Skip to content
Almost vegan at MEDIEVAL TIMES!

March 1, 2011

Upon arriving in Dallas on Saturday evening, Matt and I did something we’ve been meaning to do for a long time—eat at Medieval Times!

Medieval Times is a theme restaurant providing a “dinner and tournament” experience. There are only a few of them nationwide, so as dorky/corny as it may be, we were pretty jazzed to be there. We’d checked ahead of time, and they do offer a veg dinner option. Yay!

There’s a large lobby with bars, a torture museum, and gift shops, and the dining room is like a little arena, with color-coded sections of tables. Each section has a corresponding knight that participates in the “tournament.” We sat in the black and white section, which means we would be cheering for the black and white knight.

Dinner is served during the performance, so each of these photos was a shot in the dark (literally). First, we had a drinkable tomato bisque (below) with garlic bread (not pictured).

Our veg entrées took some extra time to prepare, so we were each given a roasted potato half to snack on in the meantime.

Our main course was more impressive than I’d expected—a veggie kebab with zucchini, yellow squash, red pepper, red onion, and potato; a grilled Portobello mushroom cap stuffed with a wild rice-brown rice-black bean-dried cranberry pilaf (very yummy!); and a scoop of delicious hummus with pita chips (not very visible in the pic below, but it’s on the back of the plate).

I was really pleased that the entrée was so vegetable-heavy (as opposed to something like, say, spaghetti marinara) AND was devoid of cheese (thankfully!). Dessert was the “pastry of the castle,” a small cinnamon-dusted apple turnover served hot.

On top of all that, our black and white knight not only won the jousting tournament, but saved the prince from the clutches of the evil green knight. Woot!

And yes, we did wear those silly hats.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 5:32 pm

    Pretty cute you went to Medieval Times. Cute date idea.

    Certainly seems fitting that a peasant during that time period would have only veggies or maybe a gruel of sorts. A half potato seems accurate, although I heard potatoes originated in South America and I’m not sure when they made it to Europe. Can you tell I’m the sort of dork that would have love to come along with you?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:53 pm

      Haha, I am that same type of dork! I couldn’t stop myself from making cracks about the lighting, the furniture, etc…

  2. March 1, 2011 8:31 pm

    Haha, we went to Medieval Times when we lived in Atlanta. And yeah, we wore the ridiculous hats, too. I think I would have liked it more when I was 7 instead of 27, lol!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:53 pm

      Hehe, you gotta wear the hats 😛

  3. March 1, 2011 8:58 pm

    Kitschy kitschy BRILLIANCE! I’ve always felt sad that I didn’t get to go to a ninja restaurant in Japan (although I did go to a ninja house/museum which was awesome with all its hidden stairways and rooms :P), so I think I would’ve loved this place. And hurrah for the place not just trying to make veg food “tasty” by throwing cheese on top!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:54 pm

      “Kitschy” is the perfect word for it!
      A ninja house/museum? Now that’s a new one to me!

  4. Michele Villafana permalink
    March 1, 2011 9:23 pm

    I have eaten at the Medieval Times in Buena Park, CA. I have been a few times and I just love it. I love the whole knight/king/castle thing. I am a big history buff. My kids loved the place too. The first time I went I wasn’t a vegetarian and I think I had chicken. It was quite a long time ago, as I have been a vegetarian (almost vegan) since 1999. I am proud to say that my oldest son is now also a vegetarian. We just have to work on the younger one. I really love that place!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:57 pm

      That’s awesome that your oldest son is veg now! Your youngest will come around in due time, I’m sure. 😛

  5. March 1, 2011 9:25 pm

    Looks like a fun place to go. Your veg plate looks absolutely appetizing.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:57 pm

      It was fun AND pretty tasty.

  6. March 2, 2011 12:09 am

    Internet’s acting up so I can’t see the pics, but you know I’m more of a words person anyway… This sounds like such a fun and funny date! And I’m so glad they fed you veggies instead of spaghetti and cheese…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:57 pm

      I think you would get a kick out of a place like this, Ela 😀

  7. March 2, 2011 7:56 am

    Hilarious! We have one of those about 30 minutes from were I live but I’ve never been. I worked at a Renaissance Festival for several years though so I’ve had my fill of jousting for one lifetime.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:57 pm

      Haha, but I love the RenFest! We have a great one here in KC too.

  8. March 2, 2011 9:42 am

    So cute! And I’m pleasantly surprised that they accommodate vegetarians!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:58 pm

      I was too! 🙂

  9. March 2, 2011 1:22 pm

    OMG how fun! I’ve really wanted to do one of these event things… looks like you had some good food and good entertainment! hehe- I love it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:59 pm

      I think you’d have a blast, hehe!

  10. March 2, 2011 2:09 pm

    That really does look like a lot of fun. I would’ve loved to see pictures of the torture museum.

    Plus bonus for the place for actually having a veg option.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:01 pm

      I was actually non-plussed by the torture museum, cuz I went to an awesome one in Amsterdam 😛

  11. March 2, 2011 4:25 pm

    I’ve been to a Medieval Times before, but I don’t remember what state it was in….maybe CA? I do remember that it was a very cool place though. :o) Good to know that they have a veggie meal!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:02 pm

      It’s quite a unique dining experience!

  12. March 3, 2011 12:06 am

    How fun! You had me at “torture museum” 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:02 pm

      Haha! ::high five::

  13. March 3, 2011 12:19 pm

    Hi! medieval times?…WOW!!! I discover your blog right now and I like it!!! I’m Vegan and I have a blog equoecoevegan.blogspot.com…come in and leave me your review about it! Bye ^__^

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:03 pm

      Nice to “meet” you 🙂

  14. March 3, 2011 7:53 pm

    I would never expect Medieval Times to have such an impressive vegetarian offering. I’m very pleasantly surprised! Do you guys ever go further south than Dallas? If you make it to Austin area, I’d love to meet up!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:03 pm

      We still haven’t ventured further south than Dallas, but I REALLY want to visit Austin one of these days! When I do, I will definitely let you know!

  15. March 4, 2011 5:20 am

    How fun! I went to one of those in CA when I was about 10, don’t remember much, but it was a good time!
    Your vegg food looks incredible, love the kebob!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:04 pm

      See, I had to make up for a childhood sans Medieval Times 😉 The food was pretty good!

  16. March 4, 2011 6:30 pm

    Ha, I love their dinnerware (and the cute hats!). That’s so great that they have tasty vegan options 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:04 pm

      “Cute” is one way of putting it 😛

  17. March 6, 2011 6:26 am

    Looks like so much fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:04 pm

      It was! 🙂

  18. March 6, 2011 6:32 am

    I LOVE THOSE DISHES!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:04 pm

      Oh I know! They were really, really heavy too. I wanted to take them home with me.

  19. March 8, 2011 9:11 am

    Love it!! Good to know they have a veg option… I went there years ago (before I made the switch) but haven’t ventured back! Glad you had fun 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 28, 2011 1:05 pm

      You might give it another try someday! 🙂

  20. May 4, 2011 11:08 am

    Cute!

Leave a Comment

