Skip to content
Introducing: RAW VEGAN CHEF AMBER SHEA.

December 22, 2010

It’s been a whirlwind nine weeks here at the 105degrees Academy

…and as of tonight, I am officially a classically-trained, professionally certified, almost vegan RAW FOODS CHEF.

F’KYEAH!

66 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 10:16 pm

    Congratulations honey! You deserve everything you have coming to you and I’m excited to see what’s next in the adventures of Amber πŸ™‚ Rock on!!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:33 pm

      Aw, Robyn dearest! Thank you so very much for helping me make the decision to go to 105!

  2. December 22, 2010 10:23 pm

    Wow! I can’t believe it’s over already! Congrats! I’ve been so impressed with everything you’ve made. You’re gonna go places, Little Miss Rawkstar!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:34 pm

      I know! Where did the time go? Thanks so much for your readership, support, and encouragement through it all. πŸ˜€

  3. Hannah permalink
    December 22, 2010 11:05 pm

    Congratulations!

    I have to ask,
    where did you get that fabulous shirt?

  4. December 22, 2010 11:08 pm

    Congrats!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:35 pm

      Thank you!

  5. December 22, 2010 11:51 pm

    Congratulations!

    Now all we have to do is sit and wait for the delicious book to come out πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:35 pm

      Hehe! Thank you so very much, Nadia πŸ™‚

  6. December 23, 2010 12:17 am

    So, so, so proud of you. I think you know my feelings about your strength, courage, and passion in taking this step in your life, and now all that’s left to say is absolutely F’KYEAH to the next stage in your life. Can’t wait to order the cookbook and tell everyone the gorgeous author is one of my best friends πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:36 pm

      What would I do without an amazing bloggie-best-friend like you? Your support, encouragement, and always-too-sweet words have meant, and continue to mean, the world to me. πŸ™‚

  7. December 23, 2010 12:52 am

    Congratulations!

    What a wonderful journey, and what exciting prospects you have built for yourself now! I’m looking forward to hearing all about the graduation hummus fest. Have you tried making a caramelized onion version yet?
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:38 pm

      Thank you Ela dear! It’s been wonderful having you as a friend along the way. πŸ™‚

      A caramelized onion hummus didn’t make the cut for graduation, but you may see something similar in my cookbook!

  8. Spumoni permalink
    December 23, 2010 3:46 am

    Congratulations! Did you find the Level II class worth the extra effort? Was it of as much value as the Level I? I know it was hard for you to post as much during it, and there seemed to be less actual production, but did it make enough of a difference from Level I to Level II?
    (You know, I’m still hopeful to one day attend πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:42 pm

      After Level I, I was sure that it couldn’t get any better…but wouldn’t you know, it did πŸ™‚ There was slightly less production in Level II, because our research and final projects were both pretty involved, but there was still more than enough food-makin’ going on, heh. I really hope you get to make it to 105 someday!

  9. December 23, 2010 4:04 am

    BAD@SS!!

    I haven’t been commenting much, but I have followed your journey, and it looks like it’s been a blast! I can’t wait to see what comes next!

    Congrats!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:43 pm

      Thank you Wendy! I’m happy to hear you’ve been reading throughout!

  10. December 23, 2010 6:43 am

    Congratulations! And, you have the healthy raw chef glow to boot!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:44 pm

      Aw, thank you Deanna! I may have to give some of my “glow” credit to Russell’s fancy camera, though πŸ˜›

  11. Diane permalink
    December 23, 2010 7:20 am

    Congratulations Amber!! Happy Holidays.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:44 pm

      Thanks Diane! Hope your holidays were great as well!

  12. December 23, 2010 8:07 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I’m looking foward to seeing where you go now!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:45 pm

      Thank you Michelle! I’m excited, too!

  13. December 23, 2010 8:23 am

    congratulations amber, that is awesome πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:46 pm

      Thanks Rachel!

  14. December 23, 2010 10:00 am

    Woooooooo! Congratulations lady, by the looks of all the amazing food you’ve been cranking out over the last few weeks and months, you earned it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:47 pm

      Hehe! Thank YOU for always being so sweet and supportive πŸ™‚

  15. December 23, 2010 11:00 am

    Woohoo! Congratulations! That’s awesome!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:52 pm

      Thanks Aimee!

  16. December 23, 2010 12:47 pm

    YAY! Congratulations! You totally deserve this!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:54 pm

      Thank you! πŸ˜€

  17. December 23, 2010 3:40 pm

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Congrats!!!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:54 pm

      Thank ya, Lori!

  18. December 24, 2010 3:52 am

    Congratulations:) Lovely pictures, you rock! good luck on your career adventures!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:54 pm

      Thanks so much, Nina!

  19. December 24, 2010 10:57 am

    You’ve officially become a badass in my book! You are one of the few people that sets out on a mission to get what they want out of life! Congrats!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:55 pm

      Hehe! Aw, Jess, you are the best πŸ™‚ That really means a lot to me.

  20. December 24, 2010 6:13 pm

    Congrats! You earned it!!! And what a great xmas gift to give yourself πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:55 pm

      Thank you, Jill! The best X-mas present ever! πŸ™‚

  21. December 25, 2010 8:40 am

    AWESOME JOB! the chef outfit looks badass.

    Wait tho… I’m kinda bummed that we won’t be getting anymore 105 degree academy updates. Please take pictures of your awesome creations!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:56 pm

      Haha, thanks Cliff! Don’t be too bummed – I’m not disappearing. Far from it πŸ˜‰ I may not be at 105 anymore, but my own kitchen is a pretty happenin’ place…you’ll see!

  22. December 25, 2010 9:32 am

    Congratulations! Although, I will miss your daily recaps.

    Strong Work!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:57 pm

      Thanks Michelle! I’ll miss writing my 105 recaps…but that said, I’ll have lots of yummy new stuff on this blog in 2011. πŸ™‚

  23. December 25, 2010 1:29 pm

    Congrats girl!! Good luck on where ever life takes you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:58 pm

      Thanks, twins! πŸ˜€

  24. December 27, 2010 3:41 pm

    congratulations!! So so exciting! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:58 pm

      Thank you, Ellen!

  25. December 27, 2010 9:32 pm

    Woo hoo! Congratulations!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:58 pm

      Thanks Bobbie!

  26. December 28, 2010 5:39 pm

    Congrats on your career. Very cool pictures. I can’t wait to see what will be showcased on this blog

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:59 pm

      Thank you! I really appreciate your readership and support πŸ™‚ Lots more good stuff is in store!

  27. December 28, 2010 6:32 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I’m super excited to see what the next step is in your vegan raw chef adventure πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 6, 2011 3:59 pm

      Thank you so much, Kylie dearest! I’m excited too!

  28. January 8, 2011 11:23 pm

    Congratulations! Thats so exciting.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 9, 2011 11:01 am

      Thanks, Kate! πŸ˜€

  29. Kim permalink
    January 13, 2011 7:54 pm

    Hey Amber – chased another vegan blog down the rabbit hole today and found your blog. Never knew that there was schooling for raw vegan chefs. Congrats! Interested in what you are doing next. Do you have plans?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 13, 2011 8:12 pm

      Hi Kim, glad you found my blog!
      I’m writing my first (un)cookbook at the moment, and seeking a publisher for it. Cross your fingers for me! πŸ™‚

  30. Kim permalink
    January 13, 2011 8:53 pm

    Cool! You have great food pics. Hope to be browsing your cookbook in 2011 – Good luck! My husband and I are opening a vegan meal delivery service this spring in KC. If you’re ever looking for a vegan commercial kitchen to play in or entertain thoughts of teaching classes or selling products (food), consider us a resource. I will definitely enjoy reading your posts and hope to read that you find a publisher soon! Raw is fairly new for us and you have a lot of great content on your blog about it. Thanks so much for putting this out there!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 13, 2011 8:58 pm

      Thanks for the compliment on my photography! πŸ˜€

      That’s so exciting about your new meal service in KC! What’s it called? I’m flattered and SO appreciative of your offer to maybe play around in your commercial kitchen sometime. Coincidentally, I was just discussing with someone today what my goals beyond cookbook writing are. I listed “developing my own product(s) for retail sale” and “giving seminars, classes, and/or private lessons” as two more of my top goals!

      Are you on Facebook? I’d love to friend you on there πŸ™‚

  31. Kim permalink
    January 14, 2011 7:21 am

    Our biz is Conveniently Natural – opening in Downtown OP. I friended Almost Vegan on FB.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 14, 2011 11:09 am

      Awesome, that’s not too far from me!

  32. January 15, 2011 3:42 pm

    yay! I’m so proud of you!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 15, 2011 3:45 pm

      Aw, thank you so much, Kelly!

  33. Mary permalink
    March 4, 2011 11:29 am

    Amber,
    Thanks so much for such a great 105 introduction! I have applied for the April Level 1 course. Would you mind answering a few questions for me? I am curious about what you did for housing and transportation.
    Cheers!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 4, 2011 11:31 am

      You’re quite welcome, Mary, and congrats on enrolling in L1! I’d be happy to answer your questionsβ€”is there any way you could give me some time do so, though? I have a couple other people who have asked me similar questions, and I want to be able to reply to everyone, but my schedule is jam-packed lately. So if you don’t mind waiting a couple weeks, I can email you when I get a chance πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

