Skip to content
Vegan survey time!

November 7, 2010

Hey guys—you can just disregard all those posts that popped up in your readers today (unless you want to go back and read them, then by all means do!). I was doing some tag-rearranging and for some reason I still can’t figure out, WordPress marks any Blogger-imported posts as new when I simply edit them. If anyone has a solution for this, please let me know!


(If you were curious as to what the inside of my savory Indian tart looked like, this is it!)

Today I’ve got something quick and fun for you—a survey! Remember when you used to do these on Myspace? (Come on, you know you did!) This is a combination of two surveys I got from Noelle and Healthy Exposures. Hope everyone’s having a great weekend!

1. What is one food you thought you’d miss when you went vegan, but don’t?
Belfonte White Chocolate Raspberry yogurt. I was never even that big on yogurt, but Belfonte’s has a thicker and creamier texture than any out there. Not that I’m opposed to ever eating it again, it’s just been a good couple years, at least, since I bought one.

2. What is a food or dish you wouldn’t touch as a child, but enjoy now?
Pretty much EVERYTHING I eat, excepting bread and pasta. (It’s a long story.)

3. What vegan dish or food you feel like you should like, but don’t?
SALAD!

4. What beverage do you consume the most of on any given day?
Water, by far. Over a gallon of it.

5. What dish are you famous for making or bringing to gatherings?
Blondies, cake or cupcakes.

6. Do you have any self-imposed food rules (like no food touching on the plate or no nuts in sweets)?
I can’t eat anything that’s ever touched mustard, YUCK. I can’t chew leafy stuff…ew. I also can’t tolerate orange in chocolate (or much of anything else, really).

7. What’s one food or dish you tend to eat too much of when you have it in your home?
Hummus or nut butter.

8. What ingredient or food do you prefer to make yourself despite it being widely available prepackaged?
Nondairy milks.

9. What ingredient or food is worth spending the extra money to get the good stuff?
Any and all oils.

10. Are you much of a snacker? What are your favorite snacks?
YES; I wish I were less of one. I’ll snack on just about anything I have around. Nut butter by the spoonful is a favorite.

11. What are your favorite vegan pizza toppings?
Roasted garlic, roasted bell peppers, artichoke hearts, extra sauce.

12. What is your favorite vegetable? Fruit?
Vegetable: No single veggie jump out at me; I like so many…broccoli, maybe?
Fruit: Berries, especially blackberries and raspberries.

13. What is the best salad dressing?
None of them!

14. What is your favorite thing to put on toasted bread?
Depends—what type of bread? If it’s pita or flatbread, then hummus. If it’s focaccia or crusty loaf bread, then herbed olive oil. If it’s sandwich bread or a bagel, then nut butter and banana.

15. What kind of soup do you most often turn to on a chilly day or when you aren’t feeling your best?
Soup’s not something I ever really “turn to,” but if I did, lentil soup would be my pick.

16. What is your favorite cupcake flavor? Frosting flavor?
Cupcake: Vanilla or red velvet.
Frosting: Vanilla.

17. What is your favorite kind of cookie?
White chocolate macadamia.

18. What is your most-loved weeknight meal?
A pile of crackers and a tub of hummus.

19. What is one dish or food you enjoy, but can’t get anyone else in your household to eat?
Matt thinks he hates olives, but he just hasn’t realized yet that he does in fact like them. I know this because I was once the same way.

20. Favorite non-dairy milk?
Coconut milk, hempmilk, almond or brazilnut milk.

21. Most disastrous recipe/meal failure?
No “disasters” to speak of, but I did fail at making polenta a few weeks ago.

22. Favorite pickled item?
Jalapeños.

23. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods…what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)?
Hummus, nut butter, lentils.

24. Fondest food memory from your childhood?
I don’t have fond memories of food as a child…again, it’s a long story.

25. Favorite vegan ice cream?
My almond butter cinnamon coconut ice cream.

26. Most loved kitchen appliance?
Vitamix.

27. Spice/herb you would die without?
Cumin.

28. Favorite flavor of jam/jelly?
Blackberry or raspberry, WITH seeds.

29. Favorite vegan recipe to serve to an omni friend?
Mexican food is always a winner.

30. Seitan, tofu, or tempeh?
That’s tough. I love all three…I suppose I’d have to give the edge to tofu.

31. Favorite meal to cook (or time of day to cook)?
I like making dinners and desserts, but I like doing my cooking/baking in the afternoon.

32. Name 3 items in your freezer without looking.
Strawberries, bananas, ice. That’s it (I’m in a hotel right now, remember?!)

33. What’s on your grocery list?
Fresh fruit, spinach for smoothies, Irish moss.

34. Favorite grocery store?
Whole Foods, I guess, out of necessity. I’m ready for Trader Joe’s to hit KC.

35. Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet.
Rice Krispie Treats.

36. Food blog you read the most. Or maybe the top 3?
Wow, it’s very hard to pick just 3. I’d have to say:
Wayfaring Chocolate, because of her intellect and hysterical wit, her always kind and empathic disposition, and her proclivity for engaging in round after round of nut jokes with me.
An Opera Singer in the Kitchen, because her tastes and way of eating so closely resemble mine, and I can’t get enough of her inventive combos and creations!
Wing-It Vegan, because she’s snarky, clever, and possibly the most creatively crafty girl ever.
Girl on Raw, because she’s sweet as can be, and she attended the 105degrees Academy too!
(Ok, so that’s 4…oh well!)

37. Favorite vegan candy/chocolate?
Anything that resembles a Reese’s PB cup.

38. Most extravagant food item purchased lately?
I actually haven’t done much grocery shopping lately, but a couple months ago I paid out the nose for a pound of raw organic pistachios.

39. I have to ask… last meal, what would it be?
Hummus and pita for appetizer, tofu tikka masala for the main dish, and pecan pie for dessert. (Yes, I’ve thought about this before!)

40. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
Dallas, Texas. I just love it there.

41. If you could meet anyone on earth, who would it be and why?
I’m going to assume they don’t have to be living, and say Julius Caesar, because he is one of the biggest badasses in history.

42. Favorite quotes?
“Perhaps what matters is not the human pain or joy at all, but rather, the play of shadow and light on a live body, the harmony of trifles assembled… in a unique and inimitable way.” –Vladimir Nabokov

“The idea that ideas should be discouraged a priori is inherently self-refuting.” –Steven Pinker

“Man, once surrendering his reason, has no remaining guard against absurdities the most monstrous, and like a ship without rudder, is the sport of every wind.” –Thomas Jefferson

“Tell me what a man finds sexually attractive and I will tell you his entire philosophy of life. Show me the woman he sleeps with and I will tell you his valuation of himself.” –Ayn Rand

(i do not know what it is about you that closes
and opens;only something in me understands
the voice of your eyes is deeper than all roses)
nobody, not even the rain, has such small hands
–e. e. cummings

43. Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been?
All over Europe! I don’t know that I could pick just one city…

44. Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but did. What was it?
Oh, that’s easy—quit my job and go to raw chef school!

45. If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?
Grilled pizza.

46. If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?
A harp seal!

47. What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?
Eat nut butter and read blogs. 🙂

…Your turn! Copy and paste this survey to your blog with your own answers filled in, and/or answer some of your favorite questions in the comments section below.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 1:49 pm

    I had a similar problem coming over from Blogger. I transferred a bunch of posts though I didn’t end up posting any of them and just deleted them. The comments on those old posts, however, remained in my comment tally for months before my programmer husband went in and hand-deleted them for me. It drove me nuts to not know how many comments I’d actually received, cause I find that kind of stuff interesting. I’ll ask him if he thinks there’s something you can do to fix the problem you’re having with your old posts.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 7, 2010 2:28 pm

      Oh, that’d be awesome if you could let me know if he has a solution. Thanks!

  2. November 7, 2010 3:03 pm

    Great survey! Thanks for the mention girl! I like that question about how you are incomplete if you do not have nut butters or read blogs. I feel the same way, but with my green smoothie. 🙂 I am so addicted to GMs. I need to make your blondies…grrr

    I need to make a chocolate zucchini bread for my trip on Wednesday. Going to Colorado!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 7, 2010 10:31 pm

      No prob!
      Yes, you do need to make my blondies! 😉
      Mmm, chocolate zucchini bread…you better share! The recipe, mean 😛

  3. November 7, 2010 9:28 pm

    What a fun post!! Thanks for sharing it with us! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 7, 2010 10:32 pm

      Hehe, thanks! And you’re welcome 😀

  4. November 7, 2010 10:49 pm

    Amber. *hand over heart* Thank you, love. This made my day, truly truly.

    Also, amen to #13! Salad dressings are like droopiness personified. (Hmm. That made more sense in my head.)

    I’m also so delighted that you included an e.e. cummings poem in your favourite quotes. One day we have to get around to our poetry discussion/sharing 🙂

    xoxoxo times a lot.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 4:51 pm

      I’m so very glad to have made your day 😀 Especially since you did just that for me on Saturday with your wonderful email. I haven’t yet thanked you for that, so – thank you. 🙂

      Yes indeed, one day, a poetry discussion (and exchange?) ought to happen.

      • November 8, 2010 6:57 pm

        Oh, I’m relieved! I was thinking maybe I’d just wasted your time with that email! But maybe you were just busy taking inappropriate photos of bananas.

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        November 8, 2010 6:59 pm

        You, my dear, are NEVER a waste of time! I’m sorry I’m so horrendous at timely email replies, but do know that the things you said were exactly what I think I needed to hear at that time. So thank you so, so much. 🙂

  5. November 8, 2010 5:55 am

    What an awesome assemblage! I love getting to learn a bunch of new stuff about you, and seeing things that I already had learned ‘in practice.’

    Love the depth and breadth of your chosen quotes.

    And I’ll have to go look at the blogs you shouted out – if they’re like yours, I’m going to enjoy them too. But – no time to read everything, especially with being away from home visiting.

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 4:53 pm

      Glad you appreciate the quotes – they’re from some of my favorite writers/thinkers in history.

      If you look at any of those blogs, at least look at Hannah’s. With your writer’s sensibilities, and an appreciation of intelligent humor, you’ll fall in love immediately.

  6. Alisa permalink
    November 8, 2010 1:20 pm

    Hi Amber! I live in Dallas, Texas and just love reading your blog! I go to Bliss Café all the time and LOVE their desserts as well. I recently got a cookbook called Allergy-free desserts by Elizabeth Gordon and in it she has a Crispy Rice Squares (Rice Crispy Treats) recipe that is vegan & gluten-free! Please feel free to email me if you would like the recipe (I would include it in the comments, but it is too much to type). It has been inspiring to read about your experiences at 105 degrees! I hope someday to be able to go there as well. Have a great day.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 8, 2010 4:56 pm

      Hi Alisa! Thanks for your comment! First of all, you’re so lucky you live in Dallas 😛

      Secondly, I have heard of that book but have never picked it up – I may have to check it out! In the meantime, I’d LOVE to have that recipe – as long as it doesn’t require me to buy pricey vegan marshmallows (which is why I haven’t veganized RKTs yet!).

      I’m so happy you enjoy the 105 posts! 😀

  7. November 8, 2010 11:00 pm

    That is a long version! Don’t know if I will be able to swing that one or not. I’m seeing variations of the same survey across the mofo-sphere.

    I am not that into salad but a good dressing can make it work for me. I love my nut butters too. I am not into orange-chocolate but I love chocolate with many other flavors.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 9, 2010 7:14 am

      I’m just plain not into orange…but I’m into chocolate in nearly anything. 😉

  8. November 10, 2010 11:45 am

    Aww, thank you for the sweet shout-out! I’m so glad you enjoy my blog! 🙂

    I don’t have too many fond food-related childhood memories either. It’s funny we should like food so much as adults!

    I finally ordered myself some chocolate chips! Peanut butter blondies, here I come! 😀

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 10, 2010 1:43 pm

      You’re most welcome, m’dear!

      BLONDIES! Yesss! Can’t wait to hear what you think of them 😀

Leave a Comment

