Skip to content
105degrees, L2/W1/D6: tomato salad & chili

December 5, 2010

In order to graduate Level II before Christmas, we have to include two Saturdays in our schedule, and yesterday was one of them. Funny thing is, I didn’t mind going to “school” on a Saturday the way I would have back in college. I was perfectly happy to spend the afternoon and evening at 105degrees.

Haylee brewed us a couple pots of elemental coffee (I mean, it HAD been a 6-day week), and my classmate Tim made us some fresh carrot-lemon-ginger juice to sip on during lecture.

We compiled the multicolored heirloom tomatoes we’d marinated on Thursday.

So purty!

(And this isn’t even the real dish—just a plate of quickly- and randomly-arranged tomato slices.)

THIS is the “real” dish—marinated heirloom tomato salad with red wine-onion reduction and compressed cucumbers.

Fancy, huh?

I garnished it with black lava salt, oooh.

I saved this for Matt to eat for dinner. He enjoyed the sweet and salty flavors of the tomatoes, and he loved the red wine onions.

For dinner, we made a meal that I have made, and posted, before!

This is a version of Ani Phyo’s raw chili with taco nut meat.

We didn’t make the parade of accompaniments that I prepared when I made it, but I found that it didn’t even need anything besides the nut meat (and a sprinkle of leftover cheese crumbles from Thursday‘s Mexi-salad) to be a hearty, filling meal. A few minutes of warming in the dehydrator turned it into a truly perfect winter supper.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. gidgetnfroggi permalink
    December 5, 2010 3:53 pm

    that Salad looks YUMMY!!! I LOVE LOVE salads!!! could eat one morning, noon and night. I hear alot of vegetarian places serve salad for lunch

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:15 pm

      You are lucky to like salad that much! Pass some of that on to me 😉

  2. December 5, 2010 4:22 pm

    Wow, that tomato salad looks almost too beautiful too eat!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:16 pm

      Keyword *almost* 😛

  3. December 5, 2010 4:22 pm

    To eat, even 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:16 pm

      Hehe, happens to the best of us!

  4. December 5, 2010 5:07 pm

    Oh, Matt’s visiting? Hurrah! Have fun you two kiddlywinks! 😉

    I’ve never had heirloom tomatos but they certainly are preeeetty! Somehow I’m not surprised that you don’t mind having your nut meat straight up… 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:18 pm

      I do like to let nuts’ full flavor shine through 😉

  5. December 5, 2010 5:37 pm

    Beautiful! Do you do the reductions in a dehydrator or simply on a stove?

    Have a fun weekend – rest well your sole day off!

    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:18 pm

      Dehydrator – 105degrees don’t have a single stove or oven. 🙂

  6. December 5, 2010 6:14 pm

    Everything looks gorgeous as always. Now I have a craving for raw chili, mmm.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:18 pm

      The chili really hit the spot for me that night.

  7. December 5, 2010 10:13 pm

    The chili looks exactly like something I’d like to have for dinner tomorrow 🙂 And the marinated tomatoes remind me of summer–unfortunately I probably won’t be eating a tomato salad that good for another 5 months!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:19 pm

      The tomato salad DOES seem summery. I bet it’d be quite refreshing during the hot weather months.

  8. December 6, 2010 11:17 am

    That chili looks exactly like SAD (hehe) meat chili. Wow. And those tomatoes, especially with the black lava salt, look incredible. I bet Matt enjoyed them! YUM!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:20 pm

      Haha! It’s anything but ‘SAD’ 😛
      Matt liked the tomatoes a lot!

  9. December 6, 2010 9:13 pm

    all of your photos from your past few posts are amazing looking! yum. wish i could eat all that yummy stuff!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:20 pm

      Thanks Rachel! I wish I had the opportunity to share it with people 😀

  10. December 10, 2010 1:02 pm

    I don’t usually “ooh and aah” over vegetables dishes (even though I love my veggies), but I really want those tomatoes.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:21 pm

      Haha, I hear ya. Dessert photos are what usually do me in, but sometimes, colorful veggies can really “take the cake” 😛

Leave a Comment

