Skip to content
Sunday eats at 105degrees

November 7, 2010

So far, besides a smoothie, I haven’t eaten at 105degrees outside of class. Crazy, I know. (But have you SEEN how much food we make in class?! I have leftovers coming out of my ears!) Today, though, I changed that. In fact, I ate TWO meals there.

Earlier today, I headed up to 105 for a solo brunch. I sat on the cool, sunny patio, and started out with a Citrus Cleanser juice: red grapefruit, ginger, parsley, and spinach.

Truth moment: this was the most god-awful beverage I have ever forced myself to drink. What was I thinking?! I don’t even like most of those ingredients! I guess I thought in juice form, they’d be sweeter and more palatable than as individual items…but no. All I tasted was bitter grapefruit pith, throat-scorching ginger, and horribly leafy spinach greenness. The parsley couldn’t save it—I just hated it. I chugged it as quickly as I could. Sorry, 105…I guess the green juice just really isn’t for me.

Luckily, the main dish I ordered saved the meal, and then some.

I got a Berries and Cream Parfait, with coconut yogurt and almond granola. I was shocked at how sweet both the yogurt and granola were—in a GOOD way! No sourness or blandness in the yogurt, and the granola was perfectly crispety crunchety against the softer strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries. I’m going to HAVE to find out how to make both of those things…MAJOR yums.

Then, this evening, I met my fellow students at 105 for dinner. I'd eaten a lot throughout the day, so I didn't plan on having a full meal, but I ordered a drink to start: the Raspberry Beret, with vodka, Framboise, Prosecco, vanilla bean, and fresh raspberries. Most excellent.

A few people ordered BLT salads (with coconut "bacon" bits and raw ranch dressing).

Most of the table got a thin-crust pizza duo for their appetizer…

…and an angel hair zucchini carbonara of sorts, with alfredo sauce, sundried tomatoes, broccoli, and more coconut "bacon" bits, for their main.

Several folks got ice cream trios for dessert. This one is coffee, pistachio, and strawberry.

A raw Napoleon was also shared. It had layers of macadamia nut pastry with Chantilly (i.e. vanilla) crème, fresh strawberries and bananas, and chocolate syrup.

I ordered the Gianduja (hazelnut) Tasting dessert, which I've wanted to try for a very long time. Clockwise from top left, it included small portions of chocolate hazelnut layer cake, hazelnut budino, hazelnut fudge, hazelnut semifreddo, and a hazelnut butter cup. I'm pretty sure ALL of these were Frangelico-infused—DELICIOUS!

Before leaving, I picked up something in the 105degrees shop that I’ve been meaning to buy—some of this raw varietal honey.

I picked this incredibly buttery-looking sweet yellow clover honey from Colorado.

It’s going to be SO hard not to eat this by the spoonful. No promises.

Goodnight everyone…I’m ready for Week 3!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 10:26 pm

    Gah!! This all looks so good!! Do you get to eat at the 105 for free? I was thinking I wanted to make that grapefruit juice concoction tomorrow. It sounds like I am going to enjoy it. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 7, 2010 10:29 pm

      Free? Oh man, I WISH! No…we do get a small discount, though.

      Yikes, I hope you enjoy that grapefruit…monstrosity more than I did! I’ll stick to blending greens into my smoothies, rather than juicing them. 😛

  2. November 7, 2010 10:35 pm

    can you send me some of your leftovers??

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 7, 2010 10:36 pm

      Hehe, I wish I could! I’d love to share all the yumminess I get to experience here!

  3. November 7, 2010 10:58 pm

    *laughs* I love that moment of honesty! I’m not one for grapefruit either 😉 Also, crispety crunchety? You and I are going to make this a real phrase, okay? And yes, yes, that food all looks amazing, but aaah! I didn’t realise you were pro-honey (I knew you weren’t strictly anti-it) – I so so so wish I could send you some of the fancypants raw leatherwood honey I got from Tasmania. Leatherwood is such a unique flavour, and the first time I’ve had unheated/untreated honey. So I know what you mean about struggling to make it last…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:24 pm

      Teehee, I can’t take full credit for “crispety crunchety”…they used to say that in a candy bar commercial – Butterfinger, I think? – when I was little: “Crispety, crunchety, peanut buttery!”

      Oh, I’m quite pro-honey! As much as pro-any other sweetener, I suppose. Leatherwood honey?! I can’t even imagine what that tastes like! (Presumably NOT leather + wood…)

  4. November 7, 2010 11:32 pm

    It all looks so delicious! Lucky you to be able to make food daily and eat there on the weekends too. The tasting dessert would be my choice too.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:26 pm

      We are lucky to be able to eat there whenever we want…most of the time, I just haven’t taken advantage of it because I hate spending money on food when I know I have a fridge full of leftovers!

  5. Teresa permalink
    November 8, 2010 2:04 am

    Oh man. That parfait looks amazing, as does the salad and broccoli pasta dish. And don’t get me started on the desserts. I love your blog posts, but they make me so hungry! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:27 pm

      The parfait was incredible, and I was pleasantly surprised at how good the pasta dish was.
      I can understand the hunger-inducing potential of these posts, hehe!

  6. November 8, 2010 4:16 am

    I’m so jealous of all that fantastic food! I’m not a vegan or a raw foodie, but I’d be totally into it if I had someone to prepare it for me. Perhaps I should learn more once my boy gets bigger and doesn’t require so much of my attention…

    Especially the hazelnut desserts…I DIE for hazelnut! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:29 pm

      Food this delicious transcends veganism or raw foodism – it’s just GOOD food 🙂 Raw dishes do require a good amount of planning ahead, but the upside is that there’s often very little hands-on time. Soak some things, or blend some things, or throw some things together, then stick it all in the dehydrator and forget about it for a few hours!

  7. November 8, 2010 5:15 am

    I thought I was the only one who said ‘crispety crunchety!’ Bet that coconut yogurt was similar to my coconut kefir – such yumminess. I should make a granola type thing to go with it too. Berries rule.

    Sorry you didn’t like the juice! I love green juice on occasion, but wouldn’t have picked spinach, parsley and grapefruit together: doesn’t sound like the best synergy. If anything, the ginger might have saved it.

    How cool that you met your class out of hours for more food worship! That gianduja plate looks like an ecstasy.

    Go week three!
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:32 pm

      I figured I was the only one too! How fun to know I’m not alone! Tell me, am I right in remembering that phrase coming from a Butterfinger commercial in the 90s?

      Turns out we’re making coconut water kefir AND coconut meat yogurt this week 😀 You’ll have to tell me how the ingredients and prep work compare to yours!

      I would really love to find a green juice combo I can get into…any suggestions? I’m NOT a fan of citrus in general, or (too much) ginger, or anything too bitter… =/

      “Food worship” is a great way to put it! 😛

  8. November 8, 2010 5:57 am

    Ooh boy, bummer about the juice. I’m not sure how I’d feel about grapefruit + ginger, either, and I love ginger. I guess it should be noted that even though I love ginger, I don’t make a habit of gnawing on a raw ginger root 😛
    The meals and desserts at 105 degrees are just gorgeous. Makes me want to take up raw … uh, creating? I almost said cooking but that’d be a bit of an oxymoron, I guess. I wish we had a raw restaurant around here that I could try!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:37 pm

      I’ve learned to tolerate ginger in small amounts, and I do love it in spicy, pungent foods like Indian, but in sweet things? I’m still working on that, heh. (I tried another student’s ginger-infused chocolate and had to spit it out; I felt terrible, but I just couldn’t tolerate it!)

      Heh, some people call it “uncooking,” but the linguist in me bristles at some inherent affix-misuse within that work…I supposed “creating” works, but it sounds a little stilted…how about “chefery”? Can we invent that word?

      Tell you what – if I open a raw restaurant in KC, you have to come down and try it. Deal? 😀

  9. November 8, 2010 7:31 am

    I would eat that honey with spoon, honey is one food I’ll absolutely never give up. I would demolish that gianduja plate too!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:37 pm

      I’m with you! I’ve never seen a valid reason to cut honey out of my diet.
      “Demolish” is precisely what I did to that plate 😛

  10. November 8, 2010 3:42 pm

    wow, everything you make always looks so good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:38 pm

      Aw, why thank you!

  11. November 8, 2010 3:59 pm

    Oh wow I so would eat that honey by the spoonful! Yummy 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:38 pm

      I’m trying my hardest not to! =X Hehe…

  12. kathleen permalink
    November 8, 2010 4:22 pm

    i saw that the first ingredient in that green smoothie was red grapefruit and thought to myself, “ew”. turns out you felt the same way!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 5:39 pm

      So I’m not crazy, then? Grapefruit + greens = bad, right? Glad to find I’m not alone in this belief! 🙂

  13. welcome to our wonderland permalink
    November 8, 2010 9:32 pm

    I want that honey!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 9:33 pm

      I just cracked it open (already!) and it’s AMAZING. 🙂

Leave a Comment

