Skip to content
Meals at Living Light #5

May 28, 2011

Although I’m now home from Living Light (and I miss it already!), I’ve still got a couple more posts’ worth of food to share with you.

Here’s an Island Paradise smoothie (banana, pineapple, mango, papaya) with kale.

This homemade chia pudding, made with coconut milk, chia seeds, cinnamon, stevia, and a dab of rice protein powder, plus crushed pecans and walnuts, is much tastier than it looks!

I’m still testing the waters of my newfound tolerance for leafy greens…

…and rewarding myself with things like this chocolate tart with candied pecan crust.

I had another kamut-walnut scone and raspberry jam with an Amazing Meal shake one morning for breakfast.

This ugly duckling of a green smoothie had berries, almond milk, and lots of kale.

I’m still obsessed with these curry-veggie wraps from the CafΓ©.

Though I’ve had raw tiramisu a couple times before (and have even made it!), I had to try Living Light’s version. SO SO SO glad I did. It was top-notch.

One more “salad”…

…and one more “reward”: raw pumpkin pie! Or “punkin pie,” as Nanny (a.k.a. my Grandma Lichtenauer) would say.

The secret ingredient in this must’ve been avocado. It was unbelievably smooth, silky, and creamy!

Do you ever “reward” yourself for eating something super-healthy by eating something, well, not so healthy? πŸ˜›

26 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 9:40 am

    Heck yeah I do! I’d like to “reward” myself with one of those raw tiramisu squares right now.

  2. May 28, 2011 10:30 am

    Ha! Yeah, I do. Sometimes. Like, I worked out really hard today…. so, I’m gonna have myself a ginger beer float… Lol.

    All this raw food looks good, but other than a smoothie or salad or grawnola, I’ve never tried any of it. That curry wrap has me intrigued; it looks so good!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 10:49 am

      See, that sounds like pure and simple logic to me πŸ˜‰

      We’ve got to get you some raw food to try, missy!

  3. May 28, 2011 12:57 pm

    Yes I do sometimes “reward” myself like that, although I am not one of those that things “dessert is dessert, raw or not”. Especially if you go easy on the sweetener, raw desserts can be pretty healthy. Glad you are getting into salad! I find that I really like salads a lot better in the summer when I can get really fresh greens.

  4. May 28, 2011 3:12 pm

    That all looks AMAZING. And kale and banana go so well together!

  5. May 28, 2011 3:59 pm

    HOLLY COW!! All those pictures were making my mouth water!! I LOVE raw desserts! Unfortunately I never make them because haveing large amounts of anything sweet around is no bueno for me hehehe!
    I need to find some amazing raw desserts STAT now that Im back in LA! Have you been out here? And if so, did you find a place with amazing raw goodies!?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 10:50 am

      It’s no bueno for me too, but I still can’t stop myself! πŸ˜›

      And yes! Check out my Los Angeles posts!

  6. May 28, 2011 5:59 pm

    I guess my ‘treat day’ is kind of a stretched-out version of ‘reward’ for being super strict the rest of the time…

    That tiramisu looks so dreamy. I keep looking at the cover of my Sweet Gratitude and thinking I’ll have to make it at some point.
    love
    Ela

  7. May 28, 2011 8:37 pm

    I won a earth cafe cheesecake so I plan to make that last as long as possible and thaw a slice a week. πŸ™‚

    everything looks great the tiramisu is my fave dessert off to see your recipe

    you need to post a recipe for the pie when you figure it out before the holidays πŸ™‚ hint hint! πŸ™‚

  8. May 28, 2011 8:51 pm

    Hi Amber! WOW! The food looks delish! Can’t wait to try the tiramisu (my all time fave)! The “punkin’ pie” is callin’ my name too! I’d harass you for being a “tease” but since I will be going to Living Light in 2 short weeks to taste, indulge and savor these delectable treats myself…I’ll let ya slide. he he I have to tell you, when I was reading your post, it was heartwarming when you talked about your “Nanny” (aka Grandma) calling the pumpkin pie – “punkin’ pie.” My brother, cousin and I called our Grandma “Nanny.” Don’t know if it’s a Midwestern thang. (?) She was originally from Oklahoma. Anyhow, glad you are back home safe and sound. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 10:51 am

      It may be a Midwestern thang! Although my grandma’s first name is Nancy, so that also plays a part in it πŸ™‚

  9. Veggie V! permalink
    May 28, 2011 9:31 pm

    Are you going to try to decode the pumpkin pie recipe? If so, will you please share?! I absolutely LOVE pumpkin pie, and I’ve yet to find a good vegan version. It would be an added bonus if I found a raw one that suited my expectations.

    Thanks in advance!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 10:52 am

      I may try to create something similar! If I do, I will certainly share in one venue or another – book or blog! πŸ˜€

  10. May 29, 2011 12:39 am

    That pumpkin pie! I’ve never even had the traditional version. Oh, swoon-town. Can’t wait to see the rest of the posts, and also what you’ve been inspired to create after returning home πŸ™‚

  11. Carole permalink
    May 29, 2011 10:48 pm

    The pumpkin or punkin pie looks absolutely scrumptious, if you work out the ingredients woudl you mind sharing …Thank you πŸ™‚

  12. May 30, 2011 7:54 am

    oh…wow!! that curry wrap has my mouth watering!! i want to eat my computer screen!! πŸ˜‰

  13. May 30, 2011 9:25 am

    That stuff all looks amazing (would love to try the chocolate tart with pecan crust). Man, kale makes everything so greeeen πŸ˜‰

  14. May 30, 2011 10:27 am

    Such yumminess πŸ™‚ I am hoping to be able to spend some time at Living Light soon!

  15. May 30, 2011 10:48 am

    Just posted a link to one of your delicious recipes for our raw challenge over at http://www.BloominThyme.com — can’t wait to try more!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 10:54 am

      I’m honored! Thanks Dianne πŸ˜€

  16. czechvegan permalink
    May 31, 2011 3:05 am

    That raw tiramisu and raw pumpkin pie look awesomely delicious πŸ™‚ !!!

  17. dawn permalink
    May 31, 2011 6:02 am

    I have done that lately, and the reverse… If I eat something bad, then i try to balance out the yin and yang by eating something super good… The funny thing is – I think because I am getting older my system responds differently to the “bad foods”.So I tend to not eat as much of them just because of the possible impending results…. Ugh!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 10:55 am

      I wish I could get myself to learn that same lesson! Someday… πŸ˜›

  18. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    May 31, 2011 11:01 am

    I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin pie, but that one looks delicious! Actually, all the foods in your photos do!

  19. June 1, 2011 10:45 am

    Happy home coming πŸ™‚ That green smoothie’s color is out of this world. And, those curry wraps!? Umm, yes please!

  20. June 1, 2011 3:11 pm

    This looks all looks great. I would be missing all of that great food. I love the green smoothies. Especially the “ugly duckling” smoothie. I am sure it still tasted awesome.

    Mmmm all of those yummy desserts look great.

Leave a Comment

