Skip to content
105degrees, L1/W1/D4: pad thai, sushi, ice cream

October 28, 2010

We started out today by making one of my favorite innuendo-laden raw foods: nut milk! Almond milk, to be specific.

We then immediately turned each of our batches of almond milk into humongous smoothies. I added yesterday‘s extra kale to mine.

Actually, I added a whole LOT to mine. When it comes to smoothies, I’m an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink girl. Besides the almond milk and kale, I put in banana, pineapple, avocado, raspberries, coconut butter, hempseeds, maca, spirulina, and probably more that I’m not remembering. There was so much of this (a half gallon!) that I could hardly make a dent. Hopefully the rest will still be tasty tomorrow!

Yesterday‘s kale chips had finished dehydrating, so we pulled those out.

Breakfast!

Everyone’s kale chips were AWESOME. That extra-thick Southwestern coating really worked wonders.

We spiralized some yellow squash, and prepared our mise en place for pad thai.

At the end of yesterday, we’d prepped some candied maple-tamari almonds, and those had dehydrated overnight. We also whipped up a quick, spicy pad thai sauce.

And there you have it: raw pad thai.

Friggin’. Awesome.

Here I am, all proud of my pretty plate (and ready to devour it).

Seriously gorgeous!

In the afternoon, we marinated some shiitake mushrooms, made raw “rice” out of jicama and pine nuts, and prepped our mise en place for…SUSHI!

Russell demo’d his rolling technique…

…and we set to work rolling our own.

I used to make homemade sushi every Monday night when I was in college, so luckily I still remembered how to roll pretty well.

I sliced my roll into me-sized bites.

We added small dishes of tamari for dipping.

I was really impressed with this jicama rice. Personally, I love real rice, so I was thrilled that this had such a ricey texture.

It was literally bursting with vibrant colors!

But you didn’t think I’d neglect to show you yesterday‘s ice cream, did you?

The great reveal! My flavor? Cinnamon almond butter.

Ohh yes. A sinfully smooth, dreamily creamy, coconut-tinged, horchata-esque ice cream fit for a queen.

SUCCESS. I promised Matt I’d save him some, but how I’m going to make it last till the weekend, I have yet to figure out.

50 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 6:35 pm

    Wow, everything looks extra delicious today. That pasta looks so creamy! I’m sure your ice cream was fantastic, I might have to recreate it with banana soft serve.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:00 pm

      The pad thai was ULTRA creamy. And I think cinnamon-almond butter banana soft serve would be AMAZING!

  2. October 28, 2010 6:35 pm

    All that in one day?! You guys are on fire…for being raw and all! I am obsessed with that Paco Jet ice cream unit. What is it, like $4k? Yeh, my hubby is not going to go for that, but man does it ever create the yummiest ice cream.
    Living vicariously…..P

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:01 pm

      A fire burning at or below 118 degrees, right? Hehe!

      The PacoJet is crazy! We haven’t used it yet, but hopefully we get to soon. πŸ˜€

  3. October 28, 2010 6:42 pm

    Oh my stars everything looks so yummy!!! I’m taking (well making up ) a 30 day vegan challenge wish me luck and got any pointers??

    so after seeing all these yummy foods your learning to make please tell me your going to open a place to eat when you get back home?? if so I’ll be your first customer.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:03 pm

      Congratulations on undertaking a 30 day vegan challenge!! Your body is going to love you for it. My #1 pointer would be: don’t stress! If you’re not 100% sure something’s vegan, THAT’S OK. Just use common health-sense, and avoid things you know aren’t good for your body. Have fun with it! Oh, and pre-make or -pack snacks for times when you’re hungry on the go – that’s an important one. πŸ™‚

      A restaurant is one career possibility for after I graduate. We’ll see πŸ˜‰ If that’s what happens, you’ll be among the first to hear about it!

      • October 29, 2010 7:17 pm

        thank you for your pointers! i got all the stuff i need for the next week or so and I tried almond milk for the first time. Might try my hand at making it next time. It is much better then soy! πŸ™‚

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 29, 2010 7:56 pm

        That’s fantastic! I’m glad you tried almond milk; isn’t it delicious? I wish you the best of luck. If you need inspiration, please feel free to browse my archives! There’s lotsa good stuff there. πŸ™‚

  4. Matt permalink
    October 28, 2010 6:55 pm

    Seriously, everything you guys are making looks beautiful and appetizing. That sushi makes me want sushi. That smoothie makes me want a smoothie. That ice cream makes me… Well, makes me want to fly back early. Save me some! P-p-p-pleeeeeease!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:04 pm

      Thanks, love! Even though you couldn’t fly back early, I’ve got some ice cream here in the freezer with your name on it. πŸ™‚

  5. Tracy permalink
    October 28, 2010 7:13 pm

    lol poor Matt! Amber you have to save him at least 1 bite! It looks sooo good, let him be your critic and tell us all his unbiased opinion!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:06 pm

      Haha! Not to worry; I was being a wee bit hyperbolic when I said I thought I’d eat it all last night πŸ˜› I’ve got plenty saved for Matt.

      And I’m so glad you said he should provide his unbiased opinion! I tell him that all the time, but he doesn’t think anybody pays attention or cares. But I think having someone besides myself critique the food I post is invaluable!

  6. October 28, 2010 7:29 pm

    Amber…How could this possibly be school?! It looks like way too much fun πŸ™‚ As usual, I’m super impressed with the splendid-looking delicious-ness you’re making. Homemade almond milk? Awesome. Sushi? Even better πŸ™‚

    So glad you’re having fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:07 pm

      Tell me about it! It feels more like having all-day playtime rather than “schooling.” πŸ˜€

  7. October 28, 2010 7:52 pm

    Amber! You’ll be so proud of me to hear this: I’ve been making cauliflower “rice” at least a couple of times a week lately. It’s so good! Mine’s a bit… different though πŸ˜‰

    Cinnamon. Cinnamon ice cream. With almond butter. You know how much I love cinnamon! Amber Amber Amber. HEART.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:09 pm

      Have you really?! That’s awesome! How’s yours “different,” though? Do you infuse it with rendered kangaroo fat? πŸ˜›

      I knew that you love cinnamon, and we both love nut butter, so I’d predicted that you’d heart this ice cream flavor. πŸ˜€ Yay, I was right!

  8. October 28, 2010 8:34 pm

    It all looks so lovely and delicious. I love the kale chips and ice cream. I love almond butter and cinnamon–interesting combo.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:10 pm

      Thanks, Bitt. These are the best kale chips I’ve ever made, and the ice cream? Unspeakably delectable.

  9. October 28, 2010 8:43 pm

    Wow…all of that food looks so good! Yum!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:10 pm

      You have no idea! πŸ˜›

  10. October 28, 2010 8:44 pm

    ahhhhh i want to be vegan now. The food looks amazing.
    Well, maybe I’ll just be vegan on some days.
    What do you want to do with your certification at 105? Chef? Restaurant?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:12 pm

      Hehe! No need to be vegan to enjoy tasty, healthy fare like this (though it doesn’t hurt :P). You can be vegan whenever you feel like it!

      The future is wide open after 105. A restaurant is a possibility…cookbook writing is a major dream…we shall see!

  11. October 28, 2010 9:41 pm

    Every dish in this post looks like something I’d love! I’m so impressed at your handiwork. Looks like you are having a good and tasty time!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:12 pm

      Aw, thanks! It’d be hard NOT to love all this stuff. πŸ™‚

  12. October 28, 2010 9:48 pm

    Oh everything I see here I love! I made that pad thai for a tasting night that I did when I got back home to Saudi Arabia after my course, and it was the biggest hit. And thanks for reminding me about the sushi.

    Hahaha ask Russell about my drama with my ice-cream for my final assessment!!! Another funny story for you!

    Amber you are so adorable in ALL your pics with your chef’s uniform!

    You rock it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:14 pm

      I will definitely be recreating this pad thai at home!

      I’m making a mental note to ask Russell about that story, teehee…

      Heh, if “adorable” means “silly,” then I agree!
      But really, thank you πŸ˜€

  13. October 28, 2010 10:08 pm

    WOW are you learning this in raw cooking school. Amazing, I love Pad Thai, I would love to go to that school.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:57 pm

      All this and more! Having the time of my life here at 105degrees.

  14. October 29, 2010 5:01 am

    Oh wow wow wow!

    I love the presentation of the sushi. Great idea to upend the ends of the roll. I usually eat them before serving the rest of the sushi.

    I may even try and make some raw sushi this weekend.

    I so need a vitamix and a dehydrator.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 7:59 pm

      I used to do the same thing with the ends of my rolls! It does make a nice presentation to set them upright like that, though, doesn’t it?

      The Vitamix and the Excalibur dehydrator are two kitchen appliances I don’t think I could ever live without again πŸ™‚ AT LEAST the Vitamix, for sure.

  15. October 29, 2010 7:13 am

    Freaking awesome Amber!!!!! Sushi with jicama and pine nuts sounds awesome. I am going to have to try this!

    Horchat-esque almond ice cream???? You are seriously killing me here. I think I need to visit you .

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 8:00 pm

      I hope you do try it! It’s so easy; you just whiz the jicama and pine nuts in a food processor (after squeezing the water from the diced jicama) with some rice wine vinegar, agave, and sea salt. Ta-da, raw rice!

      Hmm, perhaps you do need to visit! We could share coconut-cracking duties and make a monster batch of my horchata ice cream >:D

  16. October 29, 2010 7:26 am

    I think I might end up leaving the exact same comments on everything post you do while you are there, because WOW, everything looks delicious. Looks like you are doing great with all the food! You are definitely making me jealous, I want to be there!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 8:01 pm

      Haha, I feel like I keep repeating myself as well in all my comment responses! But don’t worry about it; I appreciate every comment so much. πŸ™‚

  17. October 29, 2010 8:14 am

    oh my gosh, I want to eat everything on the screen right now! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 8:02 pm

      Me too – AGAIN! πŸ˜›

  18. October 29, 2010 11:08 am

    Everything looks so good! I would love to sample everything. I am especially eye balling those kale chips and ice cream though. YUMMY!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 8:03 pm

      I can’t even pick a favorite out of this post, everything was so good.

      …Oh, who am I kidding? The ice cream wins. πŸ˜‰

  19. October 29, 2010 1:18 pm

    These posts about you experience at 105 degrees are so inspiring- Thanks for sharing, and taking so many awesome pictures, all while keeping up with the class!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 8:03 pm

      Thank YOU for reading! I feel endlessly lucky to be in a position to provide inspiration like this.

  20. kathleen permalink
    October 29, 2010 2:44 pm

    i would love to learn how to cut sushi. seriously, mine ends up a huge mess so i’ve resorted to just making “sushi bowls”. what made you decide to go to 105 degrees? perhaps i should do some investigating on your blog. ha.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 8:06 pm

      Hehe, it took me a lot of practice to master sushi-cutting. But sushi bowls are, a lot of times, just as good! And so much more fuss-free.

      What brought me to 105…oh, so many things. πŸ™‚ Check out here, here, and here.

  21. October 29, 2010 6:53 pm

    I’m adding you to my blogroll so I can read all your updates on 105degrees. I love it! All your stuff looks so good too!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 8:07 pm

      Thanks, Jess! I’ve added you to mine as well. πŸ˜€

  22. Mindy permalink
    October 29, 2010 8:19 pm

    AND, another great post. What are those long white things alongside the pad thai? Is that some type of fungi? Hard to tell.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2010 8:20 pm

      It is! Those are teensy enoki mushrooms.

  23. October 30, 2010 8:07 pm

    How did I miss this post? Innuendo-laden food – love it! Cinnamon-almond butter is a favorite combination of mine too. And I’m going to have to make some kale chips soon – they just keep looking better to me.

    Love that you made ice cream without bananas – did you use any irish moss, guar gum or similar to thicken?

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 1, 2010 4:27 pm

      I can hardly believe sometimes just how good kale chips are. I’m so thankful to have a way to prepare a leafy green that I actually enjoy eating!

      Actually, re: the ice cream, none of the above. The base is made of soaked cashews, young coconut meat, agave nectar, vanilla extract, and salt. I added almond butter, cinnamon, a little more salt, and a dab of coconut butter. πŸ™‚ Rich!

  24. November 2, 2010 2:52 pm

    Oh nam nam nam nam nam to all! Especially that Pad Thai! Oh and the cinnamon almond ice cream… life does not get any better, does it?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 4:38 pm

      I’m becoming more and more convinced that no, it doesn’t! πŸ˜›

Leave a Comment

