Skip to content
P90X Weeks 9-10: meeting some rawkstars

March 28, 2011

Quick question—do you follow Almost Vegan on Facebook and Twitter? If not, you should! I’m so monstrously busy lately that my blog interaction has slowed to a snail’s pace, but I’ve been compensating with regular updates, posts, and photos on Facebook and Twitter. I’ve already made a few announcements, and I’ve got even bigger ones to come, so stay tuned…the news will hit those sites first!

Now, back to talking about Matt’s and my workout fuel and random eats. Here’s a gojiberry-aloe lemonade I made for Matt one morning. I was trying to imitate the one he likes from Bliss Café in Dallas; I didn’t quite get it right, but it wasn’t bad.

For this snack, I trimmed and barely steamed some fresh green beans, then dipped them like French fries into a quick peanut sauce I made.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it, but for the last few weeks I have been OBSESSED with cauliflower. I don’t know what has happened to me—cauli used to be one of my least-liked vegetables. Now I’m having to ration myself to half a head per day (though often I say “screw it” and just eat the whole thing in one sitting). I love it raw, steamed, roasted, any preparation! My favorite, though, has been to roast it with curry powder and sea salt, like this. YUM.

Here are some raw taco roll-ups made with romaine lettuce leaves, walnut-pistachio nut meat, salsa, and raw cashew nacho cheese. Future cookbook recipe!

Many of you who saw this photo on Facebook expressed envy of Matt—I surprised him upon his return from a business trip with this raw tiramisu (recipe from Sweet Gratitude).

One Saturday, I made us this apple pie oatmeal…

…and it was such a hit that the very next day, I made apple pie pancakes. Looking at this now makes me want to make them again!

I shared the mini-recipe for these raw kimchee noodle rolls on the AV Facebook page.

The recipe for this French lentil soup came from Robin Robertson’s soup article in the Jan/Feb issue of VegNews.

I baked these Snickerdoodles from Kelly Peloza’s Vegan Cookie Connoisseur, and they were some of the best, most melt-in-your-mouth cookies I’ve made in quite awhile.

Finally, I went to two raw-related events just over a week ago. One of those was a showing of the documentary May I Be Frank, after which I met Frank himself. If you haven’t seen or checked out this movie, please, please do so. It’s one of the most powerful, candid health documentaries I’ve seen. Frank is amazing!

Have any of you picked up this book, The Raw Truth by Jordan Rubin? All the Whole Foods and Vitamin Shoppes around here have been giving copies away for free. It contains a LOT of heavy marketing (Rubin is the CEO of Garden of Life), and he recommends raw animal products (bleh), but there are some gems of inspiration in the book.

I attended a talk given by Jordan in Independence, MO, and got to meet him, say hello, and pick up a couple signed books.

I asked him to sign one of them to “Almost Vegan” so I could give it away to one of you! Want to win it? To enter, leave a comment below telling me your favorite probiotic-rich food. I’ll pick a winner at random and mail you the book myself. Good luck!

62 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 12:55 pm

    Oh my gosh…all that food made me so hungry! lol. Those pancakes and the tiramisu look especially amazing. My favorite probiotic-rich food is kombucha! That’s technically a drink I guess? But I love it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:31 pm

      Kombucha is delish!

  2. March 28, 2011 1:06 pm

    oh my! i am loving all of your posts…been so busy and trying to catch up on all my favorite blogs..looks like great things are happening for you, sweet girl! so happy for you!!

    favorite priobiotic-rich food..hmm…i would have to say greek yogurt! yum!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:31 pm

      I can’t wait till they come out with vegan Greek yogurt 🙂

  3. Juri Kantonen permalink
    March 28, 2011 1:06 pm

    My favorite probiotic-rich food: honey. This Mr. Rubin looks a lot like Jari Litmanen. Good for him.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:31 pm

      I love honey too!

  4. March 28, 2011 1:17 pm

    Warm apples are one of the greatest things ever. I think honey would be my favorite probiotic, love the stuff!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:32 pm

      Agreed!

  5. March 28, 2011 1:18 pm

    what is it about cauliflower and curry? they are just made for each other. so good! your raw tiramisu looks amazing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:32 pm

      So true! They’re a match made in heaven.

  6. March 28, 2011 1:30 pm

    Beautiful! I barely spend any time on fb and twitter, but will try to stay tuned to your sharings. Glad you’re busy in such a productive way!

    Oh, and I’m glad you’ve discovered the wonder of cauliflower–I share it, in a big way, and some of the ways you mentioned for consuming it are favorites of mine too!
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:33 pm

      Cauliflower and I are having a major love affair 🙂

  7. March 28, 2011 1:31 pm

    My favorite probiotic-rich food? Oh, there are so many. Probably my coconut kefir that I make with coconut cream powder–labor intensive but so good…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:33 pm

      Your coconut kefir DOES sound so good!

  8. March 28, 2011 1:42 pm

    ooo id have to say pickles or tofu!!! great giveaway!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:33 pm

      Eek, I can’t do pickles! 😛

  9. tastyeatsathome permalink
    March 28, 2011 1:42 pm

    I’m now following you on Twitter and Liked AV on Facebook! My favorite probiotic food? I love kombucha and raw sauerkraut and pickles. Yum. Your tacos look so tasty, and so do those pancakes. I agree with you on Jordan Rubin’s book – I picked it up too, but it was so marketing-heavy, I wasn’t that excited about it. A few nuggets of good info, but all in all, I’m glad it was only free! lol

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:34 pm

      Thanks for the follows on FB and Twitter! 🙂

  10. March 28, 2011 2:16 pm

    Hi , I live in Canada and I haven’t found Jordan Rubins book yet and I would love a chance to win it . chocolate is most definitely my favourite probiotic food 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:34 pm

      There’s chocolate with probiotics?! Where can I get some?! 😛

  11. March 28, 2011 2:41 pm

    snickerdoodles are my fave cookie! Yummers! And that smoothie looks gorgeous – so sunny. And walnut-pistachio taco meat?! Oh my…please share your recipe! If it’s on your site, please help me find it. 🙂 Fave probiotic is kombucha. A must-have.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:34 pm

      They’re Matt’s fave cookie too 🙂
      The nut meat recipe will be in my cookbook! 😀

  12. March 28, 2011 3:40 pm

    All your eats look beyond amazing!!! I have been a cauliflower kick too!! It’s just so good!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:35 pm

      Cauliflower rocks!

  13. peggy permalink
    March 28, 2011 6:29 pm

    Thanks for sharing all of your great food ideas. The picture of the apple oatmeal is my inspiration for tomorrow’s breakfast. I have read about Jordan’s book but haven’t found it yet. Would love to read it for any new info. My fav probiotic is kombucha . I’m almost vegan, too!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:35 pm

      Glad to have given you almost-vegan b-fast inspiration!

  14. March 28, 2011 9:40 pm

    My favorite probiotic-rich food is Soyogurt – i love it with fruit and granola and an extra helping of probiotics from a pill. Awesome!!!

    And I want those cookies! =P

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:36 pm

      I take probiotic pills too, just in case.

  15. March 29, 2011 1:56 pm

    Looks like you’ve had such a fun week! Those snickerdoodle cookies sound amazing. Snickerdoodles are one of my favorites.

    I’d choose Greek yogurt as my favorite pro biotic food for sure.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:36 pm

      It WAS a fun week! 🙂

  16. March 29, 2011 7:53 pm

    Funny, I’m sitting here eating green beans as french fries… It’s my favorite – especially with a bit of evoo and raw parm.

    Favorite probiotic food would be my fermented nut cheese. That counts, no? I mean, I use pearls…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:36 pm

      Of course nut cheese counts! 🙂

  17. March 29, 2011 8:47 pm

    This food looks gorgeous… as always! 🙂 Your blog posts always make me want to start working in the kitchen!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:37 pm

      Hehe, thanks!

  18. March 29, 2011 8:54 pm

    yummy looking eats!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:37 pm

      Thank you!

  19. March 30, 2011 1:54 am

    Oh no, my facebook and twitter checking have been far less frequent since I made my life change! I’m terribly excited to think that the news might be about the cookbook, though… oh, how I want you to tell me! 😛

    Funnily enough, I have a printed out copy of The Raw Truththat is absolutely COVERED in red pen from my former PhD researching!! I could give away that on my blog… after all, it’s value added 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:38 pm

      That would be the most unique giveaway ever 😛

  20. March 30, 2011 4:12 pm

    I would very much so like those snickerdoodles, raw taco roll-ups, tiramisu, apple pie oats, apple pie covered pancakes… ok everything. Now. Pleaseandthankyou. 🙂 YUM! I love all of Cafe Grat’s desserts- their book just make a lot of dessert.

    Onto the book: My favorite probiotic rich food is and will always be homemade kimchee! Sooooooo good.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:38 pm

      It’s true, I don’t see how you can go wrong with Café Gratitude’s desserts 🙂

  21. March 30, 2011 9:17 pm

    Everything looks so good. Those taco roll ups sound delish! That’s so cool that you got to meet Jordan. I have to say my favorite probiotic-rich food would be kombucha.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:39 pm

      I ❤ kombucha, too!

  22. Mary Crouch Young permalink
    March 31, 2011 12:28 am

    So many foods to choose from…

    Miso, tofu, and greek yogurt are my top 3.

    PS. I have a curried cauliflower soup recipe I need to send you soon.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:39 pm

      Thanks so much again for that soup recipe!

  23. March 31, 2011 8:21 am

    Just want to say hi and glad to have found your blog.
    The name ‘almost vegan’ has a funny personal connotation with me.
    I referred to myself as ‘almost vegan’ for the longest time and and still do – and my husband always laughed at that and rolls his eyes each time I still describe my diet 😉 saying there’s no such thing – you’re either a vegan or a vegetarian! But I wish there were sub-categorized diet names, for example, I am almost vegan but still eat some fish – I wish there was a simpler way to categorize that 😉
    I will check out more on your site! xox

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:40 pm

      Between you and your husband, I agree with YOU 😉 Welcome, so nice to ‘meet’ you!

  24. March 31, 2011 9:03 am

    mmm those eats look so tasty!! I’m such a fan of lettuce wraps. I love getting huge leaves and wrapping whatever in them. So good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:40 pm

      I’m glad I finally got into lettuce wraps, hehe.

  25. March 31, 2011 9:05 am

    ALL your eats look amazing and your “Rawkstar” meetups sound like so much fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:41 pm

      Hehe, thank you!

  26. March 31, 2011 3:46 pm

    Just liked your facebook page!!! I have always hated cauliflower but your roasted with seasonings actually looks good….I may have to try that one day!!!
    My favorite probiotic food right now is my homemade kombucha!!! I flavored one with lemon ginger, one with chlorella, one with ginger cranberry, and the other blueberry!!! My next batch I am experimenting with apples and cinnamon!!! MMMMMM……..

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:41 pm

      Yay, thanks for the FB like!

      I need to make homemade kombucha again…

  27. katiivey permalink
    March 31, 2011 7:12 pm

    The food looks super yummy! Especially the raw tiramisu!! And raw animal products? Weird.

    I’m contemplating doing a “Meatless in April” since I missed March…need a catchier name though 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:41 pm

      Yeah, raw animal products = BLECH!

  28. April 1, 2011 8:15 am

    Hey I have that book! I got it for free when I bought some D-3 vitamins. 🙂
    I have not read it yet but I am excited too!

    Have a good weekend girl!

    Whitney

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:42 pm

      Yup, they’re at my WF too 🙂

  29. Jane permalink
    April 2, 2011 12:26 am

    It looks very delicious. I love the cauliflower. They are my favorite. Thanks for sharing to us.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:42 pm

      Cauli is now my fave too!

  30. April 2, 2011 10:19 pm

    Well, I don’t specifically look for probiotics but I’m always happy when they’re in my food. I think tempeh contains probiotics. I hope so because otherwise I’m probably not getting any! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:43 pm

      I agree with you – I take probiotic pills, so I don’t seek them out in food, but it’s nice to know they’re there 🙂

  31. April 4, 2011 12:08 pm

    I love yogurt so since giving up dairy I’ve been experimenting with my fermenting my own using homemade almond milk.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 4:43 pm

      I’ve never done that before, that sounds great!

Leave a Comment

