Skip to content
Meals at Living Light #4

May 17, 2011

How about a nice, healthy shot of E3 Live before we go straight to the rich stuff?

This is called a California Mudslide Pie…

…but it’d be a hit in any state.

This buckwheat granola with vanilla almond milk and chopped apple kept me full for HOURS. That’s very unusual for me and my quick-to-empty stomach.

I think this curried sprouted lentil stew is the Café’s best cooked soup.

Numerous people had told me the key lime pie was their favorite of the Café’s desserts…

…and though I wouldn’t call it MY favorite, it was still absolutely wonderful.

This raw sunflower burger is made of carrots, sunflower seeds, onions, and flax, and came with celery and carrot sticks, sprouts, tomato, red onion, and romaine lettuce leaves, but the raw sundried tomato ketchup alongside might’ve been the very best part.

This chocolate-cardamom cake with rosewater-cashew cream was like a very rich, fudgy brownie.

Here’s a mixed berry smoothie with a leaf or two of kale added.

My classmate Pat got this bowl of zucchini noodles with pesto and fresh tomatoes for lunch one day. I haven’t tried it yet, but I need to!

The Café does sell a few desserts in miniature sizes, and this chocolate-swirled cheesecake is one of them.

It’s safe to say I’ve been eating about as many desserts as actual meals. And I love it!
What dessert are you craving lately?

30 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 8:32 pm

    Sorbets but I will take any of those raw desserts in a heartbeat!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 18, 2011 4:31 pm

      Ooh, I haven’t had sorbet in too long!

  2. May 17, 2011 9:08 pm

    I love that there are so many desserts in this post! I am craving a fresh strawberry cake like crazy lately.

  3. May 17, 2011 9:20 pm

    what have I been craving? Everything you are eating!! hehe 🙂

    I can’t believe you can handle the E3Live though. I tried it in my raw course 2x and it was SO terrible, I couldn’t stomach it!!

  4. May 17, 2011 9:37 pm

    Desserts? Yes please! I’d love that Mudslide pie….

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 17, 2011 10:24 pm

      I wouldn’t mind another, myself 😉

  5. May 17, 2011 9:42 pm

    AMBER! I’m dyin’ over here. Counting down the days til I get up there! Thanks for the “sweet” peep show, as I wipe my drool-filled keyboard. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 17, 2011 10:23 pm

      Hehe! JodyLynn, you will LOVE it here…I mean you will DIE. In a good way. Haha!

  6. May 17, 2011 9:57 pm

    Awesome Amber, i’m loving the updates. It all looks so wonderful. Hugs and love your way from Hong Kong… x

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 17, 2011 10:08 pm

      Thanks Priscilla! Btw, Matt was at the Hong Kong airport just briefly a couple days ago 🙂 He’s in Malaysia now, on business.

  7. Ellen Primm permalink
    May 17, 2011 10:09 pm

    so glad you are loving your time @ LL. can you get and/or publish a recipe for the chocolate cardamom cake with rosewater & cashew cream? this sounds like my 4 favorite ingredients ever – now if they could only work in some pesto!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 17, 2011 10:21 pm

      Ah, I wish I could get you the recipe! I’d love to have ALL their recipes 🙂 I wish they’d put out a cookbook! Chocolate cake with pesto though, hmm…I don’t see that happening ;P

  8. May 17, 2011 10:57 pm

    Oh, that mudslide pie looks dreamy. I’ve been craving chocolate avocado pudding lately!

  9. May 17, 2011 11:26 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever visited your blog lately and not whimpered. Chocolate-cardamom cake with rosewater-cashew cream? Cardamom and rosewater are currently my favourite additions to sweets. I cry.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:45 pm

      I knew you’d love that one!

  10. May 17, 2011 11:27 pm

    I can’t get over all this amazing food! I especially want the buckwheat granola and mudslide cake. I am alwayss craving carrot cake though 🙂

  11. May 18, 2011 1:04 am

    It must be so hard to not get one of everything at each meal! Do you ever make your own stuff? Or not because you are in the nutrition part? Sounds like a lot of fun.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:46 pm

      Oh my gawd, you have no idea.
      I’ve made a few things while here – you’ll see those in the next few posts 🙂

  12. May 18, 2011 1:10 am

    Chocolate-cardamom-rosewater—that’s for me!!! Yummy, seriously…

    I’m not even sure what I’m craving right now, but all the chocolate pies look scrumptious.
    hope the classes are going great too!
    love
    Ela

  13. May 18, 2011 8:38 am

    O.M.G.! If I could eat food like that all day every day I would be one happy mama!!!!

  14. May 18, 2011 1:52 pm

    Oh wow, you are one lucky girl! I think the Mudslide pie is made for me 🙂
    I always crave anything dark chocolate! Where can I find your Brownie with Lucuma frostin recipe?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      May 18, 2011 4:31 pm

      Uncooking101 published the recipe recently here. The video’s on that page too! 🙂

  15. May 19, 2011 12:04 am

    This all looks great. I love key lime pie. Yummy. You must be having a blast. Thanks for sharing all of this lovely food.

  16. May 19, 2011 5:50 am

    I’m totally overwhelmed. I hope you’re having an amazing time and decipher all the great treats so you can recreate them at home – or when you visit Toronto in June!

  17. Ling permalink
    May 19, 2011 10:45 am

    sooooooooooooo pretty & super yummy!!!

  18. May 19, 2011 11:49 am

    wow, this food is so amazing!!! If food like this was available everywhere I know people would choose this over the crappy stuff that is available!!! I want to be there eating all that yummy food!!!! hahaha

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:47 pm

      I agree! We’ve gotta expose as many people as possible to this level of raw deliciousness! 🙂

  19. May 19, 2011 4:57 pm

    Um, I can honestly say that I’ve been craving ALL of these desserts lately.. I just didn’t know it until you posted this. WOW. I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE raw food.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:46 pm

      Haha! I know what you mean 😉

  20. Val permalink
    May 30, 2011 5:55 pm

    got to try some of these
    just where to start…

Leave a Comment

