossal passion for raw and vegan cuisine.

It’s also best if she’s been marinating in the food blogosphere for at least two (2) full years.

Trim off any unnecessary four (4) year long life insurance jobs.

Add the methods and techniques of one (1) rockstar chef.

Preheat an esteemed, cutting-edge raw food culinary school to 105 degrees.

Add prepared mixture and dehydrate for two (2) months.

You’ll notice after one (1) month that the mixture will have fused into a Level I raw food chef.

After two (2) months, the mixture will have formed a Level II advanced raw culinary artiste.

Remove and let cool.

Re-warm in the dehyrator for one (1) week per month for four (4) months to further enhance the mixture’s expertise.

And after that?

Utilize this new, inventive, skilled, inspired, driven, enthusiastic, raw vegan dish to
take the food world by storm.

Details to be specified at a later date.

Oklahoma City, here I come!

54 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 2:37 pm

    Wait, are you already a raw foods chef, or are you about to become one?

    Are you moving to OKC?!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 2:42 pm

      I’m going to become one! I’m taking 105’s chef certification courses, Levels I and II, consecutively starting 10/25!

      I’m temporarily relocating to OKC just until Christmas.
      Then, I want to bring raw food to KC in a big, big way.
      😀

      • October 7, 2010 2:46 pm

        That’s awesome! When are you leaving? I’m guessing pretty darn soon.

        Have you heard about all the efforts to open a Cafe Gratitude in KC? Last I heard, it will open in early 2011.

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 7, 2010 2:49 pm

        Leaving Saturday, 10/23 😀

        It seems like I did hear that, though I may not have lent it much credence. If it’s true, I smell a killer job opportunity…!

        • October 7, 2010 2:56 pm

          That’s what I’m saying! However, if you open your own place, I think I’ll have to ask YOU for a job. 😉

          I’m so excited for you! I’m also excited to read all about your training to become a rawkstar! (Just typing that made me throw up in my mouth a little, but you know I was trying to be punny.)

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 7, 2010 3:03 pm

          If I open my own place, you should totally work there! Wow, I’m operating a little prematurely here, aren’t I? Haha.

          I feel like I’ll have a lot of options when I’m done…restaurant, café, or juice bar; private chef, spa chef, or caterer; editorial food writing, travel food writing, or (what I’m not-so-secretly hoping for most) COOKBOOK WRITING! We’ll see what happens!

          Hey, with one-syllable words like “raw,” punniness (?) is totally excusable. I’ve been guilty of it myself =X

          • October 7, 2010 9:00 pm

            And you’ve already quit your day job? You must have felt exhilarated!

          • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
            October 7, 2010 10:33 pm

            I put in my 2 weeks notice in September! My last day is a week from tomorrow! LIBERATION AT LAST! 😛

            • October 8, 2010 8:56 am

              Woo!

              Well, before you leave for OKC, do you want to get together for lunch/dinner/beverages/desserts/a walk/whatever? Blogger meet-up!

            • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
              October 8, 2010 11:09 am

              I would love to! I have the week of the 18th off, and though I have mountains of stuff to take care of and get done here, having a blogger meetup would be awesome! It’s kind of silly we haven’t already, don’t you think?

              I don’t know your work schedule or when you’re free, but right now I know I could do something in the evening on Mon 10/18, or lunchtime/afternoon on Tues 10/19 or Thurs 10/21. Any of those work for you? Seems to me we should decide on a date/time first, then place/activity 🙂

  2. Brett permalink
    October 7, 2010 2:41 pm

    Congrats on taking this next step in your food expedition. I wish you best of luck. Can’t wait to hear what you learn. I’m assuming you’ll keep all of us in the loop?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 2:43 pm

      Thank you! And I certainly will. I hope to post near-daily (on weekdays, at least) to keep everyone current.

  3. October 7, 2010 2:43 pm

    Congratulations! How exciting. Good luck in your schooling (I’m sure we’ll be hearing all about it!)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 2:47 pm

      Thanks Debbie! You will DEFINITELY be hearing allll about it. I can’t wait to share the experience with everyone.

  4. Matt permalink
    October 7, 2010 2:46 pm

    So proud! You are so awesome to me. A power to be reckoned with. This is a turning point…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 2:54 pm

      Thank you SO much for everything you are to me, honey. I don’t know what I would do without your love and support. I’m so lucky and thankful to be turning this corner with your hand in mine.

  5. October 7, 2010 2:48 pm

    Yay! That is so awesome! Good for you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 2:50 pm

      Thanks Aimee! 😀

  6. October 7, 2010 3:06 pm

    Wow. VERY exciting! I can’t wait to read all about it as you go through the program. Such a great opportunity for you!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 3:11 pm

      It really is! Thank you! I can’t wait to document my time at 105. I’ve read so many others’ accounts of attending there…I can hardly believe I’M going to get a turn!

  7. Tracy permalink
    October 7, 2010 3:11 pm

    Congrats! I’m sure you’ll have the time of your life!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 3:14 pm

      Thank you! That’s what I’m hoping for! 🙂

  8. Dave DeMack permalink
    October 7, 2010 3:23 pm

    Wow, Amber, wow! I have expected nothing short of extreme greatness from you and it’s awesome that you’re moving closer to aweing us all. I know you have what it takes to be/do anything you want and I don’t think you need wishes of luck!! Do it and do it well..
    🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 3:33 pm

      Aww, Dave! Thank you so, so, so much! Coming at a time when it feels like so many friends have grown distant, that means more to me than you know. I’m going to knock ’em dead!!

      By the way, when are we going to hang out again?! 😉

      • Dave DeMack permalink
        October 7, 2010 5:53 pm

        I know you will. I was very impressed when I saw all you’ve done with your blog and I really enjoyed reading about your European trip. At times I felt I was there and you can only get that from good writing. Even still, I know that is a speck on the map of your future..
        I would love to hang out! I’m available pretty much anytime. I work at an awesome donut shop at 435 & State Line so my late afternoons and evenings are free. I’m down for anything from coffee to drinks with the gang..so let me know..

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 7, 2010 5:55 pm

        Dave, I didn’t even know you read my Europe posts. That is so, so cool of you. And I’m really glad you enjoyed them!

        Very cool that you’ve got an open evening schedule. We will have to figure out a time to chill soon!

  9. October 7, 2010 3:43 pm

    Wow…this is awesome…how exciting!!! I know you will be giving us updates while you are in training to be a famous chef…right? What an awesome opportunity! I can’t wait to hear more about it. :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 3:46 pm

      Thanks so much, Michelle! Yes yes, I hope to give near-daily updates/glimpses/excerpts/what have you. Famous chef, hehe…I hope!! Your wish for an Almost Vegan cookbook may someday become reality—eee!

  10. October 7, 2010 3:55 pm

    YEAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!! Say hello to Kevin Durant for me! You probably don’t know who that is, but… YEAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 4:07 pm

      I do now that I texted you and asked you! HA! But before that, nope, no idea. Thanks anyway, Mike. 😉

  11. October 7, 2010 4:54 pm

    Wow, congratulations! And what a cool, quirky way to announce your good news to the world.

    I’m so excited for you – envious for sure, but mostly delighted that you’re following your path and that 105degs exists to further this kind of opportunity.

    I’d love to write a cookbook sometime too – love to brainstorm sometime.

    so excited for you!
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 5:15 pm

      Thank you so much, Ela. I’m really thrilled about this opportunity, and I’m going to do whatever it takes to make the most of it! 🙂

  12. October 7, 2010 6:41 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! How incredibly exciting. Can’t wait to see all the awesome raw food recipes you’ll be sharing 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 8:06 pm

      Thanks Kylie! I can’t wait to share them with you!! 😀

  13. Teresa permalink
    October 7, 2010 6:51 pm

    Wow, that is so exciting! Congrats and good luck! I know you’ll do fantastically well.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2010 10:32 pm

      Thanks so much for the encouragement, Teresa!

  14. October 7, 2010 8:27 pm

    Oh, gosh, really? How dull. I can’t think of anything less exciting.

    😀 😀 😀 (refer to my much-exclamation-marks-using prior emails for my real opinion 😉 )

    So, pretty much, when I come visit, you’re going to own your own raw cafe? And I’ll get to sit in the kitchen and eat all your testing batches? While you find me a vegan boyfriend?

    Or wait, is that the second recipe and I’m jumping ahead of myself…?

    😀

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2010 11:14 am

      Teeheehee! 😛

      Café? Perhaps! I’m leaving my options wide open. Restaurant, café, or juice bar; private chef, spa chef, or caterer; teacher, instructor, or product creator; editorial food writing, travel food writing, or (what I’m not-so-secretly hoping for most) COOKBOOK WRITING! Anything I end up doing, though, will include taste-testing and vegan-boyfriend-finding 🙂

      • October 8, 2010 7:19 pm

        I bet you could do all of those at once with one hand tied behind your back 😉 Except for the vegan-boyfriend-finding, which I would like you to use two hands for.

        (That sounds vaguely wrong.)

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 8, 2010 9:02 pm

          So wrong…yet so accurate.

          😉

  15. October 7, 2010 9:06 pm

    Hey, so , wow! That’s really awesome and I can’t wait to hear all about your experiences there! Congrats!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2010 11:15 am

      Thank you Alayna! I can’t wait to share my experiences!

  16. October 7, 2010 9:43 pm

    OMG that’s so exciting/awesome/cool!! That is fantastic news. I’m so excited for you 🙂 And excited for when you go back and start your own restaurant!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2010 11:15 am

      Thanks Maggie! A restaurant is one of many possibilities, for sure. I’m so stoked! 😀

  17. lindsey permalink
    October 7, 2010 9:53 pm

    Congratulations Amber! I am so proud of you! I’ll be your taste tester when you get that job as a world class badass chef! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2010 11:20 am

      Thanks Lindsey 🙂 Your parents should hire me as your family’s private chef! =X I’ll healthify the crap out of the Beller clan…hehe!

  18. October 8, 2010 4:53 am

    Congrats and I cannot wait to see the pics and live vicariously thru this experience with you!! So happy & excited for you!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2010 11:22 am

      Thank you so much, Averie! 🙂

  19. Cathy permalink
    October 8, 2010 9:26 am

    Congratulations, that is so exciting! I just started reading your blog and I love it! I can’t wait to read more. I took a two day “fundamentals” course in raw cooking in Fort Bragg, CA about a year ago and it was such a great experience. Good luck and I can’t wait to hear more!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2010 11:24 am

      Thanks, Cathy! I’m so glad you’ve found my blog and are enjoying it! Looking forward to hearing more from you. 😀

  20. October 8, 2010 3:26 pm

    I can’t believe it!! That’s so wonderful! I’m incredibly happy for you I could cry! I knew you would do something big. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2010 4:29 pm

      Thank you so much for believing in me. 🙂

  21. October 15, 2010 8:22 pm

    congratulations to you! i’m on a similar path, trying to do my homework on all the schools/programs (which aren’t many) out there.

    what made you choose this particular course?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 18, 2010 9:36 am

      Thanks! You’re right, there really aren’t many school options for raw-vegan food. I actually became intrigued with 105 Degrees when I ate there in May, and then meeting Ani Phyo and Matthew Kenney there in July totally sealed the deal. I was already a Matthew Kenney fan, so it immediately interested me that the school is based on his vision of clean, sexy, classically-executed cuisine. I looked at other schools, like Living Light, out of fairness, but nothing held the excitement for me that 105 Degrees did. I think deep down, I knew all along it was the one for me.

      I hope you find the path that works for YOU! I hope my upcoming documentation of my 105 Degrees journey can help. 🙂

Leave a Comment

