Skip to content
Review: Organics Are For Everyone date syrup

October 14, 2010

(…and mini-giveaway!)

In my recent Xagave review, I briefly touched on the controversy that’s been swirling around agave nectar. It seems even those of us who are undecided on agave have been seeking out alternative liquid sweeteners, for variety if nothing else. Most people have tried honey and maple syrup. Some may have tried coconut nectar. But how about date syrup?

Organics Are For Everyone makes the only widely available date syrup on the market today, and it’s certified organic, vegan, and 100% gluten- and dairy-free. When they sent me a couple jars to try out, my sweet tooth rejoiced!

Since dates are a fruit, date syrup automatically has a leg up on the competition when it comes to health benefits. Packed with potassium, magnesium, and iron, it makes a great addition to a pre- or post-workout smoothie. Its rich and complex flavor makes it a perfect maple syrup substitute atop pancakes or waffles. Stir it into oatmeal, drizzle it on ice cream, or use it to sweeten baked goods—it’s a wonderful alternative sweetener across the board.

I couldn’t resist mixing it with my beloved nut butter, and since I know how much everyone loves chocolate, I decided to make…fudge!

Easy almond butter fudge
¼ cup almond butter
2 Tbsp date syrup
2 oz. dark chocolate, chopped
.5 oz. white chocolate (or add’l dark), chopped

In a small saucepan, combine all ingredients over low heat. (By the way, you can use peanut butter in place of the almond butter if you want.)

Stir until melted. Since I only had a couple ounces of dark chocolate on hand, I decided to add a half ounce of white chocolate, but feel free to use dark chocolate for all 2.5 ounces.

When the mixture is almost all melted, remove from the heat. You can add 1/8 tsp of vanilla extract and/or a pinch of sea salt at this point if you want, but you don’t have to. Pour into a greased pan of some sort; I divided mine between two 4-oz. ramekins.

Refrigerate until set. Sorry for the outrageously bad photo here, but I wanted to show you this one because I think it looks like a chocolate hockey puck. Yummiest hockey puck I’ve ever seen!

When chilled, cut into four (or fewer) portions. Seriously, this stuff is rich! As you can see, I left a few shards of white chocolate in mine (instead of stirring it until completely uniform). The date syrup worked SO well in this—it provided sweetness without overpowering the chocolate flavor. I’m thinking this will be a great little dessert to bring to a party or gathering this holiday season!

Yield: 4 servings.
Per serving: 222 calories, 13.6g fat (4g sat), 21.3g carbs, 3g fiber, 4.4g protein.

ALMOST VEGAN MINI-GIVEAWAY
I’m calling this a “mini-giveaway” because, unlike my other giveaways, there won’t be multiple chances to enter. One entry per person! The prize, however, is NOT “mini”—TWO winners will each receive a 10-oz. jar of Organics Are For Everyone date syrup!

HOW TO ENTER: The one and only method of entry is to follow these three steps:
1. “Like” Organics Are For Everyone on Facebook.
2. Leave a comment on their wall saying that Almost Vegan sent you.
Example: I want to try your date syrup—count me in on the giveaway from Almost Vegan!
3. Come back here and leave a comment below saying that you completed the above steps!

Easy!
It won’t count for extra entries, but while you’re at it, feel free to follow Organics Are For Everyone on Twitter. And if you haven’t already, be sure to “like” Almost Vegan on Facebook and follow Almost Vegan on Twitter!

The deadline for entries is next Monday morning, October 18th, 2010 at 9:00am CST.
This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only. (Sorry foreign friends!)
I’ll be choosing the winner at random. GOOD LUCK!

45 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 11:53 am

    I’m in! Dates are awesome.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2010 6:57 am

      Yeah they are! So crazy-versatile.

  2. October 14, 2010 11:55 am

    I want to try – Did all the above. 🙂 Thanks!

  3. October 14, 2010 11:57 am

    I liked, commented, and here’s #3!

  4. October 14, 2010 12:02 pm

    I left a comment on the company’s wall. Great giveaway!

  5. Cheryl permalink
    October 14, 2010 12:04 pm

    I did the above steps!!

  6. Cheryl permalink
    October 14, 2010 12:05 pm

    Follow you on twitter 😀 thanks for the chance to win!

  7. Julia permalink
    October 14, 2010 12:52 pm

    I did it!! Posted on their Facebook Page & I liked them too. Hope the Random Number Generator picks me!! And the fudge sounds yummy!

    Thanks for the review!

  8. Sarah permalink
    October 14, 2010 1:51 pm

    “liked” and posted on Organics Are For Everyone facebook page =)

  9. October 14, 2010 2:17 pm

    Yum. Yum, yum, yum. I just liked Organics are for Everyone!

    Yay to giveaways!

  10. October 14, 2010 2:34 pm

    And I left a comment saying you sent me and I need to try all their delicious products!

    Fun!

  11. October 14, 2010 2:39 pm

    This looks like quite possibly the best fudge recipe ever – thank you!
    And it so happens I’ve just bought a bar of white chocolate with raspberry pieces in it *drool* which could be the way to go 🙂
    Eleanor

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2010 6:57 am

      Ooh! White chocolate raspberry almond butter fudge? Now you’re talkin’! 😛

  12. October 14, 2010 3:56 pm

    I’m in – followed all the directions- and I would SO LOVE to win this! Thanks for the giveaway.

  13. Tracy permalink
    October 14, 2010 4:38 pm

    I did all of this and even linked my post on their wall back to Almost Vegan FB page 😉

    Thanks for the awesome review Amber! I really want to try this fudge, I have a new found love affair with almond butter that can not be stopped! 😀

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2010 6:58 am

      Isn’t almond butter amazing?! Its milder flavor makes it a perfect match for so many things.

  14. October 14, 2010 8:39 pm

    I liked them on fb, wrote on their wall and now i am completing number 3! I am pumped about this date syrup!

  15. October 14, 2010 8:58 pm

    Brilliant! Your fudge looks outstanding. I’ve never tried date syrup either…I love that you’re always showcasing new and interesting ingredients on your blog. I’m always learning about something new!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2010 6:59 am

      Aw! Thank you, I’m so glad! You don’t know how much it means to me when my posts, whether they’re recipes, reviews, or anything, are valuable to people. 🙂

  16. October 14, 2010 10:05 pm

    Count me in to win! I’m making that fudge at first chance!

  17. Virginia Buck permalink
    October 15, 2010 11:26 am

    Looks luscious! I’m going to try it!

  18. October 15, 2010 11:56 am

    I did what you said so, count me in to win. :o)
    But…now I am going to have to make fudge this weekend, but I guess it will be withoug date syrup. 😦 That’s some good looking fudge that’s for sure. If you still have that other hockey puck, you can send it my way…lol

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2010 11:58 am

      Aw, if only I had an extra left to send you! 🙂 You can still make the fudge without date syrup; it shouldn’t be a problem. I think maple syrup would be the best substitution, but honey and agave could both be worth a try.

  19. Marina permalink
    October 15, 2010 12:05 pm

    completed! recipe looks awesome

  20. October 15, 2010 2:36 pm

    Oh i’ve never heard of this -great to know!

  21. October 15, 2010 2:57 pm

    p.s. to answer your question I do think the soup could be used with frozen squash as long as it’s defrosted a bit beforehand!

  22. October 15, 2010 3:08 pm

    I “liked” and commented! Dates are one of my favorite things on the planet, so I’d love to try this!

  23. October 15, 2010 3:16 pm

    done! would love to try this.

  24. October 15, 2010 8:13 pm

    i liked & commented – i’m in!

  25. October 15, 2010 9:47 pm

    I’ve never even heard of date syrup….but I’d certainly like to try it! The liking and the commenting have taken place. 🙂

  26. October 16, 2010 8:29 pm

    I’m not going to enter the giveaway, since I’m pretty sure I need to back _way_ back on the sugar again, having played around with a little more recently. But that fudge looks delectable. If I wasn’t pretty sure I need to stay off chocolate completely again, I’d be making a stevia version! (No, I’m not really feeling sorry for myself!)

    But I just wanted to say that I was ‘raised’ on date syrup! It’s a typical and traditional Israeli and middle-eastern food – can find it in Mediterranean stores sometimes. A very common treat when I was a kid was date syrup mixed with similar amounts of tahini. Or, if there was no date syrup around, tahini and honey. At passover, it was very common to make the tahini-date syrup mixture and spread it on motzas, or make a cake-type thing by mixing it in motza crumbs. I think I preferred it straight-up or on lettuce (motza’s being gluten and all)…

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 18, 2010 9:28 am

      I’m sorry your body’s not handling sugar well…and chocolate too! 😦

      That date-syrup tahini mixture sounds surprisingly delicious!

  27. October 16, 2010 8:45 pm

    I followed the steps and would love to win. I’ve never heard of date syrup. And your fudge looks great!

  28. Karen Hartzler permalink
    October 18, 2010 7:08 am

    I did it…this sounds interesting and the fudge looks wonderful, and Christmas isn’t complete without FUDGE!!

  29. October 18, 2010 7:11 am

    Hi,

    I think that you fell off my feed reader somehow!

    I had some date syrup a few years back, and used it in a microwaved steamed pudding – the recipe was vegan and is somewhere on the blog.

    I had a lovely sticky date pudding the other day and was planning on getting some more date syrup and making some. Sadly I am in the UK so cannot enter the competition!

  30. October 18, 2010 10:30 am

    Hey pretty girl!
    You don’t need to enter me. I just wanted to stop by and say hi… and drool over the chocolate fudge ;). Happy Monday!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 18, 2010 7:27 pm

      Aww, thanks Katie! Happy Monday to you too 😀

  31. October 18, 2010 6:02 pm

    Love your blog; I just found it! So, maple syrup would be a good sub for this fudge? I really want to make it! Can you taste the almond butter or not so much?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 18, 2010 6:52 pm

      Hi Kelsey! Welcome 😀 I think maple syrup would work well, it’s got a similarly “dark” flavor to the date syrup. As far as the almond butter, my bf said it tasted “very almond buttery,” whereas I felt like the flavor was very subtle. I know that probably doesn’t help you at all, but I guess it just depends on the palate! Let me know if you try the fudge, and how it works out for you. 🙂

  32. October 18, 2010 7:24 pm

    Thanks for your quick response to my question. I will try it tonight probably, and I’ll let you know how it is. 🙂

    Btw, I did all the steps. Count me entered? 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 18, 2010 7:27 pm

      Great! Can’t wait to hear how you like it.
      The contest, however, ended this morning 😦 I’m sorry! I posted the winners (and another date syrup recipe) here this afternoon. But rest assured there will be another giveaway soon! 🙂

  33. Sid permalink
    December 30, 2010 12:26 pm

    What is the weight of each jar? Not fluid oz but weight.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 30, 2010 3:15 pm

      360 grams 🙂

      • Sid permalink
        December 30, 2010 4:52 pm

        thanks your the best! They say 12.3 oz so assumed it was 350gms of product, but wasnt sure. Thanks for confirming! Live long and prosper

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          December 30, 2010 5:30 pm

          You’re most welcome, Sid!

Leave a Comment

