Skip to content
April news bits and bites

April 19, 2011
tags:

Hi everyone! I’m here with a few quick announcements for you. First of all, I guest-posted this week on Real Sustenance. Brittany’s been hosting a very cool April in the Raw event, and these easy raw honey-almond butter truffles are my contribution! Check ’em out, and let me know what you think.

Next, I wanted to mention that my latest Menuism.com column was actually posted a couple weeks ago! I’ve been forgetting to write here about it. This month, the topic is Restaurant Dining: How to Eat Vegan When It’s Not on the Menu (without resorting to boring salads!). I hope you enjoy the article.


Vegan dining in the South of France!

The wonderful Jill and John of Vegan Backpacker launched a new and very exciting website today: Vegan Cuts! It’s a group-buy-style deal site that features exclusive discounts on vegan products and services. Take a look at their premier deal today for Moxie Organix, and be sure to subscribe to receive their weekly emails.

Remember my famous white chocolate-peanut butter blondies? Earth Balance featured them last week on their Made Just Right blog. Mmm.

Finally, I’m sure you recall the Hot Raw Chef contest, held by Living Light International, which (thanks to YOUR help!) I won in February.

Well, plans have finally been made and settled, and from May 5th through May 20th, I will be attending the Living Light Culinary Arts Institute! Since I’m already certified as a gourmet raw chef through 105degrees, I decided to go a different route with my Living Light training. I’m taking their Advanced Raw Food Nutrition Educator Series, in order to become a certified raw food nutritionist! This is so perfect for me, because health and nutrition are what got me into vegan, and later raw, food to begin with. At last, I’ll have an official nutrition-related designation to place after my name! I’m so excited to journey to Northern California to attend Living Light in just 3 short weeks…and I can’t wait to share it with all of you!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 1:06 pm

    Congrats Amber! SOunds like you have been really busy and will continue to be it for a while! Have fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:09 pm

      Sure will! πŸ˜€

  2. April 19, 2011 1:07 pm

    oh my gosh!! congrats on the recipe being featured and you becoming a certified raw food nutritionist !! so much good news!! PS I GOT THE BOOKK!! YAYAYAY! I have a guest post featured tomorrow, so I don’t want to mention it on the guest’s post, but I will do on Thursdays post!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:09 pm

      Glad to hear the book made across the pond! πŸ˜›

  3. gidgetnfroggi permalink
    April 19, 2011 1:08 pm

    congrats on your new schooling and soon to be title πŸ™‚ I hope you blog about it!

    your blondie does look so yummy I need make some and soon

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:12 pm

      Thank you! I’ll definitely be blogging along the way.

  4. tastyeatsathome permalink
    April 19, 2011 1:13 pm

    You’ve been quite the busy person lately – of course, it looks like you’re always busy! Congrats on your schooling! That’s going to be great for you.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:12 pm

      Busy indeed! All good things, though πŸ™‚

  5. April 19, 2011 1:36 pm

    Man! You are all kinds of awesome!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:13 pm

      Hehe, aw! That made me blush πŸ˜›

  6. April 19, 2011 1:42 pm

    Lots of exciting things! Congrats on those raw food nutrition classes!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:13 pm

      Thank ya, dear!

  7. April 19, 2011 2:32 pm

    You DO have a lot going on. Thanks for the link to Vegan Cuts. Can you BELIEVE I still haven’t made your blondies?! I think about them sometimes…ha! I do!…I just keep forgetting to order white chocolate chips because they aren’t in the stores here.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:14 pm

      Haha! Yeah, vegan white choc chips are such a pain to get. I trust you’ll make them someday, though! ;P

  8. April 19, 2011 2:39 pm

    Whoa! I was right…insanity IS the new normal. Look forward to talking about all this with you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:15 pm

      You’re right about that!
      Glad we finally got a chance to meet up and chat!

  9. April 19, 2011 4:54 pm

    Those look like donut holes–and yum!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:16 pm

      You’re right, they kind of do!

  10. April 19, 2011 6:04 pm

    Yay on so many fronts!! You have been super busy doing some great things!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:19 pm

      I have! Thanks Aimee!

  11. April 19, 2011 7:30 pm

    Oh awesome–I’m so excited for you! That’s awesome that you’ll be rounding out your training in that way.

    I hope you’ll post from CA–lots of fond memories and probably folks I know at Living Light…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:19 pm

      I’m both nervous and excited to leave for LL πŸ™‚

  12. April 19, 2011 9:25 pm

    Exciting you will be on the west coast again. Living light seems like it will be a good fit with the nutritionist program. Have fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 3, 2011 1:20 pm

      I think it’ll be a good fit for me, too. Yay west coast! It’s too bad you’re so far north. πŸ™‚

  13. April 19, 2011 11:12 pm

    Congratulations lady! So you can become a certified nutritionist in 15 days? Wow! I’m so glad you’re finishing up on the 20th, too. That gives you just enough time to fly over here for my birthday on the 26th of May.

    πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:12 pm

      Yup; they pack 103 class hours into those 15 days!
      Aw, I wish I could show up at your b-day party! How awesome would that be? Unthinkably awesome, I believe.

  14. April 20, 2011 11:01 am

    Ahhhhhhhhh! <– me being super excited for you

    I will HAVE to make a trip up to see you when you're at Living Light! I will! (this time I'll MAKE my schedule work this out) – even though you'll be busy.

    Vegan Cuts sounds like a great idea/website. I'm glad you wrote about it! It's totally new to me.

    And Menuism… very very cool, Amber. I love that!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 20, 2011 11:27 am

      I’d LOVE it if you made the trip up to LL to visit me! I’ll have class all day every day that I’m there, even weekends, EXCEPT for Saturday May 14th. I am absolutely determined, somehow, to go to Ravens Restaurant that evening for a lavish dinner. Want to journey there together?! I know the whole trip will already be quite a drive for you, so if you can’t, I understand. But if you can, let me know! πŸ˜€

  15. April 20, 2011 8:09 pm

    Those honey-almond butter truffles look amazing!! I can imagine them as having a perfect texture with that addition of coconut flour. Yum!
    And I’m sooo excited for you and your LL plans!! So many exciting things happening in your life lately πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:10 pm

      I love the coconut flour in the truffles too!

      Thanks for your excitement and encouragement, Jess πŸ˜€

  16. April 21, 2011 12:21 am

    Congrats!!! It sounds as if you have so many exciting things going on in your life right now!!!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 21, 2011 5:11 pm

      It’s true, I do! I’m a lucky girl. πŸ™‚

  17. April 22, 2011 11:50 am

    Seriously like the new layout. I loved the information. Credit for a fantastic page.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      April 22, 2011 1:05 pm

      Thanks Penney!

Leave a Comment

