Skip to content

2010 review roundup: supplements

January 13, 2011
tags: ,

Since I’ve been asked a few times recently what supplements I regularly add to my diet, I decided to share some with you here!

Not knowing precisely how I’d fare nutritionally on an all-raw diet, I brought a variety of supplements with me to 105degrees. Although I ingested vitamins and minerals aplenty in the food itself, I was glad to have these nutrient-boosting products on hand just in case.

GARDEN OF LIFE Vitamin Code RAW ONE For Women Multivitamin

When Garden of Life sent me a bottle of their Vitamin Code raw multivitamins, I was excited that even my daily multi could be raw. These vitamins have just the right amount of almost all the nutrients a raw vegan woman needs, including B12, D3, and a respectable amount of iron. I know some people don’t “believe” in taking vitamins, but I, for one, do. I like to make absolutely certain I’m giving my body everything it needs, and it’s nice to know that Garden of Life’s raw vitamin products have me covered.

SUNWARRIOR Raw Protein Powders

Daniel at Sunwarrior sent me some raw protein powder samples to try, which were perfect for me as a vegan-turned-raw-foodist unsure of her new protein needs.

Check out that stellar ingredient list! I whipped up quite a few post-workout smoothies in my Tribest personal blender with these tasty, not-too-chalky powders.

MACROLIFE NATURALS MacroGreens, Miracle Reds, and Superfood Bars

As a semi-raw vegan with a hatred for leafy greens, I like to keep greens powders in regular rotation in my diet. MacroLife Naturals makes a great product called MacroGreens. It’s raw and vegan, packed with nutrition, and (perhaps best of all) virtually tasteless.

That said, I think I like their Miracle Reds even better! I’m a sucker for berry flavors, and this powder paired perfectly with ripe strawberries.

I was also pleased with their all-natural, raw superfood bars. The Chocolate Cinnamon and Apple Lemon Ginger bars were good…

…but the Berri Berri bar was the best!

QUESTIONS:
Have you tried these products, or any similar?
How important is it to you that your supplements are as raw and/or vegan as your diet is?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 1:17 pm

    I’m all for vitammins, too – even if my diet supplies a lot! Scarily, theres no where near the amount of nutrients in vegetables these days compared to how they used to be.
    Looks like you were sent some great products to keep in line with a raw and vegan diet!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 13, 2011 9:21 pm

      Good point, Jess. I try to buy organic when I can, but even then, I have a sneaking suspicion that our produce “ain’t what it used to be” =/

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    January 13, 2011 1:59 pm

    I’ve never tried any of these products.. but the miracle red powder sounds really good! The green does as well but I’ve never seen a powder like that for red fruits/veggies!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 13, 2011 9:22 pm

      Same here! The red powder is tasty enough that you can even mix it with just water. πŸ™‚

  3. January 13, 2011 2:48 pm

    I think a B-12 supplement is essential for vegans and vegetarians too probably. I don’t get why people are so afraid of supplements. I am more afraid of dead flesh.

    I have tried the Garden of Life products and Sun warrior. I like the vanilla sunwarrior but not the chocolate one. Odd mix with Stevia.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 13, 2011 9:24 pm

      I completely agree. I get that people say “we SHOULD get all our nutrients from food,” but the fact is, we DON’T. I’d have to consume hundreds, if not thousands, more calories than I do to get 100% of all the vitamins I need, thanks to my low metabolism. So supps are essential to me.

  4. January 13, 2011 2:59 pm

    I’m in the no vitamins boat. I can totally understand why they are necessary for some diets though.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 13, 2011 9:24 pm

      I think they’re a good idea for everyone, but us vegans especially need our B12 πŸ™‚

  5. January 13, 2011 3:42 pm

    I LOVE raw one vitamins – I take those along with their Kombucha + B Vitamin (but only one a day, instead of two). I love sunwarrior protein too, but also order rice and Gemma protein from Trueprotein.com – While they have a shi-ton of flavors, I stick to the natural stevia sweetened ones (which, are really just your basic flavors). It’s much cheaper than the sunwarrior, and most rice and pea proteins are processed with low temperatures any who, so I don’t mind the non-raw label.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 13, 2011 9:26 pm

      I’ve been SO curious about their kombucha + B complex vitamins! I’ve come very close to ordering them, only hesitating because of the expense…maybe I should go ahead πŸ™‚

      I’ve tried both rice and pea proteins in isolation, and I have to say, I was appalled by the taste of both =X so I prefer the sprouted rice blends, even though they are pricier.

  6. January 13, 2011 9:10 pm

    Amber! My oracle! As you know, having just got my Vita-Mix, I’ve been experimenting with smoothies, but Australia s *horrendous* in terms of non-scary-whey-male-body-builder type protein powders. I have just discovered, though, that I can order Sunwarrior online, $80 for 1kg (I think 2.2 pounds?). Would you actually recommend it, taste-wise?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 13, 2011 9:29 pm

      We are SO connected.
      Honestly, yes, I would recommend Sunwarrior. Either that or Garden of Life Raw Protein or Raw Meal. I wouldn’t like the taste of any of them mixed with just water, but you’re a Vitamix lady now, so I know you’ll be blending them into fruity smoothie concoctions πŸ˜€ and they do very well in that setting!

      • January 14, 2011 4:47 pm

        Thanks soul sister πŸ™‚ I don’t think Garden of Life is available here… but now my fingers are itching towards the purchase button for Sunwarrior… Last question – would you recommend vanilla or chocolate? It’s a fairly hefty cost, but then again I’m guessing 2 pounds goes along way?

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        January 14, 2011 5:14 pm

        With your ultra-sensitive “chocolate tooth,” I’d stay away from the Chocolate πŸ™‚ You can always get yourself some raw cacao nibs, anyway, to add to smoothies. I’d say to go with either the Vanilla or the Natural. In fact, I’d lean toward getting the Natural – vanilla extract could always be added to something if you want that as part of the taste, and it’s sometimes nice to have the option of no flavor at all.

        • January 14, 2011 5:17 pm

          We ARE connected. That’s exactly what I was thinking! Though sometimes I don’t mind the vanilla sweetness/flavour in the smoothie?

          P.S. Gmail is creepy. It had an add for sunwarrior on the right, clearly because I’d mentioned it in these comments…

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          January 14, 2011 5:19 pm

          I’m a vanilla fiend myself, so it’s not like you can go wrong with the Vanilla, anyway πŸ™‚

          Gmail does that to me too, although I swear sometimes something shows up which I’ve never looked up or read or written about online, I’ve only thought about…now THAT’S creepy.

        • January 14, 2011 6:11 pm

          I think I’ll go the vanilla – might talk to my local health food store about whether they can order it in, so I can forgo shipping costs πŸ˜‰

          Also, that’s happened to me too. Like the time it came up with an ad for adopting a pet baby koala…

          (Okay, that was a lie.)

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          January 15, 2011 10:29 am

          Excellent idea.

          You wanted a baby koala? I always wanted a baby harp seal πŸ˜€ Aw.

  7. January 14, 2011 1:24 am

    I do believe vitamins and minerals are crucial for everybody, not just the raw foodist and vegans. More so the standard ppl following the “american diet” of fast foods and sugars need the supplements even more…

    I just drink mine separately – vitamins & minerals, because some of them interfere with each other and prevent absorption. It’s a whole science out there for the right combining…

    But still, raw, organic & natural are much more better then the synthetic ones πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 14, 2011 11:12 am

      Great point about SAD dieters needing vitamins even more!

      I always take mine with food to help absorption, and I always take vitamin C in conjunction with iron (since I have low iron levels) πŸ™‚

      Too true about natural > synthetic!

  8. January 14, 2011 12:51 pm

    I’ve debated on buying those vitamins several times, but haven’t. It’s good to know that you like them. I will have to give them a try. I believe in vitamins also, even though I’m not taking any at the moment. I am doing the amzaing grass (chocolate) every morning though. I am so hooked on that stuff! :o)

    I am in search of a protein powder my self. I thought about buying some hemp protein powder to mix up for my post workout. Our workout schedule has gottne all messed up for this week though, but I plan on having everything planed out for next week. I’ll have to check the protein powder that you are using. I love seeing what other people take!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 14, 2011 4:29 pm

      I finally tried the chocolate Amazing Grass last week, and I loved it! I’m considering buying some their chocolate Amazing Meal – have you seen that? It’s got everything Amazing Grass has, plus more, including about 10g of protein πŸ™‚

      I’m a fan of both Sunwarrior and Garden of Life raw protein powders, so check both of those out if you get a chance!

  9. January 14, 2011 1:07 pm

    Great to have more input on supplements… It’s hard to know what are the best options out there. I finally just tried the Sun Warrior protein powder after hearing about it for so long, and loved it! Can’t wait for the full 2 pounds of it I ordered to arrive now. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 14, 2011 4:31 pm

      It’s true, it’s hard to sort out what’s worthwhile (not to mention worth the price) when it comes to this stuff. I like experiencing for myself how the product feels.

      2 lbs of Sunwarrior, you lucky lady! Enjoy πŸ™‚

  10. January 15, 2011 6:32 am

    Great review on supplements thanks Amber, considering I NEVER take any myself. I just wouldn’t know where to begin. And I felt that when I was eating 99.9% raw (the most I have ever eaten raw) when I was at 105, I was not really in need of them. Maybe I need to check to see if I do.

    My thoughts on supplementation are if your diet is adequate then you don’t need, and I reckon my diet is up there compared to most, but I should really do some research for sure.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 15, 2011 10:32 am

      You’re most welcome, Robyn dear! When I was nearly all-raw at 105, I actually felt for the first time in my life like I was not eating enough protein. And to think that my “feel-good” protein gram numbers are as low as 35-45, that told me something. So I’m glad I had the Sunwarrior powders on hand – just wish I’d had more of them.

      I’m also chronically low in iron, so a multi is good idea for someone like me. To stretch them, though, I only take one every other day or so, perhaps 4-5 per week. I know I fill in the gaps well enough the rest of the time. πŸ™‚

  11. January 15, 2011 9:15 pm

    I love Sun Warrior! Best protein powder!! I want to try the green and red powders though because it’s hard to get in all those leafy greens!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 16, 2011 12:44 pm

      Too true! I have a hard time getting my greens as well πŸ™‚

  12. January 17, 2011 7:06 am

    Nice posting… All supplements about 2010 review were so much effective. But, those price are expensive. Thanks…:)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 17, 2011 10:17 am

      Thanks, Andy. It’s true, a lot of these supps are pretty pricey…but a lot more affordable than a lifetime of healthcare costs and prescription meds! πŸ˜› For my health, I consider them worth it.

  13. January 18, 2011 2:46 pm

    Really helpful blog :]
    I’m gonna try SunWarrior too since it’s the choice most rawsies go for!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      January 18, 2011 3:36 pm

      Thanks, Melissa! Let me know how the Sunwarrior works out for you πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

