Skip to content
105degrees, L2/W1/D3: spring mix salad

December 1, 2010

I’ve gotten hooked on making myself fresh hempmilk anytime I want to eat cereal for breakfast. It’s so easy; all it takes is a cup of cold water, a couple tablespoons of hempseeds, and a few drops of stevia whirled together in my little Tribest personal blender, and ta-da! 5-second hempmilk from scratch.

We had lots of lively foodie discussion at the start of class today…so much so that we lost track of time and got a little behind on our production! Everyone is so thoughtful, smart, and passionate. These, by the way, are my costars: Tim, Kiersten, and Cristina. (This was taken yesterday as we were planting our microgreens.)

It took quite some time to prep these three batches of crackers…

…but no time at all to whip up a personalized ice cream base. You’ll find out what it is in a day or two! Bwahaha.

The dish of the day was a salad with spring greens, shaved pear, yesterday‘s “caramelized” onions, garlicky pine nuts, and an awesome L8 Harvest vinaigrette.

As you can guess, the salad part didn’t interest me…

However, I did love the onions…

…and the dressing…

…and especially the pine nuts! Just not those damned leafy things, haha.
Still, it was fun to put together!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 12:24 am

    this is so pretty! and i love the caramelized onions!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 7:22 pm

      Thank you! I liked ’em a lot too πŸ™‚

  2. December 2, 2010 1:01 am

    Hemp milk is so yummy and the ‘instant’ thing is incredibly nifty (you don’t have to add lecithin etc to keep it emulsified for days, etc).

    Gorgeous salad – I love that you do make a good amount of honest-to-goodness salads.

    Caramelized onions: I’m just putting up a blog post with a caramelized onion in the tail in a way that you would especially appreciate!

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 7:24 pm

      I do ❀ hempmilk! I usually make enough for 2-3 days and just put a lid on the container so I can shake it before the next pour.

      It's true, we do make quite a few "true" salads. I've got another one coming up for you today πŸ˜€

  3. December 2, 2010 1:10 am

    So yes, I am excited to learn more about that ice cream… but in 45 minutes I’ll be AT MY FIRST RAW VEGAN RESTAURANT. Capitals are totally necessary. Particularly as my brother is actually game πŸ™‚ Squee! My excitement is so much down to you, lovely lady!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 7:25 pm

      I CANNOT wait to hear/read about it! I must catch up on my blog-reading ASAP, lest I skip straight to your newest post just to see the raw goodies!

  4. December 2, 2010 2:55 am

    Hi! I just stumbled across your blog, and it is totally awesome! You are doing such GORGEOUS things with food! Beautiful, beautiful blog!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 7:25 pm

      So glad you found me, Faith! Thanks for the sweet compliments πŸ™‚ Looking forward to “talking” with you more!

  5. December 2, 2010 8:19 am

    I’ll take the salad off your hands if you’re not going to eat it. πŸ™‚ Is that a nut butter of sorts I see in that ice cream base?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 7:26 pm

      I would’ve given it to you if I could’ve, believe me!

      Re: the ice cream, you are one smart lady πŸ˜‰

  6. Val @ Balancing Val permalink
    December 2, 2010 8:27 am

    I love the grey jackets and black hat. πŸ™‚

    How long is level 2?

    That is awesome that you can make your own milk in a snap!

    Oh and I just wanted to say I really admired you for eating what your BODY wanted when you ate the eggs. I think people get so caught up in eating labels and they ignore the inner wisdom.

    Wow . . Scattererd comment πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 9:34 pm

      The uniforms are pretty mod, aren’t they? πŸ™‚ Level II is a 4-week program, just like Level I, but it’s a little accelerated due to the holidays. We’ve got two Saturday classes added in so that we graduate two days before X-mas.

      Thanks for appreciating my eggy honesty πŸ˜› People DO get caught up in labels and righteousness. My #1 priority is me – I only have one body, for the rest of this life – so I take care of myself first and foremost. And sometimes, that means eating something I don’t normally eat, just because I feel like it.

  7. December 2, 2010 8:31 am

    Embrace the greens lady! LOL What about those poor pears. They feel left out! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 9:37 pm

      I’m trying, I really am!
      Oh my, how could I forget the pears? I liked them too! I swear I did! I’m sorry, pears!

  8. December 2, 2010 2:07 pm

    Ohh, great idea for the hempmilk! Thanks so much for sharing! And great photos too. I love your chef coats! Reminds me of the good ole days at CCA. Glad to see you are having a great time!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 9:38 pm

      Thanks! It’s a really handy trick to bust out if you just need a cup or two of milk and have no open carton.

      Hehe, glad you like the chef’s coats! I’m definitely having a blast here!

  9. December 2, 2010 6:38 pm

    Yum! All your posts are making want to enrol in a raw food chef’s course right now!!!
    πŸ™‚ Kate

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 9:40 pm

      Kate, I’ve been where you are πŸ™‚ All I can say is, coming here was one of the best decisions I ever made.

  10. December 3, 2010 7:14 am

    Oh honey, I so hear ya on the leafy things, but I have come to love them by drinking them (green smoothies or blended salads) but also by disguising them with some gorgeous dressing and yummo fix-in’s like you mention with the onions.

    I look at these photos and it brings back so many memories, so please don’t wish your time away there, because in the blink of an eye you will be out of there.

    Please say hi to Megan and Russell for me. Tell Megan I miss her!!!

    xxxx

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 9:47 pm

      So far, green smoothies and kale chips are the only way I can get greens in me. =/

      I would NEVER wish my time away here! Every moment, I am more thankful than I can explain for being able to do this.

      I’ll tell R and M you say hello!

  11. Wendy permalink
    December 3, 2010 7:40 am

    Thanks for sharing about the instant hemp milk – I am totally addicted to hemp milk, and the nearest source is 30 miles away. I made fresh for my cereal this morning! : )

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 9:48 pm

      No problem at all! I’m happy to hear it helped out! I hope you enjoyed the fresh batch you made πŸ˜€

  12. December 3, 2010 10:19 am

    That salad looks incredible! Can I have that for lunch? haha

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 3, 2010 9:48 pm

      Hehe, I would’ve been happy to hand it off to you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

