Skip to content
Review: Sacred Chocolate

February 10, 2011

What a week it’s been! My new column on Menuism.com debuted, and the voting period for the Hot Raw Chef contest finally wrapped up. I can BREATHE! Well, kind of. I’ll still be sitting on the edge of my seat until the Hot Raw Chef winners are announced on Monday. Thank you again to all who voted for me!

It’s high time I get started on my backlog of product reviews, and what better to precede Valentine’s Day with than chocolate? Raw vegan chocolate, that is. Recently, Sacred Chocolate (a company co-founded by David Wolfe himself) very kindly sent me a sampler pack of items to review.

I nearly squealed with glee when I opened up this bad boy. Sacred Chocolate is entirely vegan, organic, and raw, and is free of dairy, gluten, and soy. It’s unroasted, cold-pressed, and stone-ground at a low temperature to preserve the chocolate’s antioxidant and polyphenol content. I couldn’t wait to dig into this assortment of samples.

Sacred Chocolate makes an impressively varied array of flavors. The White Passion is smooth and silky, the Amazonian has a spicy edge, and the Mint was unexpectedly mild and pleasant.

Matt and I tried the 100% Heart of Cacao sample together—you should’ve seen our puckered faces! I have to admit that, unlike some people, I’m not cut out for the ultra-dark stuff!

I was very surprised at which chocolates turned out to be my favorites—the Immuno Mushroom and the Cacao Nibby! The former was deliciously rich and sweet (with no fungus flavor whatsoever), and the latter was delightfully crunchy. Though I haven’t tasted a Nestlé Crunch bar in years, that’s what the Cacao Nibby reminded me of.

Sacred Chocolate also sent me a mini bag of their high-quality Golden Beanz.

The Golden Beanz are truly-raw, low-temperature-dehydrated cacao beans.

I tried one straight up. Intense! I’m saving the rest to use in a raw chocolate superfood elixir I plan to create.

I didn’t get a photo of the pair of Sacred Truth truffles I received, but suffice it to say, they were unreal. The Cheeky Monkey truffle was one of the best chocolate candies I’ve ever had!

I’m saving the last of the bunch, this huge dairy-free “mylk” chocolate heart, to share with Matt for V-Day.

Thank you again to Sacred Chocolate for sending me this amazing sample pack!

Be sure to check out their Valentine’s Day gift boxes—you could make someone verrry happy with one of those! Who wants to get me the 20-piece Truth Truffles collection? 😛

Best of luck on your V-Day planning, everyone! Matt and I are going to be doing something special (actually, we will BE somewhere special), but I think I’ll wait a couple more days to share the news. 😉 Have a great rest of your Thursday!

36 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 10:27 am

    what an interesting company! thanks for sharing.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:39 pm

      You’re quite welcome! It was truly delicious chocolate 🙂

  2. February 10, 2011 10:49 am

    Can’t wait to hear the results and wishing you all the best of luck! Interesting colour in the cacao beans too eh?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:40 pm

      Thanks for all your luck-wishing, Robyn! 😛
      Indeed, the inner bean was a sort of purple hue! Sacred Chocolate actually ended up asking me if they could use that photo on their website.

  3. February 10, 2011 11:00 am

    DArk Chocolate rocks!! I have munched on Cacaobeans before. My grandmother brought me a bag from Mexico.Intense indeed!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:42 pm

      Mexican cacao? Ooh!

  4. February 10, 2011 12:50 pm

    Oh man, you hit the jackpot with that one! I’m lusting over the non-dairy mylk ones. And those beans are so unusually beautiful!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:43 pm

      I always preferred milk chocolate over dark, personally (foodie blasphemy, I know!), so I was excitd for the nondairy “mylk” ones too. 🙂

  5. February 10, 2011 1:10 pm

    Looks so good! By the way – I loved your first post at menuism. It was spot on.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:44 pm

      So happy to hear that, Michelle! Thank you 😀

  6. February 10, 2011 1:12 pm

    So. Much. Chocolate. Awesome for you getting to taste them!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:45 pm

      Tell me about it! I’m just glad I had a bottomless pit – er, boyfriend – to share them with. 😛

  7. February 10, 2011 1:58 pm

    These are really good–Ive tried them! They won best of raw chocolate, well deserved.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:45 pm

      I saw that! Well-deserved, indeed.

  8. February 10, 2011 2:27 pm

    Wow, lucky you–what a gorgeous assortment! I _do_ prefer the very dark stuff. But all those flavors sound just great, and I think that company has their feet on the ground and have spent some time in places where cacao actually grows. (That, by the way, is quite a grounding experience: it’s quite a process to get from those beans to that choc…)

    Happy V-day to you both and I hope you have a wonderful trip, wherever you end up.
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:46 pm

      It’s good to hear they’re the real deal. I definitely trust your judgment on that stuff. I do think their passion and zeal for chocolate is genuine, which is refreshing.

  9. February 10, 2011 4:17 pm

    Thanks for sharing! I must try these! I read your post on Menuism – it’s great!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:47 pm

      Awesome, thanks Jenny!

  10. wolfenstein permalink
    February 10, 2011 6:32 pm

    oh Valentine’s Day ..
    i wan t gift chocolate and christmas gift
    i m envy LOL

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:47 pm

      Hehe, I know the feeling!

  11. February 10, 2011 8:08 pm

    Aww!! You just made me beam at the computer 🙂

    I love, love, love the ingenuity of this company. It’s funny how, sometimes, raw chocolate makers are far more creative with their flavours than stock-standard chocolate makers! I’m a die-hard nib lover (oh dear, I feel like that has to join our list of euphemisms), so that sounds fabulous, but after looking at the website I’d love to try the mushroom one (love my earth flavours) and the India Sunset. One day…

    P.S. I’m holding my breath (figuratively) too!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:48 pm

      Nib-lover….::snicker::…::snicker:: Ah, what the hey, I am too 😉

      Thankfully (for me), the Immuno Mushroom one was not earthy at all. I can’t even really put my finger on what it WAS…you must try it someday and use your chocolate-tasting superpowers to put a name to that flavor!

  12. February 10, 2011 9:42 pm

    I absolutely love all things raw chocolate! I need to find some of these and try the brand for myself:)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:49 pm

      You should! They were complex, varied, and delicious 🙂

  13. February 11, 2011 12:46 pm

    mmmm yummy treats! so cool you got to try out cocoa beans too 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:50 pm

      Yeah! I’ve tried some before, but I believe these were “truly raw.” Very cool!

  14. February 11, 2011 2:15 pm

    Wow. You definitely WON with this one. Damn, those are not cheap but tasty! I’ve tried some of the Sacred Chocolate before and it’s delicious. The Immuno Mushroom and the Cacao Nibby sound really good- interesting but good.

    So…………. check out my blog post today……

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:51 pm

      Oh man, too true. I’d KILL for a large box of those truffles, but it’s something like $128. Gah! Someday, when I’m a rich raw vegan cookbook author… 😉

  15. February 11, 2011 3:41 pm

    Wow! What a great load of chocolate to score! I have been looking at their website, but had not committed to spending the money on chocolate yet…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:51 pm

      They ARE quite pricey, but the good news is, they live up to the hype 🙂

  16. February 11, 2011 8:05 pm

    Thanks for entering my Giveaway! Not too many entries so far, so your odds are good 🙂 Okay, so I seriously love your blog! I really hope you win the contest – looking at the pictures of those brownies has me drooling! =)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      February 15, 2011 8:53 pm

      Thanks, Kelly! I hope you try out my brownie recipe 🙂 My fingers are crossed for your giveaway!

  17. May 1, 2011 10:11 am

    Mmmm…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 1, 2011 11:21 am

      Hehe, no kidding! 🙂

  18. Diane permalink
    July 23, 2012 12:46 pm

    Wondering if anyone has recipes for using those Golden Beanz. YUK! While I’m one to eat things just because they’re good for me, those bitter beans are completely repulsive to me. Their other Sri Lanka beans aren’t so bad, with more of the cacao fruit around them. And I invested in a whole bag. 😦

    • July 23, 2012 2:14 pm

      I don’t think they’re palatable when plain, either – but I love blending them into a smoothie with bananas, dates, and almond milk!

Leave a Comment

