Skip to content

Road trip! First stop: 105degrees

February 27, 2011

Greetings from Dallas! Matt and I are enjoying the balmy weather down here in Texas, but I’m going to rewind a couple days to start at the beginning of our road trip. On the drive south, we made a snack stop in Wichita at a place we randomly found called Poetic Justice Café. Matt had a veggie panini while I ate hummus and pita chips.

A couple hours later, we arrived in Oklahoma City, and almost right away, we headed out to dinner at 105degrees! It honestly didn’t feel like over two months had passed since I’d been there last. The February Level I-ers were having their graduation that evening, so while they wrapped that up, Matt and I dined. The kitchen accidentally got my order wrong, and brought me the Parsnip Noodles instead of the Sesame Noodles, but the restaurant manager Kelly told us to go ahead and keep it! And I’m so glad she did, because I may never have ordered this myself. The delicate zucchini noodles were coated with a four-herb walnut pesto and dotted with heirloom cherry tomatoes and coconut bacon bits, and a pair of garlic breadsticks were served alongside. I have to say, I was floored! I love the fact that I spent two months at 105, and yet I can still be so impressed by what they produce.

Matt ordered what is probably the most popular and highly prized dish on the menu—the Butternut Squash Ravioli, stuffed with savory raw “ricotta” cheese and served with wilted spinach and a creamy pesto. Matt completely loved it. (Now I want to go home and make us some raw ravioli of my own!)

My Sesame Noodles were kelp noodles tossed in an almond butter-Thai basil sauce and garnished with curried cashews. It’s extremely similar to a dish I had the first weekend I ever ate at 105degrees. Delicious!

For dessert, we got Matt’s favorite—Tiramisu.

I had actually never gotten to try this while I was at the Academy, so I’m so glad we chose it this time. Every bite, from the delicate crust to the chocolate and vanilla cream layers to the airy whipped cashew cream on top, was simply rapturous. The best part, though, may have been the hazelnut-coffee-infused honey syrup it was swimming in. I wouldn’t have thought to pair honey with tiramisu, but it worked like a dream. Divine!

As much as we enjoyed dinner, I enjoyed the rest of the night even more. Although Lisa had already left (sadface), I got to spend the evening hanging out with the newly minted raw chefs of February’s Level I class at the Academy! Matt and I chatted up a storm with Jen, Corinne, Carol, Lindsay, and Bun for a solid couple of hours, and they are some of the coolest, sweetest people I’ve met through 105. Seeing Haylee and Megan and everyone at the restaurant again was great too. All in all, I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect night.

More road trippin’ is coming right up!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 2:24 pm

    I seriously LIVED off those kelp noodles when I was in OKC last year. I have just ordered a shipment from Sea Tangle to arrive here in the next few weeks to get my kelp noodles on. Love them.

    How cool you were able to step back in time and meet some more of my favourite bloggies at the academy. You truly are so lucky to be so close to that place. I really hope I make it back there next year again 🙂 Little man in tow. xxx

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:43 pm

      The crunch of kelp noodles took me off guard at first, but now I like them a lot!

      I AM very lucky to live within hours of 105, I realize 🙂 I hope you make it back, too!

  2. February 27, 2011 2:48 pm

    WHat a great way to spend part of a trip! I am sure it was hard to leave but it sounds like you had a great meal! I have yet to try kelp noodles! Maybe this would satisfy my fish cravings lately. 😀

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:44 pm

      You should try kelp noodles! I like them better than spiralized zucchini noodles, personally.

  3. February 27, 2011 2:54 pm

    That raw tiramisu honestly sounds even better than the traditional dish. Creamy desserts are my favorite, and honey is just delicious! Cool that you got to go back and see it from a different angle.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:44 pm

      Tiramisu is Matt’s favorite dessert, and he loves the raw kind! So he was in heaven 😛

  4. February 27, 2011 3:33 pm

    I’d love to try everything–especially the breadsticks and ravioli. Normally raw ravioli is made with beets which isn’t appealing to me. I like the squash idea. I wonder if I’d need one of those machines I’ve seen you all blog about. The tiramisu sounds great but wish they had a vegan one! (without honey)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:45 pm

      For squash ravioli, I think all you’d need to do is cut to mandoline-able sizes.

      105 is great about substitutions, so I know they’d whip up a honey-free tiramisu for you 🙂

  5. February 27, 2011 6:13 pm

    Aw, this is one of those lovely heartwarming posts! I’m so glad you had a wonderful night, and enjoyed connected with your fellow likeminded raw folk 🙂 I’ve been thinking of you lots recently and wondering what you’re up to! Hugs hugs!

    P.S. So you really can eat parsnip raw? Fabulous!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:46 pm

      I think of you constantly too! And I keep feeling the need to apologize repeatedly for my absence…thank you for understanding 🙂 Hugs!

  6. February 27, 2011 6:50 pm

    Yummy adventures! That tiramisu looks sumptuous 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:47 pm

      Oh it was! 😀

  7. February 27, 2011 7:45 pm

    Sounds like exciting adventures and nostalgia trip rolled into one!

    I love that you still get wowed by 105’s creations after all the time you spent there. It’s amazing how infinite the possibilities are with raw ingredients.
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:47 pm

      It IS amazing. Makes me love the work I do all the more. 🙂

  8. February 27, 2011 9:55 pm

    Seriously – can we just go back to that night, please?! I could have stayed there forever! It was so great to talk ‘blog’ and be surrounded by fun, enthusiastic like-minded people! Imagine, today I got my fair share of smack about the raw and vegan thing, even being told that I “need to eat some real food.” Can I please go back to the little raw food bubble that is 105 and you nice folks?!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:48 pm

      Aaahh, I SO agree! Being in the 105 bubble is such an amazing feeling that leaving it can feel crushing. I can’t wait to see you again in August though!

  9. February 28, 2011 1:51 pm

    Wow! All of that food looks 100% incredible!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:48 pm

      It really was! 🙂

  10. February 28, 2011 3:46 pm

    Sounds like an awesome trip!!! All your eats look amazing!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:49 pm

      We had a great time 😀

  11. February 28, 2011 5:49 pm

    You two are having some seriously amazing eats on your trip. I’m getting hungry. Hope you share your raw ravioli creation with us!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:50 pm

      That reminds me, I do totally need to make some ravioli soon! 😛

  12. March 1, 2011 10:48 am

    Is it weird that I want to visit OK now, JUST to visit 105 degrees? I’m not kidding. Coconut bacon bits! Want some!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:51 pm

      Not weird at all! I can say in all honesty it’s worth a trip through there. Then you can swing on up to KC and hang out while you’re at it!

  13. March 4, 2011 5:33 pm

    I made a sadface too. Can’t wait to see you in June.
    xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:49 pm

      I wish you could’ve still been there! I’m looking forward to June, too 🙂

  14. May 4, 2011 11:04 am

    Everything looks AMAZING! You must take me there…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 4, 2011 3:03 pm

      YES! I SOOO want you to come there with us sometime!

Leave a Comment

