Skip to content
Thanksgiving weekend wrapup

November 28, 2010

Hi everyone! It has been a BUSY week and weekend, and I’m heading back to Oklahoma City first thing in the A.M. to begin Level II at the 105degrees Academy, but I can’t resist doing a good old-fashioned “leftovers” post with all my random food pics from the past week or so.

Last weekend, when Matt and I went to Dallas, we ate at Café Brazil (the coolest little coffee shop chain ever) in Deep Ellum for a late lunch on Sunday. Matt ordered a decadent S’mores Latte…

…and the Vegetarian Tacos, with zucchini, bell pepper, tomato, mushrooms, scrambled egg whites, black beans, wheat tortillas, and salsa, plus rosemary potatoes.

If you’re surprised to hear that Matt ate egg whites, prepare to be even more surprised—I did too. I got the Vegetarian Migas, with zucchini, tomato, onions, bell peppers, sliced jalapeños, crispy tortilla strips, scrambled egg whites, black beans, wheat tortillas, and salsa, plus fried sweet potatoes.

I honestly can’t remember the last time I had a meal where egg played such a large part. I eat a bit of egg here and there (usually in the occasional pad thai or fried rice), but a full serving of scrambled egg, like this, is quite unusual for me. But it’s what I wanted, so it’s what I got. Stuff like this puts the “almost” in “almost vegan” for me, and I’m not at all ashamed of it.

Matt and I both enjoyed our hearty, filling meals.

We stopped at the Lakewood Whole Foods on our way out of Dallas so I could grab some ever-elusive Hail Merry snacks.

I snagged some Chimayo Chile Pecans, Salt & Pepper Sunflower Seeds, Red Bell Pepper Macadamia Nut Dip, and a Meyer Lemon Tart. I was one happy girl.

When we got back to Oklahoma City, we broke into the red pepper dip right away. Bell pepp + macnuts: so simple, yet so awesome.

On Monday, I made the drive back to Kansas City with all my leftover 105degrees food in tow, which I utilized throughout the weekend in such things as this blackberry-raspberry coconut yogurt parfait with crumbled almonds and pecans and a bit of coconut sugar.

Matt has an apparent obsession with a restaurant in Topeka, KS called China Inn that he ate at all the time when he was young. He was crushed to find out they’ve closed, but ecstatic to soon after come across a China Inn Cookbook. Since his former favorite dish was the Almond Chicken, I converted it to Almond Seitan for him. I’m not usually a fan of sweet-and-sour sauce, but even I liked this one—maybe because I made it myself.

I took advantage of being back around my Vitababy by making a few spinach-packed smoothies.

On Wednesday night, Matt and I took the lazy route and got Spin Pizza carryout. Matt ordered the Primavera, with roasted red peppers, spinach, sweet onions, roasted tomatoes, crimini mushrooms, and fresh mozzarella.

I created my own cheeseless pie with whole wheat crust, lots of red sauce, roasted red peppers, artichoke hearts, and kalamata olives.

We attended my family’s Thanksgiving on Thursday, and then drove three hours to Springfield, Missouri on Friday to go to Matt’s family’s T-Day. I took a pan of creamy broccoli-mushroom bake to each dinner as my vegan offering. I also made this raw chocolate torte; I split it in two and brought one half to each gathering.

The crust and the whipped vanilla bean topping are my own recipes, and the filling is from Matthew Kenney’s Everyday Raw.

On Saturday, on our way out of Springfield, we stopped at Mama Jean’s Natural Market.

Another 105degrees graduate had told me about this place, so we went by to pick up lunch and road snacks. Matt got this Mediterranean panini on spelt bread…

…with roasted red pepper hummus, spinach, and cucumber.

Though you can probably guess what my lunch was, I’ll tell you anyway—hummus! Kalamata olive hummus, in fact, along with a package of these crazy Spanish flatbread-cracker-thingies imported from Seville.

I hope your weekend was as wonderful as mine! Next time you hear from me, I’ll be back at 105degrees…see ya then!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 9:22 pm

    Send me some of your good eats!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:09 pm

      Hey, I’m serious about doing a bloggie swap sometime in 2011! 🙂

  2. November 28, 2010 10:39 pm

    Oh, how I envy your raw cooking! It all looks delicious.

    Anyway, can you believe that in the two years I lived in Springfield I never went to Mama Jeans. I think the next time I go down there I’ll have to stop in. My friends swear by that store.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:29 pm

      Mama Jean’s impressed me, actually. The selection was more than decent, and the prices were especially nice (LOW!).

  3. November 28, 2010 10:42 pm

    The “almost” is one of the things that makes me love you so much – it’s rare to find someone flexible and open about their food lifestyle, once they’ve chosen a “category”, so to speak. Of course, your olive and artichoke appreciation, and that chocolate torte, only help bolster my regard 😉

    (I bought fancy-shmancy medjool dates, cashews, and walnuts last weekend with the goal in mind of at least raw brownies if nothing else… but I’ll have to wait until I’m back from Melbourne to experiment!)

    Enjoy your first day back at 105, lady!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:45 pm

      I’m always so glad when people appreciate my openness with my “label” 🙂 ‘specially you! Mmm, a plateful of olives and artichokes sounds awesome right now…

      Ooh, it sounds like you have the making of a GREAT batch of raw brownies right there! Tanya at Better Raw has a yummy-sounding recipe you might check out.

  4. November 28, 2010 10:57 pm

    Love the leftovers post. So much goodness, ones post. Really liking the looks of that chocolate torte!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:46 pm

      Thanks! The torte turned out quite well, if I may say.

  5. November 29, 2010 12:53 am

    ok girl! all of these eats are delicious.. i can’t even choose which one looks thebest! the torte looks incredible.. good job!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:47 pm

      Hehe, thanks! 😀

  6. November 29, 2010 5:22 am

    Sounds like a busy weekend!! All of the eats look absolutely amazing, though. I am very jealous of all the wonderful restaurants you have! I am so bookmarking the creamy broccoli-mushroom bake, too. That sounds perfect.
    I’m not usually one for Chinese food – but I have a hunch I might like it if I made it myself, too.
    Have a safe trip back to 105!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:49 pm

      I think you’ll love the broccoli-mushroom bake. If I, a comfort food hater, love it, then I can’t imagine anyone NOT enjoying it.

      I hadn’t eaten cheap Chinese food in SO long, but if you tried this almond seitan, you’d seriously think I dumped it out of a takeout container. And yet, that’s a good thing!

  7. November 29, 2010 8:46 am

    Sounds like you had a busy, but fun filled, weekend! I laid around all weekend in between enjoyable episodes of cooking 🙂
    Will you be sharing the sweet & sour recipe? I’d love to try it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:51 pm

      Relaxation time is a great thing, isn’t it? 🙂

      You know, I hadn’t even thought of sharing the sweet-and-sour sauce or almond seitan recipes, as I was mostly just trying them out to see if they’d work. But they worked so well, maybe I SHOULD share! Good idea 😀

  8. November 29, 2010 10:56 am

    Ok well first of all you had me at Hail Merry. I fell in love with their choc mint tarts on a work trip in January to Houston. I even brought back 6 of them on the plane for the passengers, but was secretly happy when they didn’t want dessert (I took them home of course under the guise of sharing them with friends – in the end I think I only gave one away…oopsy)

    And that torte looks ridiculously yummers. How did the family like it? I bet there was none left at the end.

    Looking forward to seeing you back in the classroom x

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:52 pm

      I didn’t know you were familiar with Hail Merry products! Are they the best things ever, or what?! I would’ve kept as many of those chocolate tarts as I could if I were you, too!

      Both families enjoyed the torte 🙂

  9. November 29, 2010 1:15 pm

    Sounds like lots of fun in a feet-don’t-touch-the-ground kind of way! Sounds kinda familiar, actually.

    I find your openness with mind and body around the ‘almost’ thing quite inspiring. Thank you for sharing that.

    Good luck back at 105: looking forward to the onslaught of information and learning?!

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:54 pm

      Like I told Hannah, it makes me really happy to be accepted, let alone lauded, for my chosen “almost” label. I’ve drawn some heat for it too, but I think that most people can relate to it in some way. Who’s really 100% anything, yknow?

      Looking VERY forward to 105 info overload!

  10. November 29, 2010 2:44 pm

    Good luck with starting back at 105, you’ll be great!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:54 pm

      Thanks Alayna!

  11. November 29, 2010 5:45 pm

    A full week of good eats! It all looks so wonderful and tasty…especially the raw vegan chocolate tart 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:54 pm

      Hehe, I had a feeling that would be a favorite 😉

  12. November 30, 2010 3:44 pm

    Look at all that food…that’s some yummy eating. But…I want that S’mores Latte that Matt ordered. That just looks too good to pass up!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 30, 2010 11:55 pm

      I gotta say, the marshmallows, chocolate syrup, and graham cracker crumbs on top totally made the thing!

  13. December 10, 2010 1:07 pm

    I lived most of my lif

  14. December 10, 2010 1:11 pm

    My darling son just typed in a bunch of keys to be ornery which prematurely sent my comment. What I was goiiiiing to say…

    I lived most of my life in the Springfield, MO area. So I know what Mama Jean’s is!

    I was excited to see Hail Merry products at our WF this week (since I saw them on your blog). I cannot get enough of the chocolate tarts!!! I liked the lemon, also.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 5:56 pm

      Hehe! Your son may be my youngest commenter ever 😛

      That’s great that you got to try HM’s tarts! I’ve only had the lemon, but man, is it amazing.

      Awesome that you know Mama Jean’s, too! It’s nice that Springfield (being a not-so-cosmopolitan town) has a place to procure organic groceries and natural products.

Leave a Comment

