Skip to content
Weekend eats in Oklahoma City

December 6, 2010

After I got out of class on Saturday, Matt came up to 105degrees (he’d gotten in town the night before). He drank this chocolate-espresso martini as I enjoyed a couple glasses of red wine.

We also split a raw brownie sundae. The vanilla ice cream was especially tasty.

This morning/afternoon, guess where Matt and I ended up? Back at 105degrees. Surprise surprise, right?

I drank a kale-carrot-apple-lemon-ginger-parsley juice, while Matt had a Green Hawaiian smoothie (pineapple, young coconut, spinach, hemp, agave, and orange juice).

Matt ordered the Black Cherry Strudel for brunch.

The Napolean-esque pastry sandwiched a warm, ultra-sweet compote reminiscent of cherry pie filling. Vanilla bean cream and candied pecans completed the package.

I chose the Sweet Maple Pancakes.

The stack of thin, nutty-flaxy “cakes” included plenty of fresh blueberries and sliced banana. This was also topped with vanilla cream, and (of course) maple syrup.

It was a very satisfying brunch! Afterwards, Matt and I visited the Red Cup Coffeehouse.

I polished off an Americano as Matt drank his mocha.

Another stop by Forward Foods netted us some pignoli hummus. (I had a craving.)

After that, we went to the Asian mart here, Super Cao Nguyen. It certainly is super-sized.

I finally got myself a cleaver!

I also indulged yet another craving, this one for soy products. (Is that weird?) I got a small carton of soymilk and these weird tofu noodle things I’m looking forward to trying.

Matt and I also got the makings of a quick dinner: broccoli, udon noodles, black bean sauce, and kung pao “chicken.”

They had a freezer full of interesting meat substitutes, and this was our selection.

I hope you all had a great weekend, too!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 2:48 pm

    I completley envy your food filled weekend πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:21 pm

      I envy the fact that you’re currently living in the foodie mecca of the U.S.! πŸ˜›

  2. December 6, 2010 2:51 pm

    wow what interesting buys at that store! those pancakes look iNSANE!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:22 pm

      The p-cakes were great! Thin, but just tender enough.

  3. Lindsey permalink
    December 6, 2010 3:00 pm

    When you become my family’s personal chef, you should make those pancakes every morning! =) lol. They look absolutely mouthwatering!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:23 pm

      You should convince your parents to hire me starting in January! Hehe.

  4. December 6, 2010 3:02 pm

    Damn, I wish that was my brunch. Looks fantastic!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:23 pm

      Oh, it was so delicious. Everything I’ve eaten at 105degrees has been great, especially the brunch items!

  5. December 6, 2010 3:09 pm

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:24 pm

      Hi Vincent,

      I will look into it! Thanks so much for your interest πŸ™‚

  6. terrie permalink
    December 6, 2010 5:27 pm

    Let us know how well the clever works. Is that something you use a lot in class? Or do you just love whacking coconuts.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:25 pm

      We pretty much just use it for hacking coconuts. It’s the only thing that can get the job done!

  7. December 6, 2010 5:43 pm

    You are certainly an eclectic eater. That brownie sundae looks amazing as do the other desserts. Thanks for sharing with us. Nice that you get to see your sweetie on the weekends.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:26 pm

      Eclectic – that is a good way to describe my diet πŸ™‚

      I am very lucky to get to see Matt now and again even while I’m living down here.

  8. December 6, 2010 7:23 pm

    Green Hawaiian smoothie
    the pancakes

    the fact that all this amazing food is OKC…well, you are a lucky girl πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:26 pm

      Averie, you have GOT to visit/eat at 105degrees someday. It’s mandatory. πŸ™‚

  9. December 6, 2010 8:10 pm

    So cool that you are pushing the kale and parsley envelope! But the other brunchy items look delectable too.

    I love Asian markets – so much fun and exploration. Did you get a durian? Have fun with the cleaver.
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:28 pm

      I am doing better with the juices! As long as I stay away from that noxious grapefruit green juice, I think I’ll be ok, heh.

      I didn’t get a durian, but I saw them, and showed them to Matt (and made him smell one)! One of these days, I may have to bring one home.

  10. December 6, 2010 9:22 pm

    I adore exploring Asian supermarkets! I actually picked up a few fun things from a store in Melbourne on the weekend too (including prunes flavoured with green tea, with rose, and with a Chinese sweet wine for my mum. I’m kinda scared to try them myself :P)

    Loooove the look of the cherry strudel, which is funny because I’ve never been interested in “real” strudel. I love how raw foods interprets certain dishes so that they become even more appealing πŸ™‚

    Hope you and Matt had a lovely weekend! xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:29 pm

      Your Asian market finds intrigue me! I’d try all of ’em.

      I love that about raw foods too! Stuff like burgers and sandwiches only seem to become appealing to me when raw.

  11. December 7, 2010 10:44 am

    I’m really digging that kale-carrot-apple-lemon-ginger-parsley juice. It calls out to me, lol! All that food truly looks fantastic!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:30 pm

      I’m still trying to “get into” juice-drinking, but this was one concoction I’ve particularly liked so far.

  12. December 7, 2010 11:13 am

    Let me just say how thankful I am that I found your blog! You make such great posts, and if you ever start a restaurant let us know! I’ll be there in a heartbeat!

    KEEP BLOGGING!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:31 pm

      Cliff, thank you so much! I’m so glad you’re reading and enjoying. If I ever get to start a restaurant of my own, you’ll be among the first to know! πŸ˜€

  13. Matt permalink
    December 7, 2010 12:18 pm

    Amber thought the asian-inspired meal didn’t turn out so good; but, I thought it was quite tasty. Not sure why someone who doesn’t like chicken would buy fake chicken and think they would like it. ;-P

    Anywho, some random notes: My smoothie was awesome! The drink was VERY alcoholic to me and not to A. That vegetarian coffee shop wasn’t that vegetarian. However, my mocha was yum. And finally, that asian market was like stepping into a foreign world. The most ironic part was a frozen, whole duck wrapped in plastic with a logo that showed a pirate duck with a peg leg and eye patch. It was sad.

    Happy Tuesday!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:33 pm

      I just think it was a poor-quality “chicken” product…but maybe you’re right, that I shouldn’t have expected much from it in terms of my taste.

      I thought your smoothie was yummy enough, but that drink was yummier.

      I had a lot of fun exploring the Asian market with you! :*

  14. December 7, 2010 12:49 pm

    Brunch looks scrumptious πŸ™‚ We love our cleaver – though we need to probably get another one because the one we got isn’t the best< LOL

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:33 pm

      Brunch WAS scrumptious!
      I’m hoping this cleaver works out well for me; it seems heavy-duty enough.

  15. December 7, 2010 3:31 pm

    About the faux meats at the asian market, are you sure they are vegan? I’ve been eyeballing stuff off and on at 888 supermarket for a while now, but I read a report on quarrygirl that said that a lot of those meats aren’t as vegan as they say they are, due to lack or regulations in their countries of origins. I’d love to try some if I could know which ones were and weren’t vegan.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:35 pm

      I don’t believe the “chicken” was fully vegan. But, that’s why I call myself *almost* vegan – I’m not really one to scour labels, and such.

      I need to go re-explore 888 once I get home! It’s been awhile.

  16. December 7, 2010 4:05 pm

    Those pancakes sound amazing! I’ve been busy lately, so I haven’t been able to check your post out on a daily basis (which I hate), but I just looked over it for the last week. You are making some amazing looking foods! :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:35 pm

      Thanks Michelle! Glad to hear everything looks tasty from your end πŸ˜€

  17. December 7, 2010 4:39 pm

    Oh all that food looks delicious!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:35 pm

      Thank you!

  18. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    December 7, 2010 6:15 pm

    Just came across your blog. Looks like you consumed lots of delicious food this weekend. Those pancakes look amazing!
    ~Ann Claire

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:36 pm

      That’s for sure! This raw brunch, especially, was really superb.

  19. December 8, 2010 1:29 pm

    I really wish there was some kind of Asian supermarket here. I’d like to try those tofu noodles too!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:36 pm

      Really, there’s no Asian market near you? That sucks! If you ever find yourself near one, I encourage to you take a look around, even if just for fun. πŸ™‚

  20. December 15, 2010 6:47 am

    I always buy infused oils, but I have never thought to make my own – what a great idea!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      December 15, 2010 10:57 am

      The dehydrator method seems to work like a charm!

Leave a Comment

