Skip to content
105degrees, L1/W4/D4: last-minute prep

November 18, 2010

I don’t have a whole lot to show you today, folks; I spent most of the day prepping and/or remaking many of the components of my final project dinner that you’ve already seen. For example, I made my third and final (and best!) batch of tikka masala sauce, and finished dehydrating my “paneer.”

I was also satisfied with my naan recipe rewrite, so I mixed up my final batch…

…and sent it off to dehydrate, along with more gulab jamun.

My fridge is chock-full of chopped and prepped produce and various meal components.

FINALLY, my white chia seeds came today.

Phew! I’m so glad they made it here in time to be included in my rice pudding tomorrow.

And that’s about it! I’ll leave you with a couple bonus pics of recipes I tested, but decided against including in my menu.

These are mini pecan-chai pie tarts (above) and whipped vanilla bean custard (below). Even though they didn’t make it into my project dinner, they were both absolutely scrumptious!

P.S. I want to thank all of you who have helped me out (or attempted to) with this Hail Merry contest thingamajig. I realize I did a shoddy job of explaining the “rules,” both here and on Facebook – I’m sorry! There’s still a day to go (it ends Friday night), so let me make it a little easier and say: if you go to Hail Merry’s Facebook page and leave a comment on their wall saying Amber sent you, that would earn me points too. Remember, if I win, I’ll randomly select someone who helped me out and mail them a box full of homemade raw sweet treats! Thanks for bearing with me as I go nuts trying to win this thing. πŸ˜›

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason E Lectric permalink
    November 18, 2010 6:24 pm

    can’t wait for you to come back to k.c. and make me one of your test subjects!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:39 am

      Hehe, me too! I’ve been so happy to hear your interest in healthy eating.

  2. gidgetnfroggi permalink
    November 18, 2010 6:54 pm

    wow has it been a month already. man time flew.

    I went to face book and left a amber sent me wall post πŸ™‚ hope you win!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:40 am

      I KNOW! Tell me about it!

      Thanks so much for the wall post on FB πŸ˜€ My fingers are crossed!

  3. November 18, 2010 7:00 pm

    I’ll go leave that comment now, because for some reason I have *not* been able to access the video page. I just keep getting error messages 😦

    Also…. oh holy bucket. That pecan chai tart. I think I’m in imagining-the-taste heaven.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:41 am

      All better now πŸ™‚

      I haven’t actually dug into the pies yet, as I’ve been too busy making deconstructed-pecan-pie-parfaits with the leftover crumbly almond crust, the thick ‘n gooey pecan filling, and the maple butter drizzle. πŸ˜›

  4. November 18, 2010 8:56 pm

    I didn’t know if this would help, but I liked both of your videos and a comment. I sure hope you are able to win!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:41 am

      That helps a lot, Brandi! Thank you so much! πŸ˜€

  5. November 18, 2010 9:23 pm

    the food you are making, the time of your life that you’re no doubt having…so happy for you!!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:42 am

      Thanks, Averie! Time of my life, indeed.

  6. November 18, 2010 10:10 pm

    I’ll have a piece of pie please. With custard, yum. Wish I could get that recipe.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:43 am

      “Custard” is probably a misnomer, but I don’t know what else to call it…it’s MUCH thicker than cream or creme, but way too rich to be a pudding… ::shrug:: Whatever, it’s too delicious to worry much about what to name it!

  7. November 18, 2010 10:59 pm

    What an adventurous cook ! I need to find out about these chia seeds; saw them at the organic food store the other day and now here with your blog! Looks all very interesting!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:43 am

      Chia seeds are great! Very versatile, nutritious, and filling. Check ’em out!

  8. November 19, 2010 12:40 am

    Oh, please teach me how to make a raw pecan pie tart that pretty!!

    And I want to taste your entire raw Indian feast!! That sounds amazing! Can’t wait to see how it all turns out! πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:44 am

      Maybe someday if/when I write a cookbook, I can include it in there! πŸ˜‰

      It’s almost crunch time for my Indian feast…wish me luck!

  9. November 19, 2010 12:43 am

    so you get our own fridge at cooking school? did i miss that explanation?

    i “liked” your video!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:45 am

      Yep, we each have our own work areas, including mini fridges. There are walk-ins with all the produce and supplies, but we have to keep track of all our own prepared foods, so that’s where the mini fridges come in.

      Thanks for the “like” and comment!

  10. November 19, 2010 1:22 am

    The pecan-chai tarts need to be in my vicinity. Like, now. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:45 am

      Maybe with any luck, they’ll last long enough for me to be able to bring a couple back!

  11. Spumoni permalink
    November 19, 2010 2:16 am

    Hey Amber, I commented on the Hail Merry site. However, even more than some of their snacks, I would LOVE to see the recipes from your final dinner. I am guessing that since these are your own recipes your could share them if you choose. I realize you might not want to, but boy am I hoping you will!!
    Have a fabulous lat day. If I weren’t thousands of miles away, I come stand at the window and cheer you on πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 9:47 am

      Thank you so much for the FB comment, Simone!

      Actually, I AM hoping to share my recipes with you at some point, I’m just not sure yet how. Cookbook writing is my dream, so I’d love to include them in my own book someday. In the meantime, though, I’ve got a couple ideas I’m mulling over as to how best to share them with you earlier than that!

      A window cheerleader would be awesome, haha! I’ll know you’re there in spirit. πŸ™‚

  12. November 19, 2010 1:04 pm

    Everything seems to be in order for your Indian feast! As a Georgia girl, those pecan pies are singing to me!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 1:10 pm

      Seems to be! Now, just gotta execute πŸ˜‰

  13. November 21, 2010 1:36 pm

    Those two out-takes – the custard and the pecan tortes, look magnificent also! I’m coming to this so late: hope it went really well and was a lot of fun too.

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 22, 2010 10:37 am

      I like both outtakes immensely myself, they just weren’t Indian-inspired enough to make the cut. I’d have to bump up the chai flavor quite a bit. I haven’t minded eating the “rejects,” though!

Leave a Comment

