Skip to content

105degrees becomes Matthew Kenney OKC

June 14, 2011

That’s right, folks. My beloved alma (rawlma?) mater has been rebranded. 105degrees is now officially known as Matthew Kenney OKC. Same restaurant, new moniker!

It seems MK has decided to bring all of his projects together under the umbrella brand of Kenney Cuisine. And why not? He’s the man!

Three weeks ago, over Memorial Day weekend, Matt and I took yet another road trip south. We spent the first night in Oklahoma, largely to go to lunch at MK-OKC the next day! We shared a mimosa to start, just for the hell of it.

I ordered the Mediterranean wraps…

…which contained raw hummus, tabbouleh, and sundried tomatoes in hearts of romaine leaves.

Matt got the Bento box…

…with, well, a whole assortment of things! These little veggie wraps looked fresh and tasty.

I also got to hang out with a Facebook friend of mine, the lovely author, yogi, and newly minted raw chef Ellen Abraham. Yay! It was great to get to meet and talk to her.

Finally, there was dessert! How gorgeous is this?

The Peach Trio included an ‘en sous vide’ peach melba, a white chocolate creamsicle, and ginger-peach cheesecake. SO good!

This is only one of several meals Matt and I ate at Matthew Kenney OKC during the past few weeks, so stay tuned for more, along with exciting travel posts on Dallas and Toronto!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 4:02 pm

    I swear I drool over every one of your posts… food looks delish as usual I love the little wraps

  2. June 14, 2011 4:06 pm

    I really need to make a trip to OKC! I’ve been thinking about going to 105 degrees, you’re journey is so very inspiring. Thanks for sharing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 27, 2011 1:57 pm

      105/MK-OKC is a raw foodie’s paradise! I highly recommend looking into going there. πŸ˜€

  3. June 14, 2011 4:09 pm

    Rawlma mater…giggle. That peach plate is gorgeous.

  4. June 14, 2011 4:34 pm

    You have absolutely no idea how incredibly envious I am how close you are to my old school and cafe 😦 live it up for me :)))

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 27, 2011 1:58 pm

      Oh, sweetheart, I do know! I feel for you. I hope we can meet up there for a meal together someday!

  5. June 14, 2011 6:32 pm

    WOW! all of the dishes look incredible. Love the wee little wraps and the dessert… and the bento box, okay I love it all!! Oh my, I hope to get over there soon ~ What an incredible school and restaurant. Matthew Kenney is amazing and so are your insightful and fantastic blogs. I love them ~ Thank you. xox

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 27, 2011 1:58 pm

      Thank you so much, Priscilla!
      Matthew is the man, it’s true πŸ™‚

  6. June 14, 2011 6:40 pm

    Sounds like you’re really living it up! Blogger meetups are such an awesome experience too.
    love
    Ela

  7. June 14, 2011 9:39 pm

    Hee hee, rawlma matter. Love it! ps – food looks fantastic!

  8. June 14, 2011 11:56 pm

    Oh gosh, these posts kill me!! πŸ™‚ I wish I lived closer to restaurants like this!
    I know I can (un)cook this, but it would be so nice to be served it!! πŸ™‚

    Loving reading about your adventures!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 27, 2011 1:59 pm

      It really is nice sometimes to have a zero-effort raw meal like this!

  9. June 15, 2011 12:12 am

    that all looks so good! so glad i stumbled upon your blog πŸ™‚

  10. June 15, 2011 6:06 am

    Okay, this is just plain weird. I’m more interested in the bento box than the desserts.

    Huh.

    Must be this going-on-four-days of sickness thing. Hopefully I’ll be back in my right mind soon! πŸ˜‰

  11. June 15, 2011 9:05 am

    Your wraps sound the best to me, and seems to be fairly easy to recreate. Gotta love Mediterranean flavors! Of course I wouldn’t turn down that dessert, either!

  12. June 15, 2011 9:31 am

    Rawlma! πŸ˜‰ Aww, best of luck on his renamed cafe (still the same great food, I’m sure!)–that Peach Trio looks so tasty!

  13. Green Juice permalink
    June 15, 2011 9:32 am

    β€Ž’rawlma mater’ hahaha def. Urban Dictionary worthy! :O

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 27, 2011 2:01 pm

      Haha! Matthew Kenney told me I ought to trademark that πŸ˜›

  14. June 15, 2011 8:00 pm

    OMG, this looks amazing. I love the bento box and all of the detail. It rawks. Yum. I need to take a road trip:)

  15. June 17, 2011 3:46 am

    All this raw food looks so yummy! My favourite raw food of all time has to a raw lasagna with all those lovely layers and a nice raw chocolate and avocado cake πŸ™‚ TASTY AND SO GOOD FOR YOU!

  16. Elaine permalink
    June 17, 2011 7:28 am

    Where are you going in Toronto? I live well, not so near Toronto. But it would be cool if we could like meet up. You’re like my favorite vegan/raw blogger! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 17, 2011 11:14 am

      Hi Elaine! Aw, I’m sorry to say that we already went to Toronto, last weekend. I’m just that far behind on blogging =X But I enjoyed the city so much that with any luck, I’ll make it back someday – maybe then we can meet up! πŸ™‚

  17. June 17, 2011 9:37 pm

    I would love to go to that restaurant!!! I wish we had cool places like that here!!!

  18. June 24, 2011 5:00 pm

    Can’t wait to visit this place!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 27, 2011 2:01 pm

      Maybe I can meet you there when you do! πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

