Skip to content
Meals at Living Light #1

May 9, 2011

Heads up! My latest Menuism column has been posted: How to eat vegan (and raw) while traveling. Timely, eh? Check it out!

I’m already behind on posting! I’ve been eating SO much great stuff here at Living Light; I have tons to show you!

I started my first day of class last Thursday with an Island Paradise smoothie: papaya, pineapple, mango, oranges, and bananas.

I had a raw nut and seed bar for lunch, and then these pizza flax crackers as an afternoon snack.

Now, I had half a mind to breeze right past this and act like nothing is amiss about it, but anyone who’s been reading my blog for any length of time knows that I DO NOT “do” salads. No sir. Hate ’em, can’t stand ’em, etc. So what in the hell possessed me to pick up this taco salad for dinner? I know not. I can’t stress it enough: this is a completely unprecedented event. I have never eaten a salad for a meal before in my life.

I think this romaine salad, with its “beans” (veggies, almonds, sunflower seeds, and spices), red bell pepper bits, black olives, salsa, guacamole, and cashew sour cream, reminded me of the Mexi-salad I made and tried (and kinda liked!) in Level II at 105degrees. But something else must have possessed me, because somehow, not only did I EAT this thing, but I FINISHED it. True story.

That’s right, folks. Let me reiterate: the unthinkable has happenedโ€”I ate a salad. And crazier yet, I think I liked it! Aren’t you proud of me!?!

So that’s the big story of this post, but let’s not forget dessert. Living Light’s dessert case makes my mouth water on sight.

Since I’d eaten that ginormous salad, I chose a mini raspberry-cherry chocolate cream crumble.

What a wonderful introduction to Living Light’s dessertsโ€”it was amazing!

So: I ate a salad. For real. Discuss.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 9:16 pm

    I never knew this fact about you!!!!!!!! How interesting!!!??? WHY???
    I love salads and that one looked amazing!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 2:59 pm

      I wish I knew why! I’ve just never been able to stand chewing on leafy stuff. Well, until now, apparently!

  2. May 9, 2011 9:40 pm

    Woah (that’s all I have to say about this post)!

  3. Michele Villafana permalink
    May 9, 2011 9:51 pm

    I am very proud of you! Always try new things, even if there are “just” salads. I don’t understand not liking salads because I love salads! Throughout most of the summer I eat salads everyday for lunch. I change them up a bit so they are not the same boring thing. Some of my co-workers will even eat salad with me. I love eating salads! They are so good for you! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yours!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 3:00 pm

      Maybe someday I can get to the level of “loving” salads. There’s hope for me yet! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. May 9, 2011 9:56 pm

    The food looks amazing. I hate salads too, so congrats! That one did look good.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 3:01 pm

      A fellow salad-hater?! Wow! I usually feel all alone in that sentiment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. May 9, 2011 10:06 pm

    *giggles* I knew it would be a salad–that’s awesome that you found one you liked! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 3:02 pm

      I know! I’m bewildered, but excited about it!

  6. May 9, 2011 10:07 pm

    The thing that I have come to enjoy about salads is that there are so many varieties of greens/lettuces and each has their own flavor. Tonight we had arugula and a spring mescalin mix and there was so much variety–from bitter to peppery to licorice–all at once! The farmer that we buy our CSA share from loves greens, so we get them all season long in various forms. It’s been a great joy learning about all the different flavors. I think that with your love of the intricacies of flavor that you could really come to enjoy experimenting with greens and perhaps you would see them as more than “just a salad.”

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 3:03 pm

      Maybe with a little luck, I’ll someday come to appreciate a variety of greens, too. I hope so!

  7. May 9, 2011 11:09 pm

    ah oh, why do I go looking through your blog at 11PM at night?? Now I want to eat! Accept I don’t want any of my food, I want your food! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 26, 2011 3:03 pm

      Haha! I know the feeling, Tanya ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. May 9, 2011 11:42 pm

    This looks great. Love the staring with the amazing sounding smoothie. Yeah for salad. It looked like a rawsome one for sure. If you are going to give in and have a salad it might as well be one like that:). And can I drool over the dessert. Yum.

  9. May 10, 2011 12:15 am

    A vending machine of RAW desserts??? My jaw is already dropped over that. You eating salad? For sure Living Light is the Twilight Zone.

    Want a roommate? Google maps says I can be there in 13 hours and 10 minutes.

  10. May 10, 2011 12:21 am

    WOW! I couldn’t imagine my life without salad. My hubby and I have a BIG salad every night for dinner. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yours looked amazing. As did your smoothie, lunch and dessert. I am SO enjoying following along with your experiences at Living Light. Enjoy!

  11. May 10, 2011 4:14 am

    Darling, can you come over here for a minute? *puts hand to your forehead* Are you burning up? No? You really don’t feel sick? Well, I am certainly glad to hear that, but is there any chance you’re in the process of creating a little goddaughter for me? I hear that can do funny things to a woman’s cravings. No? You’re sure?

    Well then. After my very scientific deductions, I can say a big congratulations for an genuine salad craving. Amazing. Congratulations! Now, back to the desserts, for my sake.

  12. Simone permalink
    May 10, 2011 4:21 am

    Ryan’s been asking and asking if I’ve read your posts! I have been quite behind in keeping up with you ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I am however, quite excited to hear not only about the class you have undertaken, but also about your salad eating!!!! lol Both are milestones!
    Last summer we drove to Oregon and I tried like crazy to fit in a night at the inn there. However they had a two or three night minimum and we could not spend that much time in one place -double sad face ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I fugure one day I’ll just have to plan a vegan road trip through SF on up to Fort Bragg. But I know what you mean about it being teeny tiny. It would probably take me 14 hours or more to get there, too!
    Enjoy the class, learn lots, and be blessed.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:29 pm

      I hope you make it up to LL someday, Simone! I think you’d love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. May 10, 2011 4:31 am

    A whole new world of possibilities just opened up.

    I’m so glad you’re having fun!

  14. May 10, 2011 6:24 am

    You crack me up. Next thing you know you’ll be eating kale straight up. The world will tip on its axis!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:30 pm

      Whoa now, let’s not get ahead of ourselves ๐Ÿ˜› But who knows – maybe someday!

  15. Matt permalink
    May 10, 2011 7:13 am

    It’s aliens. I’m sure of it. *folds arms and nods* Yep. No other reasonable explanation.

  16. May 10, 2011 8:54 am

    Brain parasites? A disturbance in the Earth’s electro-magnetic field? Careful marketing on the part of the pro-salad agenda? Whatever the reason, congratulations on your successful salad eating!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:31 pm

      Haha! All distinct possibilities ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. May 10, 2011 5:39 pm

    Awesome–something is happening with ‘the force.’ I want to hear about the rest of your life at Living Light too!
    love
    Ela

  18. May 10, 2011 6:28 pm

    I AM proud of you! You ate the whole salad (and I’m jealous too!) what a salad!

    And my dear, that dessert- WOW.

  19. May 10, 2011 9:59 pm

    Yum! I could totally go for a smoothie right now. And that dessert looks delicious! I love raspberries.

  20. Dustin Ashe permalink
    May 11, 2011 12:57 am

    matt – agreed. Re: aliens.

    0r the wild cravings of an expectant mother!!!!!!!!!!!

    ………. Matt?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:31 pm

      Lol, he won’t respond to that ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I can assure you that that’s not the case!

  21. May 11, 2011 9:45 am

    man I LOVE salads…welcome to the dark (green) side…muahaha. But seriously, that salad looks awesome, taco salad is one of my favorite things EVER! And that dessert is making me drool like crazy, yummm!

  22. May 13, 2011 10:35 pm

    “”I ate a salad. And crazier yet, I think I liked it! Arenโ€™t you proud of me!?!”” I think I just teared up a bit ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Comment

