Skip to content
105degrees, L1/W2/D2: kimchee-cashew dumplings

November 2, 2010

Like yesterday, today included a lot of prep work for dishes later this week, but we did complete one particularly gorgeous project! First, though, we took our garlic bread out of the dehydrator.

It smelled heavenly. We cut our loaves into semi-thin slices.

The sliced bread, as well as our depanned tart shells, went back into the dehydrator to dry further.

I can’t wait to fill these savory mini tarts!

Our coconut wrapper sheets were also done dehydrating.

Remember last week’s kimchee? Now fully fermented, we included it in a crunchy-creamy-salty cashew-tahini-tamari filling.

Cutting the wrappers into perfect squares was essential.

Once all were filled and folded up, some sesame-ginger foam completed the dish.

I present to you: raw kimchee-cashew dumplings!

I made some coconut wrapper confetti to create a little party on my plate. These were so impressive-looking, I could hardly believe I’d made them.

They’re also yet another example of a dish I thought I wouldn’t be crazy about (I’d flipped right past similar recipes in Everyday Raw and Entertaining in the Raw numerous times before), but ended up adoring. I even loved my spicy kimchee in this filling.

Everyone else’s dumplings were beautiful as well, so much so that we took our first-ever group pic. Our class rocks!

38 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 7:16 pm

    Those look fantastic!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:42 pm

      Thank you! 😀

  2. November 2, 2010 7:17 pm

    You’re right! I *am* going to love this week’s goodies! Heavens to betsy, kimchee dumplings that look THAT beautiful? You’re kinda amazing. Have I said that before? I have this feeling I have… 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:43 pm

      You have, but it still delights me to hear it again 😛

  3. November 2, 2010 7:39 pm

    Those cashew dumplings look out of this world! And regarding your question, Metagenics powder is not raw.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:44 pm

      Thanks! And good to know re: the protein powder.

  4. Matt permalink
    November 2, 2010 7:59 pm

    Wow! Those look impressive! You’re learning how to be a pro (not that you weren’t before ;-)!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:44 pm

      I hope you’re ready to benefit from my new “pro” skills when I return 😉

  5. November 2, 2010 8:18 pm

    Am I weird if I wanna eat those bread slices without the last dehydrating phase? They look damp and yummy like carrot cake.

    Dumplings came out gorgeous! The confetti is a nice touch.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:46 pm

      You’re not weird at all! You better believe I ate a slice (er, maybe two) before sticking the bread back in the dehydrator. They were still a bit moist, but I would’ve been happy to leave them as-is!

  6. November 2, 2010 8:23 pm

    Ooh crusty bread–no wheat, right? I have heard of legendary raw bread from Au Lac and I am glad that 105 is teaching how to make it. And I could really use some tips on how to make those tarts because when I did mine they fell apart.

    Love the dumplings! Good work. I need to crack open Everyday Raw right now.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:48 pm

      NO wheat! I asked Russell for you today if there are any products used in the restaurant or academy that contain any gluten whatsoever, and he confirmed that they are 100% gluten-free down to the last detail. 🙂

      I was shocked at how nicely the tart shells stayed together; I’d had trouble with that in the past as well.

      Do it! With a little planning, these dumplings really aren’t terribly difficult to make.

  7. November 2, 2010 9:24 pm

    You create the most beautiful food! It looks as much like a work of art as it does delicious and ready-to-eat. I’m amazed at all you can do with a food dehydrater. Although we received one as a gift last year, I have to admit that I’ve been intimidated to use it! Seeing your posts every day is slowly convincing me I’m going to have to take a Saturday afternoon and experiment with it.

    Have a great night!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:50 pm

      Aw, thank you! Everything we’re making here really is a work of art as much as it is healthy, nutritious, flavorful, fresh food.

      You have a dehydrator but haven’t used it?! Break that thing out, girl! It’s not intimidating at all! A regular oven is far more intimidating, if you think about it – dangerous temperatures, the risk of burning or overbaking things, etc. With a dehydrator, the temp stays touchably low, and it’s hard to overdo most things. And if you DO overdehydrate something, oftentimes all you have to do is spray it with some water to REhydrate it a bit!

  8. November 2, 2010 9:39 pm

    i f*in love KimChee! that looks so freaking good…. i want to pop one in my mouth right now.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:51 pm

      Thanks! These dumplings are seriously addicting! I can’t seem to eat fewer than a half dozen at a time. 😛

  9. November 2, 2010 10:46 pm

    Oh wowee Amber, your dumplings look incredible. I gave up trying to make them look so special (I had some mini freak outs a few times during my time there oopsy) but you have a real talent it seems.

    That bread looks amazing as well. You have to tell us what you thought of the taste/texture etc 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:55 pm

      I had issues at first with getting the wrappers to stick, but practice made perfect 🙂 Aw, I understand the mini freakouts! Did you feel a certain amount of pressure to make perfect or beautiful food while here? (Especially since, as bloggers, we broadcast our creations to the online world?) I admit that I do. It means a lot to me that you think I’ve got talent. 😀

      I thought the bread was perfect just like it was – still slightly dense, a nice chewy texture, and LOADS of flavor! I haven’t tried it since we dehydrated it further, but I will let you know how it ends up.

  10. November 3, 2010 2:20 am

    Oh my gosh, those look SO PRETTY! You’re inspiring me to try something more challenging this weekend with my dehydrator! Maybe something from Everyday Raw?? 😉

    Can’t wait to see what you make next!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:56 pm

      Thank you! Oh, you should definitely break out Everyday Raw this weekend! Before I left for OKC, I made the raspberry-almond-vanilla granola and the curried cashews. I’d recommend either of those. Just remember to soak the nuts in advance as necessary.

  11. November 3, 2010 8:01 am

    That bread looks delicious!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:57 pm

      Thank you! It was!

  12. November 3, 2010 11:32 am

    Those coconut dumplings look sensational! I am reading backwards, so look forward to seeing more about them and the garlic bread too. Wow – you’re having such a blast, you are, right?

    Great to see a group photo too – looks like you have a wonderful cohort.

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:58 pm

      Thanks! They tasted sensational as well. So light.

      We do have a wonderful group of chefs. 🙂

  13. November 3, 2010 1:18 pm

    That bread looks soooo good. After I sliced it, I don’t know if I would be able to put it back in the dehydrator. I would probably have to sample it right then and there! 🙂

    Awesome job on the raw kimchee-cashew dumplings! They are beautiful! You are doing a great job!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 5:59 pm

      You better believe I ate a slice…or two 😛 I didn’t think it needed to dehydrate anymore! But, the longer it’s dehydrated, the longer it’ll last, and rumor has it we’ll be using it next week for a cheeze tasting 😉

      And thank you so much! I was so pleased at how they turned out.

  14. November 3, 2010 3:04 pm

    Wow! Those are beautiful! And I love the sound of the filling- anything with tahini and kimchee has my vote a thousand times over! I’m super impressed, my dear!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 6:00 pm

      Thanks!!
      I feel the same way about tahini, and kimchee is growing on me 🙂

  15. November 3, 2010 6:30 pm

    Those are beautiful and I love the confetti decor…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 3, 2010 6:49 pm

      Thanks – I made the confetti by just mincing up some scraps of wrapper.

  16. November 4, 2010 1:47 am

    Oh my gosh! I LOVE the color scheme happening there! Gosh, I feel ultra-cheery just looking at that!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 4, 2010 7:11 am

      Like happiness on a plate, eh? 😀

  17. November 7, 2010 12:31 am

    Now I want to know which one is veggie wedgie?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 7, 2010 12:36 am

      Second from the left – the other blondie of the bunch. 🙂

  18. January 2, 2011 1:32 pm

    Can you share the recipe for the bread by any chance? It looks heavenly!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 4, 2011 9:33 am

      Unfortunately, I can’t share 105’s recipe 😦 BUT, it’s very likely I’ll be posting a raw bread recipe of my own in the future! 😀

Leave a Comment

