Skip to content
Dinner w/Philip McCluskey at 105degrees

March 7, 2011

Last Tuesday, Matt and I left Dallas and headed north toward Oklahoma City. (More about our drive in the next post.) We had reservations that night for Philip McCluskey‘s lecture and dinner at 105degrees!

Philip was a great speaker, and his message of self-love and positivity really resonated with me (a notoriously hypercritical perfectionist). After the talk, I was delighted to meet a couple of blog readers, who recognized me (and Matt) out of the crowd! What a cool feeling—hello again to you, Anne and Ellen, if you’re out there!

We filed into the dining room and sat down to some pre-dinner drinks—a garnacha (Spanish red wine) for me, and a sake-lavender cocktail for Matt.

Amidst lively conversation with Russell, Philip, Haylee, and some other guests at our table, we enjoyed a three-course meal. Matt started with the arugula-spring mix salad

…while I went for the cream of onion soup. This was incredible! Such body, such flavor, such umami.

For his main course, silly Matt had another salad. (Oh well, someone’s gotta make up for MY salad-phobia, right?) This one was a Mexican tostada salad.

Instead of lasagna or crab cakes, I chose the pad thai.

Even though we’d just had 105’s tiramisu on Friday, that didn’t stop Matt from ordering it again for dessert.

Since I’d already tried 105’s brownie sundae previously, I went for the carrot cake cupcake. Winner! Its consistency reminded me a lot of the strawberry cupcakes we made at the end of Level II. Yum! I especially loved the maple-tinged frosting.

We stuck around 105 for a good couple hours after that to chat further with Philip, Russell, and Megan. I left there feeling happy, light, alive, hopeful. Of all the gifts a beautiful raw meal can provide, that may be the best one of all.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 10:36 am

    The pad thai looks incredible! What an amazing restaturant!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:26 pm

      It certainly is 🙂

  2. March 7, 2011 10:39 am

    Dinner and a lecture, crazy that I think that sounds like a fun evening. I am eyeing that cupcake with extreme jealousy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:26 pm

      Haha, I’m a dork too, that stuff’s always fun to me!

  3. March 7, 2011 10:45 am

    What a great opportunity! I totally would have loved listening to that lecture!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:27 pm

      It was a great perspective to hear, especially since I’m too often hard on myself. =/

  4. March 7, 2011 11:07 am

    That night sounds picture perfect! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:27 pm

      It WAS pretty perfect 😀

  5. March 7, 2011 11:51 am

    OMG that carrot cupcake looks INCREDIBLE. Again, super jealous of your time at 105 degrees! Yum. I must say, that sake-lavender cocktail sounds really intriguing. I would have a field day at that restaurant- I’d probably order close to everything on the menu… cause um… I usually do when I go to new raw/vegan places. 😉 To-go bags are wonderful.
    🙂

    Anyway, that is great you got to attend the lecture. Honestly, every time I’m around others who follow a raw or vegan lifestyle or have in the past, there is always such an incredible warmth to them- a glow (if you will) inside and out.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:30 pm

      Oh man, the cupcake was the best part for sure! 105’s drinks are really interesting and creative too. I love the Raspberry Beret – prosecco, vodka, muddled raspberries, and vanilla bean!

      I agree with you about the raw glow!

  6. March 7, 2011 2:33 pm

    Uuuuugggggg – cupcakes!!! I am so depressed not to be there. When I first got home, I thought that I would be o.k., but now reality has set in, and I really wish I could just walk on over to the ‘bar’ and order something for myself!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:31 pm

      Oh, Jen, I’m certain you would have loved that cupcake. (What’s not to love?!) I know exactly what you mean about the raw bubble bursting 😦 It’s tough!

  7. March 7, 2011 3:46 pm

    that Onion soup looks so good…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:32 pm

      It was; besides the cupcake, I think it was my favorite part.

  8. March 7, 2011 3:48 pm

    I seem to be learning right around now that being a ‘hypercritical perfectionist’ is a great way to learn about the importance of self-love and letting go!
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:33 pm

      Ugh, tell me about it…a great way to learn the hard way. I still have work to do, but I’ll get there. 🙂

  9. March 7, 2011 4:29 pm

    awesome pics and food!! i love that pad thai!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:33 pm

      Me too! Try a raw version if you ever get a chance 🙂

  10. March 7, 2011 4:38 pm

    Lucky you! Seems like 105 is becoming a second home for you. tell all these celebs to come to Seattle for once!

    I am drooling over the whole meal…looks delicious.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:34 pm

      Ha, you know, it almost kind of feels like that. No complaints here!
      Oh, I could probably rattle off a dozen+ things Seattle has the the Midwest doesn’t 😉

  11. March 7, 2011 7:09 pm

    I’m glad you had a great time. I wish I could have shared the evening and that great spread with you.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:34 pm

      I wish you could’ve too, Lisa!

  12. Sherry permalink
    March 7, 2011 8:11 pm

    I was there and did not see you both!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 7, 2011 8:41 pm

      Aw, Sherry, that’s too bad! I was in the back during the lecture (red shirt, black skirt & boots) and was sitting at the other, smaller table with Russell and Philip during dinner. Sorry I missed you!

  13. March 7, 2011 9:08 pm

    Darling, I’m so glad you had a wonderful, restorative, inspiring night! I hope all your days lately have been filled with this sense of lightness and awesomeness… whereas my days have been filled with envy and longing for raw desserts such as you’ve been showing lately. At least I did get to try a raw vegan carrot cake in Melbourne in December! Too long ago, though. Too long ago…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:29 pm

      Aw, sweetheart, thank you so very much. I am glad you got to try that Melbourne raw place, at least! We’ll get you to more raw joints when you come here 😉

  14. March 7, 2011 10:22 pm

    That cupcake is making my mouth water!! I love maple frosting so delicious!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:29 pm

      The cupcake was my favorite part!

  15. March 8, 2011 9:13 am

    Oh wow, yum! I have been so bad lately, in catching up with my favorite bloggers! I always love to see what you’re cooking and where you are going!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:28 pm

      Hehe, thanks Ellen! Great to hear from you!

  16. March 9, 2011 3:35 pm

    Sounds like a great evening with great people and food! Sounds perfect to me! :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:28 pm

      Everything about it was lovely 😀

  17. March 9, 2011 4:47 pm

    wow, that meal looks great!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:27 pm

      It was! 🙂

Leave a Comment

