Skip to content
105degrees, L1/W4/D2: another teaser

November 16, 2010

I’m sorry, but I can’t resist prolonging the suspense for another day! Besides, I don’t yet have any plated or fully composed dishes from my menu to show you, so don’t worry – you’re not actually missing out on anything.

After drinking my breakfast (a green smoothie with mango, coconut meat, coconut water, and spinach), I checked on the mysterious oblong shapes from yesterday.

They seemed to be the right size and thickness, but far too orange. Drat…back to the drawing board.

I pulsed together a half batch of the revised recipe…

…and sent it to the dehydrator alongside some garlic and ginger pastes.

Yesterday‘s not-donut-holes-or-macaroons were done, too…

…and they turned out absolutely flippin’ PERFECT.

A few people have hypothesized that these are meatballs. They do kinda look that way, don’t they? But guess again, folks, cuz these are part of my dessert course.

I also revised this item from yesterday’s post (fifth photo down, on the right). I’m much happier with this version flavor-wise, but I’ll need to make a third batch tomorrow to correct the color a little further.

I was able to test a couple more recipes for the first time today, including this one – any hunches as to what it is?

And these as well – they may look like falafel, but they’re not.

Keep guessing and refining your theories; I’m loving reading them! Plus, it helps me see my food from others’ eyes – always a valuable exercise.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 6:31 pm

    “Meatballs” are carrot cake bites? Ebelskivers? I think the stuff in the bowl is some sort of sprouted grain tabbouleh.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:40 pm

      The not-meatballs are neither of those things, but you just gave me a brilliant idea – I could totally reincarnate these as aebelskivers someday!

      As for the tabbouleh, you’ve got the right idea, but not quite on target…

  2. November 16, 2010 6:51 pm

    i have no ideas as to what any of that stuff is but it looks yummy and i’d eat it πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:40 pm

      Hehe, that’s the spirit! πŸ˜›

  3. November 16, 2010 7:03 pm

    Are the not-so-doughnut holes supposed to be like red velvet cupcakes bites? That’s my guess, lol.

    And I’m thinking like a tabbouleh and a “raita” sort of sauce? I was also thinking the top picture was like a flatbread, like naan, but it looks kind of… crispy?

    Lol. I’m not sure! But I’m curious to see the outcome!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:41 pm

      They’re not, BUT that would be an awesome thing to make raw someday!

      Ooh, you’re either close or correct on the others!

  4. November 16, 2010 7:43 pm

    Whatever they are they look yummy-in-the-tummy good!! Maybe you could call them “unidentified balls of goodness” (UBG’s) πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:42 pm

      HAHA! UBGs, I love it! I’m totally using that…

  5. November 16, 2010 7:44 pm

    Oh and that green smoothie looks so beautiful!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:42 pm

      Thanks! It was a particularly vibrant one.

  6. Kate permalink
    November 16, 2010 8:03 pm

    Is it sprouted quinoa in the bowl?
    Your green drink looks good, my eleven month old baby and I share one every morning/

    What dehydrator do you use? I have an old one, looking to buy a new one

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:43 pm

      Not sprouted quinoa, but you have the right idea…

      How great that you share green smoothies with your baby! I hope to do that someday too πŸ™‚

      I use an Excalibur 5-tray dehydrator with timer, and I love it. My only regret is that I didn’t spring for the 9-tray!

  7. November 16, 2010 8:09 pm

    Although I’m starting to think otherwise, I’m going to stick with theme of Indian food and guess the balls (which I originally assumed were falafels) are actually Gulab Jamun? And maybe a veggie biryani in the large bowl?? The bread, well, I’m still assuming naan πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:44 pm

      Eee, you’re the closest of all! πŸ˜‰

  8. November 16, 2010 8:44 pm

    Hmmm? Is that bowl raw sushi rice or something? I’m hopeless at this. I did think those not-donuts were going to be dessert, though.

    ‘Cause I know how much you love sweet balls.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:44 pm

      You know me entirely too well.

      ;P

  9. November 16, 2010 8:56 pm

    I have no idea what anything is but I’ll eat it all.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:44 pm

      Now that’s the attitude I like to see πŸ˜‰

  10. November 16, 2010 9:14 pm

    That green smoothie looks DEVINE!!!! I wish young coconuts were easier to find down here 😦 I miss running into Erewhon in LA and grabbing 2 or 3 at a time πŸ™‚
    Your going to have such a beautiful “glow” after downing that baby!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:46 pm

      Thanks! I wish coconuts were just CHEAPER. There’s the $4-5 apiece price tag, PLUS you always have to buy multiples because there’s like a 25% (or more) chance that the one you buy won’t be meaty enough…

  11. November 16, 2010 11:01 pm

    They are not falafels???really?? I will find out tomorrow what they are! All this time I was thinking they were falafels! haha, that’s kinda funny.
    Oh my the sweet unnamed balls were sooooo gooooood. I am still craving them!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:47 pm

      Now you know! Hehe. They’re kind of LIKE falafel…

      I’m so glad everyone agreed that my “sweet unnamed balls” are awesome. πŸ™‚

  12. November 17, 2010 5:25 am

    the bowl of mixed stuff sort of looks like carrots, cauliflower and something, but i’m not 100% sure. the whiter pieces look too big to be a grain to me.

    as for you dehydrated oblong thing, it sort of looks like chicken fried steak to me. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:48 pm

      As for the first part, you’ve made one of the most accurate guesses thus far!

      As for the second, it’s definitely NOT C.F.S., haha, but now I can totally see how it looks like it!

  13. wolfenstein permalink
    November 17, 2010 6:11 am

    falafels?? I’ve never seen this food…Is it middle east food??? good…It is very pretty food :-)”

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:49 pm

      These aren’t falafel, but yep, falafel are Middle Eastern fried chickpea patties…and they’re delicious πŸ™‚

  14. November 17, 2010 9:32 am

    Love that green smoothie flavor and color!!! So vibrant and pretty, LOL

    Everything looks great!! I would eat it all! YUM

    ~Lori

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:49 pm

      It is, isn’t it? Thanks!

      I’m eating so much of all this stuff with recipe testing that I’d love to give some away! Haha.

  15. November 17, 2010 10:44 am

    Those not-donut holes are gulab jamuns, aren’t they?

    I forgot to mention how good the hummus crackers looked and sounded on your yesterday post. And I’d always go with the all-ground flax too.

    What fun!

    Dehydrated garlic and ginger pastes? Interesting.

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:52 pm

      DINGDINGDING! (Now just keep it on the DL for another hour or two… ;))

      Yeah, I was trying to “simmer” the garlic and ginger in the dehydrator, which didn’t really work, but what it DID do was turn the garlic BLUE! Not kidding! I had never seen such a thing before, and neither had Russell, so we looked it up. Apparently there’s an enzyme in garlic that reacts with trace amounts of copper (probably contained in the dash of tap water I blended it with) and turns it a spirulina-esque bluish-green. Weirdest thing ever.

  16. November 17, 2010 4:08 pm

    ha, I always learn so much from you and I just am always so astonished at what you come up with!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:53 pm

      Hehe, thank you! Glad to hear it πŸ™‚

  17. November 17, 2010 4:13 pm

    mmmmm…those not-donut holes looks delish!
    That smoothie sounds yummy too. I have been craving one for the last few days. I just need to get up early enough in the morning to make one…lol

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 5:53 pm

      I have that same issue with morning + smoothies…but it’s usually worth the extra few minutes out of bed πŸ™‚

  18. November 17, 2010 7:57 pm

    There’s something about having something that green in the morning that just makes you feel so healthy πŸ™‚

    Those donut things looks way too good.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 17, 2010 8:24 pm

      Too true, Val!

      Oh, they ARE very, very good…

Leave a Comment

