Skip to content
Leftovers, smoothies, odds ‘n ends

October 22, 2010

Hi all! I’m thrilled that yesterday’s raw blondies were such a hit. I’m leaving for Oklahoma City tomorrow morning (eee!), and though I have a million and one things left to do before I go (I haven’t packed yet, um, at all), I have a few final things to share with you before this blog turns 105-Degrees-centric.

That beauty up there is the roasted red pepper hummus appetizer at McCoy’s, a bar in Westport with a surprising number of vegetarian AND vegan offerings. I can’t help but get the hummus every time, but Matt ordered something I’d always wanted to try—the Moroccan chickpea-veggie stir fry with couscous (below). It was delicious!

I made banana soft-serve one night for Matt and me, and drizzled it with (what else?) my raw chocolate-hazelnut ganache.

We ate on the patio of Figlio one evening, and I got a wee pizza with pesto, artichoke hearts, black olives, and roasted red peppers, plus some marinara for dipping.

I made this recipe for curried red beans & rice out of Robin Robertson’s
Vegan on the Cheap. REALLY simple, quick, and awesome.

Speaking of Robin Robertson, I won a giveaway on her husband Jon Robertson’s blog, Vegan Unplugged. The prize was Robin’s 2008 book Vegan Fire & Spice, which I’m so glad to finally have. Thanks, Jon!

Here comes a barrage of smoothies—I was on fire with the smoothies this month, partly because Matt read Brendan Brazier’s Thrive Diet recently and has been really jazzed up about smoothies. This one here is strawberry-kiwi with spinach.

Berry smoothies are probably my favorite, and this one has blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries.

This was an off-the-cuff pumpkin pie smoothie. Hellooo, fall!

And finally, a pineapple-mango smoothie packed with hemp protein powder.

Now, on to my upcoming journey. Though I’m sure I’ll be bringing food home from class each day, snacking is serious business for a raw vegan foodie, so I refuse to go unprepared! I’m taking a small grocery store’s worth of just-in-case sustenance. Here we have a box of Pure Bars and Cavewoman Bars on the left, some individually-wrapped prunes and a sleeve of Fiber One in the center, and on the right, a box of MacroLife bars, some baby jars of Love Street Living Foods’ chocolate & nut butters, and a few sachets of Zhena’s Gypsy Tea.

In box #2, we have a selection of bars, including Kardea Nutrition bars, Nutiva hemp bars, Amazing Grass Green Superfood bars, and a cache of Granola Gourmet energy bars.

Box #3 contains the snackiest stuff—Brothers fruit crisps, Blue Mountain Organics’ kale Earth Chips, and Somersault Snacks.

Lastly, I prepared myself a monster batch of raw raspberry-vanilla-almond granola this week. We’ll see how quickly this disappears.

Also, I received something extra-cool and -useful in the mail this week—a Tea Traveler from Teas Etc.

My old Travel Buddy tea carrier from Taiwan finally bit the dust, so I was stoked to receive this BPA-free travel tea mug.

They sent me some sample teas, too.

The cool thing about the Tea Traveler is that you brew the tea inside the mug itself. This means the leaves are able to float freely in the tea, instead of being trapped in a small infuser. The mesh part you see below isn’t actually meant to hold the tea; instead, it acts as a strainer—as you drink from the lid, it keeps the tea leaves and debris inside. Too cool! Thanks, Teas Etc., for this awesome item. I’ll be getting a lot of use out of it in these next several weeks away from home.

So it’s really about to happen—I’m leaving for 105 Degrees TOMORROW. I can hardly believe it. I’m going to be a big ball of stress until I get on the road in the morning, but then hopefully from there, it’ll be smooth sailing. Next time you hear from me, I’ll be blogging from Oklahoma City! WISH ME LUCK!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 5:25 pm

    Woooo! Good luck! I can’t wait to read about your 105 Degrees experience!

    Also, that tea mug is AWESOME!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 23, 2010 12:34 pm

      Thanks! I can’t wait either! 😀

  2. October 22, 2010 5:32 pm

    Yay! Good luck on your journey!

    That tea brew thing looks awesome! I may have to look into getting one!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 23, 2010 12:34 pm

      Thank you!
      I think the tea traveler will be a great thing to have while I’m away!

  3. Tracy permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:36 pm

    Good Luck!! I can’t wait to see your blogs from 105 degrees!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 23, 2010 12:35 pm

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to blogging about it!

  4. October 22, 2010 6:54 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to blog on your final day! (I know how nice it is to have distractions from packing too)…

    I’m envious about that tea traveler – it looks great – hope it works as well as it looks like it does (if that makes sense) – what a great gift and perfect timing.

    You showed lots of bars and snacks that I’d never even seen/heard of before. And some of your own-made stuff too? Girl’s gonna be popular in the dorm!…

    My heartfelt good wishes for you – meeting a bunch of new people can be so daunting, and I wish you the very best of good times down in Oklahoma – I’m sure you’ll find some great kindred spirits.

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 23, 2010 12:39 pm

      My pleasure! I’m excited about the tea traveler too; my other to-go tea mug just wasn’t cutting it.

      Some of those bars and snacks are ones I’ve reviewed, while for others I’ve got reviews in the works. And some of them are just random ones I’ve picked up 🙂 I am such a new-product addict…

      Thank you so very much for your well wishes. I am a really introspective, very often quiet person (much more so than I may seem on this blog) and it is always a little nervewracking for me to meet new people, particularly a group of them at once. But if there’s anywhere I’ll be comfortable and find kindred spirits, as you say, I think it’s this place. ::Deep breath:: Here goes nothin’!

  5. October 22, 2010 7:09 pm

    Looks like a nice stash to have for the travel.

    Love the rainbow of smoothies.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 23, 2010 12:41 pm

      That was my intention; I think I did pretty well!

      Multicolored smoothies…so soothing to the eye AND palate. 🙂

  6. October 22, 2010 9:41 pm

    Our drinking glasses are Mason jars, too 🙂 Aren’t they the best?

    And I LOVE Robin Robertson’s cookbooks! That woman is a genius, isn’t she?

    GOOD LUCK with your travels this weekend! Looks like you’re well-stocked with plenty of good eats and treats.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 24, 2010 5:51 pm

      Mason jars rock! As does Robin Robertson 😛

      Thanks for the well-wishes!

  7. October 22, 2010 9:52 pm

    So, um, wouldn’t you rather close those boxes up and address them to me? 😉 Kale chips! That granola! Cavewoman bars! *swoon*

    Have a safe trip love! Take care, and can’t wait to start hearing abour your 105 wonderment!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 24, 2010 5:53 pm

      Hehe! It IS a nice stash, in’t it? If I could share it with you, I would! 😀

  8. October 22, 2010 10:02 pm

    Yay, the day of excitement has arrived! Can’t wait to hear all about 105 Degrees!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 24, 2010 5:54 pm

      Indeed it has! First class tomorrow morning…eee!

  9. October 22, 2010 10:39 pm

    good luck! i bet it will be an amazing adventure!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 24, 2010 5:54 pm

      Thank you! I think it will too 🙂

  10. October 23, 2010 8:41 am

    What a FULL post! So many yummy things. I’m not vegan, but I love vegan food and you always make me want to try new things!

    I’m leaving your post thinking about the bananas in my freezer, destined for soft serve…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 24, 2010 5:57 pm

      I’m always glad to offer inspiration! 😀

      Mmm, banana soft serve sounds awesome right about now…too bad I don’t have my food processor here in OKC!

  11. October 23, 2010 1:23 pm

    Wow, you have a lot of yummies in this post! Good luck at 105 Degrees! I’m going to enjoy hearing all about it.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 24, 2010 5:59 pm

      Thanks! I’m full of all kinds of nervous excitement…!

  12. tashase permalink
    October 25, 2010 2:49 pm

    All of you pictures look great. I particularly like the red pepper hummus and the green smoothie.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 25, 2010 2:56 pm

      Thank you! That hummus really is stupendous.

  13. Matt permalink
    October 25, 2010 7:46 pm

    That banana soft serve was pretty freakin’ awesome. More!!!

    And, I’ll have everyone know that I am totally borrowing A’s kitchen to make smoothies while she is gone. She taught me how. I’m a fully equipped (mostly) vegster.

    -M

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 25, 2010 8:28 pm

      As soon as I’m home, we can have more soft serve! 😀

      Also, a) I’m delighted that you’re so into “the smoothie thing” lately, and b) I’m very proud of you for your blender skills! You take good care of my Vitababy while I’m gone!

Leave a Comment

