Skip to content
105degrees, L1/W2/D1: Irish moss, Tribest blender

November 1, 2010

So, you know that nap I just mentioned? Yeah…it never happened. That means that it’s not even 7:00 right now, and I feel my eyelids drooping. Luckily, this post is on the short side, since class today at 105degrees was pretty much all prep work, i.e. no finished dishes to show off. But that just means I’ll have more exciting things to share later this week!

This morning, we got our hands on some Irish moss, a seaweed that makes an excellent (and calorie-free) thickener and binder in raw foods.

We blended it into a paste with a roughly-equal amount of water.

We utilized some of it in our mini loaves of raw garlic bread, which are currently dehydrating overnight. I added some crushed cumin seed to the top of my baby boule.

With some of the leftover coconut meat from last Wednesday, we made (what will end up as) dumpling wrappers.

Puréed till smooth with cilantro-spinach juice (above) or carrot juice (below), we spread the mixture into thin sheets on nonstick dehydrator tray liners. When they’re dry, we’ll cut them into squares and fill them.

We also prepped some savory mini tart crusts for use later this week.

Finally, we made an herby pizza dough, which we formed into crusts that are also dehydrating overnight. (Since I grew up on Little Caesar’s pan pizzas, I made my crust square!)

When I got back to my hotel, I had a package waiting for me.

A Tribest PB-350 Mason Jar Personal Blender! Joseph at Tribest very kindly offered to “sponsor” my trip to 105degrees by sending me one of their oft-lauded, small-but-powerful blenders. Perfect for my little kitchenette here! He even shipped it directly to my hotel.

The 200-watt blender base comes with two blades and several containers and lids, all BPA-free. But perhaps the coolest thing about it is that you can screw a Mason jar – pretty much ANY Mason jar – onto the blender itself, and blend a smoothie right in the jar. Talk about minimal cleanup! I can’t wait to start making myself morning smoothies to take to class. Thanks, Tribest!

I hope everyone had a happy rawlloween! You saw what I did for Halloween weekend, but what did you do?

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Mindy permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:48 pm

    Oh boy, you enjoy that burning it at both ends while it lasts. If I tried that now, it would just about kill me. There was a time though…. :). I can’t wait to hear about the new blender once you’ve used it a bit. I’ve had that very model on my wish list for awhile, but something else always seems to be a higher priority.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 4:44 pm

      I think I burned my candle at three or four ends this weekend, ha! I do that so rarely anymore (and plan ahead for it the way I did) that I made it through ok. 🙂

      I just used the Tribest blender for the first time literally five minutes ago. It’s GREAT! I only found one very small chunk of frozen strawberry that wasn’t unblended, and it obliterated the kale I added to my smoothie. So far, two thumbs up!

  2. November 1, 2010 7:53 pm

    Absolutely nothing Halloween-y, seeing as Halloween isn’t much noticed here in Australia!

    I think I have to say a big “squee!” for your sponsored new cute little blender! How kind of Joseph 🙂 You’re such a lucky lady, yet at the same time you totally deserve it, so maybe it’s not luck after all 😀 Can’t wait to see what all this prep work ends up as!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:05 pm

      I don’t know if I’m truly deserving of all I’ve been given, but I’m thankful nonetheless 🙂 I think you’ll love the results of this prep!

  3. November 1, 2010 8:20 pm

    Those mini tart crusts are so adorable!!! I love anything minified!! 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:05 pm

      Hehe, me too! 😛

  4. November 1, 2010 8:21 pm

    Please give me a bread recipe that will cure my gluttonous choices of gluten bread. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:06 pm

      I’ll let you know how this loaf tastes when it’s done! 😀

  5. November 1, 2010 8:30 pm

    Cool beans! You got a great little blender there! And wow , sheets dehydrating made out of coconut and veggies? Cool!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:09 pm

      Yeah! Today’s post will show you what we made with them…

  6. November 1, 2010 9:12 pm

    Those sheets and crusts are incredible! That blender set looks very intriguing. I love that it’s BPA free; I almost bought the Magic Bullet once until I found out it wasn’t (or at least last time I checked). I’ll have to look into this one. So nice they sent you one! Hope you’re enjoying everything!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:12 pm

      Oh, I didn’t know the Magic Bullet still used BPA…shame on them!
      This little Tribest one is great so far 🙂

  7. November 1, 2010 9:37 pm

    Score! Your new personal blender looks cool!

    I am mesmerized by the bright colors of the soon-to-be dumpling wrappers! Beautiful!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:13 pm

      Those wrapper sheets are practically Lisa-Frank-colorful! 😛

  8. November 1, 2010 10:40 pm

    Wow that bread looks “real”! Interesting that it has irish moss in it.

    I hope the tribest helps you out. I had one and it’s nice and small for trips. But it’s no vitamix or blendtec in terms of power. How nice of the company to sponsor you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:15 pm

      It does look real! I was excited to finally get to use Irish moss.

      I’m ok with the Tribest being not-quite-Vitamix caliber. Mainly I’m just pleased to have the option to make myself smoothies for breakfast again.

  9. Matt permalink
    November 2, 2010 12:45 am

    I missed the blender part as I was running out. I wish I had time to stay and try it out. Looks fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:15 pm

      Oh, I’m sure you’ll see/use it when I see you next. But it seems so far away! 😦

  10. November 2, 2010 10:07 am

    Love your technicolor dumpling wrappers! I’ve heard about this blender before, seems cool.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:16 pm

      “Technicolor” is the perfect descriptor! Hehe.

  11. November 2, 2010 2:11 pm

    UMMM…not to sure about that moss..lol
    I’m trippin on those bright dumpling wrappers…too cute!
    What a neat little blender. I want one. :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:17 pm

      Haha, the moss looks pretty revolting in its raw state, doesn’t it? Well, in its blended state too, I guess…I’d never taste it on its own, but it’s very cool to be able to use it to replace a portion of the nuts in a recipe, cutting the fat content and richness in one swoop. 🙂

  12. November 2, 2010 2:27 pm

    I did nothing special for Halloween but I sure do love your raw bread! Wow. It’s definitely big. lol or looks that way.

    And those coconut meat wrap things… look like neon silly putty stuff! Can’t wait to see what those are made with!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:18 pm

      That’s so funny you say that, because the bread is actually comically tiny! It’s not much bigger than my hand 😛 and it shrinks in the dehydrator.

      Oh man! You’re so right! The orange wrapper especially looks like rolled-out Silly Putty, haha.

  13. November 2, 2010 2:47 pm

    You are gonna love your tribest!!! I cannot live without mine, it’s been all over the world with me. Good luck making smoothies whilst at 105 tho, mine never got any usage! Lol but if you do, you’ll be doing better than me! Gosh Amber, your posts are making me miss the place more than I do (never thought possible !)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 5:19 pm

      I’m SO happy to be able to make my own smoothies while I’m out here! Even with our discount, I can’t afford 105’s every day =X I’m glad to bring back happy smoothie memories for you!

  14. November 2, 2010 3:21 pm

    I just stumbled upon this blog as you do and was really taken in by your writing style but also glad to read all your posts about 105 degrees. We are planning to visit the States in 2011 and I have been looking for the best raw chef course. Seeing your posts are helping me to decide.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 2, 2010 4:41 pm

      Hi Arlene, I’m so glad you found my blog! Thanks for the kind comment. I’ve got several more weeks of 105degrees posts to go, but I can already tell you that I’d recommend it in a heartbeat. 🙂

  15. November 3, 2010 11:39 am

    I’d love to hear how you like the tribest. I’ve considered it for travel (I have an immersion blender that’s also great for minimizing cleanup and blending straight in the jar, but it doesn’t have a seed grinder, which I think is desirable) – and I’ve heard mixed things about it.

    I’m gonna have to try out irish moss soon – love the whole concept.

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 2:40 pm

      I used the Tribest for the first time last night, and it’s great! It obliterated the kale I put in my smoothie, and blended frozen strawberries almost perfectly (I just found one little chunk). I haven’t used the grinding blade yet, though.

      I will definitely be acquiring some Irish moss when I go home!

Leave a Comment

