Skip to content
The countdown begins…

November 19, 2010

In roughly six hours, I will be a certified raw vegan chef. WOOHOO!

I’m already running late today, but I had to eek out this post and say: wish me luck! Hopefully my homemade papaya creamsicle smoothie this morning (courtesy of my Tribest PB-350 personal blender) will help power me through the afternoon.

There’s one more thing I can’t resist mentioning. Let me preface this by saying that I am NOT a fan, in general, of watching internet videos on YouTube and the like. I think it’s because I worked a desk job for so long, and because I spend such a ridiculous number of hours per day already sitting at my comp doing blog work, that the idea of sitting down and looking a screen for 5 MORE minutes of my day just does not appeal to me. This is actually a point of contention between me and Matt. A frequent conversation of ours goes something like this:

Matt: “Oh man, I saw the funniest video online today, you have to watch it.”
Me: ::groans:: ::edges away from computer::
Matt: ::sigh of frustration::.

There are a couple exceptions to this rule, and one of those is Benny Lava. I discovered this video a good three years ago, and have since introduced it to pretty much all my friends (and Matt!). We play it at parties and barbecues. We quote it randomly. If I get married someday, I want this song played at my reception. Everyone I’ve ever shown it to has laughed their asses off. I’m not exaggerating when I say it is the best music video EVER.

ANYWAY, the whole reason I’m telling you this is that I’m secretly subtitling my final project raw Indian feast “A dinner date with Benny Lava.” I’ve also, in my head, named each of my dishes after lines from the video. I would tell you, but you have to see the video to understand! I wouldn’t ask you to watch this if it weren’t pure gold, so enough talking – I leave you with the wonder, the majesty, the hilarity that is…Benny Lava.

Wish me luck at graduation tonight – I won’t be able to post about it till tomorrow – and in the Hail Merry contest that ends today!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 1:08 pm

    Yay for you, Miss Almost Certified Raw Vegan Chef. Go get em’!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:39 am

      Thanks Kelly!!

  2. Jason E Lectric permalink
    November 19, 2010 1:10 pm

    wow, i’m sooooo surprised, lol :). KNEW you could do it!! now come back here and feed us

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:39 am

      Haha! Soon, Jason, soon…I will come bearing treats 😉

  3. November 19, 2010 1:34 pm

    Good luck!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:45 am

      Thanks Aimee!

  4. November 19, 2010 1:42 pm

    Hope no pee will be going on tonight:). Funny Vid. Good Luck and Congrats to you Amber! You deserve it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:45 am

      Haha! “I’d like to see you pee on us tonight…” 😛

  5. gidgetnfroggi permalink
    November 19, 2010 2:07 pm

    good luck and congrats!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:45 am

      Thank you!!

  6. November 19, 2010 6:08 pm

    Good Luck, Amber!! All of your hard work is paying off, I know you’ll do great 🙂
    (and p.s. I am really weird about watching videos online, too. Too much time!! haha)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:46 am

      Thank you! It is finally starting to feel “real,” know what I mean?

  7. November 19, 2010 6:20 pm

    Good luck!! You’re about to become a certified raw vegan chef! What an awesome accomplishment! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:46 am

      I can hardly believe it! 😀 Thank you!

  8. November 19, 2010 8:27 pm

    Good luck! By now you should be done and dusted 🙂 Can’t wait to hear all about it, and how you rocked people’s socks off with Benny Lava. WOOT!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:39 am

      Hehe! It went as well as I ever could have hoped. 😀

  9. November 19, 2010 10:09 pm

    Congrats!!!Heard you were making a road trip to Dallas this weekend.If so get ready to get your BLISS on!As a graduation gift, Bliss Raw Cafe & Elixir Bar is treating you and your husband to dinner,drinks and dessert at our Preston Center location!!!Don’t think you have been to that location.The original location on Greenville is temporarily closed for remodeling.If you don’t make it down this weekend,no worries.Our doors are always open to you….again congrats!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 19, 2010 10:55 pm

      What an AMAZING gift – thank you SO MUCH! Matt and I will definitely be coming to dinner tomorrow night; we’re both incredibly excited now! That’s really kind and generous of you – I’m so stoked!

      Could you give me directions to your new Preston location? We’d probably like to come around 6pm. Is there someone we should ask for at the door?

      Again, THANK YOU, and we can’t wait!!

  10. Spumoni permalink
    November 19, 2010 10:27 pm

    Congratulations, Amber! I can’t wait to see pictures and hear (read) all about it. You are a gifted young lady. I am so impressed by your photography, writing, and creativity in the kitchen. I know you will do very well.
    I think you will look back and see that quitting that desk job was the best decision ever (next to going to 105 Academy) 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:38 am

      Simone, that means so much to me 🙂 For all the doubts and fears I had going into this, I haven’t once felt like I made the wrong decision. I hope my path keeps leading to greater and greater places. Connecting with awesome readers like yourself is the icing on the cake for me! Thank you ever so much for your support.

  11. November 21, 2010 10:00 am

    i know what u mean about watching videos! i will watch this one, though, when im somewhere i can listen.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 21, 2010 10:36 am

      Hehe, you won’t be sorry! 🙂

  12. November 21, 2010 1:41 pm

    Again, this is now ‘in the past,’ but I trust and hope that it went wonderfully well and look forward to catching up on how it indeed went!

    I’m same as you wrt watching videos/being stuck in front of puter, but since you’re recommending it, I’ll try to find a way to watch that video.

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 22, 2010 10:36 am

      I think, as a fellow language buff, you’ll find it particularly entertaining. 😉

  13. November 21, 2010 2:05 pm

    Congratulations!! and that smoothie looks DELICIOUS! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 22, 2010 10:37 am

      Thank you!

  14. November 22, 2010 9:04 am

    Congratulations!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 22, 2010 10:37 am

      Thanks Bobbie!

  15. Matt permalink
    November 23, 2010 10:59 am

    I now have to start prefacing all videos with, “it’s really almost as good as Benny Lava… I swear!”

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 23, 2010 11:11 am

      Be careful—methinks that method will wear out quickly. 😉

Leave a Comment

