Skip to content
Guacamame edamummus dip

October 19, 2010

Guaca-who? Let me explain.
But first, I have to say that this is one of the strangest things I’ve ever made. Nay, one of the strangest things I’ve ever eaten.

I couldn’t decide what to make for a snack one night. I had an avocado and a container of spinach in the fridge, and I always have chickpeas in the pantry and edamame in the freezer. I remembered seeing a Robin Robertson recipe for an edamame guacamole, so I thought I might make that, but then I also thought about how I’ve always intended to make an edamame hummus. So I thought, why choose? Guacamole + edamame + hummus = guacamame edamummus! A handful of spinach served to enhance the emerald hue.

1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 cup frozen edamame, cooked
½ avocado, pitted and peeled
1 clove garlic
Big handful of baby spinach
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp lime juice
1½ tsp salt (or to taste)
¼ tsp red pepper flakes (optional)

Like all hummus recipes, this is a cinch to make. Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor.

Add 1/3 to 1/2 cup cold water (1/3 cup if you’re using a food processor, 1/2 cup if you’re using a blender) and purée until smooth and creamy. Add more cold water, a tablespoon or two at a time, until desired consistency is reached.

Transfer to a container and refrigerate for up to one week. I served it with a drizzle more olive oil and a sprinkling of seasoned salt. (Curry powder would be a yummy addition, too!) The beans give the dip a lot of body, while the avocado gives it a rich texture and mouthfeel. The spinach virtually disappears, save for its contribution to the alien green color. I’m not much of one for making themed dishes around holidays like Halloween (I leave that to the experts), but I think this swampy, celadon snack would be a perfect fit on someone’s spooky party buffet.

Yield: about 3 cups.
Per serving (about 1/3 cup): 108 calories, 5.4g fat (1g sat), 12g carbs, 3g fiber, 3.8g protein.

Psst…be sure to check out Katie‘s Artisana coconut butter giveaway!

If you like this, you might also like…
Black olive tapenade
Curry lentil crackers w/spinach-avocado dip
Tuscan white bean dip

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Monica Soto permalink
    October 19, 2010 12:48 pm

    I’m going to have to try this. I love all of those things, never thought of them combined though! I like your name for it and I’m surprised I pronounced the title right in my head instantly, lol.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:49 am

      Hehe, it’s funny how it’s intuitive to say it correctly when you’re already familiar with all the components!

  2. October 19, 2010 12:58 pm

    Wow, this sounds great! And what a great way to jam it pack full of nutritious goodness. Yum 🙂 I’ll try this as soon as I have everything on hand 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:50 am

      Thanks! And yes, very nutritious indeed 😀

  3. October 19, 2010 1:05 pm

    I LOVE the name of this post- and your creation! 🙂 Sounds delicious, too! That needs to be a “must-make” to add to my list of dishes! Yum.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:50 am

      Thank you! I hope you try it 🙂

  4. October 19, 2010 1:34 pm

    greens in hummus? i’m all for it! so creative.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:51 am

      Indeed! I usually have to blend my greens to get myself to eat them, and this was a nice change of pace from their usual smoothie vehicle.

  5. October 19, 2010 2:06 pm

    So green! I bet that’s awesome smeared all over a sandwich.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:51 am

      I bet so! Waaay tastier (and healthier) than mayonnaise.

  6. October 19, 2010 3:25 pm

    That sounds so interesting, but really good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:52 am

      Definitely “interesting”! Luckily, it worked out, and tasted great. 🙂

  7. October 19, 2010 3:44 pm

    oh that dip sounds delicious!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:52 am

      Thank you!

  8. October 19, 2010 4:15 pm

    Very interesting! I would have never dreamed of putting all these things together, but it sounds like it works. I agree, it would be perfect for a Halloween party. I’ll have to try this for sure!! :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:52 am

      I’m surprised *I* thought of it! 😛 Let me know if you try it!

  9. October 19, 2010 6:48 pm

    Oh girl, I love your title! Too cute 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:53 am

      Thank ya! Green goo and a cute name, what’s not to love? 😛

  10. October 19, 2010 7:17 pm

    ‘swampy celadon snack’ – I love that as much as or more than the title of the post! Sounds like a great variation on a loved recipe.

    I hope it was as delectable as it was weird.

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:54 am

      Ah, Ela, I love knowing I’m not the only one who fixates on words and phrases I particularly love 🙂

      I’d say it was equally delectable and weird—which is a good thing, in my book!

  11. tashase permalink
    October 19, 2010 7:34 pm

    Interesting, I like hummus and Guac, but I do not know about Edamame. I have never had it.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:56 am

      Ooh, you must try edamame! It’s whole green soybeans that you can buy in-the-pod or shelled in the freezer section. You just cook them like you would any other frozen veggie; quick and easy. I love them with nothing more than a sprinkle of salt. They’re chewy and filling, full of fiber and protein. 🙂 And delicious!

  12. October 19, 2010 7:54 pm

    Firstly, this looks like a magnificent way for me to sneak some not-much-liked avocado into my life. If only it was easy to find edamame here…

    Secondly, I think I was channeling you yesterday. Out of the blue, I got the most intense craving for chickpeas, and ended up walking over the road to buy a can which I promptly drained, rinsed, and ate straight.

    And now I want another.

    Mmm…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:58 am

      It might just be! Or you could hide it in a chocolate peanut butter pudding/mousse 😉 I need to post that someday.

      Nice! It may well have been my energy coursing through you. Maybe I was asleep and dreaming of chickpeas at the time. Now if only I could master lucid dreaming… 😛

  13. October 20, 2010 7:46 am

    i love it! and i totally agree that you could make it work as halloween treat.
    i love alyana’s post for making it a sammie spread. going to have to try that one for sure!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 9:59 am

      Thanks! And yes, I have a feeling it’d be equally at home on a sandwich as on a Halloween snack table. 🙂

  14. October 20, 2010 8:05 pm

    Sounds so good! There is a new edamame hummus made with lemongrass and ginger available in Canadian supermarkets and I can’t wait to try to recreate it at home. It looks kinda weird but tastes awesome.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 20, 2010 10:37 pm

      With lemongrass, how interesting! I’d try it. Can’t possibly be weirder than this 😛

Leave a Comment

