Skip to content
Matt’s b-day dinner at Eden Alley

April 30, 2011

Yes, I know there was a royal wedding yesterday, and I’ll probably talk more about it some other time (you know, the waking up at 2:45am after just 1.5 hours of sleep and somehow succeeding in convincing Matt to get up with me – well, I had to bribe him with scones, but still – and watching 4 straight hours of wedding coverage and absolutely loving everything about the church and the procession and the pageantry and the bride and groom and the GOWN! and how Princess Kate is probably my new beauty icon, in fact I think I have quite the girl-crush on her, but anyway yes, I’ll talk about it some other time), but today, I should share with you Matt’s birthday dinner that occurred a full two weeks ago. Eeks, I’m behind! I’ve got to get myself together before I leave to go to Living Light in just a few short days…

When I asked Matt where he’d like to go out to eat on his birthday, I was delighted when he said Eden Alley Café! Eden Alley is KC’s oldest vegetarian restaurant. Last time we ate there, Matt could not stop raving about it, so I’m surprised it took us this long to go back. (Incidentally, Matt just went there again yesterday for lunch, he likes it so much!)

We ordered off the Specials menu, which has since changed, so I can’t even name exactly what we got. This, though, was the burrito I ordered, with Mexican-spiced potatoes, brown rice, and cashew cheeze inside. The sauce surrounding it was a really tasty sweet potato-tomato purée.

As good as mine was, when I tasted Matt’s tostada – a thin potato-corn patty topped with brown rice, stewed black beans, cashew cheeze, and a chickpea-laden pico de gallo, I liked it better! Matt, in his infinite sweetness, agreed to trade with me halfway through the meal, so we each got the best of both worlds.

Dessert was definitely the pièce de résistance—this vegan mocha fudge cake. It was an incredibly moist, gooey chocolate cake with ultra-rich swirled mocha and caramel icing. When you add this to the chocolate-covered strawberries and red velvet cake I made him, it’s clear that Matt had quite the trinity of delicious birthday desserts.

We rounded out the night with a Tool tribute show at the Beaumont Club and some drinks with friends at our favorite local dive bar, Buzzard Beach. Now I better start brainstorming how to top all this next year!

39 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 2:25 pm

    Matt is a lucky guy, trifecta of desserts, awesome! The burrito looks good too.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:04 pm

      I think he’s pretty lucky, personally 😉

  2. April 30, 2011 2:43 pm

    That food looks so delicious. And that cake! Holy Goodness. It seems like every blog I’ve looked at today has had some form of chocolate on it. I think that’s a sign I need to make something chocolatey today!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:07 pm

      Every day’s a good day for chocolate! 😛

  3. April 30, 2011 3:17 pm

    Aw, you guys are such a sweet couple. Happy belated birthday, Matt!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:08 pm

      Aw, thanks Hannah!

  4. April 30, 2011 3:29 pm

    WOW all that looks so yummy!
    I really need to try cashew cheese! Can you make it at home?? x

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:09 pm

      Absolutely! Soak raw cashews in water for a few hours, then rinse and drain them and blend them up with a splash of fresh water, some chili powder and ground cumin, sea salt, and lots of nutritional yeast!

  5. kbcuisine permalink
    April 30, 2011 4:42 pm

    I need to find me a good vegan/vegatarian restaurant.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:10 pm

      Check out happycow.net for lots of great suggestions.

  6. April 30, 2011 5:11 pm

    I need to get a food processer so I can make cashew cheeze!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:11 pm

      Or you could use a blender!

  7. oatsandspice permalink
    April 30, 2011 7:02 pm

    WOW – the food looks awesome! The cake looks so rich and chocolatey – YUM!

    Is this in Kansas City? I used to live in Overland Park for a year!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:11 pm

      Yep, it’s in KC! I actually live in OP, myself! Very cool 😀

  8. April 30, 2011 9:29 pm

    Oh yes, I think I forgot to mention to you that I wish you good luck at Living Light academy! And Eden Alley sounds awesome! There are so many veg places in KC that I have yet to make it to!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:12 pm

      Lemme know next time you’re in KC and we can grab a bite at Eden Alley! 🙂

  9. April 30, 2011 9:36 pm

    I just love you both. Happy birthday Matt!! (again)

    You know how to top this next year? TRIP TO AUSTRALIA WOOT WOOT.

    I’ll even make some English-inspired raw desserts in your royal honour, if you come.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:18 pm

      Re: a birthday Australia trip? EXCELLENT idea.

      Raw scones?! Yes plz! 😀

  10. May 1, 2011 7:29 am

    Ohhh MY GOSH! The food you guys had for his birthday dinner looks spectactular! Glad to hear you had a great time, and love the desserts in here!! Love your blog girlie:)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:18 pm

      Aw, thanks so much Livi!

  11. May 1, 2011 8:54 am

    Awe, how cute! Pass on a belated Birthday wish to Matt for me… Even if he did think my cookies were salty 😉

    Have fun at Living Light!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:19 pm

      Haha! Will do, on both counts 😉

  12. May 1, 2011 11:43 am

    Eden Alley was one of the first places that made me think I could eat vegetarian and be happy. I had to enter a 12-step program just to get over my addiction to their garlic mashed potatoes. ‘Glad to know they’re still there, and still awesome.
    On a slightly related and totally nostalgic note, the Beaumont Club, as you know, is right next door to Manor Square, home of the Tivoli Movie Theater that I managed for 7 years before moving out here to MA. After work, we’d walk up to Dave’s Stagecoach (or, “the ‘Scoach) cause the drinks were cheap AND I knew the bartender. And if we were still lookin’ for trouble, Buzzards Beach was the only place in Westport still open that late.
    Keep postin’ like this and the memories may make me move back there!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:21 pm

      Now, I’m REALLY keeping the nostalgia coming for you, aren’t I? How cool that you managed the Tivoli! I’m not too familiar with the ‘Scoach, but Dark Horse and Buzzard Beach are my friends’ and my usual Westport haunts.

  13. May 1, 2011 2:40 pm

    oh I bet Matt was one happy camper! That place looks killer. You should have planned my husbands bday too. haha.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:22 pm

      Haha! Gimme a heads up next year and I’ll see what I can do ;P

  14. May 1, 2011 9:29 pm

    Looks like a great celebration. Who could not love all of these desserts on their Birthday!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:23 pm

      No kidding! 😛

  15. May 1, 2011 11:11 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful night out. I say don’t even think about next year: you’ll have a whole new universe of options by then.

    Excited for you going to Living Light soon!
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:24 pm

      Very true. Who knows what a whole other year will bring? 🙂

  16. May 2, 2011 12:25 pm

    How fun! I have never seen a tastier looking tostada!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:24 pm

      It was SOOO good!

  17. May 2, 2011 12:53 pm

    Ooohhhh. Good reminder for me to get back to Eden Alley. Have fun at Living Light!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:24 pm

      Thanks Kim!

  18. May 2, 2011 1:21 pm

    I have a girl crush on miss Kate M. as well; she looked absolutely perfect!!!!

    DAng, I need that burrito in my life, like now!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 6, 2011 9:25 pm

      She did! I am just in total awe of her poise and beauty.

  19. April 30, 2012 11:29 am

    I think I will have to try this place. I was at Unity yesterday for the Evolving magazine health fair and expo (I was doing some energy work there), and I kept thinking about this restaurant. Have never tried it…don’t have anyone to go with me. Husband refuses to go to ‘healthy’ places, and the few friends I have here in the city are carnivores. Everyone I know follows their blood type diet, and they are all O’s, which are meat eaters. I’m the only finicky ‘AB-er’ whose system likes this but doesn’t like that. One of the ladies I rode with wanted a milkshake from Winsteads, so that’s where we went. *sigh* Oh well, can’t complain…I didn’t pay for anything! I went to their menu a few days ago and was drooling over some egg salad bruschetta sandwich/salad thing. Doesn’t look healthy, but made my mouth water. 🙂

    • April 30, 2012 11:32 am

      Oh my gosh, you’ve never been to Eden Alley?! It’s amazing! It’s probably Matt’s favorite restaurant in the city, even. (Mine’s Genghis Khan, if you were wondering!) You HAVE to go. I’ll go with you! So, we need to hit up both Cafe Gratitude and Eden Alley this summer… 😉

      • April 30, 2012 7:05 pm

        Nope. 😦 Never have anyone to go with. Yes, we def need to hit up both place together. I won’t have to worry about my hubby making fun of me for eating rabbit food, hahaha,

Leave a Comment

