Skip to content
P90X Weeks 5-8: February leftovers

March 20, 2011

An aside before I begin: the March edition of my Menuism column is now up! This month’s article contains my top five salad-free ways to eat more raw food. In addition, I’m currently featured in an Ask The Experts column, with some tips on winter eating and veggies that taste great raw.

It seems like it’s been forever since I’ve written about P90X, but if you were curious, yes, Matt and I are still doing it. Long story short, I am not getting any physical results. No weight loss, no leaning or toning, nada. I DO feel stronger and fitter on the inside, but on the outside, not so much. It feels good, though, so I’m committed to finishing the program. We’re about to start Week 12 tomorrow, but I’m using this post to catch up on “leftovers” from February. Can you tell how monstrously busy I am lately?! I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world, thoughβ€”good things are brewing for my future.

(Above: pre-Valentine’s flowers from Matt!)

Matt and I got our usual take-out order from Bo Ling’s the night before leaving for San Fran. I love the Singapore noodles, and he’s a veggie fried rice guy.

I put some banana-almond-flax pancakes in the dehydrator one Saturday night, and the next morning we ate them with a fresh raw blueberry compote.

That same Sunday, it was beautiful outside, so Matt and I decided to have a little picnic.

After a stop at Whole Foods, we drove to Loose Park near the Country Club Plaza, south of downtown KCMO, to snack on our French bread and roasted red pepper hummus.

We need to have picnics more often, I think!

(Eek, makeupless pic, sorry!)

On a not-so-nice-out day, this white bean minestrone warmed us up.

One Monday night, I went out for sushi with Callie of Rawxy. (If you’re not familiar with her blog, get acquainted!) She started out with a seaweed salad…

…and then we shared a platter of veg sushi.

It was not my favorite sushi ever, but the inari we had for “dessert” made up for it. Callie had never tried inari before, so I was happy to introduce her to it!

When I won a giveaway from Gone Pie Vegan Bakery on their Facebook page, little did I know the prize would be four huge cashew butter cups, two massive gluten-free chocolate chip cookies, and a duo of dark chocolate truffles. NOM! Thanks again, Gone Pie!

Lastly, I made this raw pizza for me and Matt with a sprouted buckwheat crust, sundried tomato marinara, “caramelized” onions, kalamata olives, and cashew cheese. Raw pizza prep can be a real chore sometimes, but it always pays off in the end!

I’ll be back soon with more glimpses of our workout fuel!

55 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 7:09 pm

    My husband and I almost picnicked in Loose Park this afternoon but in the end decided against it. Now I wish we would have! At least it’s finally spring … picnicking will be in our future with the impending beautiful spring weather πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 20, 2011 7:14 pm

      I thought about doing it again today too! But alas, the day got away from us. But you’re right, the gorgeous weather is on its way in! πŸ˜€

  2. March 20, 2011 7:11 pm

    yuuuum. I love seaweed salad. love love love.

    I wonder whats going on with p90x ordeal…. do you have a heart rate monitor? Maybe your heart rate isnt going high enough?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 20, 2011 7:13 pm

      It’s a metabolism thing 😦 Let me put it this way: I have GAINED weight in the past while running 30-35 mpw and eating 1500-1600 cals/day. Ugh.

  3. March 20, 2011 7:25 pm

    Oh my gosh… I could never do P90X! I’ve tried a few videos and just don’t do too well, lol. That’s awesome that you’re finishing it out though. Your pizza looks so good too.. I need to try more raw recipes! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 22, 2011 11:34 am

      Haha, it’s tough, that’s for sure!
      You SHOULD try more raw recipes! Especially now that it’s spring πŸ˜€

  4. March 20, 2011 7:54 pm

    Yay, I loved the inari – good introduction, indeed. Thanks πŸ™‚

    As for the P90X, I personally think that most people who see the ‘muscle’ results are bulking on their protein. If you’re staying where you are right now, and clearly eating healthy, then I would just say your body is where it wants to be! I’m kind of like you though, I weigh the same whether I’m sitting on my ass all day, or working out intensely – kind of annoying.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 22, 2011 11:38 am

      Woot!
      Yeah, my attempts to go heavy on the [plant-based] protein didn’t last too long, heh.
      It’s frustrating because I am still trying to lose the ~10 lbs I gained over a year and a half ago during my 5 weeks in Europe. I’m so glad someone else understands the non-linear nature of calorie intake – burn! My thyroid hormones keep testing just inside the realm of normal (even though every other female in my family is on Synthroid), so I can’t “blame” that…if you have any info that could be useful to me, please do pass it along.

  5. March 20, 2011 9:23 pm

    I’m a big fan of picnics too…

    You might have eaten every single one of my favorite foods this week!!

    That white bean minestrone soup looks DEVINE!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 10, 2011 9:29 pm

      Sounds like you have EXCELLENT taste in food, m’dear πŸ˜‰

  6. March 20, 2011 9:27 pm

    Nice job being committed to P90x, even though you’re not seeing the results you were hoping for! I’m sure it’s still doing your body good!! πŸ™‚ Those pancakes look delish!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 10, 2011 9:30 pm

      Thank you! I know P90X is at least making me stronger, underneath it all πŸ™‚

  7. March 20, 2011 11:25 pm

    I’m so excited to hear about what’s happening in the background for you right now! I’m almost tempted to start barraging you with emails begging to be told the secrets, but I know that a proper friend waits and doesn’t contribute to the busy-ness and potential stress… but rest assured I’m cheering you on and am prepared to start squealing with delight when you do decide to share!

    Also, I want to live on seaweed salad.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:19 pm

      You know some of those secrets now πŸ˜‰

  8. March 21, 2011 6:56 am

    What a bummer about p90x! Maybe things will change in the next few weeks?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:20 pm

      I think I’m going to try a different approach πŸ™‚

  9. March 21, 2011 8:00 am

    That is the best kind of picnic food, crusty bread and yummy stuff to put on it. Your raw pancakes and pizza both look amazing! Sorry P90X hasn’t given you the results you were looking for. You look fantastic anyway, and if you feel stronger that’s just a bonus!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:24 pm

      Crusty bread is non-negotiable! πŸ˜›

  10. March 21, 2011 10:31 am

    Bummer on P90X, have you tried or heard of ChaLEAN Extreme? Same company, but different trainer. I love it!

    • March 22, 2011 9:09 pm

      I Love ChaLean Extreme!!! It’s a great workout!! I also have TurboFire and that is kick butt!!!

      • March 23, 2011 5:29 am

        I’m currently doing ChaLean Extreme, LOVE It! I’ll be done in June and then starting Turbo Fire. I can’t wait!

        • March 24, 2011 1:25 pm

          You will love TurboFire!!! It is so intense but great fun!!! GOOD LUCK!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:25 pm

      I haven’t, but I’ve heard good things!

  11. March 21, 2011 5:25 pm

    I’m sure your body is wise and knows what she needs, and I’m sure that the longer you hold the intention of leaning out, the more certain it is to happen in good time.

    Hey, I never wear make-up–no problem and I think you look beautiful.

    Great to hear that you’re busy in productive ways.
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:26 pm

      I try to believe that my body is wise like that πŸ™‚
      Aw, thanks for the sweet compliment.

  12. March 21, 2011 7:16 pm

    Amber–your meals are probably my favorite in the blog world…by far! The pizza looks fab, as does all of the sushi and the raw p-cakes. And I don’t even know where to go about your winnings from the vegan bakery πŸ™‚ That’s disappointing about P90x–especially since it’s such an expensive program! At least you feel good inside, which is what counts the most πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:26 pm

      Aw, Kylie! I love hearing that! Thanks so much πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 22, 2011 11:33 am

      Thanks so much for the award! πŸ˜€
      Sidenote: I have never had matcha tea, can you believe that? But your matcha latte sounds amazing! I’ve always balked at the price, but I may have to pick some up now.

  13. March 22, 2011 11:31 am

    The matcha tea is really expensive if you buy it from a company….I just found out that my health food store carries it in their bulk herb section and I can buy it so much cheaper!!!! Maybe check to see if your local health food store has it that way!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 22, 2011 11:33 am

      Ooh, awesome tip. Thanks!

  14. March 22, 2011 1:44 pm

    Uh, the raw pizza with “Caramelized” onions looks ridiculous… wow. I’m hungry now.

    I know what you mean about P90X making you feel strong but not actually seeing the strong… keep up with it though! Couldn’t hurt! πŸ˜‰

    A+ Matt, beautiful flowers! When is the wedding date? You two are just too cute.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:27 pm

      Haha! You should ask Matt that, because I’m in the dark about it πŸ˜‰

  15. March 22, 2011 2:15 pm

    i heart raw pizzas.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 10, 2011 9:30 pm

      As well you should. πŸ˜›

  16. March 23, 2011 11:30 am

    sushi, purple flowers, and picnic. My 3 favorite things that make life BLISS! Just beautiful amber.
    πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:28 pm

      Aw, thanks Lindsay!

  17. March 23, 2011 6:17 pm

    Mmmm, I felt hungry after I’d read your blog! I’ve never heard of this regime you’re on, but I’m sorry you’re disappointed – I’d guess that your body believes it’s ok, and bodies are usually right when it comes down to it:) You look great – with and without makeup:)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:28 pm

      Thank you, Christine! πŸ™‚

  18. March 23, 2011 6:42 pm

    Hi,

    We just came across your blog and LOVE it! You have some fantastic recipes that we can’t wait to try! Have you come across Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen cookbook? If you love vegan and raw food, we’re sure you would love it!

    Kate and Rachel

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 23, 2011 6:45 pm

      Hi girls! Welcome πŸ˜€
      As a matter of fact, not only do I have Ani’s books, I’ve met her! πŸ™‚

  19. March 24, 2011 9:29 pm

    PICNICS!!! ❀ πŸ™‚
    I heard the P90X kills! Good luck.

    Whitney

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:29 pm

      Haha, it does kinda ‘kill’ sometimes πŸ˜›

  20. March 24, 2011 9:37 pm

    Dude, Amber, your pre-Valentine’s day flowers from Matt are like the prettiest flowers I’ve seen in quite some time πŸ˜€ Jealous!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      March 24, 2011 9:38 pm

      Hehe! The boy did pretty well, didn’t he? ;P

  21. March 25, 2011 6:02 am

    I’m usually distracted by how great your photos and recipes are & I forget yer a KC girl – I love seeing pics from around the midtown area and hearing about Bo Ling’s!! So funny – I’ve got similar “take-it-yourself” pics of my girlfriend at the time and I doing the picnic deal at Loose Park – we always brought a kite.
    I’m curious to try that raw pizza – just had an amazing vegan pizza experience, so I’m ready to push the envelope. ‘Love yer blog!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:29 pm

      Bo Ling’s, Loose Park…KC classics πŸ™‚

  22. March 26, 2011 9:30 am

    Yum! All that food looks wonderful…as does the picnic!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:29 pm

      Thanks!

  23. March 26, 2011 12:44 pm

    wow first off, those pancakes look so heavenly!! then that pizza? oh my.
    I wish it were warm enough here to go on a picnic!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:29 pm

      It will be soon!

  24. March 27, 2011 6:17 am

    Look nommy!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:30 pm

      Hehe πŸ˜›

  25. March 27, 2011 10:40 am

    Hey! Wow that raw pizza looks great! I really must break out the dehydrator again soon! The pancakes looks pretty amazing too!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:30 pm

      Raw food tastes better and better as the weather warms up, I think!

Leave a Comment

