Skip to content
P90X Weeks 11-13: the wrap-up

April 13, 2011

Let’s get the tough part out of the way first: As far as outward appearance goes, my body did not change one bit from doing P90X.

Matt and I finished the 13th and final week of the program last Saturday, and while he got some pretty great results, I did not. Sure, I feel a little stronger. But none of my stats – weight, measurements, even tests of fitness ability – changed at all (except, curiously, I’m able to do 1/3 fewer pushups than at the start). Bottom line: I’ve worked out heavily and been fit (on the inside, no matter what I look like on the outside) for many years now, and I just don’t think P90X was enough of a departure from what I normally do to warrant any outstanding results. But I’m not going to dwell on it. It was an experiment, I successfully stuck with it and completed the whole thing, and now it’s on to the next fitness endeavor. Case closed!

Let’s talk food, now, instead. Here are some highlights from the last couple weeks of March. This is my favorite mix of lightly steamed veggies with a drizzle of raw tahini-curry sauce.

One Saturday night, Matt and I stayed in, watched Nine Inch Nails live DVDs, and ate this roasted red pepper hummus I made us.

A weekend breakfast I whipped up for Matt was half rolled oats and half kamut flakes, cooked together. I stirred in sliced banana at the end and topped it all with raw raspberry sauce.

We went out to dinner for the first time (here in town, at least) in, I don’t know, months! We ate at Bangkok Pavilion, one of my favorite Thai places.

Matt ate the strange-looking mushroom dish above (I’m not a big fan of fungi), and I had good ol’ pad thai, below.

Here’s something you Facebook fans have already had a peek at: the raw pie I made for my friend Rachel‘s birthday. It’s a lemon cream tart with raspberry coulis, and it’s a riff on a recipe that will be in my cookbook! So, in due time, you’ll have the recipe in your own hands.

I baked some cookies for Matt’s tax people, using recipes from Kelly Peloza‘s Vegan Cookie Connoisseur, including Garrick’s Chocolate Chip Cookies…

…and Pixies, which are powdered-sugar-coated soft chocolate cookies.

Both were amaaazing, but the chocolate chip cookies were REALLY incredible to me. Thin and spread out, crisp on the edges, and chewy on the inside…perfect!

And finally, this light and savory dinner was a mix of kelp and zucchini noodles coated with the aforementioned raw tahini-curry sauce.

Have you ever given a new fitness program your all, only to have it not work?

42 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 1:15 pm

    Those all look like great dishes especially the lemon dessert. I want some!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 19, 2011 10:03 am

      The lemon tart did turn out pretty great πŸ˜€

  2. April 13, 2011 2:05 pm

    I have to admit that I’m a little relieved to know that you didn’t have drastic results from P90X. I am on the 8th week right now with my husband and I don’t find it to be that challenging and I haven’t seen major results. I can see more definition in my abdominals but that’s it. It feels good to be discilpined and stick with the program though. On a more positive note, the recipes look great. I love Thai food. Keep up the good work. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 19, 2011 10:04 am

      Relieved, eh? Haha πŸ˜› Well, I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one with minimal results AND not much of a sense of challenge. Guess that means we’re just pretty fit gals already, right?

  3. April 13, 2011 2:27 pm

    Wow, I’m really surprised about the lack of results from P90X!! At least you stuck to it, finished it, and like you said, case closed… Maybe you & Matt should start Insanity.. it’s pretty insane…

    The only time fitness programs haven’t worked for me is when I fail to give it my all… It’s all or nothing with me it seems and for some reason I’ve been in the longest fitness rut EVER. I used to work out ALL. THE. TIME. –Even when I was insanely busy.. I’m trying to sync back into a routine & THAT seems to be the hardest part.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 19, 2011 10:06 am

      Matt and I actually do plan to start Insanity here in a couple months!

      Ugh, sorry to hear bout your fitness rut. Here’s to hoping that ends soon!

  4. April 13, 2011 3:07 pm

    Sorry to hear P90X didn’t do too much. I’ve never done one of those fitness programs like that. I can’t wait for your book, that raw pie looks so good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:10 pm

      I was never big on exercise videos, but I figured I’d give P90X a try. I mean, it’s everywhere!

  5. April 13, 2011 3:18 pm

    Dearest Amber, Maybe the P90X results were not statistically encouraging but they are far bigger than you can imagine. A lesson in consistency and dedication cannot be quantified. This strength will carry on with you and will be yours for all your endeavors. Love C

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:09 pm

      Cristina, that has got to be the sweetest, most thoughtful comment ever. I miss you! πŸ™‚

  6. April 13, 2011 4:50 pm

    I’m rooting for your improving metabolism and good attitude to your strength and body, and curious what the next fitness adventure will be.

    Meantime, some strikingly beautiful culinary creations!

    That raspberry sauce is just stunning.
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:08 pm

      Thanks for your support and understanding, Ela πŸ™‚

  7. Carol Keating permalink
    April 13, 2011 5:50 pm

    You are a rock star Amber! Food looks awesome, awesome!! Love your honesty about P90X!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:20 am

      Aw, thank you so much, Carol! πŸ˜€

  8. April 13, 2011 6:16 pm

    Hooray for finishing P90x, I have to admit too that nothing changed for me when I did it as well, which was disappointing seeing all the great youtube video results. But, it is sorta the same way with me doing Insanity. Have lost a little, but not a ton. The only result I noticed was that cardiovascular I am much better, felt like I could run forever, which is quite weird. Again great job on finishing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:19 am

      Whew, glad to hear I’m not alone. Matt wants to do Insanity next, actually, so it’s interesting to hear that’s not giving you results either. I’ll keep my expectations pretty low πŸ™‚

  9. April 13, 2011 8:25 pm

    I don’t usually work out for losing weight, it doesn’t do that much unless you really have a lot to go. I guess because I tend to increase calories too.

    I like the sound of the raw sauce on steamed veggies. Hope you can share it soon.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:16 am

      Ah yes, the paradox of workout weight loss…work out more, burn more calories, get hungrier, eat more calories. πŸ˜›

      I SHOULD share that sauce sometime…which means I better re-make it and actually measure the ingredients, heh. I think it was about 2 Tbsp raw tahini, 1 Tbsp lemon juice, 1-2 Tbsp warm water, 1/2 tsp curry powder, and a couple big pinches of salt.

  10. April 13, 2011 8:58 pm

    I have went through Chalene Extreme and TurboFire and have not seen results…other than my stamina and endurance have increased…no weight loss though…oh well…I will just keep trying!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:14 am

      Great attitude – just keep truckin’! Sounds like you’re in the same boat as I am. Oh well, increased endurance is always a good thing, anyway!

  11. April 14, 2011 3:45 am

    I think the correct question is “Have you ever given any fitness regime your all”, and unless we’re talking about training to be able to eat the highest amount of dark chocolate and raw broccoli in the one night, I’ll have to answer no.

    I’m also tempted to take back all my congratulations about the cookbook, because it’s turning you into a MEAN WITHHOLDING CHEEZECAKE LADY.

    Hmph.

    P.S. I love you more than thermal socks.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:13 am

      Now hey, that sounds like quite a strenuous routine to me! πŸ™‚

      Yeah, yeah, it is kinda mean of me, isn’t it? I’ll make up for it soon enough!

      I love YOU more than…than…coconut butter. That’s right, I said it! For realz!

  12. April 14, 2011 7:14 am

    My husband is doing p90x right now – I can see how it could make a big difference if you are coming off of a sedentary lifestyle, but if you are already pretty fit, I suppose it just makes for a new routine. It certainly doesn’t hurt, but it won’t transform a body that is already in good shape.

    I have a bag of kelp noodles in my fridge, just waiting for me to try….

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:12 am

      Totally, totally agree.

      Hmm, perhaps you could do a recipe test for me with those kelp noodles! πŸ˜‰

  13. April 14, 2011 9:50 am

    Umm, don’t ever let me get a hold or your address – Or else, I’ll probably show up unexpectedly in hopes to be fed. Just saying…. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:11 am

      Hehe, well, when it comes to be cookbook-recipe-testing time, I’ll NEED mouths to feed! πŸ˜›

  14. April 14, 2011 12:44 pm

    I think with any home DVD program, if you’re already in shape, you probably won’t have the results that others have when it’s something they are just starting out with (like me).

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:08 pm

      Very true. πŸ™‚

  15. April 14, 2011 5:45 pm

    The tahini sauce and raspberry sauce are calling out to me.

    About Kansas City – I have been a few times, yes. Up to recently, one of my very best friends lived there. I have many other friends there, as well. I have a few who always ask me to visit, so I know I will one of these days! (I grew up in southwest MO.) So when I do, I’ll definitely let you know – and we’ll hit up Mudpie!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:08 pm

      Yes, do let me know next time! πŸ˜€

  16. April 16, 2011 7:53 am

    I personally think that overall, men have more drastic results with P90X than women do. It took me the full 90 days to work up the strength to do one pull up. I think the lifting methods (fast & heavy) are more suited for men as well. I lost about 10 pounds with P90X but I had better physical changes with ChaLean Extreme (CLX).

    I think CLX works better for women because the lifting technique is different. That program incorporates heavy lifting with slow reps. It also uses combination lifts like working your biceps and legs at the same time. As an added bonus, the workouts are 30-40 minutes long rather than an hour which fits into most women’s busy lifestyles easier. I’m also a fan of Chalene Johnson’s Turbo Fire.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:07 pm

      I totally agree about men’s vs. women’s results. I still can’t even do a full pull-up. I’ve heard good things about CLX; I may have to check it out.

  17. April 16, 2011 5:37 pm

    While I like P90X, i don’t think its for everyone, like you said. Glad matt liked it. I think Insanity is pretty good too. But lets not talk about that, lets just continue to drool over food. Like the raw pie!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:07 pm

      Hehe! Food-drooling is ALWAYS more fun than workout talk!

  18. April 17, 2011 8:13 pm

    Hey – SO glad you mentioned your cookbook. Would love to know your progress on it! And would still love to get together whenever you’re available. Best to you!
    Kim

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:06 pm

      Great to finally meet you this afternoon, Kim!

  19. April 18, 2011 3:23 pm

    What a bummer! That’s amazing that you stuck through the whole 13 weeks without changing results. You’re already crazy fit girl. I’d say that’s a good thing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:06 pm

      Aw, thank you Heather! That makes me feel better πŸ™‚

  20. April 19, 2011 9:46 am

    Yum! The noodles and cookies look killer!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:06 pm

      Thanks Jen!

  21. April 25, 2011 7:02 pm

    I did P90X years ago–when we were living in LA (and waaaay before it was popular). My husband lost a little weight (probably somewhere between 5-10lbs) doing it, but I actually gained weight… and it may have been a muscle gain, I’ll give P90X that benefit, but my appearance didn’t change and so after 2 months in I dropped out, finding it hard to believe I would miraculously have greater results if I made it another month.

    What annoyed me the most was when I went back to my regular routine–running 3-4x a week plus 2 weekly yoga classes at the gym, I lost the weight I’d gained during P90X (when I was working out 7 days a week!) and saw some improvements outwardly as well… maybe it works for some people…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 25, 2011 7:07 pm

      I think there’s definite truth to many people’s testimonies of men faring far better on P90X than women. Whatever the reasons – body comp or metabolism differences, etc. – I’m not sorry I tried it, BUT I must say I’m happy as a clam to be back to my old, everyday gym routine. I too have dropped a couple pounds since finishing P90X that I couldn’t for the life of me get rid of while doing it! I’ve still got a bit of weight left to lose, but going “back to basics” (with both cardio and lower-fat, lower-sugar cooking) really feels like the way to go for me right now.

Leave a Comment

