Skip to content
Welcome to Living Light!

May 6, 2011

After 14 hours of travel by plane, bus, and shuttle, I finally arrived in Fort Bragg, California on Wednesday evening!

This town is teensy (hardly any stoplights!) but very cute, not to mention right next to the ocean. I’m staying at the Living Light Inn, which is just the picture of charm. It’s a 100-year-old building which, at three stories high, is the tallest building in town! How precious is that?

My room has a sort of cabin-attic feel. I love it!

My window overlooks the garden.

When Living Light purchased the Inn, they turned it into a completely eco-friendly sanctuary. It has a whole-house water filtration system, they recycle or compost pretty much everything, and they only use organic linens and cleaning products. The bathrooms are even stocked with organic soap, lotion, and shampoo/conditioner!

The Living Light Center operates in much the same “green” way. The building that houses it is almost like a small mall, with several other businesses inside and a sort of commons area right outside the Living Light CafΓ©.

Speaking of the CafΓ©, you’ll see and hear a LOT more about it (and its glorious foodstuffs) in the days to come.

Then there’s the Living Light Marketplace.

Oh, this store. It’s stuffed to the gills with a jaw-dropping array of anything and everything relating to a raw food lifestyle.

Their bookshelf alone is a raw foodie’s wet dream.

I could spend hours (and tons of money) in here…and I’m sure I’ll do just that by the time I leave!

So there’s a little intro to Living Light for you. I ADORED the Science of Raw Food Nutrition level I class I took yesterday and today, and tomorrow, I start Science level II! I’ll be back soon to share my amazing meals and snacks with you.

50 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 8:40 pm

    I’m glad you’re there and having a blast. Thank you for the mini tour. I can’t wait for more. xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 13, 2011 11:06 pm

      Thanks Lisa! I can’t wait to write more πŸ™‚

  2. Brian permalink
    May 6, 2011 8:47 pm

    awesome for you!!!…add to your already greatness!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 13, 2011 11:07 pm

      Aw, hehe! Thank you, Brian! πŸ˜€

  3. Matt permalink
    May 6, 2011 8:50 pm

    Wow, that place is nicer looking than I expected! Very cool. Just be sure not to break the bank on the merch. πŸ˜‰ Love and miss you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 13, 2011 11:07 pm

      Umm…no promises there… πŸ˜‰ Miss you too!

  4. May 6, 2011 8:57 pm

    It all seems amazing, glad you got there safe. I’m thrilled to hear more about it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 13, 2011 11:08 pm

      It was a looong trip, but I’m so happy to be here!

  5. Diane permalink
    May 6, 2011 9:26 pm

    Glad to hear you are enjoying it there. Looking forward to your reports!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:20 pm

      Thanks Diane!

  6. May 6, 2011 9:27 pm

    That looks awesome! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:20 pm

      Hehe, thanks Aparna!

  7. May 6, 2011 9:33 pm

    Hi Amber, loved your post! How exciting! I am scheduled to go in June. Can’t wait! Look forward to your future posts and Living Light experience! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:20 pm

      Like I keep saying, JodyLynn, you will LOVE IT here!!

  8. May 6, 2011 10:12 pm

    Wow, it looks amazing! I am kicking myself since I’ve been to Fort Bragg and did not stop in to see this place. I didn’t know it existed back then though.

    I love that you are taking us on a virtual tour with you (as much as you are able). I love reading the Daily Raw Cafe’s blog and hearing abut all the wonderful creations the students make at Living Light. Tell Terilynn I said hi!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:21 pm

      Someday, you should find a way to come back through here πŸ™‚

      Terilynn is great! I’m glad I got to talk to her several times while here.

  9. sarah permalink
    May 6, 2011 10:16 pm

    I cant wait to hear how this all goes!!!!
    I wouls LOVE to go to a RAW culinary school…maybe in the future!!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:22 pm

      Never say never! Just look what happened to ME! πŸ˜€

  10. May 6, 2011 10:42 pm

    This looks so awesome. Wow all the things in the store to look at and buy. That must be fun. Can’t wait to see all the food and hear about the class.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:22 pm

      Oh my gosh, the store is SO tempting. I have to guard my wallet…from myself!

  11. May 6, 2011 11:21 pm

    wow, you are so lucky!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would love this opportunity!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:24 pm

      I AM very, very lucky! πŸ™‚

  12. May 7, 2011 12:15 am

    Looks gorgeous. Have a great time!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:26 pm

      Thanks Sondi!

  13. May 7, 2011 12:35 am

    It’s darling there! I wanna go! If you see/meet Terilynn (the daily raw cafe) tell her hi from me! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:26 pm

      I did get to meet Terilynn! I know I have several readers that read her as well. She’s great πŸ™‚

  14. May 7, 2011 4:24 am

    Oh gosh, you could fit my entire apartment in that room! I love it, it makes me think Anne of Green Gables πŸ™‚ More importantly, this is the kind if science I could get behind. Oh, Amber, your life these days! HURRAH!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:28 pm

      It WAS a little AoGG-ish!
      I find myself saying hurrah for my life often these days too πŸ˜€

  15. May 7, 2011 4:40 am

    ahhh loooks amazing!! esp the cafe!! lucky duck!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:29 pm

      It’s a wonderful place to be!

  16. May 7, 2011 9:17 am

    Oh my goodness, can I live there! Lucky girl! πŸ˜€

    Whitney

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:29 pm

      I’ve been asking myself the same thing, haha!

  17. May 7, 2011 5:32 pm

    Awesome! I’m so happy for you, and so looking forward to hearing more about the classes also.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:30 pm

      Thanks Ela πŸ™‚ The classes were more than I ever dreamed they’d be.

  18. May 7, 2011 6:00 pm

    Looks like I could spend a lot of money there too! And I really like your room. It looks cozy. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:30 pm

      Very cozy! I did a lot more relaxing than I’m used to. That’s a good thing!

  19. May 7, 2011 6:54 pm

    omg, a super organic and GREEN place to stay!?! I love it-and so worth the 14 hour travel to get there!! the cafe there looks superb, and my guess is that it’s mostl organic/healthy yummy stuff too right?!? GAHH! how on earth do you find such a great place like this!! and all the raw food? so cool! I can’t wait to hear more sista!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:31 pm

      You know, it really was worth all the travel hassle. The cafe is 100% raw, gluten-free, and organic πŸ˜€ Dream come true!

  20. May 8, 2011 7:29 pm

    this looks so quaint and refreshing! can’t wait to hear about the raw science!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:27 pm

      VERY quaint! A relaxation mini-paradise πŸ™‚

  21. May 9, 2011 10:12 am

    Oh, how cozy and lovely! What a beautifully charming little place. Looking forward to more pictures and posts about your latest adventure!

    The inn looks much like my dream — When I grow old(er), I want to open an eco-friendly B&B.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 13, 2011 11:05 pm

      You totally should! Can I be the first guest? πŸ˜›

  22. May 9, 2011 5:19 pm

    Wow!!!! I am sooooo jealous of your trip – I’m glad I can share it in the virtual world with you πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 13, 2011 11:05 pm

      I’m thrilled to be able to share it! πŸ™‚

  23. Dustin Ashe permalink
    May 10, 2011 10:18 am

    Hard back books and nocturnal emissions — two of my favorite things!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 10, 2011 10:23 am

      Ha! Thanks for sharing, Dustin πŸ˜›

  24. Dustin Ashe permalink
    May 13, 2011 9:33 pm

    TΓ‘ tΓΊ fΓ‘ilte roimh, ms. shea, and thank you for the bookshelf dream.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 13, 2011 9:52 pm

      Irish! Nice; I don’t see that too often.

  25. May 14, 2011 9:35 am

    Soooo envious. What a wonderful experience. I know you will soak it all in; thanks for sharing with us.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 12:27 pm

      I soaked and soaked and soaked, believe you me πŸ™‚ Wonderful indeed.

Leave a Comment

