Skip to content
Vegan Treats choc-PB bomb cake!

October 9, 2010

I tried to strike a deal with
the Universe…me and my
deals with the Universe.

(Name that lyric!)
“Some people have all the luck.” Usually when I say that, I’m talking about other people of whom I am jealous. Right now, though, I’m referring to myself.

What are the chances that the very next day after I announce I’m going to raw vegan chef school, VegNews Magazine gifts me with a congratulatory cake, straight from Vegan Treats in Bethlehem, PA?!

Ok ok, so they didn’t actually send it to me in celebration of my enrollment at 105 Degrees. Rather, it’s VegNews’ 10th birthday, and I won the cake giveaway they held on Twitter! This absolutely floored me, because let me tell you, I am a complete twit when it comes to Twitter. In fact, I think it was just last week when I figured out what “RT” means, so when VegNews said to “RT” blah-blah-blah message, I did, not really thinking anything of it…until I got a DM (I also just figured out what THAT means) from Vegan Treats (only, like, the most famous vegan bakery in the country) saying I’d won a chocolate peanut butter mousse bomb cake! AAAHH!

The cake was overnight-delivered in an insulated box, and was waiting for me when I got home from work yesterday. Sarah at Vegan Treats sent me an awesome t-shirt too.

A choir of angels sang as I opened the box.

Folks, this is a chocolate…

…peanut butter…

…mousse…

…bomb…

…cake. Enough said.

I could not have asked for a better parting gift. Right before I leave for a school where wheat flours, refined sugars, and 350 degree ovens will become mere memories, this savagely decadent monstrosity representing everything baked and holy in this world lands in my home just in time to send me off with a sugar high and a couple extra pounds. LIFE IS GOOD!

The cake is already half gone (!), and Matt and I would both like to say THANK YOU, VegNews Magazine and Vegan Treats!

Oh yeah, and one more thing. I used to dye my hair crazy colors in high school and college, but I’ve been au naturel for nearly five years now, mainly for the corporate world’s sake. But seeing as how I’m about to bid adieu to my cubicle, hopefully for good, I decided it was time to dye my hair (part of it, at least) PURPLE again. Woohoo!

Have a great weekend, everyone!

68 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 2:52 pm

    Cake looks so good! Nice hair too!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 9:13 am

      “So good” is an understatement! And thanks πŸ™‚

  2. October 9, 2010 2:53 pm

    LOVE the hair! I’ve been missing my tiger lily orange for awhile now….but I’m not quitting my job, so I’ll just have to live vicariously through your manic panic.

    The cake looks AMAZING. I had to giggle, though, because my Nuva-Rings come in that exact same shipping box. I can only assume that they don’t taste nearly as tasty as the contents of your box, though. πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 9:15 am

      Ooh, I bet tiger-lily orange is very pretty on you!
      HAHA! Having never tasted a Nuva-Ring (wow, did I just type that?), I can’t base this off empirical evidence, but: I’m assuming you’re right as well. πŸ˜›

      • October 11, 2010 5:59 pm

        Also, I meant to mention, I was also very confused as to what “DM” meant in the twit world. I finally asked a friend of mine, because every time I saw it all I could think of was “Dungeon Master.” That’s what DM meant back in my day, anyway….

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 11, 2010 7:02 pm

          HAHA! There is something slightly dark about those letters together. Maybe it’s because when I see them, I always want to insert them (pun intended!) into B__S__…

  3. October 9, 2010 3:52 pm

    What a great send off that cake was, rather the like the universe is telling you it was meant to be.

    Enjoy the program at 105 degrees. I sounds like a lot of fun.

    Ali

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 9:16 am

      I kinda felt that way as well πŸ™‚
      And thank you! I think it will be great fun.

  4. tranquilbodyworks permalink
    October 9, 2010 5:28 pm

    I love Vegan Treats!!! I live about 25 mins from there!

  5. October 9, 2010 6:22 pm

    What perfect timing!! That cake look amazing. And I am still sort of clueless about twitter, too – don’t feel bad!
    LOVE the hair. I used to dye my hair all the time, too, with some funky colors. I miss it, and definitely envy yours πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 9:18 am

      Hehe, ok, good to know I’m not the only “Twit” πŸ˜›

      I’ve missed having colored hair for years too, it’s funny how it almost feels like a “relief” to have it again! Kinda makes me feel more like myself, I think.

  6. October 9, 2010 7:37 pm

    Congrats….and wow, that cake looks amazing! Now I want some vegan cake……guess I’ll have to make one….eventually. Or perhaps I’ll take out some of my frozen birthday cake!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 9:19 am

      There’s never a bad time for b-day cake! πŸ˜€

  7. October 9, 2010 9:03 pm

    OMG! That cake looks delicious! Love the purple hair too! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 9:19 am

      SO delicious. Words can’t describe! And thank ya πŸ™‚

  8. October 9, 2010 9:23 pm

    I truly believe that you winning that cake *was* the universe telling you congratulations for having the courage to follow your dreams in a way that most of us (ahem… me) can only dream about. πŸ™‚ And that purple is GOR-geous. I love that you’re you.

    (P.S. I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve dyed my hair a total of, erm, twice. And both times in very non-noticeable-just-a-few-lighter-highlights ways.)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 11:48 am

      Aww πŸ˜€ Thank you so very much.

      And there’s nothing embarrassing about leaving your natural hair color unsullied! Especially when it’s lovely to begin with. πŸ™‚

  9. October 9, 2010 9:46 pm

    What the what!?!?!?!? That is so cool you got a cake! That is probably the MOST decadent vegan cake I have ever seen!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 11:55 am

      Seriously, I think it might be too! SO rich, SO dense, SO sweet, SO unctuous, SO everything-that-is-right-and-good-in-the-world. πŸ˜›

  10. October 10, 2010 2:35 am

    First – Beauty of Speed! Tori Amos! Yes!

    Second – Cake! Oh my god! CAKE! YES!

    I want this in my belly. Nowwwwwwww. Oh my stars.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:03 pm

      You got it! Another Tori fan, YEAH! Awesome awesome awesome πŸ˜€

      You must be the L-Izzle I’ve heard Hannah mention. Nice to ‘meet’ you! A glance at your blog leads me to observe that we may share a similar dry-and-sarcastic-yet-excitable sense of humor, an excellent vocabulary, and perhaps also a predilection toward (seemingly-) random sexual references. Must go read more of you… πŸ˜‰

  11. October 10, 2010 8:33 am

    Wow, a whole peanut butter bomb cake, delivered right to you door… I can’t even imagine such a treat! That looks like one wicked sugar rush… and I must now go investigate how to secure one for myself. πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:32 pm

      I’m sure it was an expensive delivery, but if you’re able to order one of these for yourself sometime, I can’t recommend it enough. “Wicked” is right…it’s wickedly sweet and delicious, and now I’m wickedly sad that there’s only one slice left! We demolished that thing over the weekend!

  12. October 10, 2010 9:56 am

    I’ve been wanting to try Vegan Treats for so long, I think it’s time I ordered something from them! Congrats on your 105 degrees decision :)!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:34 pm

      I thought I was going to have to suck it up and fly to Philly someday to try Vegan Treats, so I was positively ecstatic at this win. If you have the opportunity to try anything of theirs, DO! πŸ™‚

  13. October 10, 2010 10:22 am

    The universe really is serendipity sometimes, isn’t it?

    That sounds like a great celebratory blowout. I love the color purple in your hair, but my skeptical side wants to be reassured that it isn’t going to harm your locks longterm.

    Way to harness the transformative energy!
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:37 pm

      I think this does qualify as serendipity!

      Oh, I’m sure I wreaked havoc on my hair back in the day, and I know that dyeing it now isn’t the kindest thing to do to it…but hey, it’s just hair; it’ll grow back, right? I mean, I sure hope so! =X

  14. October 10, 2010 9:10 pm

    I want that cake. :>

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:38 pm

      I wish I could will it back into existence myself! πŸ˜›

  15. October 10, 2010 9:39 pm

    That cake looks unreal. Seriously. It looks that delicious. And I’m not even eating it!

    Congratulations on your big win πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:39 pm

      Oh my gosh, don’t I know it! It looks almost too gorgeous to be real. But my tummy can happily report that it was very real, indeed. πŸ™‚

  16. October 11, 2010 9:11 am

    OMG…that cake…I want it! Congrats on winning it! BTW…love the hair! :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:40 pm

      Hehe! It was one of the best cakes I’ve ever eaten in my LIFE!
      And thanks, I’m glad you like the hair πŸ˜€

  17. Matt permalink
    October 11, 2010 10:36 am

    Holy crap, that cake is good! It’s the second best cake I’ve had since knowing Amber. The first was that Mocha Devastation Cake she made me a few months ago. But this is a very close second. Mmmmmm…

    Thanks Vegan Treats!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:42 pm

      Oh, you mean THIS mocha devastation cake? πŸ˜› Hmm, methinks I should make another one of those someday…but not TOO soon. I think we’ve had our fill of cake for the time being!

      I’m glad I got to share this with you.
      :*

  18. October 11, 2010 10:50 am

    JEALOUS JEALOUS!!! I want that cake right now… wow… seriously. That is just not fair πŸ™‚ Hope it was good and I can’t wait for your first ‘chef in training’ post! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 12:47 pm

      Trust me, I feel VERY lucky and grateful! The cake was beyond heavenly.

      Hehe, thanks! I can’t wait to WRITE my first chef-in-training post! πŸ˜€

  19. October 11, 2010 12:59 pm

    You are not only lucky for winning the cake but think about the cosmic karma involved and how lucky the CAKE was that it arrived after shipping having not been turned over on it’s head ONCE!! I can’t even get a letter that’s not half mangled.

    Good luck in school. I’m sure you’re in for an amazing adventure.

    Love the hair too.

    Marty
    Marty’s Flying Vegan Review
    http://www.martysnycveggiereview.blogspot.com

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 1:48 pm

      Haha! You’re quite right, Marty. Perhaps this has restored my faith, just a bit, in the U.S. postal system (for which both of my parents used to work, and whose service even they find abysmal at times).

      Thanks for wishing me luck, and for complimenting my new violet locks!

  20. October 11, 2010 5:54 pm

    Congratulations! What a score! I saw that cake on the food network… last year… a couple of years ago? Anyway, I saw it and I wanted it! And you you have it and I’m totally jealous! Your pictures make it look even better than the TV cameras did, woman!

    Rock that purple hair!!

    By the way, I barely knew what RT was, but I had to look up DM after I read your blog because I had no idea what it was.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 7:05 pm

      I didn’t know Vegan Treats was featured on the Food Network! Do you remember what show? I might have to put my YouTube detestation aside and go try and find the clip…

      It makes me so happy to hear you think my pics are beautiful! I am LOVING this new camera πŸ˜€

      Hehe, it’s always nice knowing I’m not the only one lost out there in Twitterland…

  21. October 11, 2010 8:41 pm

    I loved the way this cake looked earlier, and I started t leave a comment but I thought you would not see it or know me. But I was looking one my facebook page. Thanks for “liking” me! And the cake looks awesome

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 8:53 pm

      Hi Tasha! I’m so glad you did decide to comment! I definitely read every single one, and I try to respond to all as well. I “liked” you on FB after reading several of your posts recently (I believe I left a few comments too).

      The cake WAS awesome, for sure!

      Don’t be a stranger! πŸ˜‰

  22. October 11, 2010 8:53 pm

    Congrats! I love that shirt! It’s so cute.
    I do not have a twitter yet just because I seriously do not know how to work one so good for you! πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2010 8:56 pm

      Thank you! Cute t-shirts are always a welcome surprise, right?
      Haha, that’s what kept me away from Twitter for such a long time! But then I figured, hey, it’s worth a shot… ::shrug::

  23. October 11, 2010 10:21 pm

    Sweet Jesus.

    I think there must have been a typo on the address for that cake. I feel it should have been delivered at MY house! πŸ˜‰

    Congrats, anyway!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2010 10:57 am

      Hehe! Well, um , I hope that wasn’t the case, because, um, it’s kinda sorta all gone… πŸ˜›

  24. October 12, 2010 7:46 am

    totally drool worthy! i want a piece and, hey, i’m in kansas city!

    congrats on your choice to go to 105! very cool and i’m very jealous, but in a totally good way. come back to kc and try out your new skills on me! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2010 11:00 am

      It sounds like if I get my hands on a cake like this ever again, I need to organize a “Calling-All-KC-Vegans!” tasting party πŸ˜‰

      And thanks re: 105. I’m very excited, and I definitely hope to bring my new skills back home to KC and make something of myself here!

  25. October 12, 2010 4:41 pm

    Wowsa, that cake looks amazing. The shirt is awesome too and would last a lot longer than the cake in my house. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2010 6:12 pm

      Haha, that’s already the case here! πŸ˜›

  26. October 13, 2010 6:09 pm

    Ugh – I am so jealous! I never win things and have certainly never had an amazing cake show up on my doorstep! It looks so good!

    Cute shirt and hair too.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 13, 2010 6:11 pm

      I’ve had a lucky weekβ€”I don’t know why…but I’m thankful!

  27. October 14, 2010 9:33 am

    congratulations, that’s so wonderful for you! i wish you luck πŸ™‚
    that cake looks so amazing. how lucky you are to have won it! *wants*
    love your hair. do you dye it yourself?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 14, 2010 10:37 am

      Thank you so much! And the cake was outrageously good!
      I used to do 100% of my hair stuff myself, but this time I didn’t want to mess with it, plus I was getting a haircut anyway. So I had someone else do it πŸ™‚

  28. October 14, 2010 1:03 pm

    *salivates* I want one! Me Me Me!! *drool*

    Also, awesome hair! I need to step up my game and get something done!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 14, 2010 1:22 pm

      If only Vegan Treats would send one of these to everybody πŸ˜›

      And thanks re: the hair!

  29. October 14, 2010 2:38 pm

    LOVE the purple!!! So fun!

    What is that cake? Holy moly! YUUUUUM! Wow.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 14, 2010 2:40 pm

      Thanks!

      And it’s Vegan Treats’ famous chocolate peanut butter mousse bomb cake! Freakishly delicious!

  30. October 16, 2010 8:49 pm

    What a coincidence…we are going to be in PA next month, and I’ve been mapquesting our route, trying to figure out how we WILL fit in a visit to Vegan Treats. I’m so happy for you that you won this cake during such a fun time in your life.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 18, 2010 9:39 am

      How lucky you’ll be in the vicinity of Vegan Treats! If this cake is any indication, I’m certain that anything you try there will be incredible. πŸ™‚

  31. Gauri Radha ΰ€—ΰ₯Œΰ€°ΰ₯€ ΰ€°ΰ€Ύΰ€§ΰ€Ύ permalink
    May 7, 2011 2:17 am

    That looks spectacular πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 7, 2011 9:50 am

      It was amazing beyond belief πŸ™‚

  32. Rue Stahl permalink
    June 10, 2011 11:36 pm

    Is there a recipe for this cake since the place that used to make this cake has since closed down?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 14, 2011 1:32 pm

      Nuh-uh! Where did you see that?!?
      I don’t have a recipe for it – I wish! 😦

Leave a Comment

