Skip to content
My Favorite Things: May edition

June 1, 2011

Before I get to my final Living Light post, it’s high time I catch up on some reviews! For months now, I’ve been behind on sharing with you some of the great products I’ve had the opportunity to try. I’ve decided to make this a monthly column of sorts, so I hope you enjoy it and get to learn about some new yummies on the market. Bonus: most of this month’s selections are raw!

I was SO stoked when Two Moms In The Raw sent me a pack of products to try. I’d seen their raw, vegan, organic, gluten-free snacks at Whole Foods before, but hadn’t tried them yet. I received three types of granola to try – gojiberry, blueberry, and cranberry – as well as a bag of tomato basil sea crackers.

Their granola comes in huge bar-sized chunks, and each one was so dense and chewy that not only did it take me awhile to eat, but it kept me full a really long time, which is great. I love the assortment of nuts, seeds, and fruit in each one, and the fact that they use no refined sugars, of course! The sea crackers were tasty too; crunchy and flavorful. Thanks, Two Moms In The Raw!

I received a jar of unrefined, certified organic, cold-pressed, virgin Sri Lankan coconut oil from Kelapo.

I’m a big fan of extremely-coconutty coconut oils, and Kelapo does not disappoint. I love it when product quality and great taste align. I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to start by slathering this on my skin like lotion, or sampling it with a spoon—so I did both. 😉

Brad’s Raw Chips sent me a very generous package of products to try.

There were several varieties of kale chips, including Naked (plain vegan cheese), Nasty Hot (jalapeño & vegan cheese) and my favorite, Vampire Killer (garlic & vegan cheese). These were just as good as homemade kale chips—and, admittedly, even more convenient!

I also got to try two varieties of flax chips—Indian and Red Bell Pepper. Though I crunched on most of them as-is, I also made soy yogurt-Vegenaise-herb dip to dunk them in. Thanks again, Brad!

You already know I’m a huge fan of any and all nuts (har har, yes, I heard it too), so these cashews from Yumnuts Naturals got me really excited.

I snacked on the Chili-Lime variety while at Living Light…

…and Matt and I shared the Toasted Coconut cashews on the road trip we took last weekend (more on that soon!).

Lastly, I recently received a very cute package from Lipton Iced Teas. I used to drink bottled iced tea all the time when I was younger, before I fell in love with hot teas (especially oolong!). It’s been awhile since I’ve had chilled, pre-brewed tea out of a bottle, but with summer coming on strong already (it’s over 90 degrees here!), I welcomed this box of refreshments.

Lipton sent me a selection of flavors from their new 100% Natural line: Green Tea with Citrus, Iced Tea with Lemon, Green Tea with Passionfruit Mango, Iced Tea with Pomegranate Blueberry, Diet Green Tea with Citrus, and Diet Green Tea with Watermelon.

I’m not one to drink my calories, so I’ll be sharing the regular flavors with friends, but I am all over these preservative-free diet flavors, which are naturally sweetened with stevia. I’ve got two more trips to take in the next two weeks, including another road trip, so these will make great travel sips while on the go. Thanks, Lipton!

I wrote this review while participating in a blog campaign by Gen-Yknot on behalf of Lipton and received Lipton product samples and a subscription to Pandora One to facilitate my candid review. Gen-Yknot also sent me a promotional item to thank me for my time.

Which of these products looks/sounds yummiest to you?
Have you tried any great new food products lately?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 5:38 pm

    Wow, what a bunch of yummies you scored! I think the kelapo coconut oil and the Brad’s box look the most enticing to me, but the two mums in the raw selection is something I’ve been wanting to try for a while too.

    Looking forward to hearing the rest of the Living Light story, and your road trips!
    love
    Ela

  2. Perla permalink
    June 1, 2011 5:41 pm

    I think the Lipton teas look very tempting. Maybe because it’s 93 degrees here in New Jersey today! I will definitely look for them in my store, hope they carry them. I recently tried Bear Naked Fit Granola Vanilla Almond Crunch – lovin’ it!

  3. June 1, 2011 5:54 pm

    i love the new lipton flavors. Not a fan of the sucrose, but it was tasty. And mom’s in the raw rock!

  4. June 1, 2011 5:59 pm

    You lucky duck! lol It all looks so yummy and I’m saying that on a full tummy. =) Where do I sign up to be a tester of all things nutritious and healthy?

    Seriously though, you have been a fountain of knowledge and enjoyment for me and my family. I have enjoyed every post of yours since I found you. ❤ =)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 10:58 am

      Aw, thank you Carolyn! That really makes my day 😀

  5. June 1, 2011 8:43 pm

    yum I love kale chips I would love to try those crackers too!

  6. June 1, 2011 9:27 pm

    Those Kale Chips and Two Moms in the Raw items look delish! Cute Lipton drink holder, by the way 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 10:59 am

      It IS cute! Now I just have to figure out what to do with it after all the tea’s gone…

      • June 19, 2011 11:14 am

        Use it to display unusual cutlery if you have some or even your other utensils.

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          June 19, 2011 11:16 am

          That’s a great idea! Maybe a spoon/spatula/etc. holder!

  7. June 1, 2011 10:34 pm

    You lucky duck! You are on a winning streak, go get a lottery ticket!

    I have tried all of 2 moms stuff and enjoy it all. Good high quality stuff. I also tried Kelapo and liked it. Brad’s are delicious as well.

    I want a drink holder! I think of these companies should do a giveaway…and I should win. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 11:02 am

      How amazing would that be – a 5-company joint giveaway? Maybe someday!

  8. Katie M permalink
    June 1, 2011 11:53 pm

    Anything by Two Moms In the Raw or either of the Yumnuts looked tasty!

  9. June 2, 2011 1:07 am

    yummmm!!! I really want to try those coconut cashews!

  10. June 2, 2011 6:11 am

    Wow – what a haul of good foods! I see the Two Moms in The Raw products at Starbucks often, but haven’t tried it yet.

  11. June 2, 2011 10:55 am

    I love the iced tea crate…cute! The toasted coconum cashews look/sound yummy as does several of the snacks, salty OR sweet. Perhaps Dad try the teas you want to share and give you a review!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 11:02 am

      I’d be happy to give Dad a couple of the teas.

  12. June 2, 2011 2:53 pm

    I recently tried Yumnuts I found them at Whole Foods. I bought the coconut cashews.. tho I didn’t taste the coconut, they smelled like coconut and they were good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 11:02 am

      I thought that too! They smelled SO heavenly, though.

  13. June 2, 2011 6:54 pm

    Okay, so clearly I’m going to have to prepare myself for these posts on a monthly basis and have a box of tissues at the ready. So. Much. Envy. Kale chipppppiiiieeeeesss!

    (Yes, lame comment. But I’m in Melbourne and about to head off for work meeting and then, hopefully, tonight, check out the vegetarian/vegan burger joint Lord of the Fries. Fingers crossed I can convince my friend to go…)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 8, 2011 4:09 pm

      “Lord of the Fries”? For real? That. Is. AWESOME! Hope you enjoyed it!

  14. June 3, 2011 4:41 am

    I’ll admit, I started to drool when I saw the Vampire Killer kale chips….then I went to the site and about choked on that drool when I saw the price. It’s amazing what convenience can cost, isn’t it?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 11:03 am

      I know 😦 Thank goodness for blogging…

  15. June 3, 2011 11:28 am

    I’m drooling over those chips. Vampire Killer is such a hilarious name, but they also look delish!

  16. June 3, 2011 1:27 pm

    Those chips look amazing! And the tea looks pretty good, too. I like that they have versions sweetened with stevia. I’ll have to see if I ca find those somewhere!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 11:03 am

      Me too! What a nice change from the usual aspartame.

  17. June 4, 2011 2:46 pm

    wow, did all those companies contact you??? How exciting!!!!

  18. June 6, 2011 4:43 pm

    That looks SO delish!
    Especially those Two Moms in the Raw bars, im so jealous 🙂

  19. June 6, 2011 10:58 pm

    Wow! How fun is that. Like a little kid in a candy store I bet. Or like a big kid in a health food store. I love that you got to try all of those products and are sharing the info. I do some reviews, however your stash is rockin!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 19, 2011 11:04 am

      “big kid in a health food store” is definitely my version of “kid in a candy store”! 😛

  20. Jenna permalink
    July 29, 2011 11:46 pm

    hey! how did you get your hands on all this free health food?
    I love it all, but it’s so expensive so I don’t really get much of it. Did you write them or something?
    I would appreciate the advice ha nice blog girl
    lots of love from montreal
    jenna

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 30, 2011 10:54 am

      Hi Jenna- I blogged for about 2 full years before a company ever sent me anything. Sometimes I wrote to them and asked, more often than not anymore they write to me and ask ME, but it took me a LOOONG time to get to this point 🙂 My advice is to blog regularly with quality content, and comment comment comment! Go to as many other blogs as you can every day and leave people (thoughtful) comments. Companies will eventually take notice that you’re an active member of the blogosphere, and they may contact you.

      Hope that helps – good luck! 🙂

Leave a Comment

