Skip to content
105degrees, L1/W4/D1: crackers & secret stuff

November 15, 2010

Yes, that’s right, secret stuff! I’ll get to that in a minute, but first, remember last Thursday‘s triple batch of hummus crackers? They’d finally finished drying and crisping up over the weekend.

From left to right below, these were made with all whole flaxseeds, a 50/50 mix of whole and ground flax, and all ground flax. The experiment was done to see which would come out best, and I’d have to say the award goes to the all-ground-flax batch (far right). I do enjoy the seedy crunch of the others, but when it comes to crackers, I guess I like a more uniform texture. Also, when I make these again at home, I’m going to increase the hummus:flax ratio to 2:1, instead of the 1:1 ratio I used for all these.

So about that secret stuff…something I kept from you last week is that we’d been brainstorming, conceptualizing, and writing recipes for our final project, which is a 3-to-4 course raw dinner. My menu is decided and set, and starting today, recipe testing is underway! I’m not going to make you wait till Friday to know what my meal will be, but I can’t resist making today’s post a bit of a teaser. Within the next day or two, I’ll let you in on some more details, but for now…

Oh, what could this be? And what’s with the oblong shape?

Hmm, how about these? Are they liquid, or not? Are they sweet, or savory? Are they a pair, or do they belong apart?

What might I be blending and grinding up here?

Those aren’t macaroons…

They aren’t donut holes, either…

And what could this neon saucy-looking stuff be?

YOU’LL SEE!
In the meantime, feel free to venture some guesses about what my meal might include!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 5:45 pm

    YOU ARE A HUGE TEASE!

    Looks like fun. Hummus crackers sound good.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:15 pm

      Hehe… πŸ˜‰

      The crackers are good, they just need stronger hummus flavor. So, hummus crackers dipped in hummus, it is! πŸ˜›

  2. November 15, 2010 5:53 pm

    Freaking yes. Looks like you went with Indian food!? My guess: some sort of falafel, curry sauce, naan, and maybe a chutney of some sort?? Can’t wait to see what it really is!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:29 pm

      Interesting guesses πŸ˜‰ You’ve made some hits and some misses, but more hits than anyone else so far!

  3. November 15, 2010 5:54 pm

    It looks like nacho cheese sauce in that last bowl.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:29 pm

      …or does it? πŸ˜›

  4. November 15, 2010 7:27 pm

    Yay for hummus crackers! I’d vote for the all-ground ones just for the simple fact that whole flax can’t be digested by the body–they hull is too tough, so you don’t get the good stuff from the seeds.

    Hmm….well, the first picture of your secret meal looks like sweet potato to me, but it wouldn’t look like that raw, so I’m stuck. My guess for the third photo is chocolate mousse for dessert.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:31 pm

      Well, I was concentrating solely on texture with the crackers, but the all-ground ones still came out on top. That said, I eat so much flax on a weekly basis that I actually LIKE for some of it to be whole flax – true, it’s not digested, but what you miss in omega-3s, it makes up for in “roughage”! πŸ™‚

  5. November 15, 2010 7:59 pm

    I love the mystery post! I thought the two oblong shapes might be pizza crusts, but then the cream and brown custard-looking items that followed reminded me of filling for pastries (lemon or vanilla maybe? And chocolate?). It also looked like there might be some ground nuts in the food processor? I’ll be excited to see the results!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:32 pm

      You’ve got a few close-to-correct guesses here!

  6. November 15, 2010 8:31 pm

    Drama! Suspense! Intrigue! No clue what you’re cooking up but I know I want to snack on whatever those “non-donut holes” turn out to be.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:41 pm

      Haha!
      You’re right about that – these non-donut-holes are hopelessly snackable.

  7. November 15, 2010 8:59 pm

    You’re mean! So mean! I seriously can’t wait to find out everything… and particularly the dessert πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:41 pm

      Teeheehee πŸ˜‰ All in due time…

  8. November 15, 2010 11:49 pm

    Hmmm… those little balls look like they could be “meat”-balls! Maybe you’re making a calzone with those oblong crusts? With some sort of cheez-y sauce??

    Those other liquid-y looking things look dessert-like! Can’t wait to hear about your menu!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:41 pm

      All interesting ideas… ;P

  9. November 16, 2010 12:27 am

    Such a nerve wrecking post! LOL, so many mysteries you. πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:43 pm

      Haha! I know, I’m just one big ball of [edible] mystery.

  10. November 16, 2010 4:43 am

    i’m not even going to venture a guess, but it all looks good. except for maybe that egg yolk looking stuff. but i’m sure it’s good… it just looks funky. πŸ™‚ good luck on your final!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:44 pm

      One thing I can assure you of is that there are NO egg yolks in this post! Yikes, that’d freak me out a bit too, heh.

  11. November 16, 2010 10:28 am

    Raw crackers… who’da thought! You continue to inspire me, for sure!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:44 pm

      Aw, yay! Glad to hear it!

  12. kathleen permalink
    November 16, 2010 11:04 am

    tease!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:44 pm

      I know, I know πŸ˜›

  13. November 16, 2010 12:09 pm

    Are those possibly “meat” balls and a creamy tomato sauce I see, hmm?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:45 pm

      I don’t know, are they? πŸ˜‰

  14. November 16, 2010 3:26 pm

    Okay…so I have missed a lot in the last few days. I had to do some catching up with you and it looks like you have been busier than ever. I can’t wait to see what you are making! That does look like cheese in that one bowl. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:46 pm

      I’ve definitely been busier than ever! Lots of mental work going on this week, too, with all this recipe development.

  15. November 16, 2010 4:56 pm

    ooh I’d love to have a big handful of those crackers right now!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2010 5:45 pm

      I have a whole container of ’em here you’d be welcome to! πŸ™‚

  16. November 17, 2010 10:42 am

    I’m not going to say any guesses out loud, but you are for sure a tease. I love the fun spirit of this post: just like the ‘random ingredients’ post you did earlier. You are having such a ball, aren’t you?

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 1:01 pm

      Hehe, you bet I am πŸ˜‰

Leave a Comment

